X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London Oxford Street Reviews

14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2263 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very friendly, and our room was neat and comfortable. The wifi in the common areas is reliable, and the hostel's location is quite centrally located.


91%

Staff was very welcoming and friendly. The cleanest hostel we stayed at on our trip. There are limited options for breakfast and they ran out of mushrooms for 2 days straight which didn't make much sense.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel, friendly staff. The location is great.


86%

We wish staffs would at least smile back at us.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place to stay in London. The wifi isn't the greatest on the higher levels but it wasn't a big deal to go down to the lounge for a cuppa tea and surf the web. The discounts and activities are a great perk to staying here.


100%

I had a great stay at YHA London Oxford. The staff was helpful and accomodating, the room was kept very clean, and the price was reasonable. I particularly enjoyed the lounge activities offered, and the location was great...walking distance to many great sites, theatres, restaurants, bars, etc. I will definitely stay here again, when returning to London.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It was my 3rd time there... THEY NOW HAVE FREE WIFI!!!!!!! Almost perfection now! But still a pretty expensive hostel, but you pay for the great location, I guess... Recommended!


83%

Hostel staff were very friendly and willing to help. Hostel is clean and had a great kitchen and sitting area. If you are looking to party this isn't the hostel. Mostly families and older couples during my stay

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location! Clean and modern with friendly staff. It is London so I knew I'd have to pay a lot, but it would have been nice if they offered some free stuff, like tea or coffee.


97%

great location, would like stronger wifi to upper floors, but no big deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are looking into getting wifi on every floor.

100%

Clean, safe, perfect location! Very kind staff. Slow internet connection at the end of the day.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review, thank you. We are hoping to upgrade our internet soon.

100%

Absolutely amazing hostel. Everytime i went to London i slept here.... everything is amazing, it makes you feel like home!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thank you for the amazing review. We are looking forward to your next visit. See you soon.

77%

Good location. Close to Soho/Oxford St. shopping and sights. Showers were nice, had lots of hooks to hang clothes/towels on. Other guests were college aged travelers and families with children. Elevator was a bit tricky/rickety but no real complaints. Would recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us.

89%

Great location. love it had a great night and the breakfast was good, the rooms and bathroom really clean love it

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. Hope to see you back here soon.

71%

nice location, unfriendly staff


89%

My stay at YHA was great! Couldn't access the WI FI from my room, but worked perfectly fine in the lounge!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Yes, unfortunately our wifi does only work on the lower level.

83%

In centre of Soho so great location. Price for single rooms a bit high for hostel, and given shared bathroom facilities. A bit noisy within the hostel in the morning! Too early check out - 10am is far too early when you've been out late the night before. Who wants to be up and out by 10am on Sunday! CLeaners are noisy. Clattering around, singing, whistling. Not good early morning. Not really a student/backpackers atmosphere, so didn't meet other guys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Checkout time in all hostels is 10am, you are advised of this at booking confirmation and when you checkin. You can however also opt for a late check out which is 12:00 at an extra cost of £5. Sorry to hear that our cleaners were too jolly on a Sunday morning, we will have a word with them.

74%

Quando cheguei a recepcionista foi uma arrogante e facultou muito pouca informação...será uma das coisas a rever porque a primeira impressão e a que fica

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good first impression of our hostel and staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

89%

it would be great if wifi was also available in the rooms lockers to store luggage at the day of departure quite expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are looking into better options for both the lockers and the wifi.

89%

The location of YHA Oxford street is excellent. Only a couple of minutes walk to Oxford circus. Right next to YHA is Poland street where you can find some restaurants there. The place is a bit tiny, so during breakfast or dinner time, it may be a bit difficult to find a seat in the lounge. Staff is good in general. But to be honest, YHA is a business, and staff are employees. So they lack of a genuine warmth when it comes to newbies in town, but they are still helpful when you ask questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our staff warm, we do try our very best to make sure that every guest has a great time here.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback