Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
7.1

There is no wifi in the rooms. The hostel is at least 10 minutes walk away from most food/grocery stores, and even farther from city center. It is close to the train station. Beds are comfy and clean. However, there are few windows and little airflow in the floors of the building with bedrooms. It was ridiculously hot and stuffy. Good kitchen and clean bathrooms, but the wifi and uncomfortable temperature is a deal-breaker for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.4

It was really nice. The staff were nice and helpful. It's a cute place and the rooms are fine. I have no complaints. I would stay there again if I go back to Cambridge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Maria, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our staff helpful. We'd love to welcome you back to stay with us again. Best regards, Olivia - Reception

21st May 2017
7.7

This hostel is located a bit off from the city centre although you can still reach the bus station by foot. A cozy establishment with squeaky clean rooms and toilets, and an amazing 'maze' to go through before one could reach his room. I think cleanliness is the reason why I had to pay so much. Perhaps the hostel could compensate this by offering free breakfast to its guests, at least this is what most hostels in London had been practising and yet charging at a comparatively lower price!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
4.9

I spent one night here and will not again. Wifi is only on the ground floor. At approximately 3 -4 AM a group of loud people were making a commotion that lasted for at least an hour and continued in the morning waking me up. Nothing was done about it. I was also not allowed to warm up my lunch in the microwave the day I checked out. One of my worst hosteling experiences.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Christine, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here. Our night staff perform regular checks of the building and we ask all our guests to keep noise to a minimum, however we do sometimes have noisy guests. Unfortunately we do not allow our guests to use the kitchen facilities after they have checked out. It would have been particularly problematic in your case as the housekeeping team were cleaning the kitchen at the time. I hope you understand. Kind regards, Megan YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place to stay as it's near to the Cambridge station. Breakfast is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Isha, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you liked our location which is close to the local amenities and transport links. Thanks for your breakfast feedback, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.3

I only stopped one night as I was coming to Cambridge for a student conference, but the hostel was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The staff however were the best thing about the hostel, especially the woman who checked me in and happily answered all my questions though it was already half past midnight. I was in desperate need of wifi and printing services which they had, and it is ideally located by the train station. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Rachel, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you had a great stay with us and I will pass your excellent feedback to our night supervisor- Rachael, who checked you in. We hope to welcome you again in future. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

17th Apr 2017
8.6

This place is a really nice new facility which is awesome after having been in some more dingy hostels. The beds are really nice and have chargers and lockers. Showers and toilets are all great. There is a large breakfast which you can buy if you'd like and downstairs has a nice eating and social area. Only real thing I disliked about the place was the location, which is a bit far from city center. However, for the value I didn't mind a 30 minute walk into town. All in all quite pleased!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind and compliementary review. We are very proud of our hostel and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you found all the facilities to be of a high standard. Time for the bad news- I think you walked the wrong way into town. We are a maximum of a 15 minute walk away. I hope you had a great stay despite your detour :) Best regards, James- Hostel manager

14th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice place, the guy at the reception during the night was brilliant and very helpful! Place is easy to find and close to the train station. WI Fi not available in the rooms (which was a downer) The ladies in my room were loud, smelly and snored like pigs (not the hostel fault, but id did have an impact on my night's sleep) Still, I'd stay there again and recommend it to others!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review- I will pass on your kind words to John who works very hard to look after everyone through the night. Sorry about the WIFI, it is not available in rooms at present- however there are plans to extend the coverage soon. I'm sorry you had undesirable roommates- we do supply ear plugs at reception. Nevertheless, I hope you had a great time in Cambridge! Best wishes, James- Hostel manager

  • edededaki5987
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Very well-organised and clean hostel. It is also very close to the train station which was my way of commuting but 10-15 mins walk from the city centre. I only stayed there for one night but I didn't have any issues and everyone in the reception was very helpful. The only problem was that there was no Wifi in the rooms upstairs, but mainly in the social area downstairs. Good value for money :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you found the hostel to be clean, well organised and in a great location. You are correct that Wifi is not available on every floor. However, we have plans to extend the coverage. We have recently changed provider which is why the service is limited to the communal areas. I do hope you had a great time in Cambridge. Best wishes, James- Hostel manager

  • epaddon6545
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 59 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Accommodation at the hostel was first class. The staff were so helpful and I enjoyed my stay immensly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! I hope you had a wonderful time in Cambridge and a safe onward journey. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, James- Hostel manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.