X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London Central Reviews

104-108 Bolsover St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3338 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Aside from the location, there really isn't any other positives to this hostel. The stench that came from the showers was unbearable,


97%

we had a great stay, as always. Many thanks to the staff who has been very kind indeed!!!

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location, near Oxford St and close to tube stations. Dorms quite small, showers were clean but not very good. Staff were average, nice but not always helpful or willing to help. No free wifi!! Good food though and great lounge room/foyer downstairs - nice play to hang out.


83%

The staff at the hostel is friendly and I enjoy staying. The place is clean and tidy and I feel comfortable and will continue staying until I find my flat.

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I have been to London five times. This was the best hostel i have stayed at. I have stayed at highly rated hostels in London before and been disappointed by the crowding just to get extra bunk beds in or too stuffy and no ventilation. The staff were very nice too. Will stay again next time!


97%

good location and nice people. You can meet amazing people from all over the world. The heater is very warm even it's badly cold outside.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best backpackers hotel I've ever been to. The only thing to improve would be the sinks. They're really tiny with a glass shelf over them, so close that won't let you do anything besides washing your hands.


91%

Staff at reception were very disorganised when it came to the check in process, and seemed very preoccupied with chatting amongst themselves, rather than assisting us with our check in. Seems a bit rude to be acting in such a manner, particularly at what seemed to be a busy time of day (we arrived somewhere between 8:30-9:30). Also, we stayed in a 6-bed room. Our two beds had no nightlights, and top bunk no electricity plug, which was quite a nuisance. Staff didn't acknowledge it as a problem.


97%

This is already my second stay here in this hostel. Loved it and will definitely return again. Fantastic staff who are ever helpful. Big kitchen to cook n Tesco is just down the road. Piccadilly and Oxford is only a 15 min walk away. Nice place. Check out their daily excursions. And their discounted tickets are cheaper.


80%

Staffs are very friendly


77%

good clean rooms, facilities and helpful staff. just some things to improve.. the double decker beds make alot of noise when you turn and move on the bed which wakes people up when theyre sleeping...and the hand wash basins in the toilets are just too miserably small.. but all in all, fantastic place. will stay there again if im in london.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

good hostel. however, charging for wifi is weird... they could have told me while checking in that a yha membership for a few pounds would have saved me 3 pounds on the price per night AND would have meant free wifi... it also would be helpful for travellers to have some electric adapters for euro plugs, instead of selling them for 4 pounds. anyway: location is excellent.


83%

Location is good staff friendly

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Top notch hostel, great vałue. While significant efforts have been made to make the atmosphere physically appealing, more could possibly be done on the social front. (Quiz nights, etc) Otherwise, really great job guys, cheers!


94%

Great hostel, would stay there again.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying at the YHA London Central was an unexpected pleasant experience. Perfect location, wonderful, helpfull staff and a Place well run. I am coming back for sure.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed here a few years ago with my sister and we were both really impressed with the place. The location is fantastic, super easy to get around. Rooms are a lot nicer and cleaner than many other hostels I've stayed in. Each bunk has it's own little light(cery handy) and powerpoint for chsrging phone/camera etc) A little bit more expensive than other hostels. Internet and food at the bar can be a little pricey. But overall, a really good hostel.

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • kazablanca
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a perfect hostel!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

-Lockers are big enough to fit a pack, but require a padlock to work. Luggage locks won't work. -The location is excellent as the name implies. You can walk to a lot of places in central London. -Staff are friendly and helpful enough. Don't expect anyone to go out of their way to help you or make recommendations. -The atmosphere was mixed. Too big and impersonal. Diverse age range. Not a particularly social environment while I was there.


89%

Except for the coffee (too old, too cold) it was an excellent stay in an excellent hostel. Nice and friendly staff !


(1969 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback