Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Franz Josef

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 436 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
YHA Franz Josef Located at 2-4 Cron Street, , Franz Josef.
YHA Franz Josef
New Zealand
Franz Josef 2-4 Cron Street
85% 436
-43.3828130 170.1859903
YHA Franz Josef
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2016
6.6

Cold. Misfiring plumbing and lack of jot water. Otherwise reasonable facilities, if basic. Helpful staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2016
7.7

Wifi does not work well in most of the hostel, including the rooms. The rooms do have wonderful heaters, which was great for the winter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.7

Really good hostel. Intercity to the door. Pro: best bed I've stayed in so far in NZ. Super comfy. really good big kitchen with loads of room and stations. Con: always people in common room but was quiet. Good stay at the hostel for 2 nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

I had a great stay here! The communal areas were massive highlights; there's a separate tv room, fireplace and sofas. My roommates and I spent the eve eating the free homemade soup, drinking wine and playing games which was heaps of fun. The rooms were a decent size and the kitchen/bathroom areas were always clean. The location was great too, everything within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel for our short stay in Franz Josef - unsurprising of a YHA. Highly recommend. Also, free soup!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay in YHA Franz Josef - within walking distance to the main road, supermarket etc. Hostel was helpful to arrange shuttle bus service to Glacier car park so the right place to stay for tourists on short term visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
6.0

Wouldn't stay here again. Over priced for what you get. Room was dirty and beds uncomfortable. Good location for glacier but that's about it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
8.9

It was very, very busy when I was there March 19!! It was raining so many people were indoors. Everything was great. Bed was comfy and clean. Bathrooms were clean and functioning. Kitchen was large and well equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.6

Great staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
9.4

FINALLY a dorm room in New Zealand that wasn't packed to the BRIM with bunks! There was even a small couch! Very clean, nice bathrooms, friendly staff, superb internet, and large kitchen. Only complaint was that the atmosphere was kind of institutional-feeling and somewhat drab.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.