X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London Oxford Street Reviews

14 Noel Street, Soho, W1F 8GJ, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1951 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

They have carpet in all rooms. It´s not clean for me . wiifi is not free. Bedroom is smal and tight. But good localization. Staff in the morning was very helpful.


91%

Unfortunately, the hot water boiler broke after our first night so for 2 days there was no hot water to shower with. We walked to the YHA Central Hostel and showered there instead. It was a setback, but not a major one... just inconvenient. YHA Central has a large dining area and cafeteria but YHA Oxford is a slightly better location but is quite small!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nous avons particulièrement apprécié l'accueil de la dame de la réception.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel right in the thick of things in London. I've stayed here twice now and I'm sure I'll be back again. Thanks for another great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. Hope to see you soon!

80%

Nice hostel, fairly small and with a hotel-like environment. Not much noise or party going on, which is good if you just want to rest. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the staff is helpful. Internet works all over the place. I also found it to be in an excellent location in London, walkable distance to pretty much everything I wanted to do at the city, with good places around to go at night too.


100%

I love this hostel! Amazing location and very friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!

83%

Bonne auberge bien située, propre, calme accueil très bien.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel has an amazingly quiet atmosphere considering its location. The staff was very friendly, everything was very clean and neat. Great job.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. Hope to see you back at our hostel again.

49%

We stayed here for 3 nights. We often stay in hostels, and have always been happy about that. But we would not recommend this place to anyone. We got a very small room on the top floor. The room was very very hot and damp. There is no airco and the windows can't be opened. We both had to sleep in the top bunk beds, the two other ladies 'reserved' the lower beds. This was very annoying! We always had to disturb them and the other way around. We slept really bad! Don't stay here!!!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a review for us.

71%

I stayed for four nights and it was a hotbox. The window was broken and unable to close so the air con was doing nothing. It got so bad that i resorted to sleeping in the living room and hardly slept the whole time due to heat condition of the room.


83%

Air con didn't work well in the room. We all could not sleep.


100%

This is the best hostel i ever been. I always come back because is PERFECT.


94%

The facilities are in amazing shape! Clean and friendly atmosphere!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Extremely hot in our room, which wasn't nice to sleep. And just a lot of money for what it was. No breakfast or free wifi included, ....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are looking into different options for cooling the rooms down.

94%

I think the wifi charges are ridiculous and even if you pay for wifi it's only available on the 3rd floor. It's a huge inconvenience for travellers. Even though the location is awesome, I would rather stay farther away for the convenience of a dependable wifi signal.


80%

Todo estupendo. La ubicación, los baños, la cocina con frigorífico y todo para dejar cada uno su desayuno, las camas cómodas, etc. Mi única pega es que hacía mucho calor en la habitación y era imposible abrir la ventana por falta de espacio.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy to hear that you had a good time. Unfortunately we are not allowed to open the windows any wider than we do, this is a law for all hostels and hotels. We are however looking into different options to cool the room down. Thanks again.

89%

Super emplacement, juste derrière les rues animées, et à 5min à pied de Soho et tous ses cafés - restaurants! Cuisine très pratique, et salle à manger sympathique. Les douches et wc sont propres. Seul point négatif : beaucoup de familles quand j'y suis allée, avec beaucoup d'enfants bruyants.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and great to hear that you had a great time while you were here, we are very lucky to have such an amazing location.

97%

Excellent location, great kitchen and dorm beds have reading lights. There is a bit of noise from the streets at night but not so much that it's too hard to sleep. Great cafés nearby and easy walk to train station and main attractions. I had a great time, but it would be great if wi fi could be free for everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic to hear that you had a great time. We hope to see you back here again. You do get free WI-FI if you are a member of YHA of HI as well as discount of up to £3 a day.

89%

Wifi doesn't reach the top floor which was unfortunate because we had to sit in the reception lounge to browse the net instead of in our room.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

63%

En ningun momento al contratar la estadía nos informaron que el Wi-Fi habia que abonarlo. Asimismo, tenes que pagar 3 libras para dejar las valijas. Considerando que es un hostel y que el check out es a las 10 AM creo un disparate que te cobra por dejarlas. No volveria a este hostel. Hay otros muchos mejores.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback