Hostelworld.com

YHA Auckland City

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Recently renovated so everything was in great shape. Plenty of options for bathrooms and the kitchen was huge. Definitely would recommend if in Auckland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Steve - Area manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

Overall a convenient place to stay. There were ample power points for guests to charge all their devices. The hostel is around a 10 to 15 minute walk from the heart of the Auckland CBD and is literally around the corner from a Sky Bus airport transfer bus stop (very handy). The only downside for me was that I wasn't allowed to access medical supplies because I sustained an injury just outside the hostel, not on the property; I was not aware of such a policy until I asked for disinfectant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations with regards to you hurting yourself, we will review our procedures. Steve - Area manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

I was presently surprised by this hostel. After the steep walk to get there, I was rewarded with a very comfortable four bed dorm. The lockers were big and had plug sockets inside. The on suite was clean. The strangest thing was that the ensuite shower only had a curtain and no door. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you'd need. I will be returning in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the walk up to us was worth it. Steve - Area Manager

2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to spend the night in Auckland. Safe and clean. Super close to everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

22nd Jan 2017
8.0

As everyone else has mentioned the hill is a little steep when you have your back pack on but it is only a short walk to queen street which is main shopping street. Stray and sky bus both pick up at the end of the road to which is very convenient. Kitchen was clean enough, and showers were ok. I had a a single bed instead of a bunk bed so didn't feel quite as dorm like. As usual quiet atmosphere at YHA. Roof top terrace half way up building. Note luggage storage is $5 for 12 hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for you kind feedback following your stay with us. With regards to luggage storage, we have to balance the need to store bags for customers arriving at the hostel before their room is ready at 2pm, with the very few people wanting to store bags when they check out, for this we have pay lockers available. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.3

Great space, good rooms. Large kitchen. Needs more bathrooms. Staff were helpful but not very enthusiastic

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, during our refurbishment we added 20 en-suite private and shared rooms so have reduced the demand on the shower toilet facilities on each floor. Steve

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Jan 2017
4.9

Standard YHA = duvet sheets are never clean. Staff were grumpy and a bit miserable. Good location at the top of queen street hill

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay, I will speak to the staff about their customer service. and will review the linen procedures at the hostel. Steve - Area Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.1

Although a slight walk to the main area of the city centre this was a fab hostel. A huge kitchen with constant space and equipment was great. Security was also great. Stayed in a twin room and could not fault it, would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks very much for you great feedback. Steve - Area Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.0

Clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit thin on the ground with one per floor. The security is tight and the kitchen is clean and practical, tons of space and utensils.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your feedback, we do have two showers and two toilets per floor and there are newly added en-suite private and shared rooms to the hostel which reduces the use on the public facilities. Steve - Area Manager.

1st Jan 2017
9.1

Really clean, completely updated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind feedback.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.