Hostelworld.com

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Located at No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo.
Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel
China
Yangshuo 541906 No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping
91% 649
24.9163046 110.5268651
Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • erreay
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.6

We had a great stay at This Old Place: the staff were really friendly and helpful, the ambiance is chilled and it's located at the foot of a mountain you can climb for sunset and right on the port.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Feb 2016
9.4

Go and find the Big Noodle Mountain on the other side if the river, ask the staff to wrist the name of the mountain in Chinese on a paper. cross the river and ask the locals for direction. It's a viewing platform which is not finished yet. Extraordinary view, and you will have the whole mountain for yourself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2015
10.0

Stayed here for three nights. Really good value for such a small price. Staff was PERFECT: upgraded us to a nicer room because it was off season, hiked with us for a day, explained us how to play chinese Majong card game one night, and one staffmember traveled with us on her way to here parents and was a luxury since she could speak Chinese which ofc saved a lot of time. Room was clean and kept clean, warm showers, nice commonroom with backpackersvibe and location is superb. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Nov 2015
9.7

Very nice youth hostel in a typical Chinese village. Very nice and helpful staff with great advice regarding local activities/hikes. Delicious home-made pizzas! However, we were there at the end of November and the common room was really cold one night since there was no heating downstairs... And the water for the showers were also quite cold...! But definitely a great place to enjoy Xingping! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2015
8.3

I enjoyed the place. Perfectly located. Nice commun area and view. Good staff and good food. I recommand it. Cons: no locker in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Nov 2015
8.0

Location ia very good, near li river. There was some construction going during my stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2015
9.4

Enjoyed our stay. New windows being installed to help reduce noise in upcoming construction and hopefully make the rooms warmer. Otherwise warmer quilts needed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2015
8.3

Good location for tourists. Nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank your for choosing our hostel.We do hope you can enjoy the beautiful nature view in Xingping,and wish you have a good trip in China.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Nov 2015
8.9

Lovely hostel with very helpful staff. Bathrooms in the old building are cramped and I never managed to have a warm shower there. Noisy tour groups began at 8 every morning but it would be the same all over town. Terrific staff. Good breakfast deal. Need better directions from the high speed train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your suggestion.First we apologize for the inconvenient of using the hot water. It's the hot water system's problem what we need to solve now.And we will add more information about the direction of the high speed train on the website,thanks a lot.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2015
10.0

A really well run, friendly hostel with an excellent value breakfast and good staff. Ask about a buy two nights get a third night free deal if you plan to stay longer (maybe only in low season?).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying here. Yes,we have a promotion in low season now,if you stay 3 nights here,you can get the third night for free. But the most important thing what we need is that, giving yourself a break, finally get some rest on the Chinese countryside. While traveling China you probably already saw or will see many big big cities. Now this rural setting is a big opportunity for a change !

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.