Hostelworld.com

YHA Auckland City

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
YHA Auckland City Located at Cnr City Road & Liverpool st, 20, Auckland.
YHA Auckland City
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 Cnr City Road & Liverpool st, 20
81% 584
-36.8568234 174.7625684
YHA Auckland City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.3

Comfortable budget 2-bed dorms (two single beds which can be put together). Friendly & helpful staff. Good location, however it is up the K-Road end of Queen Street so is a 20 minute walk to the down town area. The street outside is a prostitute hangout at night (they can be quite rowdy some nights), not that dangerous, but it is good to keep your wits about you late at night. My main advice for the hostel is to put up signs or install door slower devices to limit the slamming doors. Recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.9

Had a nice stay here. I stayed in a 2 bed dorm which was good value for money. Not much atmosphere here though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.3

nice stay very clean, cosy bed, helpful staff, good location, free wifi!! lack of kitchen utilities (pots)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.1

The Friendly staff, relaxing & spacious environment & a great location made my stay here enjoyable :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.4

Free wifi throughout hostel. Hostel is up a hill away from the heart of Auckland but only take 5-10 minutes to walk down to the main shops. Huge kitchen which was very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

This hostel was one of the best we have ever stayed in! The staff was fantastic and helpful, the facilities which included the kitchen and bathrooms were very clean, and the location was great. The kitchen is huge and has everything you could need. The location was also great because it was at the top of Queen Street and easy walking distance from restaurants and shopping and also the harbor. The wifi was also really good which was a plus. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kokoshneta
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Mar 2016
7.7

Nice place overall. Decent bed, room was big enough for the four (non-bunk!) beds in it. Plugs were impractically located, but at least there were enough of them. Toilets and bathrooms are individual, lockable rooms, which is a HUGE PLUS in a country where most hostels seem to think that ‘shared bathroom’ means ‘public toilet stalls’. Staff kept changing, but all the ones I met were quite nice. Didn't seem very social overall though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.0

Enormous kitchen and dining area Free wifi Security for very early check-out They seem to have a lot of double rooms which are very cheap (30$!). I was a bit unlucky to be matched with a wierd old chinese men who snored like a tractor, but otherwise was pretty satisfied with the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Mar 2016
9.1

Great location, kitchen facilities and very clean! It was perfect for our stay in Auckland, we were able to walk or take public transport wherever we needed to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Feb 2016
6.6

for a YHA pretty bad.. the floors and rooms were very stuffy, the elevators didn't work most of the time and it was very loud in the nights. And you have to walk up this annoying hill each time you want to go into the city.. we expected a little bit more from the YHA

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.