Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Auckland City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.7

I was just one night, but I love the facilities, the cleanness and the personal. The showers are really small, but beside of that, everything is great. Internet connection is free and good, has a room with Netflix and a reading room beautiful. Each bed have a light at the top and 2 electrical plugs. The look it's amazing!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jun 2017
8.9

Great hostel, recently updated, right by bus stop for airport. 10 minute walk to the heart of downtown. Only complaints were that there was no soap in my bathroom and it wasn't a super social vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
9.1

Netflix and chill was my highlight ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
8.9

The hostel is very good! Nice facilities, very complete kitchen, the dorms also very good with a huge locker inside for each one. The only down sides are they charge you to save your luggage after checkout and the wifi does not work well at the dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
8.6

Very clean and easy to move about in. You know what your getting with YHA :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2017
7.4

I've stayed in many YHA hostels around the world, and they have always been in a good central location, been safe and secure and often modern and clean. YHA city in Auckland was fine for a place to just sleep, but the rooms felt cramped and smelt very bad. It was clean but has a bad smell to the room, reminiscent of sweat and feet which was obviously unpleasant. Really good wifi, 24hr reception and hang out space, however there is no atmosphere. Locations is ok, but not as central as advertised.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
8.6

Nowhere to park your car and street parking in Auckland will cost about $35 per day, which is unreasonable. The YHA up the street from this one has parking, but I was told I could not use it, or even pay for it. They really need to provide somewhere for their guests to park given the rip off parking costs in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
9.4

I was only there for a short stay overnight but the room was good from what I saw. I arrived late at night and it took awhile for someone to answer the door and they did not answer their phone until about the fourth time I called. Great location, nice and quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sjconnelly4837
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.6

A clean big hostel with good facilities. Lacks in character or atmosphere, a bit more like a hotel really. Get a taxi to this place if you have your luggage, its not far out but its at the top of a really steep hill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
7.4

Not a bad YHA. Nice beds and clean facilities. Atmosphere is a bit quiet for sure, so you may find it hard to meet other travellers. But otherwise you're right in the center of town with everything on your doorstep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.