Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Auckland International

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
YHA Auckland International Located at 5 Turner Street, PO Box 68-149, Auckland.
YHA Auckland International
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 5 Turner Street, PO Box 68-149
79% 790
-36.8554155 174.7629547
YHA Auckland International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.3

I'm a bit disappointed with this hostel. I didn't get the friendly traveler atmosfere as you normally have in hostels. I had to pay 5$ just to leave my bag for a while. Next time I'd prefer to stay in a real hostel again as it's much easier to meet people as well. Nobody was very social when I was there but maybe that was just my luck. Overall it was ok, it's just you can get much better for the same money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your feedback. We have a large number of customers arriving at the hostel before their rooms are ready, at 2pm, so we do provide luggage storage for them while they wait. For the very few people who are checking out we have paid lockers if they want to leave bags for a couple of hours. Thanks again Steve.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.0

Loved my dorm. Bathrooms were kept clean. Very quiet, most people are here on work visas so they're looking for jobs rather than travellers wanting to socialise. There's a good kitchen and lounge room and the staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a massive bonus!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks very much for your feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall the hostel was really good and was in a very ideal location in the heart of Auckland with only 15 minutes walk to the harbour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.3

Very large hostel but an efficient operation. I liked that they had plastic wrap available in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.3

Clean, good showers and a good size kitchen. People at reception were lovely however the overall Atmosphere of the place wasn't great and it would have been nice to have free coffee/tea.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your feedback, we are constantly looking at ways we can improve our hostel and its facilities. Steve

30th May 2016
7.1

Not much character or atmosphere. My room only had a narrow row of windows up high on the wall so we couldn't even see out, and with 8 people and luggage it felt super crowded, also only 2 outlets. Definitely other better hostels in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, the 8 share rooms do have lockers in them for bags and we are in the process of upgrading these lockers, along with installing additional power sockets. The lockers will also have sockets for charging devices securely. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Best hostel I have been to. The rooms are so clean, the bathroom and the kitchen are spotless. Kitchen has everything you need. The hostel has a nice chilled atmosphere. I felt the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and if you need help planning anything or any advice they really go out their way to fully help you. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind feedback, we will pass this onto the staff. Steve

15th Apr 2016
6.9

Normally like the YHA hostels however this one isn't the best of them all. It has a large kitchen and lounge area but not the most comfy seating. Bed room was ok but looking very dated now, it can also be very loud during the night from outside. They where refurbishing one of the male bathrooms so only had one sink available at the time. Nice staff however and it is kept clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.0

Great stay, convenient location and great being 24hrs!! Beds were comfy and plenty of bathrooms/showers!! Kinda sad no one in the room actually wanted to have a conversation (not the hostels fault obviously though). Also was odd having someone in their 40s in the room who didn't even say a hi. I understand hostels are for everyone, but its literally called a YOUTH hostel. Wish you had more mixed dorms not just male and female ones. The staff were helpful which was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we will pass on your comments to our staff, Steve - area manager.

  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.3

The good: Massive kitchen and dining area for cooking. Good location. Nice staff. The bad: Not much of an atmosphere as the place is too big. The ugly: Shocking (no pun intended) lack of electrical sockets. Only two in the four bed dorm and very few in common areas. Matrasses' were as thin as toilet paper. I thinks the slats underneath were imprinted on my back the next morning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.