X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA London St Pauls Reviews

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1443 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only draw back to our stay was the evening meal which we felt was not worth the price. (The breakfast, yes.)


80%

Shower rooms could use some maintenance. Nice stay overall though.


71%

I stayed in the dorm for 6, and there was only 1 powerpoint in the room. One of the occupants was constanly charging his various devices and that left the rest of the 5 of us with only power points in the communal areas.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Staff acted uninterested in guests. The grill or kitchen closed earlier than stated time and the staff refused to serve food saying they were closed 30 minutes prior to scheduled time of closure. Lastly, the toilets do not flush consistently leaving other peoples waste behind frequently.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I marked this location down because of the wifi and the staff. I bought an hour of wifi and was given an access card. When I used the card, (immediately after purchasing it from the front desk) it only had 20 minutes of wifi. I went back and told them there was an issue, they acted like I was lying about not getting all my minutes. I'm a 40 year old traveler. I don't need to steal 40 minutes of wifi. Finally, after going back and forth, they gave me another with only 20 minutes on it.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Location and hostel building are excellent, some of the staff are brusque in their manner but overall a good hostel.


74%

Great location! Cleanness OK, but should improve the sinks and showers. To include the breakfast on the price would be a grate idea! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! The location is really great! The hostel is quite an old building, so it happens sometimes that some facilities are not working properly. But we always try to fix them as soon as we notice. YHA London St Paul's

63%

Comfortable beds and blanket but too much noise from the hallway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we are thankful for every comment. If it should get too noisy, you can tell this the reception and we will look after it. YHA London St Paul's

80%

perfect location, which adds greatly tot the value for money!


100%

It was a great pleasure to have been in Yha St Paul. The people are fantastic, fellow respectful room and the location is perfect! I will return for sure! 5 stars!

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy to know you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon! YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

86%

Great place to stay. There was a large group of us so it was very economical for one night. Only drawback was that the room was boiling due to a large radiator which was on all night but that that wouldn't stop me staying again

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hostel. In the future, please do not hesitate to come to reception at any time if you need us to help sort anything out, like in this case the radiators temperature, and we'll do our best to help you have a more comfortable stay. We are glad to know you had a nice stay apart from that and we hope to see you again. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

74%

breakfast is separate and expensive, although good choice. there are no lifts. The building is old and some repairs are needed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We leave breakfast as a separate option for those guests who wish to purchase it, which allows us to keep our bed prices to a minimum. It is good to point out that being located in a historical listed building, we are not allowed to have a lift, but repairs take place as needed. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

80%

During the first several days of our stay, the shower drains were constantly backed up. Additionally, other showers were impossible to use without getting the door/clothes/towel wet. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We try our best to keep our facilities in top condition and we take the necessary measures as soon as a problem comes to our attention, that's why customers' feedback is so important to us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay apart from that and we hope to see you again. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager



View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback