Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Ambleside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2017
8.3

First class location and a building with character. Only reservation, do we have to have muzak in the restaurant?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
10.0

Lovely location--would highly recommend it to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
3.7

Staff don't care about you. Asked for help and was told that I was to solve my problem on my own. No one who works there really cares about you. Very far from town. Not even salt and pepper available in kitchen. Would not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2017
10.0

First time staying at a youth hostel. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, great facilities and very clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
8.9

Very beautiful location at lake side. Parking is limited. Food is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2017
9.1

The one staff member was not the most friendly, but everyone else was. Good location by water front though its about a mile walk into town. Nice facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
8.6

Pretty good hostel, nice location right on the water (although it is a bit of a walk from Ambleside). I only stayed for one night and used it as a base for hiking and it was perfect for that. Tended to be mostly families staying here which was not a negative for me since I wasn't there to meet other solo travelers, but I imagine if that's what I was there for it would have been a let down. Staff were very nice and helpful as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, the staff was really nice and were helpful with the different walks to do

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cailinmary
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.0

Massive hostel, gets quite busy in high season, lots of families. Great facilities & location right on waterfront. About 15 minute walk into Ambleside. Friendly atmosphere. Would stay again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
6.3

Positives: Good location Good facilities Negatives Staff could be friendlier and more helpful. When I arrived the car park was full. The check in staff didn't seem bothered that I was struggling to find somewhere and that the expense of a pay and display would be my own.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and I'm glad you liked the view and facilities. I would like to apologise if you felt the receptionist who checked you in wasn't friendly or helpful. This isn't the norm and isn't OK (read our reviews, one of the things that stands out is our staff). The other thing that stands out is, unfortunately our parking.We haven't got enough, and never will do. There are 3 alternatives close by that we direct people to if they find ours is ful so it shouldn't be a struggle. And only one of those charges (and only between the hours of 9am and 6pm. Over night it is free).

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×