Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Franz Josef

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Franz Josef Located at 2-4 Cron Street, , Franz Josef.
YHA Franz Josef
New Zealand
Franz Josef 2-4 Cron Street
86% 462
-43.3828130 170.1859903
YHA Franz Josef
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
6.6

This place is so loud. There's no way to close the doors from the outside without slamming them. Multiply that by 10-15 rooms and it's tough to get any sleep. Plus they moved me into a different room every night with no notice. Once in the middle of dinner Not cool. I really don't care about the tour groups. I booked a room in advance just like they did.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
8.6

Good value hostel stay for the night. Our private room was clean and beds were comfortable. Lots of people cooking in the kitchen, so it was good that their kitchen was big enough for everyone. Staff were helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we didn't try the sauna. But would recommend this place to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.9

At times it was difficult to find staff for assistance. Free earplugs should be left where they are more accessible later at night. Overall good location and facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
8.9

Nice Hostel! Wifi super slow and if you need to work totally depending on wifi dont trust this one. A part from this nothing to complain. Location is great, staff was super friendly, everything clean!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place! Comfortable and wide, very close to attractions and helpful staff ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Rooms were great - even got two pillows, WHAT a treat. Kitchen let this place down for a YHA, cleanliness wasn't at a high standard. Staff were great, especially helping out with road closures due to earthquake etc helping me re route my trip. Brilliant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2016
7.7

Large hostel, excellent central location in Franz Joseph. Helpful staff. Relatively basic dorms and bathrooms, kitchen reasonably equipped. Pleasant clean sauna open every evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
9.4

Not much of an atmosphere but it wasn't very busy when I was there so that's probably why. Free soup was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.