Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place to stay as it's near to the Cambridge station. Breakfast is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
8.6

This place is a really nice new facility which is awesome after having been in some more dingy hostels. The beds are really nice and have chargers and lockers. Showers and toilets are all great. There is a large breakfast which you can buy if you'd like and downstairs has a nice eating and social area. Only real thing I disliked about the place was the location, which is a bit far from city center. However, for the value I didn't mind a 30 minute walk into town. All in all quite pleased!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind and compliementary review. We are very proud of our hostel and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you found all the facilities to be of a high standard. Time for the bad news- I think you walked the wrong way into town. We are a maximum of a 15 minute walk away. I hope you had a great stay despite your detour :) Best regards, James- Hostel manager

14th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice place, the guy at the reception during the night was brilliant and very helpful! Place is easy to find and close to the train station. WI Fi not available in the rooms (which was a downer) The ladies in my room were loud, smelly and snored like pigs (not the hostel fault, but id did have an impact on my night's sleep) Still, I'd stay there again and recommend it to others!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review- I will pass on your kind words to John who works very hard to look after everyone through the night. Sorry about the WIFI, it is not available in rooms at present- however there are plans to extend the coverage soon. I'm sorry you had undesirable roommates- we do supply ear plugs at reception. Nevertheless, I hope you had a great time in Cambridge! Best wishes, James- Hostel manager

  • edededaki5987
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Very well-organised and clean hostel. It is also very close to the train station which was my way of commuting but 10-15 mins walk from the city centre. I only stayed there for one night but I didn't have any issues and everyone in the reception was very helpful. The only problem was that there was no Wifi in the rooms upstairs, but mainly in the social area downstairs. Good value for money :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you found the hostel to be clean, well organised and in a great location. You are correct that Wifi is not available on every floor. However, we have plans to extend the coverage. We have recently changed provider which is why the service is limited to the communal areas. I do hope you had a great time in Cambridge. Best wishes, James- Hostel manager

  • epaddon6545
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 59 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Accommodation at the hostel was first class. The staff were so helpful and I enjoyed my stay immensly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! I hope you had a wonderful time in Cambridge and a safe onward journey. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, James- Hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel and the location is perfect. It is close to the train station and not far from city centre. Also, they let you leave your bag there for the day after you check out if you need to. My only complaint really is that they kept the building where the rooms and toilets are quite hot. Overall, great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gmbettencourt8484
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 72 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Nice hostel, very close to the train station. Helpful staff. Clean facilities. My only advise is to get a map at the train station as the ones at reception are less helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Genia, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a few different types of maps and guides available for our guests to use. The tourist information centre sells bigger full city maps and we are happy to direct you to there if you wish. We hope to welcome you again in future. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

12th Mar 2017
8.9

Nothing really new to say. Great staff. Good food. You can save few pounds getting tickets for the attractions at the reception. The only thing that was really annoying was the noise. I guess we were a bit unlucky to be right under a room full of teenagers but also think the walls are not insulated enough. Overall we had a nice time there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Livia, Thank you for your review. Im pleased you found our facilities and food to be of a high standard and enjoyed interacting with our staff. Im sorry if it was a bit noisy during your stay. We do ask that guests are considerate of one another, especially at night and monitor guests behaviour with regular building checks. We hope to have you stay again in future. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.9

The floor's terribly creaky and the door is not soundproof at all! so you can clearly hear them when everyone pass by! it would be my only quibble. A nice and neat place to stay, love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Di, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had noise issues during your stay. Unfortunately the acoustics of the building mean that noise travels quite easily in the building. I will make a note with our maintenance team to look at the door/ floor of your room to see if there are any improvements we can make. I'm pleased to hear that the rest of your stay was a positive one and we hope to have you back again soon. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

4th Mar 2017
9.1

Really nice place. It's close to the train station, but kind of far from the main part of the city. If you are American make sure to bring your passport, because they won't accept a driver's license even though the website says they will.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Callan, Thank you for your review. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities to be of a high standard. We do require a passport from all international guests outside of Europe, this is a legal requirement. A drivers licence is acceptable from UK residents. I apologise if this has not been made clear on the website and will look into this further. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.