Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Oxford Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.0

Best part is the location, lots within walking distance. The hostel is clean and has everything you need, biggest downside is it doesn't really have any atmosphere so probably not a great place if traveling on your own or are wanting to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad that our location was beneficial to you and your trip and that you enjoyed how clean we try to keep it. So sorry to hear that you felt it lacked atmosphere. We are quite a quiet hostel in a very central location. We try to organise things on a weekly basis to try and get everyone socialising. I hope that this didn't negatively impact your stay too much! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Alev

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
4.9

I really think a bar of soap in the room and a towel would be not unreasonable. Also a 'locker' implies it locks, not that you have to buy a padlock to lock your items securely. It wasn't very clean on the floors, the rooms are too small and stiflingly hot with an ineffective fan. I guess I am just too old for this type of experience. Just wanted to find a cheaper option of staying in London but with some comfort.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review. We supply soap in all our toilets and we supply shower gel in our showers free of charge. I'm sorry if you felt that this was not enough and that we could have done more. I an effort to keep costs down for our guests we do not include extras like towels but for a nominal fee of £2 one can be rented at our reception. Again I would like to thank you for your feedback and I apologise if we did not meet your expectations. kind regards, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.4

4 Bed Male dorm, a sink inside the room available. Outside the buildig is working an air conditioning, kind of loud with open window but with earplugs ok. two-leveled bed are sometimes squeaking but tolerable. Overall all right and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will look into the noise outside the room and see if we can get it reduced. Thanks again, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Excellent friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for such a great review. I will pass your kind comments on to our staff. Thanks again, Greg

23rd Jul 2017
9.1

Your basic, reliable YHA hostel in the heart of London. It's likely not a place where you're going to make a ton of friends, but it's clean, safe, and reliable (with a kitchen!) if you're passing through the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for scoring our location, facilities and cleanliness so highly. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Alev

20th Jul 2017
10.0

One of the most comfortable hostels I have yet to stay in. I recommend to any traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thank you for such a great review! Come back anytime. We'd love to host you again :-) Cheers, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.1

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your review. I hope you had a great time in London and staying with us. Greg

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Everything was very clean and pleasant. Lift to the hostel/reception is small (it's on floor 3) but works well. Rooms are small, and the windows do not open very much, so it quite hot in the summer. I wish the rooms had had slightly better ventilation. Additionally, there is only 1 washer and dryer (and the dryer does not function very well, alas). However, the location is excellent, the beds comfortable with lights and outlets, the rates were reasonable enough for London. Overall 9/10!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for the feedback in your review. All of the issues you pointed out are valid and we are looking at ways to reduce their impact on our guests. We have had our contractor for the dryer come out and I'm pleased to tell you that it is now working correctly! I hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again! Thanks, Greg

13th Jul 2017
10.0

First time ever staying in a hostel at age 56 with my daughter 18 and had a great experience! The staff was very courteous and helpful as to suggestions on places to go, how to get there, and discounts. Although we ate out every day and night the common area was pretty cool. The showers, bathrooms, and Diva room were nice and clean. Like that they had a outlet by each bed so you could recharge your phone. Only drawback is our room was really hot and not good airflow. Overall a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for all your feedback and thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. I hope that we were able to help make your trip to London memorable in some small way. Safe travels, Greg

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.9

The bad - did not get much help from staff in travel arrangements. They rushed me into checking in. Website said there were lockers but I had to buy a lock?! room was very hot, corridor was very cold. The good - Toilets and shower were clean. Location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt rushed during the check in process. I will speak to the receptionist and hopefully this will not happen to other guests. We do have lockers available for each guest in the rooms and they are welcome to use their own padlock. If however they do not have a padlock they are welcome to buy one from us for £3. I'm pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hostel and the cleanliness of your toilet and shower facilities. I hope that you would consider staying with YHA again in the future. Thanks again, Greg

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.