Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Ambleside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2017
9.4

The best views to the lake. Not in the center of the village. Nice people, quiet (but rooms on the road side are noisy), friendly and great bar!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay, lovely to read

  • nikkijane
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location, good base for exploring the Lakes District.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Nikki, glad you enjoyed your stay

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel in the lake district right next to lots of walks and attractions. The room was big and clean and also the showers. Breakfast was a bit pricey but worth it, and the restaurant was really good. Stuff was very helpful and nice. I would stay again and will recommend to anyone visiting the area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's fantastic that we have been able to host you during a great stay to this beautiful part of the country. Thank you very much for your great review, and it's even better that our facilities met your expectations. We do our best to make your stay great and the team will really appreciate your review, thank you!

2nd Jun 2017
8.9

This is the first time I have stayed at this YHA hostel , we were a group of seven in one of the dorms , previously we have used the other YHA hostel in Ambleside. I have to say this hostel was excellent, very clean and a great location on the lake side , only a ten min walk into the centre , I would definitely recommend this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and you left with a great impression. Please come and take advantage of our fantastic location again next time you are in the area.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
31st May 2017
10.0

Most amazing location on the edge of Lake Windermere and was lucky enough to have a beautiful view from my dorm window! The facilities were fantastic and I had a really great time here - should have stayed for longer! Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who is travelling to the Lake District as it is super easy to locate from the bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, Emily. We are very glad you had such a nice time and we really hope you get to stay with us longer next time. Safe travels!

23rd May 2017
8.6

Positives Great helpful friendly knowledgeable staff. Beautiful area...it's like a resort on the lake. Negatives The showers and toilets are tiny and although pretty clean....they often seem untidy. Maybe it's just sloppy guests. Overall..a great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Our staff and our amazing location are our two best assets I think. We do try to stay on top of cleaning the showers and toilets but all it takes is one messy person and it is not great for the person who follows them. We are staffed 24 hours though so any problems can be reported and dealt with quickly

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel, clean, friendly staff, good facilities and great location. No complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the great review! The staff always appreciate all feedback, but fantastic reviews go a long way! Take care. :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel! Really clean and modern, right on the beautiful lake Windermere! Absolutely perfect for a getaway. 15 minutes walk to Ambleside town where there are shops etc. There are lots of walks which start from Ambleside but I'd reccommend looking into these before going because the staff at the hostel weren't too helpful when it came to recommending tracks and they're not signposted either so you have to know where you're going or have already preplanned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review Emily, it's great to read you had such a good time. Apologies that you weren't helped by our staff regarding the walks, as getting out in the fells is the reason most of our staff are here and it's usually more of an effort to stop them talking about it! Your advice regarding pre planning is a good one though so that you can get them most out of your visit and stay safe in the fells

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Location was great, right by the Waterhead. It isn't really at Ambleside town but it's a nice walk. Staff are friendly, help to provide recommendations on walking routes and they clean up very often! The kitchen's great, toilet's clean and warm, and you can do your laundry there. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are correct, we aren't in the centre of town, but I think our location is even better. You wouldn't get those lake views from the village! Good to see we ticked pretty much all the boxes for you.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Very lovely stay. Convenient but we had a car. Limited parking spaces available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to see you had a lovely stay. Our parking is limited but there are alternatives close by. We are probably one of the best spots for people who want to use public transport as we are very well connected by bus to all the main places you might want to go. Check out Stagecoach Cumbria's website to see where you can get too

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.