Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Gisborne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Lovely homely feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Fantastic hostel with a friendly staff team and amazing facilities that are kept super clean! 10 bed dorm was spacious, had some single beds and was great value for money. Lots of people staying are surfers and workers but one night guests like myself still felt welcome - good mix. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.1

Really nice place. Unfortunately a bit far out if town. Walking 1.5km with all your bags is a pain in the butt. Tried to get a taxi - no chance. Only 200MB wifi. Which unfortunately doesn't work when you are in the cottage. Staff nice, clean place. Lots of long term stayer. That avoid talking to new guest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
7.1

Facilities were adequate and clean. Walking distance to city centre. Nice outdoor communal area and free avocados!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.4

we had a great time at the YHA in Gisborne!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Absolutely stunning hostel. I can really recommend this one. Very nice and clean rooms, toilets & clean kitchen. Furthermore the owners were more than lovely. They gave me two extra blankets, paracetamol and a single room during my sickness. Hostel is like a big family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
6.9

Good points- small and cosy hostel, unlike some of the YHA's I have stayed in. Good kitchen, well equipped and clean bathrooms. Not so good- the location, it is a good 20 minute walk from the centre. The owners are not that friendly and there is no real vibe. Laundry can only be done after 3pm which means having to come back from the centre and waiting. Many long term staying backpackers who treat the place like their own, not friendly and rather loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

The room and facilities were clean and fresh .The staff were extremely helpful .A great stay, thankyou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Great, clean good kitchen. Friendly staff. Better than the BBH hostel by miles

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice hostel and the staff was even nice enough to let us leave some of our belongings there before we checked in. However, there were times that the reception desk was supposed to be open but no one was there, so we had to wait. Overall no major complaints and would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.