Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Cambridge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
YHA Cambridge Located at 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge.
YHA Cambridge
England
Cambridge CB1 2DN 97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN
87% 1181
52.1967440 0.1354622
YHA Cambridge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.1

A very clean and modern hostel. Has a quite big bar and tasty breakfast. Beds seemed really small, smaller than normal singles I think. Still has quite good night's sleep!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of your comment. The team at YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.0

Good price and clean enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased you liked staying with us. The team at YHA Cambridge

  • piergiacomo9957
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.4

the only problem was the window that cannot be completely open for security reason... I mean staying in a 6 bed rooms in the attic with only 1 small window open 10 cm was like being in a sauna!!! Please take into consideration installing air conditioning! The Staff was great especially the girl at the reception (Melissa??) she helped me a lot please let her know!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am very pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you found the room too hot - we have had some unusually hot weather in Cambridge recently. We have however recently put fans in every room and have a few spare upon request at reception. We hope to welcome you to Cambridge again in the future. Kind regards, Melissa - Reception

14th Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review. We hope to welcome you to Cambridge again in the future. Melissa - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.7

The mattresses were quite hard and it was always very hot in the room. But the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful, we take great pride in delivering the best customer service we can. I am sorry to hear that the bed was not quite to your comfort but hope that we will welcome you to Cambridge again sometime soon. Kind regards, Melissa - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.4

Good access to facilities. Location is not far from railway station but if you are catching a coach it might take longer to get there. Luggage room is convenient but the room is very tight. Washroom facilities are good but I didn't have a good night sleep. Not friendly for wheelchair users or people with disabilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We take guest feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience at YHA Cambridge. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities. We always want our guests to have the most relaxing and comfortable nights rest possible so it is unfortunate that you did not have one on this occasion. The luggage room can get very busy with the volume of guests luggage and we do try to encourage guests to place their bags in there to not limit access to other users where possible. There are pay- to- use secure lockers in there for your belongings should you wish to use them. In regards to disable guests, we have a fully accessible ground floor room and washroom facilities for mobility impaired guests. We also have ramp access into the hostel for wheelchair users and a parking space on site for blue badge holders. We welcome all people with disabilities to come and stay with us :-) Kind Regards Holly Housekeeping Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Jul 2016
6.3

Don't let the name fool you, definitely not a youth hostel. All families and seniors which was quite awkward on many occasions. Clean rooms, friendly staff, but atmosphere ruined the experience

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, As a not for profit association, our mission is to welcome all travellers and explorers. We don't discriminate by age. The majority of our guests are young but we sometimes have more mature guests ; we believe it makes socializing more interesting. We are pleased that you liked the rooms and the staff. The team at YHA Cambridge

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

I stayed there for two nights on the second floor. But it was too hot to fall asleep even with an air fan. The stuff were nice. Other things were good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and found the hostel to be a clean and safe environment. I'm really sorry to hear your room was too warm, it's not very often we get hot weather in Cambridge and our rooms therefore do not have air conditioning. The fans are normally sufficient to make the room comfortable but I'm sorry your sleep was disturbed nonetheless. I hope you had a great time in Cambridge and we do hope we can welcome you again in future. Kind regards, Adriana - Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.9

Cambridge is very short of hostels, and this is one of the very few. While the location is far from the city centre, I liked it as I needed to be at the train station at 0430 and the hostel is very near to the station. Very safe for ladies - to get in there are three doors to tap through.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you felt safe and comfortable- this is so important to us and hopefully it is reflected in the safe and friendly environment we have here. I hope you had a great stay! Best regards, James- Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.