X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
534 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We stayed at the absolutely wonderful This Old Place Hostel while visiting the magnificent Xingpin,China. From checking in to our returning the room key very close to check out time, we were treated like a king and queen! The entire staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate - we thank them all so very much and wish them all great happiness in their lives! We can only hope that they would have the same experience should they visit our home country,Canada.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

A nice warm welcome with staff happy to let you speak Chinese, equally they speak some English. Adequate dorms with good beds and bedside electrics. a lovely roof top terrace with amazing views, even in February. Comfortable communal area with the odd film being played (English or Chinese). Probably could do with more bathrooms. showers, but as the hostel was not full this was not really an issue. Tucked away in a lovely alley, easy to find if you follow the instructions.


100%

It was a wonderful, peaceful location and the staff were super friendly and helpful.


89%

Very helpful staff, nice pizzza, good place!


86%

The hostel is really nice and cozy, good atmosphere and helpful, english speaking staff. But there are only two showers and one wester toilet for the dorms, and they have no towels to lend so you should bring yours, and they ask you to undo your bed before checking out...


86%

A very nice hostel fairly near the bus station and the river. Does very good pizzas!


91%

Very nice Hostel ,quite near to the most spectacular view in Xingping, very nice and helpful staff, WiFi is not the best, the Pizzas are very good but bring some time with you especially when there are some other people orderd one before you. All over a nice place to stay some days. Tip : Rent a scooter or motorbike and discover the streets around xingping . Costs you 140 Rmb for one Day.


100%

Good location and friendly staff. Recommended.


80%

The hostel advertises alot about there wood fired pizza oven but what they dont tell you is that they can only cook one pizza at a time. I ordered a pizza about two minutes after someone else, there pizza was ready in about forty minutes after they started the fire in the oven then when I asked about mine they said another forty minutes, so I gave up got my money back and went to a real restaurant. Also the coffee, hot chocolate was awful there, they really should not bother doing food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Our wood fired pizza is made by hands one by one. There were three pizzas ordered before you, so you need wait for your pizza for such a long time. We are so sorry that you did not taste our delicious pizza. As for the hot chocolate, although we returned the money to you, we are very sorry for it. Besides, we have two kinds of coffee, Fresh coffee and Espresso coffee. Those who drank coffee felt it good. Maybe you forgot whether you ordered a coffee. Welcome to come back again.

80%

Relaxed hostel! Brilliant view from the rooftop and nice pizza's! Just one thing : make sure you don't end up in the 6 persons dorm downstairs in the old building. The smell is awful and there's a lot of mold on the wall and ceiling . The staff said they didn't knew about it, but it still took a while to get another room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your highly praise for our rooftop with good view and nice pizza. We are very sorry for your bad staying in the 6-bed dorm. We changed a better one for you for free at that time. We also close the 6-bed dorms for decoration and make it better and more comfortable to stay. Welcome to stay our hostel again and we will give you our sincerest help!



View all Yangshuo Hostels

Please give us your feedback