Hostelworld.com

YHA Gisborne

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.9

Good points- small and cosy hostel, unlike some of the YHA's I have stayed in. Good kitchen, well equipped and clean bathrooms. Not so good- the location, it is a good 20 minute walk from the centre. The owners are not that friendly and there is no real vibe. Laundry can only be done after 3pm which means having to come back from the centre and waiting. Many long term staying backpackers who treat the place like their own, not friendly and rather loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

The room and facilities were clean and fresh .The staff were extremely helpful .A great stay, thankyou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Great, clean good kitchen. Friendly staff. Better than the BBH hostel by miles

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice hostel and the staff was even nice enough to let us leave some of our belongings there before we checked in. However, there were times that the reception desk was supposed to be open but no one was there, so we had to wait. Overall no major complaints and would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.7

Great value for money. Super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very tidied presented. Very close to town and the beaches. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay at yha as I would highly recommend those travelling to Gisborne nz to book in here the atmosphere is ecstatic all facilities well organised clean environment and warm feeling to the place also the hosts were really lovely thanks yha Gisborne

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
7.7

Nice hostel outside of town. Covers all of your basic needs at a fair price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, good atmosphere. Staff weren't overly friendly or helpful nor were they ever at reception. Could do with a 'call' button or such like. Paid for a 45 minute tumble dry and our stuff STILL needed hanging out after which was annoying. Very clean Single beds rather than bunks Would recommend and stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff are absolutely phenomenal! Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Nov 2016
10.0

YHA Gisborne is a really nice hostel with friendly staff. Dorms are clean and quiet. Within a few minutes you are in the center and a little supermarket is nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.