X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
512 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The place is amazing. It's nice to sit in the lobby and in the rooftop.. The stuff are friendly, and helpful. the beds are good and the room is confterble.. The only problem is that the dorms door do not lock automatically so most of the time the room is just opened for anybody to come inside... The location is perfect, just underneath the mountain that you can hike and not far from the bus station. Oh and the pizza is awasome! You should order :)


100%

I wish I had skipped Yangshuo altogether and stayed here 2 more nights. Perfect location, good staff and food, good facilities, and loved being out of the city.


97%

Wow, what a hostel. Great and clean facilities, great selection of food at the Cafe & Restaurant, very clean and convenient and the best rooftop view in the Area. The Staff is especially nice, and an honorable Mention goes out to Ronnie, who was gracious enough to show us the surrounding areas by bike and take us on an early morning climb to see the sunrise over one of the worlds greatest Landscapes. Thanks!


94%

The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a nice, relaxing place.


94%

Really good place to stay, room lights were quite dim at night, good pizza, provided plenty of good information. In my opinion better staying in Xingping than Yangshou.


97%

Great hostel in a great location in a great little city. Stayed in a private room and it was really nice. So close to the river with friendly staff and good wifi. Would recommend this place highly


100%

Great place to stay!


100%

This place was perfect. Great amenities and atmosphere. Xingping is such a cool place that I thought surpassed Yangshuo for beauty and culture, not to mention everything is just cheaper here. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff really impressed. You can basically book any kind of tour you can imagine with ease through the hostel itself. Oh yeah -- and they had some of the best pizza I've ever had in China.


89%

Would come back to stay in the same room, the view was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to know that you have a good time with us. Welcome to Xingping again. Best regards! :)

80%

Well located, clean facilities, comfortable beds. I wish the young man with long hair at the front desk was more friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel sorry to know that you did not that enjoy your stay with us. Usually the guy in the front desk you mentioned is nice and getting highly praise from our guests. We think that maybe some misunderstandings happened. :( Anyway, we will try to give better performances to our guests. Best wishes!

86%

We were very pleased with our stay and would strongly recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are honored to know that you enjoy your stay with us!! Best wishes! :)

100%

Great place to stay and the views are great too.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that your had a lovely time with us!! Your satisfaction is our greatest wishes! Welcome to our hostel again! :)

94%

We originally only booked one night here, but ended up staying two. You just can't beat the view from the new wing. Xingping is a less touristy, smaller version of Yangshuo in many ways, so if you're passing through it anyway, why not stop for a night or two? We had a lovely bike ride through the countryside, saw the 20 yuan note view, and watched cormorant fishing. Be aware that Xingping is NOT Yangshuo, although it is listed under Yangshuo. This caused a lot of confusion for fellow travelers.


97%

An amazing hostel in an amazing place. Hostel staff was very helpful and gave lots of useful tips. Special thanks to Runny who hiked with us and showed the nearby villages, and who helped us to communicate with local people. We highly recommend it if you want to stay in a magical place which is not as crowdy as Yangshuo. Thanks again! Martyna & Lukasz


89%

Our booked room stank of smoke (despite being "nonsmoking"...) -- staff moved us to a deluxe room instead but expected us to pay most of the difference. Staff were helpful but not exceptionally friendly. Eventual room was pleasant but small. Plenty of cafe/common areas, which are nice

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Because Xingping is a small port town, there is not a lot going on at night. This means that most of those staying in the hostel are having dinner, watching movies, talking, or singing in the common areas. I enjoyed my time here and was able to connect with many other hostelers to go out for meals or take a hike in the area. Know that the deposit for your room key is 100 yuan, which can be three times more than the cost of your nightly stay..

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are happy to know that you had a good time with us!! Meanwhile, we get confused a little bit about your comment. The score on staff performance we got from you is very low but you wrote down we were the friendliest hostel at the same time. Besides, to be honest, we really have difficulties in understanding your complain about the deposit for the room key that supposed to return you when you check out. Best wishes!!

66%

There was building work going on at the front of the building all night so did not sleep at all. Although the hostel cannot control the building work we felt they should have infirmed us how late it would go on for and not rented out the room we were in as truly impossible to sleep. When my sister moved to the dorm to try and sleep they refused to give us discount on this, which seemed abit poor. We were tgere three days and our room was not ckeaned once and wuth the dyst coming in from the building work it

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us.However, there are 3 things we need to explain enough. First, we have told you that how hard we tried to figure out when the workers would stop working, but even the workers themselves are not sure. Second, you changed the room since you two had different needs of air-con. More room cost more money. Third, actually,we did give you CNY5 discount even you are not happy enough about that. Best wishes!

100%

Great hostel! Really clean, great atmosphere. Each bed in the dorms has its own light and power socket, a much over-looked necessity. The staff are really nice and helpful. Good shower and good AC. The only slightly annoying detail was that we had to come to the reception every day to re-activate our room key, and also the garbage bins are not emptied every day unless you ask... All in all, highly recommended!


83%

Had a pleasant stay at This Old Place, probably the best in town. Helpful and friendly staff that speaks understandable english. 4 bed mixed dorm was quite small but acceptable for 3 nights. The homemade pizza was delicious and so was also the food from the cafe next door. Can really recommend renting bicycles (¥20/day) and explore the small villages and landscapes around the town, we even got invited for lunch with a local villager and his family, sign language being or only communication.


83%

it was nice staying there. i would come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad to hear that your had a lovely time with us!! Your satisfaction is our greatest wishes! Thanks a lot for your comment. Welcome to our hostel again! Best regards! :)

« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Yangshuo Hostels

Please give us your feedback