X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA London St Pancras Reviews

79-81 Euston Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1474 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

No hot water for almost 2 days. ShWindow had no lock to pull tight hence a lot of traffic noise. Hot water issue same as 3 years ago so no improvement there.


97%

My sister and I had a great short stay! Our rooms were really clean and the location of the YHA really is on the station's doorstep. The elevators and rooms are secures by key card and your belongings can be put in a locker with a padlock. The ONLY thing I can complain about our 6 shared room was that our side of the building outdoors was under construction so it was pretty noisy in the mornings, but we are early birds anyway. It's great for the price!

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Super location, opposite Kings Cross, St Pancreas station.


97%

We had a very comfortable stay until I managed to break my toe on the bed frame! Still, the room was clean and the staff were lovely.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

wifi should be free


80%

The only downside was the noise of traffic, as we were at the front of the hostel.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

no hot water for shower!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Apologies!! We do try to fix stuff like this as quickly as possible. Hopefully you enjoyed other aspects of your stay:)

86%

Great location close to King's Cross/St. Pancras! Pretty much what you would expect from a YHA hostel. Staff was helpful and our stay went very well. The bathroom was the only tricky part (broken toilet seat and showers make the whole bathroom wet). Other than that, everything was great!

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Jamie and our maintenance team are onto the bathroom problems!

71%

The water in the shower was luke warm; it was quite noisy in the room from the water pipes or something similar; you need to at extra for the luggage storage; otherwise, an OK place with great staff


89%

a lot of the services are paid (the left-luggage lockers, the wifi, UK socket adapters)

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay at YHA was my best hostel experience to date. The facilities are clean and conveniently located, the staff were helpful and very friendly, and the resources at YHA were great! I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay! That is SO what we like to hear:) Thanks a million Heather and we'd love to see you again soon.

49%

Wifi it's not included, you have to pay 5 pounds per day! It must be free!

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Point taken Andressa, and YHA senior management have been made very aware of this issue. WIFI access is now free for YHA and Hostelling International Memberships, which cost as little as £4.97 a year. (They entitle you to loads of accommodation discounts too). Thanks for feedback though and hope to see you in St Pancras again.

71%

The Euston Rd. is quiete loud and in the courtyard there was a lot at that time. But altogether I would recommend that hostel.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Stefan - you're welcome back anytime!

80%

Great but noisy location (Euston Rd, 5 mins from Kings Cross tube), with friendly staff and reasonable common area. Only negatives are unreliable hot water, and you have to pay for luggage storage. But the lift works!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback Zoe. Luuggage storage in London is usually very expensive, so our £2 and £3 charges are very competitive when compared with other providers in Kings Cross. Sorry to hear the hot water was unreliable - it has been a recurring issue due to construction works next door, and we are working to get on top of it. Hope to meet you again here soon:)

86%

Couldn't get a better location--the upper floors have less street noise, but with an air conditioning unit in the room we had no problems.


83%

Going on my experience, the best aspects of this hostel are its location (which is crucial if your luggage is heavy and cumbersome!), the fact there is an elevator, the ease of checking in and going about your business when there and the 24 hour access. The aspects that weren't as good were only few: the shower in the bathroom (at least in my room) made for a messy experience due to its small size, lack of shower curtain and fire-hose-pressure jet. It was also stuffy in some parts (in summer).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lauren - thanks for your very informative feedback. The temperature issues were due to our air-con breaking down in the middle of a London heatwave, and we've since fixed the issue. Glad to hear our staff were efficient and that our location was convenient. Hopefully you can come and stay again in the future:)

80%

Basic hostel, good value for money with location near st. Pancras. Everything was pretty good here with my stay. Only down sides were that half the lockers were broken in the rooms. Other than that, good bed to stay in, decent bathroom, breakfast (you have to pay) was good. Nothing really went above and beyond, but you probably won't be disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Kristen. The problems with the lockers have been addressed by our maintenance department, and sorry they weren't up to scratch during your stay. We are aiming to go 'above and beyond'... watch this space!

63%

We thought that the hostel was very poor value for money in comparison with hotels that we have visited, even allowing for higher London prices. The extra charges for things like towels and padlocks were exorbitant and the cost of meals were very high when compared with somewhere like Wetherspoons.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

great location, great facillities. fantastic! If I go to london, I'll stay this Hostel absolutely!


77%

the showers are pathetic, weak stream of water !

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(945 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback