Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Gisborne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
YHA Gisborne Located at 32 harris st, kaiti, Gisborne.
YHA Gisborne
New Zealand
Gisborne eastland 4010 32 harris st, kaiti
85% 176
-38.6704670 178.0328460
YHA Gisborne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice hostel and the staff was even nice enough to let us leave some of our belongings there before we checked in. However, there were times that the reception desk was supposed to be open but no one was there, so we had to wait. Overall no major complaints and would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.7

Great value for money. Super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very tidied presented. Very close to town and the beaches. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay at yha as I would highly recommend those travelling to Gisborne nz to book in here the atmosphere is ecstatic all facilities well organised clean environment and warm feeling to the place also the hosts were really lovely thanks yha Gisborne

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
7.7

Nice hostel outside of town. Covers all of your basic needs at a fair price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, good atmosphere. Staff weren't overly friendly or helpful nor were they ever at reception. Could do with a 'call' button or such like. Paid for a 45 minute tumble dry and our stuff STILL needed hanging out after which was annoying. Very clean Single beds rather than bunks Would recommend and stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff are absolutely phenomenal! Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Nov 2016
10.0

YHA Gisborne is a really nice hostel with friendly staff. Dorms are clean and quiet. Within a few minutes you are in the center and a little supermarket is nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
10.0

The YHA Hostel in Gisborne was one of my favorite hostels I've stayed at in New Zealand. The owners were friendly and helpful, they genuinely care about their guests and their property. The hostel was incredibly clean and had all the cooking utensils you would need. The location was ideal for backpackers without transport - town is a short walk away and there are some beautiful beaches nearby. I had a wonderful time with the occupants and made heaps of friends. All in all, 10/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Very clean, well stocked kitchen, nice sunny deck and extremely friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.