X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London Oxford Street Reviews

14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2233 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Absolutely amazing hostel. Everytime i went to London i slept here.... everything is amazing, it makes you feel like home!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thank you for the amazing review. We are looking forward to your next visit. See you soon.

77%

Good location. Close to Soho/Oxford St. shopping and sights. Showers were nice, had lots of hooks to hang clothes/towels on. Other guests were college aged travelers and families with children. Elevator was a bit tricky/rickety but no real complaints. Would recommend!


89%

Great location. love it had a great night and the breakfast was good, the rooms and bathroom really clean love it

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. Hope to see you back here soon.

71%

nice location, unfriendly staff


89%

My stay at YHA was great! Couldn't access the WI FI from my room, but worked perfectly fine in the lounge!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Yes, unfortunately our wifi does only work on the lower level.

83%

In centre of Soho so great location. Price for single rooms a bit high for hostel, and given shared bathroom facilities. A bit noisy within the hostel in the morning! Too early check out - 10am is far too early when you've been out late the night before. Who wants to be up and out by 10am on Sunday! CLeaners are noisy. Clattering around, singing, whistling. Not good early morning. Not really a student/backpackers atmosphere, so didn't meet other guys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Checkout time in all hostels is 10am, you are advised of this at booking confirmation and when you checkin. You can however also opt for a late check out which is 12:00 at an extra cost of £5. Sorry to hear that our cleaners were too jolly on a Sunday morning, we will have a word with them.

74%

Quando cheguei a recepcionista foi uma arrogante e facultou muito pouca informação...será uma das coisas a rever porque a primeira impressão e a que fica

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good first impression of our hostel and staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

89%

it would be great if wifi was also available in the rooms lockers to store luggage at the day of departure quite expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are looking into better options for both the lockers and the wifi.

89%

The location of YHA Oxford street is excellent. Only a couple of minutes walk to Oxford circus. Right next to YHA is Poland street where you can find some restaurants there. The place is a bit tiny, so during breakfast or dinner time, it may be a bit difficult to find a seat in the lounge. Staff is good in general. But to be honest, YHA is a business, and staff are employees. So they lack of a genuine warmth when it comes to newbies in town, but they are still helpful when you ask questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our staff warm, we do try our very best to make sure that every guest has a great time here.

89%

most of the staff friendly and willing to help; great location for tourists,between piccadilly circus and oxford circus; nice kitchen!(fully equipped and kept clean all the time,by staff AND by guests); rooms are not too big, but cleaned daily; comfortable beds; showers and bathrooms are clean, there's actual hot water coming out of the tap, and the water pressure isn't too bad; the only bad thing is that windows can't be opened more than 10cm wide!!! the air in my room was disgusting!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the wonderful review, sounds like you really enjoyed your stay here. With regards to the window, unfortunately we are not permitted to open the windows more than 10cm, for health and safety laws. Hope to see you back here again soon.

94%

Awesome location and generally a great hostel but definitely on the high-end price-wise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

89%

YHA Oxford Street was in the perfect location for exploring central London! The staff is friendly and very helpful, and the facilities are great! I had a clean room and the common area and kitchens were well-equipped and clean as well. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling in London.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sounds like you had a great time, hope to see you back here again very soon.

91%

Clean rooms. Big lockers. Central area. Have good recommendations for things to do. Wifi is poor in the rooms. Not much of a social atmosphere. Overall good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

83%

You really can't beat the central location of this hostel if you're into shopping, that's for sure. The street in front can be a bit noisy, but if you didn't expect that from a street behind Oxford, you didn't do your homework. Bring earplugs for sleep, maybe. Super clean with several showers all in their own little rooms for easy changing and drying off, nice toilet facilities and a big kitchen (considering the small hostel). Staff is super friendly, and the building itself is lovely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad you could come and stay with us! Thanks for leaving your review, hope to see you back here soon.

100%

Very great, had a great time and the staff were lovley, would definitely stay here again :)

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments about the team, they do believe in great friendly service. Hope to see you back here again soon!

89%

Everything was fine except I checked in at 2am, some bloke took my duvet. Just didn't bother to go out to sort it out, feeling slightly cold by using bath towel to cover me.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location, only a minute away from Oxford Street and most mayor sights are in walking distance. The hostel is very modern and clean, has comfortable beds with extra reading lights and plugs for each bed, nice showers, a great kitchen and a friendly common area. The staff are super nice and helpful. I absolutely recommend it!!


91%

We were pleasantly surprised with the location and the quality of the hostel. More expensive than some available but worth the extra few pound for the quality.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Amyleighbow8988
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel and a special mention to the night porter, absolute gentleman who told us great stories from South Africa and was so welcoming. Fantastic hostel, will definitely be back.


100%

Excellent location, friendly staff, great value for money. Absolutely recommended and special thanks to Leigh from South Africa for her kindness.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback