X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Cambridge Reviews

97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1091 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

very welcoming staff and an extremely nice hostel at a great price! thank you

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

My first time at a hostel, and may I say I'm amazed! Clean, secure and even cozy. Very helpful staff. Definitely will stay here again


91%

One of the best hostels I have been.. really really clean, very friendly staff. I had only one problem: the power plugs from my bedroom stopped working in the middle of the night so no onencould charge their devices, which is crucial when travelling alone. I had a though time charging in the morning when I could be exploring the city before traveling again. But that was a problem I don't believe it happens very often, so the overall expierence was great


86%

In general it was a good Hostel to stay a couple of nights, good located near the train station and about 15 min walking from the city centre, you need to pay for the breakfast, I stayed in a four bed room and it was not noisy and clean. I would return some day!


80%

that s a pity that staff not smily and not that friendly, much less friendly than in some many YHA i have been before


66%

There was a woman's screaming in the halls from 4am-8am and the staff didn't do anything about it. We made a compliant in the morning and the staff said they would make a note. Whatever that means. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I thought it was odd to have only one shower and one toilet for a number of rooms.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place! Awesome value for money!!


91%

The staff is really nice and friendly

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place. So pleased with everything about it. Really great and relaxing environment.


80%

Had a good stay at this hostel. The dorms are compact and there is no ensuite bathroom, but it was oke. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.


80%

I go to the Annual Faraday Society Lecture and stay at YHA. The Hostel is friendly and they are reasonably good for the price. This is the second time I have used it.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

So rare to find a dorm room that seemed custom-built for a hostel dorm. Each bed had a unit with a light, small shelf and a power plug perfectly designed and placed for sleepers. Sink and mirror in room was very convenient and showers and toilets similarly designed. One thing I would improve is the "red/green" on the door locks indicating if it's locked or not. Make it bigger somehow. Some guests can be very nasty in the mornings otherwise. Warning: lots of stairs and no lift!


97%

my first stay in a hostel. Absolutely loved it, 5 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes to the city centre. Thank you

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The member of staff who checked me in was quite dopey and did not check if I was a member until after I'd paid, costing me money, among other things. Otherwise it's a very convenient and relaxed place.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

No internet in the rooms.


91%

This hotel was super clean, had comfortable beds and spacious rooms. There were lots of facilities (beautiful self-catering kitchen and a downstairs restaurant/bar) and the staff were very knowledgable and helpful. Each bed had it's own light and charger. I would definitely stay here again!


83%

Pretty good for the only hostel in Cambridge. Breakfast is extra but cooked. Nice beds. But far from the city centre but it's a nice walk!


91%

The staff are very welcoming, smiley and helpful. I would definitely stay at YHA, Tension Road, Cambridge should I ever return to Cambridge.

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A nice, clean hostel away from the crowd yet only 15 mins from the centre and 5 mins from the supermarkets walking distance. It has a spacious, clean and well geared kitchen. The atmosphere reflects a "passing by" hostel; not a "family of friends" hostel to live in. Newly renovated with modern facilities and helpful staff. Highly recommended; personal rating 91%. A "globetrotter".

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Cambridge Hostels

Please give us your feedback