Hostelworld.com

YHA Ambleside

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
7.1

Most things were okay, the only thing that bothered me is that people's kids kept leaving messes in the toilets which was disgusting. Felt sorry for the staff who have to clean it. The food was okay, not spectacular and portions were a bit small for the price. However, the view out of the window outweighed the sh#tty kids by miles!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It is frustrating when other guests aren't considerate but we do try to stay on top of these problems when and where we can. I have passed on your comments about the food to our F&B team as it is a new menu and they are looking for feedback. But that view hey...

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, that's always good to hear. We certainly try our best too

30th Jan 2017
10.0

Whole experience was delightful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dancingotter
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

A beautiful location just a short walk into the near by town. Friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities and good showers!! Breakfast although not included is well worth the little extra! Would definitely stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Dec 2016
9.4

Beautiful place located next to the lake. A little far from the city centre but the view made up for it. The kitchen is well-equipped with all the facilities needed for cooking. Room is great especially having a basin in the room, individual reading lamp and charging plug. Staff was helpful in giving advices for places to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. You are correct, I think the view makes up for the 15 minute walk in to the village

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Dec 2016
9.7

The facilities are well maintained and the kitchen is really great. Rooms are spacious with a big window facing the lake. The only thing is that the wifi could not work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Great weather and a great hostel location brilliant would recommend it no hesitation keep up the good work

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot, hopefully see you here again

28th Oct 2016
9.7

Superb hostel for a nice quiet weekend walking about the Lake District. The bar inside has some nice food items and a few draughts of Jennings, a nice way to get started on the great brews the towns in those parts can offer. Great views of Lake Windermere, proximity to Ambleside and trails leading towards Great Langdale. No lockers, though, which I tend to prefer. There was one large cabinet sort of thing that I was able to put a lock on, but then I was the only person using the locker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, good to see you had a great stay here with us. Thanks for the review

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
10.0

Lovely location, lovely people, lovely ambiance. The perfect ingredients for a fantastic holiday, and I got them all at YHA Ambleside to cook up a great time at Lake District. Thanks for a superb stay, guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to see you had such a great stay, hopefully see you here again

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
6.0

The hostel is in a beautiful location & staff friendly but we did not really enjoy our stay. There was a large group of school children staying whose presence was quite intrusive due to the noise. We felt it was wrong of the hostel to expect other guests to put up with it - specialized venues should be used for such groups. The dorm rooms were extremely small and claustrophobic as a result. The WCs so small you couldn't turn around or even fit your hands in the basin to wash them!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay. YHA hostels are open to all, including young people on residential trips. I don't know whether you brought up any of your concerns at the time as we would have done our best to help you in any way we could, including talking to the group if necessary as we want all our guests to enjoy their stay

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.