Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Bath

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
YHA Bath Located at Bathwick Hill, Somerset, BA2 6JZ, Bath.
YHA Bath
England
Bath Bathwick Hill, Somerset, BA2 6JZ
84% 456
51.3785578 -2.3396158
YHA Bath
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Great location near central Bath, clean/comfortable rooms, cozy beds, stunning city view! Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
7.7

YHA Bath was definitely a decent hostel! The trek up the hill was long, but not nearly as bad as I was prepared for based on other people's reviews. Pretty dark at night - not many lights on the way to the hostel. Not the best hostel I've stayed at, but definitely not the worst either!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review. The driveway is lit with low level lighting, to help guide the way, but as we are in a residential area and have a shared driveway with neighbours, there are no overhead street lights.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.9

Some of the staff were great, others not so much. There were a few issues with rooms, as they booked another large group into my dorm and therefore made the people already in there change rooms halfway through their stay. The location was not too far out by distance, but at the top of a long hill. Definitely get the £1.50 bus to the hostel with your bags! They also wouldn't store my bags on the day of checkout, so I'd leave Bath earlier if you don't want to pay £6 to store your bag in the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review; I am sorry we didn't meet all of your expectations. Occasionally we do have to ask guests to change rooms depending on other bookings but we try and make this change go as monthly as possible as we understand it is inconvenient for our guests. The luggage store we recommend is conveniently opposite the bus and train station (no need to trek back up the hill!) and costs £3.70 for a large bag for the entire day.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Oct 2016
8.0

Everything was great: cleanliness, location, environment, etc. However, I was disappointed by the shower cubicles. They were very small, without soap holders or any other shelving, and there was no way to ensure that your clothes were kept dry why I was under the shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed by the showers. it is YHA policy to have several hooks in each shower cubicle and I will be checking all of our units today to make sure this is the case and adding more hooks where necessary.

9th Oct 2016
8.0

This is a beautiful hostel, with great views, very clean, and excellent facilities. Just be aware that it's really not near the city center. It's on a very high hill just outside. By bus, it's maybe 15 minutes at most. I would not advise walking (which I did once, ONCE). It's also close to the university at the top of the hill, which could be convenient. The building is beautiful, and there's a lovely front lawn with good views and places to sit. The staff were also lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your nice review. We are up a very steep hill, about 25 minutes walk from the city centre. While this is pleasant for some, others prefer to get the bus which runs 24 hours a day.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
8.9

Place was close to the city centre, friendly and helpful staff, clean room. Wasn't enough lockers for each bedspace in the room I stayed in but the overall experience of the hostel was great. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Oct 2016
9.7

Six of us stayed here in a private room for the night. Great communal room and friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

1st Oct 2016
7.7

Good, clean hostel with good WiFi and a very quiet atmosphere. Beers at little pricey and you're not allowed to bring your own. The two girls working at night were very nice and helpful. The showers need a little shelf and a curtain. The walk up the hill is the only really bad thing,too far to walk more than once a day.Get the bus with your bags when you arrive. Some maps for guest would be good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We do offer maps for guests at reception. We will make them more visible.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
8.0

facilities available very good, and good on street parking availalbe, excellent location for exploring Bath

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Bath SkyLine walking path is just a few yards from our door. A nice way to see the real countryside in Bath.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
7.1

We were a little surprised to find there were no towels in the room. To rent a towel was something like $12. Pounds. We are very big walkers so didn't mind the location, but if you aren't use to walking up steep hills down book here. Concerned with plumbing too. Every time you turned on the tap the pipe made a tremendous noise. There was a serious leak in the dining room that shows a huge whole in the ceiling. I'm surprised the guests are allowed in there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.