Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Ambleside

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
YHA Ambleside Located at Waterhead, Cumbria, Lake District.
YHA Ambleside
England
Lake District Lake District LA22 0EU Waterhead, Cumbria
93% 344
54.4192857 -2.9617810
YHA Ambleside
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ghardaker84
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed here for one night. Was amazing. Room clean and secure with locker which you need your own lock for. Location excellent a 5 minute walk into town. Hostel next to the main pier where you can get a boat ride around the lake or kayak. Right on the lakeside with lots of seating where you can sit and enjoy watching the sun go down. Plenty of shared bathrooms and toilets so no queuing. just wish checkout time was a bit later than 10 but apart from that perfect. Can't wait to come back. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the detailed review. You give a pretty good run down of what we do here. 10am check out is pretty standard, and if our hard working housekeepers are going to turn the place around for 2pm check out then unfortunately they do need those 4 hours. Glad it didn't seem to impact on your stay though

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

There's one stuff quite helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, I'm glad our staff were helpful

2nd Jun 2016
9.7

YHA Ambleside has a beautiful view of Lake Windermere. The rooms are nice and spacious. It is a great place to stay and enjoy the scenery of the Lake District.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We like to think it's a great place too, so glad to see you agree with us

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Hi my friend rose who has never been hosteling was impressed by yah Ambleside that she is asking to book again we have looked at grass mere just home so will defenetly book again my be their or come by to Ambleside We had a two bunk room I was on the top bunk ok getting up but had to have help getting down was told by staff at Ambleside that they have a room with two single beds which we'd be better for us great location staff helpful great atmosphere Catherine &Rose

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Catherine & Rose. Glad to hear we've converted your friend. You'll love Grasmere, it's a great little hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

This place had an unbeatable location, right on the largest lake in the country! The staff was wonderful and had suggestions for walks and also accommodated my request to change rooms on the second night of my stay. Another huge plus--the drying room! I would recommend this place to everyone, a highlight of my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Good to hear we were a highlight.

25th Apr 2016
9.7

One of the best hostel experiences I've had! Keep in mind that it's not in the center of town (which suited me just fine).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good to hear!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great service having received an email within 24hrs of possible lost property (not mine) and where to post it. An adjacent bathroom is a must as the hostel hosts manyfamilies. It is great location with views right onto Windermere and bus arriving just outside, which is a must to get to many trail heads and historical spots. Their additional fees were to high though for maps and breakfast, and the lack of any automatic lock on doors left room open when roomates neglect to lock the door. Thumbs up

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments on our service. We do our best to get lost property back to it's rightful owner (we got a LOT of lost property here) Regarding the additional fees, our breakfast at £5.25 for a full cooked English breakfast with unlimited tea coffee, cereal, toast, fruit juice and fruit and yoghurt is going to be hard to beat. We have a few free maps for guests. Our OS maps are sold at the recommended retail price.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location, multiple and clean facilities for everything you need, friendly staff. If you plan on cooking, bring spices etc with you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We do provide all equipment needed in the self catering kitchen, but as you point out, guests do need to bring any herbs, spices, oil etc with them

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.3

Excellent location, but room was freezing and beds like rubber lead. Was moved to another room for disabled which was fine but sewage smells from time to time. Windows left wide open by staff anyone could walk in and take my bag. THE FIRE EXIT WAS BLOCKED BY A CAMPER VAN FOR DAYS EVEN THOUGH THE FIRE ALARM HAD GONE OFF IN THE NIGHT AND "FLAGGED UP" THE PROBLEM. Disabled people could get trapped by steps and railings and an official parking space blocking the fire escape route. TAKE NOTE.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. I have passed your concerns on to the relevant departments who are looking in to them. I am sorry you didn't find the mattresses in the first room comfortable. We use the same type in all rooms and regularly get positive comments. I guess a favourite mattress type is a very personal thing though

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Fantastic! Does everything you would need it to! I would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Always good to hear. Personal recommendation is the best kind of advertising there is

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.