Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Ambleside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd May 2017
8.6

Positives Great helpful friendly knowledgeable staff. Beautiful area...it's like a resort on the lake. Negatives The showers and toilets are tiny and although pretty clean....they often seem untidy. Maybe it's just sloppy guests. Overall..a great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel! Really clean and modern, right on the beautiful lake Windermere! Absolutely perfect for a getaway. 15 minutes walk to Ambleside town where there are shops etc. There are lots of walks which start from Ambleside but I'd reccommend looking into these before going because the staff at the hostel weren't too helpful when it came to recommending tracks and they're not signposted either so you have to know where you're going or have already preplanned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review Emily, it's great to read you had such a good time. Apologies that you weren't helped by our staff regarding the walks, as getting out in the fells is the reason most of our staff are here and it's usually more of an effort to stop them talking about it! Your advice regarding pre planning is a good one though so that you can get them most out of your visit and stay safe in the fells

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Location was great, right by the Waterhead. It isn't really at Ambleside town but it's a nice walk. Staff are friendly, help to provide recommendations on walking routes and they clean up very often! The kitchen's great, toilet's clean and warm, and you can do your laundry there. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are correct, we aren't in the centre of town, but I think our location is even better. You wouldn't get those lake views from the village! Good to see we ticked pretty much all the boxes for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Very lovely stay. Convenient but we had a car. Limited parking spaces available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to see you had a lovely stay. Our parking is limited but there are alternatives close by. We are probably one of the best spots for people who want to use public transport as we are very well connected by bus to all the main places you might want to go. Check out Stagecoach Cumbria's website to see where you can get too

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.3

Good Location. Big hostel. Good value for money! Facilities included a nice bar/restaurant, picnic tables, numerous toilets ( very convenient), dining area, self-catering area ( where there were numerous fridges/stoves/plates/cutlery), pool/snooker room, TV lounge. The rooms were very clean and the rooms had a large sink with mirror in them . Some of the rooms had storage spaces which could then be locked (you need to purchase a lock from the front desk unless you bring one yourself).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the detailed review Emily and I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us

  • jakemcgrath17548
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.6

Me and a friend spent one night at the Hostel. it was very good value for money and was situated on Lake Windemere. The only issue we had was a light in our room that no one was able to switch off. I will stay there again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad to read the two of you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be good value for money. I genuinely don't know what you mean by the light that you were unable to switch off though as no one has mentioned this to us. I'll get our maintenance manager to check the room you stayed in though. Hopefully see you here again

2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for a wonderful review!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
10.0

First time we have stayed in a yha and it definitely won't be the last. Flexible breakfast price would be a good idea continental / full English but probably too hard to put into place. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Always nice to get a 10/10, but even nicer to get a new convert to YHA! I'll certainly pass on your comments about breakfast pricing to our F&B team at head office

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Mar 2017
10.0

Really love this hostel. The location is great, just that carparking is quite limited.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the 10/10. It's good to see our awful parking didn't detract from the positives of your stay

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Super clean, organized, and my breakfast was SO GOOD! Loved this place. Well worth the 30 pound stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fantastic review, thanks

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.