Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Auckland International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Apr 2017
8.3

It is a good hostel, but quite big and not so homey. A lot of small tables and the common area is in the cellar. If you just need a place to sleep i would recommend it! Great locker, wifi good! No storrage room after check-out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

Hostel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Kitchen was large and well equipped. Location was good, close to shops and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
6.9

Hostel was good but vibe wasn't there, great staff though!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.9

This hostel was overall pretty great, definitely got the job done. It was nice that you needed to use your room key to get into the building, I felt very secure. The room was one of the biggest hostels rooms i have stayed in, always nice when you are sharing a room with a stranger.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
8.0

They let you use facilities before check-in and after check-out, which is great. Only exception is luggage storage after check-out, which doesn't really make sense imo. Staff is friendly, hostel is big, clean, but not very sociable somehow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. With regards to luggage storage, we have to balance the need to store bags for customers arriving at the hostel before their room is ready at 2pm, with the very few people wanting to store bags when they check out, for this we have pay lockers available. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.6

Really good location. Friendly staff. Pretty clean. No complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks I will pass on your kind feedback to our staff. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

I had been staying at hotels for most of my trip but this was my last night in Auckland and I only had a few hours I'd be spending in the hotel before my flight so it made sense to go back to hostel life for a night. The staff was very helpful and seemed to go the extra mile to accommodate for me even though I was only staying for a night. The location was great, price was great and facilities were what I would expect from an above average hostel. I'd stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind comments, I am please you enjoyed your stay and I will let the staff know. Steve - Area Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.9

Yha was in a great place and if your looking for just a place to spent the night it's perfect with good bathrooms and a great kitchen. The wifi is awful and I found the staff a bit rude and not very helpful. There also isn't a very social hostel so if your looking for a fun hostel don't stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your feedback I will speak tot he staff about their customer service. With the Free Wifi this is unlimited unfortunately if some customers are streaming or downloading large amounts of data this does effect the service to other users as there is not much we can do to manage this. Steve - Area Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.0

A typical YHA hostel, pretty good as usual.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

I stayed at YHA for a couple of weeks in a female 4 bed dorm. I've been working in Auckland and it was a good place to get some rest and not be woken up too much with it only being a small dorm. There is big secure lockers in each room. The kitchen was fully equipped, there was an ironing board and iron to iron my work clothes and washing machine etc. The staff were always helpful. The only thing it was lacking was the atmosphere which I find is commen with bigger hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great feedback following your stay with us. Steve

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.