Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 732 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 732 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.7

really really nice hostel !! the staff especially are so sweet and helpful - it was my birthday and they made me feel really special. Bikes easy to rent and staff gave helpful directions to places around Xingping. Room was clean and had a good shower. Ask the staff for restaurant recommendations !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.1

Great place. Showers in the private room were the best we have had.We took part in a dumpling party which was great. Very helpful people. 30min sunrise hike starts out back! We stayed 2 nights. Make sure you bring cash, atm facilities in town dont always work!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome place! Very friendly staff, great pizza, comfy common area, bicycles for rent and in the evening the tourist crowds are gone :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
9.4

We loved Xingping. Our room was on the bottom floor and was very damp and dingy. That was only negative. View from top of hostel was great. Pizza and other accomodations were very nice. The hotel staff was very friendly. We would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Great location, right by Laozhai Hill so you can easily walk up for sunrise / sunset for an amazing view. The staff were very friendly, spoke great english and gave us lots of advice on what to do, and they rent out scooters and bikes pretty cheaply. They serve genuinely good wood-fired pizzas and there is a nice downstairs area to sit. Our 4-bed dorm was really nice too, with an ensuite bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2017
9.7

I had a private room in their "new building " and it was lovely. Everything worked, bed were comfortable which is rare in China and showers were warm. Even their pizzas are decent! Great place and I high recommend staying in Xing Ping over Yangshuo if you have to choose and come for the nature/quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and that you were satisfied with our facilities,food and so on. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us. This Old Place Hostel Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th May 2017
8.0

We are glad that we made the trip from Yangshuo to stay a night in Xingping. The hostel was very easy to find and well located, practically right on the water. We stayed in one of the dorms and it felt very much like staying at the cottage. Showers were located outside of the room and were very spacious. We were found that the staff were not the friendliest nor the most helpful:(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback and for staying at our hostel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Xingping and you felt comfortable in our dorms; we are really sorry that you did not receive the service you were expecting from our staff, we will indeed make sure to be as helpful and welcoming as possible with our guests. Thank you again for your useful review, we hope to see you again. This Old Place Team

  • maloukeylon2142
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th May 2017
8.9

Good hostel ! Rooms a little humide but shower are real clean. Rooftop is litteraly the best part you have the best vue ever we took our beer up there evry night! Good place in xin ping! Forget yan shuo if you broke

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for your feedback. We are very glad that you had a nice time at our hostel, we are very proud of our roof too! :) Sorry to hear that your room was humid, unfortunately the proximity to the river might cause this issue sometimes. We hope that the air conditioning in the rooms can help tackle the problem. Hope to see you again if you visit Xingping again someday. Thanks for staying with us!

  • HumphreyWood
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
8.3

very close to sightseeing center, can do rafting or hiking soon after check-in, roofbar is awesome , but it's bit of pity that there is a building being constructed now in the front and the stunning view is shield half way. downside, 2 beds share 1 outlet in dorm room. All in one, a soooooooo quiet place during night to secure ur good sleep after daytime hiking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for staying with us and for your useful feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Xingping and that you could apprecitate our beloved rooftop. We are very sorry about the inconvenience caused by the construction, unfortunately there is nothing we can do about it but hopefully the process will be over soon and we will have our amazing view back. Thank you for pointing out the single-outlet problem, we will make sure that all of our guests can take advantage of the service. Thanks again for your kind review.

  • lucymhewitt8017
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
5.7

Super cheap and right by the port area for bamboo boats and getting across the river for hiking trails. But as you are so central, there are hoards of tour groups going past the hostel all day every day. Whole place is a bit dark and dingy with LOADS of mosquitos everywhere, not cool when you're showering. Also no soap or shampoo, which most hostels offer for free these days. Staff friendly and helpful though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your useful feedback. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at our hostel; unfortunately, since the presence of mosquitoes is due to the closeness of the hostel to the river, we are trying hard to tackle the problem but it is very hard to eliminate it. As for the tour groups, the hostel is located in a fairly touristy area (which is usually very convenient for our guests to reach the most popular destinations), therefore the amount of tourists passing by is inevitable. Thank you for your suggestion about soap and shampoo, we will certainly take it into consideration. Thanks again for staying with us. This Old Place Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.