X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Auckland City Reviews

Cnr City Road & Liverpool st, 20, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
450 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good organised YHA with a huge kitchen. There is a bit of a lack of the atmophere. The location is right next to queen street (shopping street in Auckland) and the bus to the airport arrives/depatures around the corner. Nice roof/sun terrace on the 3 floor. Good internet connection for a few kiwi dollars.


77%

I thought the receptionists were very helpful and kind!

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel is located on the outskirts of town and up a few intimidating hills! Not to be confused with other YHA around the corner! Within walking distance to bus station and major attractions such as Skytower etc.Room was small but comfortable and hostel seems quiet. Breakfast available for a few dollars. Kitchen is big and always clean. Nice staff.


89%

Although not as central as other hostels, the YHA was great value for money and walking up the Queens Street hill gave us some exercise anyway. We had no problems with the staff, who were helpful when needed and greeted us each time we entered. The kitchen here is also huge and well stocked with the usual amenities. Not a place for some who enjoys late night socialising really though.


66%

The doors are very hard to close and noisy. The door next door even sounded very noisy in the night. I could not sleep well.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Clean rooms, plenty of kitchen space, Friendly helpful staff, just a general great atmosphere about the place. Would definitely recommend staying in a YHA


100%

The staff were amazing very helpful and knowledgeable. Stayed here twice now


83%

Awesome location. Shared kitchen can get quite messy though, more so than with one general kitchen for the whole hostel.


57%

Due to a late night flight, we advised the hostel we'd be checking in around 1am. I was told there were staff available 24/7

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

I thought this hostel was just "ok" until night time rolled around. I'm all for people partying etc but we were on the 2nd floor so quite close to the street and the noise was never ending up until about 5am, which would have been ok if it weren't for the drunks throwing empty bottles and things up at the hostel windows. Did not feel very safe or secure. Other then that was not so bad, although the staff seemed less then knowledgeable and not very enthusiastic to help you out, not the best stay


49%

Worst YHA I've stayed at - 3bd dorm on 2nd floor. Really run down and not enough toilets and only 1 tiny shower on the floor for girls. Ran out of paper towels in bathroom in afternoon and not replaced until 10am despite telling staff. Housekeeping let the place down - bathrooms cleaned once a day so bins overflowing and no toilet paper by evening and they forgot sheets and pillows. Beds uncomfortable. Staff were friendly but not knowledgeable about area. So disappointed - won't be back.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not terrible but not good either. Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful and rooms were clean but only two plug sockets for a 4 person room. Lockers had to be paid for which is ridiculous. Not nearly enough toilets or showers for an entire floor of people and the hostel itself is very difficult to find as the City Rd signpost is very easy to miss. Also doors do not lock automatically - only takes one forgetful flatmate to leave your valuables up for grabs. Would not recommend.


83%

I found it to be an efficient, clean & well run with staff who went out of their way to be helpful.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Internet was not for free

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Cookie cutter YHA

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a first visit to Auckland for my friends and I and staying at Auckland YHA was one of the best decisions we made. I loved the friendliness of the people and the place and it was convienient as it was located next to Queen Street which made it easier for us to access the shops and the dining areas. If i had a chance again i will go stay at Auckland YHA...


80%

NICE ONE!


60%

Spacious kitchen with a good number of stoves and sinks. Needed more towels and detergent. Decent looking dining area. The floor in the room was stained, and the new linen asked for in the reception had a lot of hair on it. No heater/radiator. Almost all of the staff were happy, helpful and welcoming.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Chilly in the winter! The entire hostel I mean. Huge kitchen so that was good.


91%

Great location right off queens street. Quick walk to downtown. Clean showers and bathroom... mattress was pretty bad and needs to be replaced.


(274 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback