Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Cambridge Located at 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge.
YHA Cambridge
England
Cambridge CB1 2DN 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN
89% 1172
52.1967440 0.1354622
YHA Cambridge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.7

The mattresses were quite hard and it was always very hot in the room. But the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.4

Good access to facilities. Location is not far from railway station but if you are catching a coach it might take longer to get there. Luggage room is convenient but the room is very tight. Washroom facilities are good but I didn't have a good night sleep. Not friendly for wheelchair users or people with disabilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We take guest feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience at YHA Cambridge. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities. We always want our guests to have the most relaxing and comfortable nights rest possible so it is unfortunate that you did not have one on this occasion. The luggage room can get very busy with the volume of guests luggage and we do try to encourage guests to place their bags in there to not limit access to other users where possible. There are pay- to- use secure lockers in there for your belongings should you wish to use them. In regards to disable guests, we have a fully accessible ground floor room and washroom facilities for mobility impaired guests. We also have ramp access into the hostel for wheelchair users and a parking space on site for blue badge holders. We welcome all people with disabilities to come and stay with us :-) Kind Regards Holly Housekeeping Manager

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

I stayed there for two nights on the second floor. But it was too hot to fall asleep even with an air fan. The stuff were nice. Other things were good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and found the hostel to be a clean and safe environment. I'm really sorry to hear your room was too warm, it's not very often we get hot weather in Cambridge and our rooms therefore do not have air conditioning. The fans are normally sufficient to make the room comfortable but I'm sorry your sleep was disturbed nonetheless. I hope you had a great time in Cambridge and we do hope we can welcome you again in future. Kind regards, Adriana - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.9

Cambridge is very short of hostels, and this is one of the very few. While the location is far from the city centre, I liked it as I needed to be at the train station at 0430 and the hostel is very near to the station. Very safe for ladies - to get in there are three doors to tap through.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you felt safe and comfortable- this is so important to us and hopefully it is reflected in the safe and friendly environment we have here. I hope you had a great stay! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

A wonderful hostel! I've stayed at quite a few hostels around the world. This is one of the best. Everything is brand new and spotless. The beds were clean and comfortable and the room was spacious. The dining area was spacious with tourist information and maps. The staff were kind and friendly at all times, especially a chap named Ian. There is a nice breakfast for a very reasonable price. As someone who knows Cambridge well, I highly recommend this accommodation. Thank v much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your glowing review- we are so delighted with your comments. I have passed on your comments to Ian who was very touched by your compliment. I hope you had a great time with us. Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.1

This is a very nice hostel. I can say it is one of the best hostels in Europe. It is close to a train station but bit distant from the city center. As a female single traveler, I was little bit afraid of walking around at night. It is not located in a busy big road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your great review. We are located on a quite and safe affluent residential area in the city- whilst only being a five minute walk from both the train station and fifteen minutes to the city. I'm glad that you had a great stay nonetheless and you were impressed by the standards in the hostel. I hope you had a great time in Cambridge! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.0

Bien! La localización bien, los baños y las camas limpia y cómoda. El wifi no funcionar

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found the facilities clean and comfortable. I'm sorry to hear there was an issue with WIFI. It is generally very reliable and if you have an issue on your device we are normally able to help resolve this. I hope that you had a great stay in Cambridge! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

10th Jun 2016
9.7

My second stay at the hostel. Everything was virtually excellent, including cleanliness, helpfulness of staff and prices. The only slight issue was the atmosphere, which wasn't as lively as one would have expected (perhaps due to UK guests who stay here with a main purpose eg to visit friends/family living in the city). Perhaps more activities could be organised to integrate guests. In any case, I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review! I'm really pleased that you enjoy your stay at the hostel and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

1st Jun 2016
10.0

A great base for exploring Cambridge. The location is walking distance from the train station, long-distance bus, and the main sights. Lots of small stores and restaurants nearby for quick meals, or to get food for self-catering. Staff were all very helpful, at any time of the day or night. I met a lot of interesting independent travellers, from the UK and beyond. The comfortable dining, bar and lounge areas encourage casual interaction among guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for leaving us a wonderful review

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.