X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Bath Reviews

Bathwick Hill, Somerset, BA2 6JZ, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
364 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel wasn't right in the city centre, but there was a bus that stopped at the hostel and could take you there if you didn't want to walk. The showers were clean and worked well and the beds seemed fairly comfortable. There was a 'restaurant' where you could order dinner, however as far as I was aware, there was not a kitchen available for use. The only other downside was that you had to pay for wifi if you are not a YHA member, however it was quite cheep.


86%

The staff was nice but not very helpful (they didnt really know the prices of the roman bath nor the other bath which are two main attractions of the city). It was a nice place though, worth the money. Be careful to take the bus though, because the hostel is at the top of a big hill and you dont wanna walk all the way up...


86%

Great location with bus stop right outside. Beautiful building and gardens. En suite bathrooms could do with some work but overall this is a convenient and not too expensive place to stay in Bath..

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The location is very hard to find. It didn't show on my GPS, so my advice is that don't go there after 8pm since it is dark and a bit scary at night if you are new to the city.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

There was no car parking. Kitchen facilities were dismal. Rooms were dark and crowded. Bathroom shower had hardly any water pressure and were very small cubicles. They are being improved and had maintainence due to which there was lot of noise going on for self catering.


94%

Nice staff, nice facilities, quiet place, attractive building but...finding this place is quite difficult and walking with all your bags is very hard. You should recommend how to take the bus there. Take a bus heading to the university, but still when you are going for the first time it is difficult to know when to get off. Also the internet is not free. You must pay five pounds for a day or seven pounds for two.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Great location if you're looking for something a bit secluded and off the beaten path. It's a bit of a hike to reach it if you're not travelling by car, but well worth it once you arrive. It's in a very nice area of Bath on top of a hill overlooking the city. I thoroughly enjoyed the scenic walks into town everyday along the canal. The hostel itself was more characteristic than most and very well kept and clean. No complaints! Would recommend.


86%

Only issue was shower was like a slow running tap.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Beautiful building, but a bit of a trek from town (there is a bus stop very close by which is great), staff were really friendly but our bathroom was a bit smelly.


91%

I really enjoyed my stay in YHA Bath! The masionette is beautiful, with high ceilings and lots of space, it is clean, beds really comfortable, staff pleasant. i read some of the comments on the hostelworld and i want to repeat that the hostel is above avarage, not a hotel people, pay more if you want to be pampered and moan like spoilt children. it is a bit outside the center so not for you if central location is important. as far as i am concerned, 'll be returning to this lovely place!!

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were very friendly and made my stay as comfortable as possible. I wasn't sure what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is beautiful and has plenty of facilities. However, it was quitefar from the center of Bath, so you have to take a bus. All in all, it is a pleasent place to stay.


63%

Our room was freezing! I'm assuming the radiators come on at night, but sadly ours didn't seem to - I felt like I was in a tent it was so cold!!

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The WI-FI is only for members of the YHA of have the hostel ID or something. The Entrance of the hostel is very creepy and dark, with no lights and little signs to guide you. The room had a very good size, we were able to spread our stuff with no problem (we were 4 in a private room). The shower area was kind of bad because it had no division in the shower area, so all the floor got wet, but the shower itself was good. The refrigerator was very small but the dinning are was very nice.


40%

The hostel is a bit out the way. I booked because I had a car but other wise it is too far from the town centre. There was a problem with my booking and I was put in the ´Lodge´ out the back. It smells really badly of dampness. When I complained and asked to be moved the staff were not that interested in my complaint and didnt do much to help. If you do have to stay here make sure you are in the main building as I heard it was nicer or at least it smelt better!!!


54%

Good for what it is....a bed for the night. Didnt have on site parking which wasnt ideal but apart fron that it was clean and good enough for the price

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

this place is legenderry. when i was there, there was a small group of old peoples with good manner. That means this place is unique and superv cosy of course. Also all facility is spacy, full equipted also with superv Wifi for younger fellows even in the room!


74%

Good youth hostel. Waiting time at the reception was sometimes very long. Good breakfast but very early. Easy to go by bus to city center.


86%

Very nice hostel! There's only one problem: in the rooms close to the forest there is a little bit of moisture.


74%

Old house with lot of charm. Garden is beautiful. Self catering kitchen is in bad condition- lights above oven not working, floor is very sticky, kitchenware so dirty that you will wash up before using it. Room was nice, ensuit bathroom unexectable. Looked like a plastic container! Location is very nice, you walk aroun 15 min downhill to the city - there is a busstop directly infront of the hostel for the way home.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(265 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback