X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London St Pancras Reviews

79-81 Euston Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1588 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It's great as a facility and position and staff. A bit more space in the common room would be good.. I miss the wonderful breakfasts upstairs.. ut the food was good.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location next to st pancras station. Very clean and new facilities. Friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be back next time you come to London.

71%

the shower was bad, there is no curtain in the shower room, so the water spurted out on the floor. the noise proof is bad, woke up early by the traffic noise. heater was not warm enough. apart from those, other bits are all right.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking time to leave your review. We're sorry that the shower wasn't up to standard in your case. Each floor in the hostel has a few shower rooms to choose from just in case yours isn't working properly. We try to check our facilities thoroughly and if reported, we'll get maintainance to take a look at any problems ASAP. We can put a heater in your room if it's not hot enough, too. Despite the problems we hope you enjoyed your stay overall and that you'd consider staying again.

69%

The bath facilities are quiet poor. Smell in shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry that the showers weren't quite up to standard for you. We try to keep them as clean as possible, despite the large numbers of people who use them each day! We have a few shower rooms on each floor if the one nearest to you is not to your liking. We hope you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and that you'd consider staying with us again.

100%

7am breakfast start would be good for us early birds...

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving your review- we're glad you enjoyed your time with us! I thought we'd let you know that we can arrange a packed breakfast to be prepared early for those of you who like to be up at the crack of dawn. Just ask at reception and we'll make sure it's there for you to collect when you come downstairs in the morning. We hope you'll stay with us again some time in the future.

94%

Very good hostel. Staff very nice! There was a nice area to work Only thing - there was no hot water when we were there...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you'll be back soon! Sorry about the hot water - we try to get glitches like these fixed as quickly as we can. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

69%

the hostel is full of people who have no where else to live.


91%

I thought the staff were helpful and caring about their guests and the accommodation was in an excellent location in London offering great value. The extra bonus of being opposite St pancreas tube, main line stations, and 5 minutes walk to Euston Tube and bus stations just made the overall experience of staying here so much more appealing. Add to this a comfortable bed and perfect temperature for showering and I will be staying here again. plenty of places to eat locally as well as bars etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving a review, we appreciate the time you took to leave your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

71%

Excellent location if you are taking the Eurostar and close to the tube for central London. The place was clean and nice, however, they charge for breakfast, they have 3 different box breakfast at 3.50, 4.50 and 5.50. they charge for wifi 5 a day, if you are a HI member you don't pay for it. They charge to keep the luggage, 2. 50 for a small locker or 3.50 for a large one. I felt that all they wanted was my money. there is no kitchen and at least the night I was there there were no ambiance.


80%

Great hostel. Rooms on the street side are a bit noisy though.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving your review. We're located right in the heart of London, so there can be a lot of traffic around. You can ask our reception staff to close the window tightly for you, and we have earplugs available for just £0.50 at reception for particularly light sleepers. We appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope that we will see you again.

71%

Very good location let down by very poor staff. Staff members were either utterly indifferent and more concerned with socialising, or actively hostile (one person in a management role was being incredibly rude to a non-native speakerat breakfast.


77%

Pretty nice hostel, nice and clean, with no major issues. Wouldn't recommend for solo travellers however, close location to major train lines meant the place was largely full of middle aged travellers or people on business. Not really a great place to meet people, but a nice hostel nonetheless!


80%

Location isn't necessarily central, but it is right across from the British Library and Kings Cross St. Pancras, as well as to the British Museum. It's extremely convenient for travelling by tube or taking long distance trains! Staff was helpful and the room was reasonably clean. Washing machines and dryers were available, and the reading light above the bed was useful, as were the lockers in the rooms.


94%

It was a great stay. Even though I arrived at 1am., the staff was nice and willing to help. My room was in good condition, new beds and bedclothes, very quite. The hostel has proper location, close to the center and rail stations.


71%

Staff are nice-ish. You are mad to feel like you're annoying them when you want to ask a question or order food. Cleanliness is ok, however some of the bathroom facilities were damaged and not replace during the week. They do not offer self catering facilities despite having a small kitchen in the living room. It would be great if guests could at least use the microwave there and maybe store some food in the fridge...


66%

You have to pay for wifi and to store your luggage. Seriously?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving your review, we appreciate your feedback. We do provide a free locker for each person in every room which is quite large. We have additional lockers downstairs which we do charge for if you need them. WiFi does cost money to use - unless you're a member. An individual membership costs £15/year (£7.50 for under 26s) and gives you free WiFi at over 50 YHAs and £3 off per night of your stay: it pays for itself quite quickly!

91%

Great location close by to St. Pancras station and easy walking distancd to many of London attractions. Staff are friendly, but not consistently so. Some look like have weight of the world on their shoulders. Facilities good. Not enough electrical outlets in the room. Having said, I would certainly come back!


91%

I was about to travel by Eurostar so this hostel was initially chosen for its proximity to St Pancras- which couldn't be bettered! It has no self-catering facilities but has a 24 hr bar so I was even able to get a coffee at 4.15am when I picked up my packed breakfast! During the evening it was serving freshly cooked food. The atmosphere was very good and the area round the bar serves as a common room. All ages there, and everyone friendly.

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you had a good time and hope you will stay with us again!

97%

The best hostel ever !!!! Lived it and I'll come back for sure !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and appreciate that you took the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again soon!

77%

The hostel is very good. However, the bathroom was the main drawback.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • ericoleao
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(1005 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback