Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Cambridge Located at 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge.
YHA Cambridge
England
Cambridge CB1 2DN 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN
89% 1229
52.1967440 0.1354622
YHA Cambridge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Absence of a lift is quite troublesome...... As many guests carry heavy luggages. The room is clean but a bit small. It's well eqipped with light and socket next to the bed. Shower is big which i liked! It's a bit pricy though... Considering the fact that breakfast is not included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities. We apologise for the lack of lift but staff are always happy to assist upon request. We hope to welcome you to Cambridge again sometime soon. Kind regards, Melissa - Reception

7th Jan 2017
10.0

Clean, friendly staff, wonderful restaurant & bar area, great value for the price!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Roisin, Thank you for the fantastic review! We strive to deliver the best possible guest experience and I am so please we delivered. We hope to have you stay again with us in future. Happy Travels! Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

Had an enjoyable stay there with a great staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.1

The staff were really nice and helpful. I was there on Christmas Day, and the staff made a sweet move -- they gave people at the common area some chocolates :D Security is good. You need to bring your own locks for the lockers in the room. Washroom and toilet were clean. The bed was tidy and clean. Everything in the room was great (could have been better if it is a little more spacious!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review, I am really pleased you had a nice time over Christmas with us at the hostel. I am glad you were satisfied with the standards of our facilities, and we hope to welcome you back to Cambridge again at some point! Best regards, Olivia - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
8.9

Very friendly and helpful staff, reception open 24hrs: very helpful to check in and out at anytime. Had an issue with another customer in our room but staff promptly and effectively dealt with it. Definitely would recommend this hostel !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nicolas, Thank you for your review. Our staff strive to provide a world class service for all guests so I am glad to hear that staff were friendly and helpful. My apologies for any issue you had with other guests, I am pleased that our staff managed to resolve the issue for you. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Happy travels! Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Dec 2016
8.6

Super duper friendly staff- in particular a middle aged English guy who did nights and a lady from Melbourne. Never made you feel like a pain. Bag storage was free, had lockers, PowerPoints by beds- good facilities and really clean. Only downfall is it was quite tricky to meet other people and was lacking a social atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. I will pass on your lovely feedback to our staff members, John and Alana. I am disappointed to hear about the lack of atmosphere. We do have social areas in our café/bar and quite a big kitchen. we often see guests cooking and eating together before going out and exploring the city. It was a shame you didn't get to experience this so much during your stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Really nice place. Its not right downtown but its close to the train station and Cambridge is small anyway. Its clean, they give good advice, the room was spatious and each bed had a plug and light, the bed was comfortable. Maybe too few showers per floor but we managed somehow. The common areas are really warm and nice. I definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and friendly staff. The hostel is approximately a 15 minute walk to the town centre but there are supermarkets and restaurants less than 5 minutes away. We hope to welcome you to Cambridge again in the near future nonetheless. Kind regards, Melissa - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.6

Good hostel! Professional hotel kind of feeling... Staff is well trained and everything is really clean. However, there are no lifts and the size of the shower is ridiculous, really really tiny... The breakfast is not worth the price... Almost no lacfree options... Don't pay for it Close to the station and quiet neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are really pleased to hear you think that the hostel compares to high class hotel accommodation. We believe so too! There is no lift in the building, but our friendly staff is always ready to assist with carrying any luggage up the stairs. Shower rooms are available for use on every floor and I am sorry to hear that the size of the one you used did not stand up to your expectations. Breakfast is available for £5.75 which includes hot food items from the English breakfast buffet as well as continental style buffet, tea and coffee. Lactose free options are available and our catering staff is happy to offer any alternatives and advise. We hope you had a lovely time in Cambridge and hope to see you again in future. Kind regards, Adriana - Reception

  • cassiedefillipo1383
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Dec 2016
9.4

It was everything I needed, and I loved the artistic touches. I would stay here again if I get the chance to return to Cambridge!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and in particular you liked the style of the hostel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.3

I checked in during the afternoon and was assigned a bed in a dorm. However when I returned later on someone had taken my bed. I complained to the staff at the time, and the other guest ignored us and I had to take their assigned bed even though I wanted my assigned bed. The next morning I complained again, and although they apologized, they were not willing to do any more. Most other hostels and hotels would at least offer a discount or a refund for such inconvenience. Very poor service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Orla, Thank you for your review. We assign beds on arrival and very rarely in shared rooms a guest may end up using a bed different to the one they were unassigned. This appears to have been the case on this occasion. Our staff did apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at cambridgedeputy@yha.org.uk Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.