Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers Located at 2-18-6 Nakano, Nakano-ku, Tokyo.
YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers
Japan
Tokyo 164-0001 2-18-6 Nakano, Nakano-ku
79% 519
35.7029012 139.6681058
YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.9

As the price was slightly less than average, the room and condition is mainly average for a backpackers as well. Wouldn't recommend for a long stay though. Generally friendly and good check in and out procedure. Acceptable and fine stay for budget travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
6.9

We stayed in the dorm and that room was too small for 8 people. It is very tiny! Also the common area is very small. There is only one couch and a kitchen in one room. The facilities are not dirty but used. The staff is very friendly and gave us some good information! I would stay there again but not longer than two nights!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jun 2016
7.1

Good points: Just a few stops away from Shinjuku, not too far away from activities yet far enough to have some peace and quiet. Security good. Points to improve on: Major drawback is the male toilet on the 3rd floor stinks, and for the three days I stayed there, the stink persisted. Sometimes, you can even get a whiff of it in the room. The rest are good enough for the price you are paying for a night. Small, might not be very convenient for bigger-sized travelers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
8.0

If you keep in mind that this is a very low-cost hostel, it's a good value. It's a bit run-down but cozy and reminiscent of an old family home, especially the kitchen/common area. The dorm beds are densely packed together but offer some privacy. If you really dislike tight spaces, you might want to look elsewhere. The Nakano neighborhood is near Shinjuku and is interesting in its own right - don't miss the Broadway Mall a short walk away, famous among manga-fans and other obsessed people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2016
7.7

Really close to a train station and lots of places to buy food and drink nearby. I stayed in a double room with my partner, which was very small. There was the bed, and then not even enough floor space to open up our bags without putting them on the bed. But the hostel is very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
6.9

It kind of seemed like anyone could come in and out, and there was nowhere secure to put your things. The rooms were super tiny and cramped, especially when full with everyone's suitcases. Quite clean on the second floor! Bathroom all the way upstairs had a horrifying smell. Pretty close to a train station, but you have to take that train to another station to really get anywhere -- lots of transfers and taking 2-3 trains to get anywhere in your future if you stay. Common room not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th May 2016
7.4

We had a 2,000yen refundable key deposit which they didn't mention. Stairs very steep for carrying a suitcase. The walls are crazy thin, you can hear everything and there's a hospital nearby so bring earplugs. You need to fill in very detailed form at check in, if they took a photocopy of passport would be far faster. Despite these things it was cheaper for a private room than anywhere else, beds were comfy and location was ok, close to station and direct trains to Shinjuku and Tokyo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cbhaskar
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2016
9.7

Honestly one of the best places you can stay near Shinjuku. Great hostel vibe - 24 hr common room stocked with guitars, books, video games, and a kitchen & they make dinner for 500yen to share on Tuesdays. Very close to the metro and Nanako Broadway street for yummy food. Cute local bathhouse by the laundry place. Awesome staff and cheap private room for two! Everything I could have asked for except maybe a shared computer, but wifi is super fast so no problem for most.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

Very clean and nice staff! Great cheap hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.1

My boyfriend and I stayed in a Standard Double Bed Private room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The bed is a raised tatami floor with thin futons provided (if you need a soft bed, this would not work for you). Can rent a towel for ~100 yen. Unlike other places we stayed in Japan, there was no smoke smell. This place was perfect as a place to sleep and stash our stuff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.