Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Hawkshead

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
YHA Hawkshead Located at Hawkshead, Ambleside, Lake District.
YHA Hawkshead
England
Lake District LA22 0QD Hawkshead, Ambleside
85% 100
54.3618327 -2.9950940
YHA Hawkshead
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

Excellent site. Great atmosphere. Clean. Friendly staff. Really good kitchen facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

We couldn't have ask for a better hostel. The hot breakfast was a great way to get the day started. Staff were friendly, the location was beautiful and the beds were nice to come back to. The only down side would be the shower, this needs to be bleached every day as its used by many. Other then that I would stay again and cant wait to return. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
6.9

Most of the staff was ok, although there was one girl that, every time I asked her anything, seemed either genuinely dumbfounded or annoyed. Rooms were fine. This place is ISOLATED, so if you don't have a car, there's nothing to do except hike. Not many trails within walking distance. Town was within walking distance, but the road down there is windy and narrow, so be careful. Food was good, albeit pricey. Showers were disgusting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
9.1

Lovely location in the Lake district, a bit outside of town, wonderful view; room was a bit croweded, low ceilings, but typical of older buildings in the area. Over all, highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.7

The door to our dorm was constantly left unlocked throughout the day and night, but that was probably down to the users rather than the staff! Other than that I can safely say that this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Lovely dorm rooms and wonderful kitchen facilities. The atmosphere was wonderful and I have a lovely time, even though I was only staying overnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
9.4

Overall, the YHA Hawkshead was brilliant - great facilities, clean and tidy, in a gorgeous setting, with a friendly staff. There is a well-stocked self-service kitchen for use and a limited dine-in menu (also coffee made with real espresso). The one downside that I would note for anyone travelling without local 3G or 4G is that the wifi connection is very weak and doesn't work in the main building, where I'd usually choose to be catching up on my emails and planning for the next leg of my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
10.0

Amazing place. Please hire me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed in a private family room ( 2 adults and 2 children) for 2 nights. The hostel is a great location for walking. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had a great time in Hawskshead and would definetly stay in a youth hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.