X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
522 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very nice Hostel ,quite near to the most spectacular view in Xingping, very nice and helpful staff, WiFi is not the best, the Pizzas are very good but bring some time with you especially when there are some other people orderd one before you. All over a nice place to stay some days. Tip : Rent a scooter or motorbike and discover the streets around xingping . Costs you 140 Rmb for one Day.


80%

The hostel advertises alot about there wood fired pizza oven but what they dont tell you is that they can only cook one pizza at a time. I ordered a pizza about two minutes after someone else, there pizza was ready in about forty minutes after they started the fire in the oven then when I asked about mine they said another forty minutes, so I gave up got my money back and went to a real restaurant. Also the coffee, hot chocolate was awful there, they really should not bother doing food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Our wood fired pizza is made by hands one by one. There were three pizzas ordered before you, so you need wait for your pizza for such a long time. We are so sorry that you did not taste our delicious pizza. As for the hot chocolate, although we returned the money to you, we are very sorry for it. Besides, we have two kinds of coffee, Fresh coffee and Espresso coffee. Those who drank coffee felt it good. Maybe you forgot whether you ordered a coffee. Welcome to come back again.

80%

Relaxed hostel! Brilliant view from the rooftop and nice pizza's! Just one thing : make sure you don't end up in the 6 persons dorm downstairs in the old building. The smell is awful and there's a lot of mold on the wall and ceiling . The staff said they didn't knew about it, but it still took a while to get another room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your highly praise for our rooftop with good view and nice pizza. We are very sorry for your bad staying in the 6-bed dorm. We changed a better one for you for free at that time. We also close the 6-bed dorms for decoration and make it better and more comfortable to stay. Welcome to stay our hostel again and we will give you our sincerest help!

80%

Love the ambience at the common area (even though there's a lot of mosquitos!). Very close to the pier, Laozhai Hill (great karsts view from the peak)


86%

Xingping hostel is a very nice place to stay and they have a lot of information what to do around the area. The sunset on the hill is amazing!! If you want to see the light show or rock climb you better stay in Yangshou though.


89%

The place is amazing. It's nice to sit in the lobby and in the rooftop.. The stuff are friendly, and helpful. the beds are good and the room is confterble.. The only problem is that the dorms door do not lock automatically so most of the time the room is just opened for anybody to come inside... The location is perfect, just underneath the mountain that you can hike and not far from the bus station. Oh and the pizza is awasome! You should order :)


100%

I wish I had skipped Yangshuo altogether and stayed here 2 more nights. Perfect location, good staff and food, good facilities, and loved being out of the city.


94%

xingping is now under development. construction works everywhere. i do hope tourism can improve the living condition of the local,but on the other hand,i doubt whether she could remain quiet and clean. i don't want her to become another yangshuo.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Wow, what a hostel. Great and clean facilities, great selection of food at the Cafe & Restaurant, very clean and convenient and the best rooftop view in the Area. The Staff is especially nice, and an honorable Mention goes out to Ronnie, who was gracious enough to show us the surrounding areas by bike and take us on an early morning climb to see the sunrise over one of the worlds greatest Landscapes. Thanks!


94%

The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a nice, relaxing place.


94%

Really good place to stay, room lights were quite dim at night, good pizza, provided plenty of good information. In my opinion better staying in Xingping than Yangshou.


97%

Great hostel in a great location in a great little city. Stayed in a private room and it was really nice. So close to the river with friendly staff and good wifi. Would recommend this place highly


100%

Great place to stay!


100%

This place was perfect. Great amenities and atmosphere. Xingping is such a cool place that I thought surpassed Yangshuo for beauty and culture, not to mention everything is just cheaper here. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff really impressed. You can basically book any kind of tour you can imagine with ease through the hostel itself. Oh yeah -- and they had some of the best pizza I've ever had in China.


89%

Would come back to stay in the same room, the view was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to know that you have a good time with us. Welcome to Xingping again. Best regards! :)

80%

Well located, clean facilities, comfortable beds. I wish the young man with long hair at the front desk was more friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel sorry to know that you did not that enjoy your stay with us. Usually the guy in the front desk you mentioned is nice and getting highly praise from our guests. We think that maybe some misunderstandings happened. :( Anyway, we will try to give better performances to our guests. Best wishes!

86%

We were very pleased with our stay and would strongly recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are honored to know that you enjoy your stay with us!! Best wishes! :)

100%

Great place to stay and the views are great too.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that your had a lovely time with us!! Your satisfaction is our greatest wishes! Welcome to our hostel again! :)

94%

We originally only booked one night here, but ended up staying two. You just can't beat the view from the new wing. Xingping is a less touristy, smaller version of Yangshuo in many ways, so if you're passing through it anyway, why not stop for a night or two? We had a lovely bike ride through the countryside, saw the 20 yuan note view, and watched cormorant fishing. Be aware that Xingping is NOT Yangshuo, although it is listed under Yangshuo. This caused a lot of confusion for fellow travelers.


97%

An amazing hostel in an amazing place. Hostel staff was very helpful and gave lots of useful tips. Special thanks to Runny who hiked with us and showed the nearby villages, and who helped us to communicate with local people. We highly recommend it if you want to stay in a magical place which is not as crowdy as Yangshuo. Thanks again! Martyna & Lukasz


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Yangshuo Hostels

Please give us your feedback