Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Franz Josef

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd May 2017
6.9

Be warned - this place is freezing during the winter! It's your standard YHA hostel but not as clean as previous ones we stayed in. Location and staff are all good tho! Wasn't great atmosphere when we were there but maybe to be expected in winter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • leicesterfox
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
9th May 2017
7.1

Place generally has no vibe, nothing to really the people mingling or anything. A pool table is nifty but there isn't even music (let alone ambient music) to give the place a bit of atmosphere. The common room and kitchen are up to scratch and the bedrooms are fine but the bathrooms need an overhaul. Feels like you are in a fishing ship.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2017
8.6

Great place and value for money for the location, very handy to everything you need at Franz Josef with helpful staff to assist.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.4

Had a very good stay here! Staff were super friendly, facilities were very good, beds were very comfortable with two pillowed and an individual light for each bed (not many hostels actually have this)! It's easy to access the glacier by a shuttle bus from right outside the hostel! Staff were really helpful when we had questions about walks/things to do in the area, would 100% recommend if you're in Franz Josef!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed my stay here! Great atmosphere, wifi works really well and kitchens and bathrooms are well kept! Always a great experience at the YHA

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice hostel away from the main road so it's quiet. There was a mix of groups and single travelers so there were a few people happy to chat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Mar 2017
6.9

Was an alright hostel, wouldn't really recommend for solo travellers though. Asked staff some questions and they didn't seem to properly know the answers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
6.6

This place is so loud. There's no way to close the doors from the outside without slamming them. Multiply that by 10-15 rooms and it's tough to get any sleep. Plus they moved me into a different room every night with no notice. Once in the middle of dinner Not cool. I really don't care about the tour groups. I booked a room in advance just like they did.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
8.6

Good value hostel stay for the night. Our private room was clean and beds were comfortable. Lots of people cooking in the kitchen, so it was good that their kitchen was big enough for everyone. Staff were helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we didn't try the sauna. But would recommend this place to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.9

At times it was difficult to find staff for assistance. Free earplugs should be left where they are more accessible later at night. Overall good location and facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.