Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Oxford Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2,670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2,670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA London Oxford Street Located at 14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ, London.
YHA London Oxford Street
England
London W1F 8GJ 14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ
92% 2670
51.5148052 -0.1368141
YHA London Oxford Street
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.3

The location of the hostel was fantastic. The security was good with each person allocated a locker large enough to fit a big bag. I was surprised the private rooms were no supplied with towels as is standard across most hostels. The kitchens was well equipt. The atmosphere was locking due to the layout of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Very clean and convenient hostel located in the heart of London. I found this spot to be great to go all over London, and very central. We got a private room, and I found the bathroom facilities to be fairly clean. The showers were some of the best I've used in a hostel. The staff were ok. Throughout the week, I noticed most of the staff were fairly blasé. No rudeness, and they were all polite, but not energetic. This is not a party hostel. Overall, I'd definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Sep 2016
6.6

Basically it's like staying in a cheap dorm. Private room was only barely larger than the bed, and inexplicably, the top bunk had no sheets, blankets or a pillow (??). Sink in the bedroom is nice, shared bathrooms across the hallway were clean. It did the trick, but didn't have any of the charm or warmth of other hostels I've stayed at.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us, I'm sorry you felt your stay wasn't quite up to scratch. It sounds like you were staying in one of our double rooms - the top bunk would have had no bedding as they're there in case guests request a twin (2 bunks) rather than a double bed. While some of the rooms aren't huge, we do also have plenty of communal space including the lounge where there's chairs and sofas and space to relax and meet other guests. Thanks again for taking the time to review us, and I hope that you might choose to stay with us again in future and give us a second chance to impress you! Regards, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
10.0

Great location, clean and safe. BUT NO cell phone taking in the rooms should be rule. A person took a call at 6 am and for 15 minutes talked and didn't care and woke everyone up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for great scores. We're pleased that you had a great time with us. come back and see us sometime. Thanks again, YHA London Oxford Street

  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.7

My stay was excellent. Just the atmosphere was a little cold, but still ok (I think I was the only one to say "good morning" at breakfast time). Thank you very much for everything. Best wishes. Iveta

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully you'll come back and stay again! Sometimes the mornings can be a bit quiet until everyone's had their morning coffee and woken up a bit, but I wouldn't describe it as cold.. Sorry you felt that it was on this occasion. Thanks again, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

Very friendly staff and very comfortable beds. We stayed in a 4-bed dorm and it was very spacious with plenty of space to store and lock your stuff away if you need to. Breakfast was also great. Only negative for me is that it seemed rather expensive, particularly having to pay for breakfast on top. Amazing location though. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! While our prices are a little higher than other hostels in London, we are in a truly unbeatable location in the heart of the city, and we like to think that the price reflects the quality of the hostel. We try to offer all the necessary services for travelers visiting London - we have a well equipped kitchen, lounge area, laundry facilities, and much more.. You can also visit in the quieter times of the year and you'll find our prices are a bit lower. Thanks for taking the time to review us, and we hope to see you back again soon! Toby

  • westender84
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

This was my second time staying at this location and I picked it because it is in a great location (10 minute walk to the Harry Potter play). It's clean, staff is helpful and friendly. The only thing that bothers me is that you need to pay for everything here. Locks cost money, towels cost money, even if you need to store your luggage it's 3 GBP. After staying in quite a few hostels where lockers are free or even being able to store your bags for free when checked out, this is quite a nuisance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and you chose to stay with us again! Unfortunately, while we'd love to make everything free, we do have our own costs - we buy in the padlocks, we pay to launder towels, we hire the luggage storage lockers, etc. - and so we do have to charge for these services. However we try to make the prices as reasonable as possible - £3 for a padlock and £2 (with a refundable deposit) for a towel seem pretty fair overall, and even the £3 for luggage storage is pretty low for what you get: your own totally secure locker in a central location, not just a room to dump your bag in with other people's. We do all understand the need to watch your money when you're travelling on a budget though, so I will pass on your feedback! Thanks again for your review, and we hope that you'll decide to come back and stay again a third time! Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
10.0

This place is amazing! Very well located for a good price. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Very clean and secure. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the wonderful review, really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon! Regards, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
9.7

Best Hoste! The location is so amazing! Especially if you want to do some shopping but also really close to oxford circus tube station. You can get anywhere really easily from there. Only 10 minute walk to piccadilly circus and 15 to leicester square. Shower and toilets always clean and worked perfectly. Only thing the rooms were hot but they provided fans. Huge compliment to the staff! Especially Cameron who helped me and my friend out when we were in trouble and was always in a good mood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We like to think we're the best hostel too! Glad you could make the most of our great location to go out and explore the city. Thanks for the great review, and we hope to see you back again some time soon! Toby

28th Aug 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed the stay. The living room was cute and the shower and bathroom clean. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, but it was very hot in the room, because of the window which didn't open that much. Still, we could let the door a little bit open and it was better. The lockers were spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the brilliant review, really glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we are restricted with how much we can open the windows, but we're slowly replacing all the fans with new, better ones to help combat the hot weather we've had this year! Thanks again, Toby

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.