Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Oxford Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2,838 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2,838 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
YHA London Oxford Street Located at 14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ, London.
YHA London Oxford Street
England
London W1F 8GJ 14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ
91% 2838
51.5147823 -0.1367021
YHA London Oxford Street
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Perfect place for single night stay in London! The location allowed us to walk to all London attractions and allowed us to squeeze so much into just two days. It would have been nice not to pay for luggage storage but the staff were so helpful and answered all our queries! The room was so clean with extremely comfortable and a huge mirror (especially helpful for a room of girls!). Only slight issue was that the toilet on our floor was being done up so we had to use on other floors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - we're definitely one of the best located hostels in London (if not the best!). Unfortunately we have to charge for luggage storage as we rent our lockers from another company, but you can feel safe and secure knowing your belongings are totally safe and not just left in an unsecure luggage room. I apologise with regards to the toilets but they are now back in action and looking amazing with a fresh coat of paint and some important maintenance work done! Thanks again, and safe travels! Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.4

This isn't the perfect hostel for if you're aiming to meet people. When I stayed, it was mostly people travelling with friends, and the solo travelers I saw didn't seem interested in socialising. BUT - for everything else, it's a wonderful place, and the location couldn't have been better. If there was noise from being so close to the nightlife scene, it was hardly noticeable. Staff were great and it was a well-organised and maintained hostel. Wifi doesn't work upstairs in dorm rooms! :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are currently trialling different ways to help our guests interact with each other as we feel it is all part of the backpacking experience. I'm glad to hear that you found everything else wonderful though :-) Safe travels, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Staff were very helpful and kind, breakfast was nice and had multiple options to choose from, room was clean and had everything needed(mirrors, fan, self controlled heater, window and a sink. Definitely would recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the brilliant review, great to hear you found our team to be helpful during your stay! I hope you had a good time in London and we will look forward to seeing you again soon! Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

Everything was perfect. I really had a good experience in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the amazing review! Great to know you enjoyed your time here and hopefully we'll see you back again one day soon! Safe travels, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.9

Solid hostel within a great location. A couple of points I thought were rather disappointing though: - no wifi access in rooms - no free luggage storage (2-3 pounds per locker) - fire alarm set off on 12pm on New Year's Day (apparently they are required to do it every Sunday...) - staff/ cleaning personell opening our room twice without waiting for us to call them in We would probably not stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your feed back. It was unfortunate that New Years Day landed on the same day as our weekly fire test. I will however pass this feedback onto our manager. I would also like to apologise on behalf of the housekeeping team. I will make sure that this complaint is fed back to them and thank you for making us aware of it. I' sorry to hear that you would not stay with us again, however if you change your mind then we would love to be given a second chance to deliver a great all round experience for you. Happy travels, Greg

26th Dec 2016
9.1

The hostel was in a great location and the staff were excellent. Staff were friendly and informative. Only critique I didn't like and might have overseen when booking is that this is not solely a youth hostel; there were many older individuals, some with children and some alone. Would I stay at the hostel again? Probably not simply because I like to be with people around my age group (young adults) traveling. Overall, I was content with my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Great to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful, we try our best as we love to be able to help our guests get the best London experience possible. We do have a range of guests staying with us here as we are open to anyone, however a majority of our guests are young adults and there is usually a great social atmosphere in the communal areas of the hostel - obviously it does depend on when you stay though. Thanks again for your review, I hope you may change your mind and stay with the YHA again one day as we'd love a second chance to give you an amazing stay. Safe travels, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
9.1

We enjoyed the stay can't think of anywhere else better as far as location goes. Mattress could have been more comfortable and bathrooms could have been better clean but overall they were in a very good shape.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here. Our team do regular checks of all toilets and showers throughout the day to ensure they're kept clean, but unfortunately we cannot be everywhere at once, so if you do ever notice any issues you can always come and let us know and we can sort it straight away! We look forward to seeing you back again when you're next in London! Safe travels, and a very happy New Year! Toby

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.1

Had a lovely stay at YHA Oxford Street. It was the first time I'd stayed in a hostel and was pleased with how central the location was and the cleanliness of the facilities. The staff were all lovely and really helpful when I needed assistance or had any questions. It's definitely a quieter, less social hostel but I still really enjoyed it! Just wish there was wifi in the rooms. But overall had a lovely stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the brilliant review! I'm glad to hear that your first stay in a hostel was a good experience and that you had a nice time in London. Currently our wifi does only work in the communal areas and on the reception floor, as we believe this helps encourage a more social atmosphere by bringing guests together in the communal spaces.. I will make sure that your feedback is passed on however. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back again soon! Safe travels, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Perfect location! Friendly staff, good facilities in good repair and maintenance, the breakfast every morning was handy! Would thoroughly recommend and would stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the wonderful review! Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again one day soon. Safe travels, Toby

19th Dec 2016
9.1

Nice hostel for just spending the night reasonably close to London's main attractions, though not necessarily the most well laid out for socializing in the hostel. Also, my room had this weird green light in the light fixture that we couldn't turn off, so falling asleep was a tad difficult. Otherwise, great showers and excellent, helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review, I hope you enjoyed your time with us here in London! I'm sorry that you found us to be not the best with regards to socialising - if you have any specific suggestions or feedback please don't hesitate to contact us directly as we always love suggestions about how we can improve and provide a greater experience for all our guests! The green light that you mention within the light fixture is an unfortunate but essential part of the light - it is present on all of our emergency lights, which are those that automatically activate in the event of an emergency situation or power failure. They are there for everyone's safety, but I do hope it wasn't a significant inconvenience during your stay. Safe travels, and wishing you a very happy New Year! Toby

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.