Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Auckland International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
YHA Auckland International Located at 5 Turner Street, PO Box 68-149, Auckland.
YHA Auckland International
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 5 Turner Street, PO Box 68-149
80% 801
-36.8554155 174.7629547
YHA Auckland International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Clean, safe hostel with everything you need. Just totally lacked any kind of atmosphere. The kitchen felt like a school canteen. There were signs on the walls everywhere, telling you how to store food, how to cook things, how to stop spreading germs. Only stayed for one night. The room was cramped, too many beds in one room. For one night, if you don't want to socialise , perhaps just do some planning for the rest part of your trip, then this hostel is fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.1

Once we eventually found the hostel we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were welcoming, helpful, and great with advise. Room was clean, functional but the 'neighbours' a little noisy. Room was freezing until we figured out the way to shut the windows by standing on the beds and yanking the tired pieces of cord which sort of closed the windows. There was some kind of whirring noise directly outside the mostly shut windows but in the end it sent us to sleep........ ok place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
5.7

The staff were not very helpful or welcoming. I came in around 12 pm as well as another guy who was starting his working holiday visa that day in NZ. The last thing you want is to have an unwelcoming staff. The rooms were only ok. And the lockers in the room didn't close all the way. Very little security around the baggage closet. Not a good vibe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.3

I'm a bit disappointed with this hostel. I didn't get the friendly traveler atmosfere as you normally have in hostels. I had to pay 5$ just to leave my bag for a while. Next time I'd prefer to stay in a real hostel again as it's much easier to meet people as well. Nobody was very social when I was there but maybe that was just my luck. Overall it was ok, it's just you can get much better for the same money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your feedback. We have a large number of customers arriving at the hostel before their rooms are ready, at 2pm, so we do provide luggage storage for them while they wait. For the very few people who are checking out we have paid lockers if they want to leave bags for a couple of hours. Thanks again Steve.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.0

Loved my dorm. Bathrooms were kept clean. Very quiet, most people are here on work visas so they're looking for jobs rather than travellers wanting to socialise. There's a good kitchen and lounge room and the staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a massive bonus!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks very much for your feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall the hostel was really good and was in a very ideal location in the heart of Auckland with only 15 minutes walk to the harbour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.3

Very large hostel but an efficient operation. I liked that they had plastic wrap available in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.3

Clean, good showers and a good size kitchen. People at reception were lovely however the overall Atmosphere of the place wasn't great and it would have been nice to have free coffee/tea.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your feedback, we are constantly looking at ways we can improve our hostel and its facilities. Steve

30th May 2016
7.1

Not much character or atmosphere. My room only had a narrow row of windows up high on the wall so we couldn't even see out, and with 8 people and luggage it felt super crowded, also only 2 outlets. Definitely other better hostels in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, the 8 share rooms do have lockers in them for bags and we are in the process of upgrading these lockers, along with installing additional power sockets. The lockers will also have sockets for charging devices securely. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2016
5.4

I stayed only for one night and I am happy about it. It felt like being in some kind of mass industry or an airport. The staff seemed stressed,the corridors were dark and unwelcoming and for this immense price for low service,there is not even an option of storing the luggage for some hours. While being so big in NZ I expected to experience a more backpacker welcome atmosphere where you can enjoy your stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.