Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Auckland International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
YHA Auckland International Located at 5 Turner Street, PO Box 68-149, Auckland.
YHA Auckland International
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 5 Turner Street, PO Box 68-149
82% 819
-36.8554155 174.7629547
YHA Auckland International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel - awesome location on queens street, close to the harbour, town centre and most things. Hostel is clean, well maintained - dorms are spacious. Wifi is free, 24 hours and works great all over the hostel. Hostel staff are friendly and helpful - they even let me in at 2.30 am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Nov 2016
6.9

Bed sheets really olds and not nice. Kitchen always dirty and messy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
9.4

For a quick one night in Auckland, this was perfect. I loved the huge lockers provided in the room, and our roommates were very courteous. The kitchen was very clean, but the beds not so much. The given sheets were stained and the blanket was absolutely disgusting and filled with hair. Everything else about our stay was great but those beds were really unfortunate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel just off queen street. If I come to Auckland I would stay again. Very nice facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Oct 2016
7.1

Good stay- just like every other big chain hostel you have to pay for a lot of the add ons.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Oct 2016
7.4

It's an okay hostel, nothing out of the ordinary but nothing particualrly bad either. Bathrooms were really nice because they were really new and thereby clean, rooms could use some new carpets though. Not a lot of free stuff (especially salt) in the kitchen and the pans must've been User for quite a while, most of them weren't level anymore.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Clean, safe hostel with everything you need. Just totally lacked any kind of atmosphere. The kitchen felt like a school canteen. There were signs on the walls everywhere, telling you how to store food, how to cook things, how to stop spreading germs. Only stayed for one night. The room was cramped, too many beds in one room. For one night, if you don't want to socialise , perhaps just do some planning for the rest part of your trip, then this hostel is fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.1

Once we eventually found the hostel we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were welcoming, helpful, and great with advise. Room was clean, functional but the 'neighbours' a little noisy. Room was freezing until we figured out the way to shut the windows by standing on the beds and yanking the tired pieces of cord which sort of closed the windows. There was some kind of whirring noise directly outside the mostly shut windows but in the end it sent us to sleep........ ok place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
5.7

The staff were not very helpful or welcoming. I came in around 12 pm as well as another guy who was starting his working holiday visa that day in NZ. The last thing you want is to have an unwelcoming staff. The rooms were only ok. And the lockers in the room didn't close all the way. Very little security around the baggage closet. Not a good vibe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.3

I'm a bit disappointed with this hostel. I didn't get the friendly traveler atmosfere as you normally have in hostels. I had to pay 5$ just to leave my bag for a while. Next time I'd prefer to stay in a real hostel again as it's much easier to meet people as well. Nobody was very social when I was there but maybe that was just my luck. Overall it was ok, it's just you can get much better for the same money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your feedback. We have a large number of customers arriving at the hostel before their rooms are ready, at 2pm, so we do provide luggage storage for them while they wait. For the very few people who are checking out we have paid lockers if they want to leave bags for a couple of hours. Thanks again Steve.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.