X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Liverpool Reviews

25 Tabley Street, off Wapping, Merseyside , L1 8EE, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
834 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Paid for the four room with en-suite was brilliant for the night. Make sure you take a hand towel and soap though.


34%

This place was disgusting!! On the other side of the city, took over 30 mins to walk to and with a very heavy bag it was exhausting. The whole place looks like it hasn't been touched since it was built, possibly 20 years ago! It smelt and looked like a nursing home and I think I was the youngest guest by at least 30 years. The bathrooms and corridors where horrible, moldy, dirty and scraped and scratched everywhere. Paper thin walls, lots of traffic from the main street outside, loud staff too


80%

I was in room 201 this time,which was'nt facing the main road-not that it would concern me. The person in the bunk above me kept everyone else awake by snoring-ironically he was the only person that slept well;i certainly did'nt and i dont think the others did either. That aside,had an enjoyable stay and would stay here again.


86%

It is a good hostel, location is excellent... But you have to pay for Wi-Fi. Pay per hour or pay for a membership 7 pounds per year (?). I went last year to Liverpool and the hostel was terrible, but they offer Wi-Fi. Next year I will search for another hostel with free internet. Unfortunately, the only negative point is this one, but it's enough for to try somewhere else.


51%

The staff does not help you, when you ask for some places to visit in the city they only give you a map and repeat the same two or three places all the time. THEY DO NOT HAVE WI FI INCLUDED, you have to be member of a group that if you only go a few nights it does not have sense.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It's a decent hostel, but it's not worth the really good star rating it's given. This is clearly due to the location (which is fantastic), but the hostel is let down by poor maintenance (need a facelift, as the saying goes!) and poor facilities. The shower/Bathroom was pretty rubbish, and the breakfast was worth nowhere near the £4.99 charged. It's a shame. It could be a lot better, but needs some TLC!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is a really far walk from the bus station but is close to the sights. The staff are really helpful


34%

Really poor value for money. Poor location made it feel unsafe for a single female traveller walking at night. No communal areas were pointed out (don't know if any exist) so nowhere to socialize or even sit down and eat. Cold in room, slept beside large window with no security bar. Have stayed in much, much nicer places in the UK for less money. Worst of all NO FREE INTERNET and an exorbitant fee to use it. Will not be using another YHA and do not recommend this place at all.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

My friends and I went there for about 24h , we were welcomed with a very friendly staff who were very helpful. My one friend stayed in but me and my other one went out for a night of beatles life. there was an amazing beatles cover band playing at the club Tue beatles became famous from. so over all we did bot spend much time there in the hostel but I loved the time I got to spend there and would definitely stay there again. the staff at night was also so helpful they called a cab for us early


69%

The hostel should prepare FREE wifi for all the customers so that especially foreigner customer can have access to Internet in order to plan their journey!


71%

Very good place, but it doesn't have any free internet and the main station was not near.


89%

excellent staff very helpful made the weekend a fantastic time thank you

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent stay in a top notch YHA Hostel. Regularly stay here on trips to Liverpool and would recommend anyone else to so do as well. Keep up the great work!


46%

No locks on toilet doors. No toilet paper. Blocked shower plug so standing in water. The list goes on. Terrible.


71%

Bedrooms were clean but the toilets/shower was not.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good place, a little far away from the City Centre

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The self-catering kitchen is awful : nothing for cooking nor eating (four glasses, one fork...). The only item full was the dustbin, and full it was for a long time.... We have told the manager at the desk, but nothing happened till the next day, and the kitchen floor has not been washed up for a long time. Another thing : only one shower for eight dorms is not much, and was flooded. Anyway, this hostel is well located and some parts are clean. What a pity everything is not in the same way.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel in good location but 5pounds for breakfast was steep especially when it was very poor quality

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A bit dingy and the room didn't smell too good, but the blanket was really warm, the 8-person room big and the kitchen great, so I've nothing to complain.


49%

There was no hand soup in the toilet of the room. I stayed in dorm room with 4 other people. The room was smelling bad where the windows cannot be opened much. The bathroom was smelling worse than the room. There was no towels. Even the stairs was smelling cigarette.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(604 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback