Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 697 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 697 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Located at No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo.
Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel
China
Yangshuo 541906 No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping
88% 697
24.9163046 110.5268651
Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.9

Excellent location for the main hiking attractions. Staff very helpful giving advice and booking tours. Amazing pizzas from their pizza oven. Wrap up warm in winter as the bathrooms are outside and the main area can get chilly (everyone here seems to love leaving the doors and windows open?). Dorms were warm though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ChaseDavidson
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Nov 2016
10.0

The location was perfect! Sitting only a 2 minute walk from the trailhead of Laozhai Hill overlooking the Li River made it very easy to head up for the sunrise. Most hostels in China are fairly cheap but this one was the cheapest I found and the room including bathroom were exceptional. Western style toilet with separate shower in the 4-person dorm was very up-to-date. If you're visiting Xingping, I highly recommend staying at This Old Place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Oct 2016
5.7

Hostel very basic. Not very clean. It seemed the Chinese guests had much nicer rooms than us despite paying for a private ensuite. Location good for xingping although hard not to be as very small town. Staff weren't very helpful when trying to get information on travel and the atmosphere was dead there. Wouldn't stay again. Xingping probably good for a day or two nothing more than that. Rooftop area ok to sit in just the noise of streets below doesnt make it the peaceful spot they advertise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • najibakhbar
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Oct 2016
8.6

Overall, I liked the place. Great location; close to the ancient town which is my favourite. The hostel had a good cafe with helpful staff and good food. The overall ambience is great. One cons, felt like the some of the staff at the reception counter seems a bit rude. I don't know whether it's the language barrier but their tone is slightly rude and not as helpful as I would've expected. On the verdict, the staff that replies the email is really good and helpful. Nonetheless, good place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2016
7.7

Very good location, staff speaks basic english and were overall helpfull, although not always very clear with advices they gave us about locations and things to do. The hostel rooms were basic, but not expensive. Compared to the exellent reviews it got on site,we were a bit disappointed. But- overall pretty decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
9.1

My husband and I had a great stay here. We stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm, which was very clean and roomy. The location was amazing! Right next to the river. The staff was very friendly and made sure that we got all the travel information we needed to enjoy nearby attractions. We enjoyed the hostel's cafe, Sesames, which is right next door. We would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
5.7

Was not as good as We hoped. Beautiful location. One staff member was particularly helpful when she drove her motorbike to come and find us in order to deliver a sandwich that we had ordered but had no time to eat. The western food catered was good, especially the milkshakes and omelettes. We had quite high expectations when We came, which were not met. Wasn't amazingly clean, water was unreliable and room was relatively plain, despite We paid a lot for it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

A really nice and lovely place in Xingping. Xingping is a very small and relaxed village with great scenery. The hostel was nice and close to everything and the river. Although it looks like the hostel is on the river- it is not like that, but it is close by (without the view to the lake though...) The staff was very nice and funny. at midnight we went with the staff to eat Chinese barbecue and that was delicious and a fun experience :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for finding time to leave this review and for all the kind words! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Xingping and had fun time with our lovely staff. We are looking forward to sharing more midnight barbecue next time you visit us!

2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Ideally located by the river, old town and mountains. Very sociable staff, good deals on food. Fun place for silo travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review. Xingping is a truely lovely place - we are happy you came to love it as much as we do. We are really grateful you appreciated our efforts to make your stay interesting and fun. We hope to see you again soon - safe travels!

6th Aug 2016
8.9

Occasionally the wifi is bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.