Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Auckland City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Auckland City Located at Cnr City Road & Liverpool st, 20, Auckland.
YHA Auckland City
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 Cnr City Road & Liverpool st, 20
87% 642
-36.8568234 174.7625684
YHA Auckland City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.1

Although a slight walk to the main area of the city centre this was a fab hostel. A huge kitchen with constant space and equipment was great. Security was also great. Stayed in a twin room and could not fault it, would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.0

Clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit thin on the ground with one per floor. The security is tight and the kitchen is clean and practical, tons of space and utensils.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Really clean, completely updated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.9

I arrived at 3 am. However a staff welcomed very warmly. Thank you so much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
9.7

Clean, secure place to stay with huge kitchen facilities. Power points at each bed in my 4-bed dorm. Close to amenities and nightlife. Appreciate the staff's swift dealing with a guest who had become...hostile to other guests. No complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

Very clean and safe, the staff were lovely and very helpful. Great location, not very loud and not to far of CBD. The facilities were great. Also, free wifi!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great feedback, we are please you enjoyed your stay with us and found the free Wifi a benefit. Steve

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Dec 2016
5.4

I arrived around half past midnight and no one was there for the check in, even after I rang the bell. Another guest was waiting too. I ended up walking to the other hostel from the same company down the street and asked their staff to call the night shift employee of the YHA Auckland City. I understand a technical problem with the doorbell can happen, and that the night employee has other duties, however he did not apologize and even lectured me for not waiting longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused at you arrival at the hostel. We will review our procedures and that when a problem arises an apology can make all the difference. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Dec 2016
9.7

We had a small issue during check in in the the middle of the night.The gentleman at the front desk was polite but he could not find the reservation for my husband.The gentleman was going to allow my husband to sleep in the kitchen.Since the internet was spotty at the front desk- I couldn't show him the reservation details. Once inside I was able to connect and prove both reservations were indeed made. All he had to do to find the other reservation for a male was turn the page. A bit frustrating

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused at check-in, we will follow our procedures up with our staff to address this. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Dec 2016
7.1

First time staying in a hostel and whilst this was largely unremarkable it was secure and relatively clean. Was more expensive than other hostels I have since stayed in that are more modern and better facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful though and met some nice people although it is not the most social of hostels. Was ok for 2 nights but would not rush back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind feedback, we will pass this onto the staff at the hostel. Steve - Area Manager

15th Dec 2016
7.7

Standard YHA. Clean and good security but strange clientele (huge age range, generally quiet, keep to themselves) and not great for socializing. Pretty far walk from main attractions. Recommend staying at Attic Backpackers if possible. Much more central location, slightly more social

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your feedback, sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the atmosphere. This very much depends on the group of customers staying at any one time. Steve - Area Manager.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.