Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
YHA Cambridge Located at 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge.
YHA Cambridge
England
Cambridge CB1 2DN 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN
88% 1206
52.1967440 0.1354622
YHA Cambridge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.3

I checked in during the afternoon and was assigned a bed in a dorm. However when I returned later on someone had taken my bed. I complained to the staff at the time, and the other guest ignored us and I had to take their assigned bed even though I wanted my assigned bed. The next morning I complained again, and although they apologized, they were not willing to do any more. Most other hostels and hotels would at least offer a discount or a refund for such inconvenience. Very poor service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Orla, Thank you for your review. We assign beds on arrival and very rarely in shared rooms a guest may end up using a bed different to the one they were unassigned. This appears to have been the case on this occasion. Our staff did apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at cambridgedeputy@yha.org.uk Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.6

It's a really good hostel, very clean and comfortable. Don't expect to meet to many people (It's more like a hotel). The facilities are quite new and the staff very kind.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and our staff were kind. We do have a lounge area for guests to use and quite a big kitchen space where guests have the opportunity to get to know one another. It is unfortunate that you didn't meet too many people during your stay. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! Kind Regards Holly Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

4th Nov 2016
10.0

Loved it, the best option for staying in Cambridge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Higuatzi, Thank you for your perfect score! We hope to see you stay with us again soon. Happy Travels! Kind Regards Holly Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

1st Nov 2016
9.7

A very lovely hostel, it is clean and it has good facilities. I really appreciated the well equipped kitchen were you can prepare all the meals you want. Nice the position close to the station, it is very comfortable for arrival and departures. At the station, few minutes by walk, you can also rent a bike at a reasonable price. The personal is friendly and I felt almost at home, so I highly recommend this hostel, my experience was really pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Gaetano, Thank you for the review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our facilities and location. We hope to have you stay again soon. Happy Travels! Kind Regards Holly Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
19th Oct 2016
7.7

staff could have been more forward by offering info about city and providing a map: you had to ask for everything. Congratulations would have been in order when they discovered I had my birthday, but no word. hostel is fairly clean, wc could have been bigger, nice big kitchen if you want to cook, backyard for smoking between 9 - 9 it's a 20 minutes walking from citycentre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. We apologise if our staff were not informative, we strive to give the best possible customer experience and it is unfortunate that we let you down on this occasion. I am glad you like our kitchen and courtyard area. For future reference the smoking area for guests is actually outside the front to the left down the road, there is no smoking on site and the courtyard is designed for guests to relax in and play games if they wish. We hope to have you stay again with us soon. Happy (late) birthday! Kind regards Holly YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
9.7

i really enjoyed my stay, on the day of arrival staff greated very friendly and been very helpful . Although on the day of leaving , man receptionist wasnt that friendly. But in general i am happy with all facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. My apologies if one of our staff members was unfriendly. We will pass this on to our staff. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Kind Regards Holly YHA Cambridge

  • kadam9617313
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.9

Although this hostel was very pleasant, it was extremely expensive for what it offered. For two nights, a private room was over 100 pounds, and while it was a two person room, the expectation for a double bed (which is what I have found in private rooms in other hostels) was quickly a laughing matter when we found our expensive private room was actually a closet with bunk beds. This fact should have been made clear at the booking phase, but it was not, and was a huge disappointment.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room let you down. We are consistently the cheapest accommodation provider in Cambridge and believe that we represent excellent value for money. We are also the only youth hostel. Your booking was for a twin room, not a double room- hence the lack of double bed. All of our beds are of the "bunk bed" variety. We will look into the information provided on the hostelworld website and update where necessary. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Holly Deputy Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Lisztfan
  • China, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
28th Sep 2016
8.0

The hostel is at the foot of Edinburgh Castle (10 minutes' walk up and town from the train station, no bus network applicable) and has got character. Kitchen is large and has everything, but not many seats are provided, not to mention some small groups take up one large table at a time. Besides, I simply hope the check-in time coukd be earlier than 14h30 and they coukd have checked whether visitors have heavy luggages, because we were put into an attic room on the 4th floor without a lift.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. I think you have may have mistaken us for a hostel in Edinburgh, however you are welcome to stay with us anytime in Cambridge. Kind regards, Olivia - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.1

A very clean and modern hostel. Has a quite big bar and tasty breakfast. Beds seemed really small, smaller than normal singles I think. Still has quite good night's sleep!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us. We are really glad that you enjoyed our facilities and had our delicious breakfast in the morning :) The bunk beds in the whole YHA network are built to the same single bed standard but I am sorry that you found that to be too small. I hope you had a wonderful time in Cambridge and that you will choose to stay with us again in future. Kind regards, Adriana - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of your comment. The team at YHA Cambridge

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.