Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.4

Great venue, location, decor. The only downside is the air-conditioning in the rooms. It got SO hot in the small room, the window only opened a crack and there was no air movement. There was a small fan, but it didn't make much difference. I cam't imagine how unbearable it would be on a hot day. Don't let that put you off Though - just a heads-up that you'll have to be sleeping in your smalls! YIKES!.... Or hopefully the hostel will think about installing some air-con units.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nicol, Thank you for your review, we are glad you were so impressed with the hostel. We are aware of how hot it can get in the rooms during the summer however we make every effort we can to keep the rooms as cool as possible by providing fans. Happy travels and we hope to welcome you back to Cambridge soon. Ellen Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.9

A great stay in Cambridge for a wedding. The best hostel shower I've ever had! My only criticism was that the room was quite hot and we couldn't really cool it down. Other than that, perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Catrin, I hope you enjoyed the wedding and its great to hear you were happy with your stay and particularly impressed with the showers! YHA strives to provide the best facilities for our guests to ensure a comfortable stay for everyone. I am sorry to hear the rooms were hot, we are aware they can get hot however we make every effort to keep them as cool as possible by providing fans for each room. All the best, Ellen

  • DonTonyDeluca
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.0

Good hostel, typical of the quality of YHA. Clean, comfortable, decently located. No moving air in my hallway and room made the air stale and smelly. Plenty of bathrooms and showers, except the shower drains are terribly slow, so you stand in a small pool by showers end. Overall, it was a decent stay, and I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Anthony, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you liked our facilities and found the hostel good value for money. I apologise for the problems you found with the showers. I have requested that our housekeeping team investigate this further and should we find any problems we will endeavour to resolve them as quickly as possible. We have provided fans in the rooms as we understand this weather is unseasonably warm at the moment. We hope you stay with us again soon! Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.3

Nice hostel with great staff. Very clean. A bit of a walk into town but not too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked our hostel and enjoyed your stay. We are approximately 15mins walk from the city centre but there are lots of buses available from nearby for guests who would prefer. There is also a bike hire shop nearby for guests who would like to explore the city and surrounds. We hope you visit again soon! Kind regards Holly Reception YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2017
5.4

During my stay, I contracted conjunctivitis from the pillow cases which indicates to me that the sheets were obviously not cleaned properly. When staff were informed, they were dismissive and were of no help where I might find a pharmacy. Absolutely appalling.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, All of our linen is cleaned by and external company at a very high temperature and is changed for every new guest we have at the hostel. I have spoken to staff on site, and I apologise if you felt let down. We take guest experiences and wellbeing seriously, and there is a nearby pharmacy less than 5 minutes walk from the hostel. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

6th Jul 2017
5.1

Crowded and disjointed. Unclean... Under my bed was filled with candy. Lots of kids and groups. Far walk from the city center. No air conditioner and a small window in my six bed room. I complained and they said oh we know that.... Well thanks for taking my money for that room!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not find our cleanliness levels to be of the highest levels and I will discuss this with our Housekeeping team. We do cater for groups that wish to stay as well as individuals and families. Being a charitable organisation, one of our goals is to enhance the lives of young people and part of that involves providing accommodation and facilities for them to stay. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning and due to health and safety reasons we cannot allow the windows to be opened fully. We have however provided fans in our rooms to help with guests comfort. I apologise for any inconvenience. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

2nd Jul 2017
8.9

Great property, but needs windows that open more fully. A cracked window and a tiny fan were very insufficient on the third floor, even on a 22C day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Micah, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you had issues with the warm weather during your stay. Unfortunately due to health and safety reasons our windows have to be restricted and can only be opened partially. We really appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve our guests experience. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Crystalcjn
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
5.7

Stairs up the rooms, so have to carry heavy luggages up. Rooms are extremely cramped with a basin right beside the bed (quite unhygienic)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Crystal, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not have a lift available on site. However our staff are happy to help assist you if you have any problems carrying your luggage up stairs. I apologise if this caused inconvenience. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your room. Lots of our guests like having a sink available in the rooms for them to use and I can assure you they are cleaned daily by our housekeeping team. We hope you will consider staying with us again in future. Kind regards Holly Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff were lovely, the hostel was new and clean. It was a great location, everything was easy to walk to. It was very hot in the rooms and bathrooms and the fan didn't seem to help at all as the air circulation through the floor wasn't great, but other than that it was a good stay, and good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
7.1

There is no wifi in the rooms. The hostel is at least 10 minutes walk away from most food/grocery stores, and even farther from city center. It is close to the train station. Beds are comfy and clean. However, there are few windows and little airflow in the floors of the building with bedrooms. It was ridiculously hot and stuffy. Good kitchen and clean bathrooms, but the wifi and uncomfortable temperature is a deal-breaker for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.