Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Ambleside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
YHA Ambleside Located at Waterhead, Cumbria, Lake District.
YHA Ambleside
England
Lake District Lake District LA22 0EU Waterhead, Cumbria
91% 352
54.4192857 -2.9617810
YHA Ambleside
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The best location!! Right on the lake, such beautiful views from the hostel. Very clean with lovely staff. Great bar connected to it. 3 minutes from a bus stop where you can get buses anywhere around the Lake District. Only thing that wasn't great was the atmosphere; a very family orientated atmosphere and as a young solo traveller it would have been nice if there were more young people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.9

Loved YHA Ambleside! The staff where so polite, friendly and helpful. The location is amazing - the hostel looks right over the lake and is a 15 minute walk from the town centre of Ambleside, and is close to the boat pier and bus stop if you want to go anywhere else in the Lake District. Very easy to find from the Windermere Rail Station too if coming by train. Restaurant and bar was good. Breakfast was good. Every bed had its own PowerPoint and lamp too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Sounds like you had a really good stay

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.4

We stayed at YHA Ambleside for three nights. The location is absolutely superb, and is accessible by public transport which was great for my friends and I who do not drive. We spent two days walking and one enjoying the lake, swimming, renting a boat etc. The hostel was clean and the staff are some of the friendliest hostel staff I have ever met. Only downside was that the wifi signal was pretty terrible but with all of the great outdoors to explore it wasn't really a problem!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm really glad to see you had such a good stay, and it is particularly gratifying to read your comments on our excellent staff. As per the wifi, we know, and thankfully we are moving on to 'The Cloud', just as soon as BT bring us the equipment.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Friendly staff, great location right next to the lake and next to a bus stop, amazing value for money in this area. Slightly noisy rooms (not soundproof with the corridors) but not unexpected. Definitely recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ghardaker84
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed here for one night. Was amazing. Room clean and secure with locker which you need your own lock for. Location excellent a 5 minute walk into town. Hostel next to the main pier where you can get a boat ride around the lake or kayak. Right on the lakeside with lots of seating where you can sit and enjoy watching the sun go down. Plenty of shared bathrooms and toilets so no queuing. just wish checkout time was a bit later than 10 but apart from that perfect. Can't wait to come back. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the detailed review. You give a pretty good run down of what we do here. 10am check out is pretty standard, and if our hard working housekeepers are going to turn the place around for 2pm check out then unfortunately they do need those 4 hours. Glad it didn't seem to impact on your stay though

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

There's one stuff quite helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, I'm glad our staff were helpful

2nd Jun 2016
9.7

YHA Ambleside has a beautiful view of Lake Windermere. The rooms are nice and spacious. It is a great place to stay and enjoy the scenery of the Lake District.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We like to think it's a great place too, so glad to see you agree with us

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Hi my friend rose who has never been hosteling was impressed by yah Ambleside that she is asking to book again we have looked at grass mere just home so will defenetly book again my be their or come by to Ambleside We had a two bunk room I was on the top bunk ok getting up but had to have help getting down was told by staff at Ambleside that they have a room with two single beds which we'd be better for us great location staff helpful great atmosphere Catherine &Rose

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Catherine & Rose. Glad to hear we've converted your friend. You'll love Grasmere, it's a great little hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

This place had an unbeatable location, right on the largest lake in the country! The staff was wonderful and had suggestions for walks and also accommodated my request to change rooms on the second night of my stay. Another huge plus--the drying room! I would recommend this place to everyone, a highlight of my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Good to hear we were a highlight.

25th Apr 2016
9.7

One of the best hostel experiences I've had! Keep in mind that it's not in the center of town (which suited me just fine).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good to hear!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.