Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Auckland City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Mar 2017
7.4

Not a bad YHA. Nice beds and clean facilities. Atmosphere is a bit quiet for sure, so you may find it hard to meet other travellers. But otherwise you're right in the center of town with everything on your doorstep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

The Auckland City YHA is really well-designed, efficient, clean and spacious. You could have done yoga between the bunk beds in my 4 person dorm, and it was lovely to have a toilet, shower and sink (separate areas) for just 4 girls. The windows opened. There was tons of lockable storage space (lockers big enough for your backpack). A shelf and plug built into your bed. Lovely. Quiet The kitchen was massive and well-equipped. Level of interaction was low, but met someone cool in the laundry room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.1

Other than being up a steep hill this hostel was great. It had all the facilities we needed. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The kitchen is well equipped and big enough for busy meal times. The wifi was free and fast and worked all over the building. The snug/relax room was very clean and a nice place to chill out. We didn't have too much to do with the staff but what we did see they were friendly and helpful. I would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
8.6

Great location.Close to the botanical gardens and museum. Nice modern and clean building and free parking on site, which is a real bonus right in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
8.9

Location is perfect, very clean, big lockers, big kitchen, atmosphere was just okay. Recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Recently renovated so everything was in great shape. Plenty of options for bathrooms and the kitchen was huge. Definitely would recommend if in Auckland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Steve - Area manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

Overall a convenient place to stay. There were ample power points for guests to charge all their devices. The hostel is around a 10 to 15 minute walk from the heart of the Auckland CBD and is literally around the corner from a Sky Bus airport transfer bus stop (very handy). The only downside for me was that I wasn't allowed to access medical supplies because I sustained an injury just outside the hostel, not on the property; I was not aware of such a policy until I asked for disinfectant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations with regards to you hurting yourself, we will review our procedures. Steve - Area manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

I was presently surprised by this hostel. After the steep walk to get there, I was rewarded with a very comfortable four bed dorm. The lockers were big and had plug sockets inside. The on suite was clean. The strangest thing was that the ensuite shower only had a curtain and no door. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you'd need. I will be returning in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the walk up to us was worth it. Steve - Area Manager

2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to spend the night in Auckland. Safe and clean. Super close to everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

22nd Jan 2017
8.0

As everyone else has mentioned the hill is a little steep when you have your back pack on but it is only a short walk to queen street which is main shopping street. Stray and sky bus both pick up at the end of the road to which is very convenient. Kitchen was clean enough, and showers were ok. I had a a single bed instead of a bunk bed so didn't feel quite as dorm like. As usual quiet atmosphere at YHA. Roof top terrace half way up building. Note luggage storage is $5 for 12 hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for you kind feedback following your stay with us. With regards to luggage storage, we have to balance the need to store bags for customers arriving at the hostel before their room is ready at 2pm, with the very few people wanting to store bags when they check out, for this we have pay lockers available. Steve - Area Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.