Hostelworld.com

YHA Cambridge

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Cambridge Located at 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge.
YHA Cambridge
England
Cambridge CB1 2DN 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN
90% 1146
52.1967440 0.1354622
YHA Cambridge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • asaohqvist5189
  • Sweden, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
25th May 2016
9.7

Close to the train station and car/motorbike parking but a bit of a walk to the center. Newly refurbished - all in top condition. Fully equipped kitchen. I would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review- so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The joy of Cambridge is that everything is walking distance- it's only 15 minutes to the centre. Hope to see you again! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
7.4

Not bad but, be prepared to pay for everything that, to common sense, should be included into service (like towels e.g... etc). Wi fi connection is lousy. And if you're smoking, don't go there cause they will treat you like a dog. All in all, there's nothing more to expect for the price. Get some sleep, eat your breakfast and go away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location and the atmosphere in the hostel. We manage to keep the prices so low by not including towels, toiletries etc. - we feel this is common and expected in hostels. WiFi Internet is available in public areas on the ground floor and I am happy to report that that currently we have plans to extend our free Internet access to bedrooms as well. Your comment regarding your experience with staff is concerning. I can assure you that we strive to give the best possible service at all times. My sincerest apologies if this is not what you experienced. Best regards - Adriana - Reception

6th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel ever and we've stayed in a lot of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thank you so much for the amazing review. I hope you had a great time in Cambridge. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • jesshullah
  • South Africa, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
8.3

You could lock your bicycle away in the courtyard. The hostel is a bit off centre, but not a far walk from all the good sights. The staff were friendly, professional and receptive. The place wad a bit dead but the lovely restaurant makes a good hang out place. It was really good value for the experience and the location. The only thing that perplexed me were the showers that were in a separate room without a curtain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you made use of our modern bike storage facilities. Similarly, it's great to hear that the team really looked after you and you enjoyed our café/bar. I'll review the shower set up and will introduce curtains if this comes through in guest feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

1st May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, fair location - a bit of a walk from the station, however not far from the town centre. Quiet neighborhood and very clean and comfortable accommodation. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We're five minutes round the corner from the train station- I hope you didn't take a longer walk than you needed to. I'm delighted you found the hostel to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

The Hostel was good and clean, the staff is really helpful. They also have discount on the Punt tours, if you are planning to do it. The hostel is near the station so it is good 20 min walk from the city center. Also, you need to pay for anything extra, like locker, towels etc. My overall experience was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We keep the prices so low by making lockers, towels and breakfast optional but they are actually really good value! I'm delighted you found the hostel to be clean and our staff were helpful. I hope you enjoyed your time with us. Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
9.1

Stayed for one night and arrived late in the evening, however, everything went smoothly with no issues. Staff very friendly, and helpful with any issues. My only problem was the other occupants in my room, as one gentleman was snoring so loud it was unbearable, and when I woke him to ask if he could re-position himself, he was very abusive, to which he got a mouthful straight back. however, yes this is not the hotels fault and had lovely stay and will stop again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, we can't control snoring guests- it's sometimes the negative to shared accommodation. I'd recommend maybe a private room next time for extra comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • eichert_998199
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

The cleanest hostel I have ever seen! Staff was incredibly friendly. I would stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

High praise indeed! Thank you so much!! I'm pleased you found the team to be friendly and we impressed you with our super clean rooms and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back! James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2016
7.7

This hostel was a nice hostel with a family friendly environment. It had a great area to talk and drink. However there was no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. I hope to see you back in Cambridge soon

2nd Apr 2016
9.7

The environment was very nice and stuffs were friendly. It was 10min walk from the train station and took me about 20min walking to the university, but it's ok for me. If I visit Cambridge again, I'll still choose this one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We're only a five minute walk to the station and 15 minutes to most of the colleges. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! James- Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.