Hostelworld.com

YHA London Oxford Street

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
8.9

Overall, I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay! The location is incredible, what you get at the hostel is what you need, very friendly staff, internet worked well - even in the room. My only issue was how stuffy the room got at night when all four of us were there. Sometimes it was hard to get comfortable at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel! We were only here for one night, but the staff were absolutely amazing, and let us use the facilities even after we'd checked out. The location is fantastic, and would definitely recommend. Only negative was that the wifi did not reach our room, which was slightly annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! It's great to hear that although you were only with us for one night we impressed you enough that you would recommend us. We are sorry about the wifi not reaching the rooms. We are looking at potentially changing this in the future Thanks again, Greg

  • vitalisa4150
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Really lovely stay. Everything was spotless, and the staff were awesome. Location couldn't be beat either!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for the great review! We're really happy to here that you had a great stay with us. Come back and visit us again sometime. Greg

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Perfect location in SoHo London. Walking distance to Oxford Circus Underground entrance as well as Piccadilly Circus. The hostel is very clean and tidy, the kitchen is super convenient and the staff is very nice and informative. They also have free walking tours available which made our trip so much more informative and enjoyable. Thank you YHA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback on our hostel and our tours, Come back soon !

26th Jan 2017
8.6

Pros: Very centrally located, vibrant staff that was really helpful with recommendations, super clean facilities, they let me borrow a hair dryer! Cons: extremely hard to meet other people than the ones in your dorm, not really any social atmosphere, no wifi in the rooms, the rooms were small and cramped I would stay here again because it was so clean and centrally located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for the review and it's great to hear about all the things that we are getting right. I'm sorry to hear that you found the atmosphere lacking. We offer quite a few activities that backpackers can go on as way of meeting other travellers and you can always ask at reception for more information about these. The pub crawl, West end Wednesday, the free walking tour and afternoon tea at Kensington Palace are all great places to start if you're looking to meet people. thanks again for the review, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
6.3

Hostel was decent apart from the fact I had this snoring rhinoceros in the same room as me. However, for a modern day hostel in London you should have wifi throughout the WHOLE hostel not just one floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your room mate kept you up. We sell earplugs at reception. I have also been in this situation before hand found that that helped to take the edge off it :-) With regards to the wifi I totally agree and will be passing this information onto the relevant people at our head office. Thanks again and happy travels Greg

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.1

Excellent location to all the action in London. Staff very knowledgable and helpful. Tours & activities offered through the hostel were great. Definitely take the free guided walking tour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks for the review! I'm glad to hear that you made good use of our knowledgeable staff and that you enjoyed the walking tour. It's a great way to get your bearings in this massive city. Safe travels, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Very friendly and helpful staff, nice chat about The Cursed Child, and helpful with a belly bar emergency . Very cleans and tidy, really nice rooms and communal areas. Only downsides were the toilets on our floor were being redecorated for part of our stay so we had to use those above and below, And the dining room seating layout means you get boxed in if it is full, this needs tweaking. But a really good location for Soho, the theatres, shops, museums and landmarks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for the review and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I hope that the toilets on the forth floor did not cause too much of an issue for you. I'm pleased to say that they now all look lovely and white with a fresh coat of paint :-) Come back and visit us again sometime. Greg

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Perfect place for single night stay in London! The location allowed us to walk to all London attractions and allowed us to squeeze so much into just two days. It would have been nice not to pay for luggage storage but the staff were so helpful and answered all our queries! The room was so clean with extremely comfortable and a huge mirror (especially helpful for a room of girls!). Only slight issue was that the toilet on our floor was being done up so we had to use on other floors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - we're definitely one of the best located hostels in London (if not the best!). Unfortunately we have to charge for luggage storage as we rent our lockers from another company, but you can feel safe and secure knowing your belongings are totally safe and not just left in an unsecure luggage room. I apologise with regards to the toilets but they are now back in action and looking amazing with a fresh coat of paint and some important maintenance work done! Thanks again, and safe travels! Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.4

This isn't the perfect hostel for if you're aiming to meet people. When I stayed, it was mostly people travelling with friends, and the solo travelers I saw didn't seem interested in socialising. BUT - for everything else, it's a wonderful place, and the location couldn't have been better. If there was noise from being so close to the nightlife scene, it was hardly noticeable. Staff were great and it was a well-organised and maintained hostel. Wifi doesn't work upstairs in dorm rooms! :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are currently trialling different ways to help our guests interact with each other as we feel it is all part of the backpacking experience. I'm glad to hear that you found everything else wonderful though :-) Safe travels, Greg

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.