Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Ambleside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
YHA Ambleside Located at Waterhead, Cumbria, Lake District.
YHA Ambleside
England
Lake District Lake District LA22 0EU Waterhead, Cumbria
90% 362
54.4192857 -2.9617810
YHA Ambleside
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
6.0

The hostel is in a beautiful location & staff friendly but we did not really enjoy our stay. There was a large group of school children staying whose presence was quite intrusive due to the noise. We felt it was wrong of the hostel to expect other guests to put up with it - specialized venues should be used for such groups. The dorm rooms were extremely small and claustrophobic as a result. The WCs so small you couldn't turn around or even fit your hands in the basin to wash them!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
9.7

It was better than I could have imagined. I had doubts about what it would be like because of the low cost but was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean as were the toilets. Staff were friendly and helpful. And location was exquisite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.0

Very nice stay at this place, recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The best location!! Right on the lake, such beautiful views from the hostel. Very clean with lovely staff. Great bar connected to it. 3 minutes from a bus stop where you can get buses anywhere around the Lake District. Only thing that wasn't great was the atmosphere; a very family orientated atmosphere and as a young solo traveller it would have been nice if there were more young people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. You really can't beat the location. We do get a lot of families in the school summer holidays, so unfortunately you wouldn't have met too many independent travellers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.9

Loved YHA Ambleside! The staff where so polite, friendly and helpful. The location is amazing - the hostel looks right over the lake and is a 15 minute walk from the town centre of Ambleside, and is close to the boat pier and bus stop if you want to go anywhere else in the Lake District. Very easy to find from the Windermere Rail Station too if coming by train. Restaurant and bar was good. Breakfast was good. Every bed had its own PowerPoint and lamp too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Sounds like you had a really good stay

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.4

We stayed at YHA Ambleside for three nights. The location is absolutely superb, and is accessible by public transport which was great for my friends and I who do not drive. We spent two days walking and one enjoying the lake, swimming, renting a boat etc. The hostel was clean and the staff are some of the friendliest hostel staff I have ever met. Only downside was that the wifi signal was pretty terrible but with all of the great outdoors to explore it wasn't really a problem!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm really glad to see you had such a good stay, and it is particularly gratifying to read your comments on our excellent staff. As per the wifi, we know, and thankfully we are moving on to 'The Cloud', just as soon as BT bring us the equipment.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.4

Great location by the lake, but about a 20min walk to town. Atmosphere is very much fame and seniors orientated, so for a 25 year old male, wasn't the best. But the staff at the bar was lovely and I became friends with them. Would stay again but only because I know to expect a quieter, family friendly hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Friendly staff, great location right next to the lake and next to a bus stop, amazing value for money in this area. Slightly noisy rooms (not soundproof with the corridors) but not unexpected. Definitely recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ghardaker84
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed here for one night. Was amazing. Room clean and secure with locker which you need your own lock for. Location excellent a 5 minute walk into town. Hostel next to the main pier where you can get a boat ride around the lake or kayak. Right on the lakeside with lots of seating where you can sit and enjoy watching the sun go down. Plenty of shared bathrooms and toilets so no queuing. just wish checkout time was a bit later than 10 but apart from that perfect. Can't wait to come back. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the detailed review. You give a pretty good run down of what we do here. 10am check out is pretty standard, and if our hard working housekeepers are going to turn the place around for 2pm check out then unfortunately they do need those 4 hours. Glad it didn't seem to impact on your stay though

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

There's one stuff quite helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, I'm glad our staff were helpful

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.