X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Xingping This Old Place International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.5, Rongtan Rd., Xingping, Yangshuo, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
502 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This place was perfect. Great amenities and atmosphere. Xingping is such a cool place that I thought surpassed Yangshuo for beauty and culture, not to mention everything is just cheaper here. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff really impressed. You can basically book any kind of tour you can imagine with ease through the hostel itself. Oh yeah -- and they had some of the best pizza I've ever had in China.


89%

Would come back to stay in the same room, the view was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to know that you have a good time with us. Welcome to Xingping again. Best regards! :)

80%

Well located, clean facilities, comfortable beds. I wish the young man with long hair at the front desk was more friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel sorry to know that you did not that enjoy your stay with us. Usually the guy in the front desk you mentioned is nice and getting highly praise from our guests. We think that maybe some misunderstandings happened. :( Anyway, we will try to give better performances to our guests. Best wishes!

86%

We were very pleased with our stay and would strongly recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are honored to know that you enjoy your stay with us!! Best wishes! :)

100%

Great place to stay and the views are great too.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that your had a lovely time with us!! Your satisfaction is our greatest wishes! Welcome to our hostel again! :)

97%

An amazing hostel in an amazing place. Hostel staff was very helpful and gave lots of useful tips. Special thanks to Runny who hiked with us and showed the nearby villages, and who helped us to communicate with local people. We highly recommend it if you want to stay in a magical place which is not as crowdy as Yangshuo. Thanks again! Martyna & Lukasz


89%

Our booked room stank of smoke (despite being "nonsmoking"...) -- staff moved us to a deluxe room instead but expected us to pay most of the difference. Staff were helpful but not exceptionally friendly. Eventual room was pleasant but small. Plenty of cafe/common areas, which are nice

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Because Xingping is a small port town, there is not a lot going on at night. This means that most of those staying in the hostel are having dinner, watching movies, talking, or singing in the common areas. I enjoyed my time here and was able to connect with many other hostelers to go out for meals or take a hike in the area. Know that the deposit for your room key is 100 yuan, which can be three times more than the cost of your nightly stay..

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are happy to know that you had a good time with us!! Meanwhile, we get confused a little bit about your comment. The score on staff performance we got from you is very low but you wrote down we were the friendliest hostel at the same time. Besides, to be honest, we really have difficulties in understanding your complain about the deposit for the room key that supposed to return you when you check out. Best wishes!!

66%

There was building work going on at the front of the building all night so did not sleep at all. Although the hostel cannot control the building work we felt they should have infirmed us how late it would go on for and not rented out the room we were in as truly impossible to sleep. When my sister moved to the dorm to try and sleep they refused to give us discount on this, which seemed abit poor. We were tgere three days and our room was not ckeaned once and wuth the dyst coming in from the building work it

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us.However, there are 3 things we need to explain enough. First, we have told you that how hard we tried to figure out when the workers would stop working, but even the workers themselves are not sure. Second, you changed the room since you two had different needs of air-con. More room cost more money. Third, actually,we did give you CNY5 discount even you are not happy enough about that. Best wishes!

100%

Great hostel! Really clean, great atmosphere. Each bed in the dorms has its own light and power socket, a much over-looked necessity. The staff are really nice and helpful. Good shower and good AC. The only slightly annoying detail was that we had to come to the reception every day to re-activate our room key, and also the garbage bins are not emptied every day unless you ask... All in all, highly recommended!


83%

Had a pleasant stay at This Old Place, probably the best in town. Helpful and friendly staff that speaks understandable english. 4 bed mixed dorm was quite small but acceptable for 3 nights. The homemade pizza was delicious and so was also the food from the cafe next door. Can really recommend renting bicycles (¥20/day) and explore the small villages and landscapes around the town, we even got invited for lunch with a local villager and his family, sign language being or only communication.


83%

it was nice staying there. i would come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are glad to hear that your had a lovely time with us!! Your satisfaction is our greatest wishes! Thanks a lot for your comment. Welcome to our hostel again! Best regards! :)

100%

i think there is nothing to change. everything was great. so kind stuff, they provided me all the things that i needed even if it wasnt their jobs. i 100% recommend on this place. best hostel i ever been.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that your had a lovely time with us!! Your satisfaction is our greatest wishes! Welcome to our hostel again! Have a nice day :)

94%

Nice hostel, right around the corner from the hike to the Lao Zhai mountain (tiring hike, but the views are worth it). Cute common areas in both buildings. Only complaint is that the metal bunk beds and lockers are rather loud and shaky when trying to move about without waking up your dorm mates, and the minor annoyance that I had to leave the new building to go to the old building to get a new roll of toilet paper in my pi's. Minor things though.


86%

This place was a bit poorly maintained. Little things broken, lost locks for lockers, lights not working, malfunctioning air con, the room looked like no one had ever wiped off any dust. Nice place otherwise, great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, and sorry for we were not thoughtful. The things you said really existed, but we didn't notice that. We will try our best to improve our facilities,and quality of services. Welcome back to XingPing this old place again, and we are confident that you will see our progress. ------------XingPing this old place

94%

One of my favourite hostels during my China trip. Fantastic location to enjoy the limestone peaks; especially from the upstairs balcony. The hostel's pizzas are delicious and worth a taste too. Staff are helpful and pleasant.


69%

Usually it's the staff that make a huge difference, but at this hostel, most of them were so-so, unfriendly and not helpful except for 2 (a nice guy called Liu and Anne). No organized social events. A small area near the pizza oven was the only cool social spot. The staff refused to change my room from single to dorm, saying it wasn't their policy, although all the other hostels I've been to did so without any fuss. Their "new" restaurant is pricey and bland, tho' recommended by the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We respect your opinions, but we have to defense ourselves with reasonable points.1 the definition of friendly differ from person to person. We can not agree that it is equal to satisfying every demand from u. 2, about changing the room, we have explained it in email even with a screenshot show you why we cannot do that and you finally agreed about. 3, you told our staff in new cafe that you loved the dishes and will try their other dish tomorrow.Sorry, but we got hurt by your unfair comment

86%

It is a really nice place. Very clean and new. would Definitely recommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are truly glad to know that you had a great time with us!! Welcome to Xingping again !! Have a nice day :)

100%

I had a wonderful stay at This Old Place. The staff was helpful and friendly and the pizza was delicious. Ronny was particularly helpful and kind - on his morning off of work he took me and two other guests on a beautiful bike ride. I enjoyed my stay so much that I decided to stay two nights instead of one. If you're looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay outside of the hustle and bustle around yangshuo, this is the place to be!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comment. We are so glad to know that you had a good stay with us. Welcome to This Old Place again. Best wishes :)

97%

keep training your english, and the pizza's are amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you had a good time with us and love our pizza. Thanks a lot for your comment and we will try our best to be better.

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Yangshuo Hostels

Please give us your feedback