X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London St Pauls Reviews

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1529 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Location and hostel building are excellent, some of the staff are brusque in their manner but overall a good hostel.


74%

Great location! Cleanness OK, but should improve the sinks and showers. To include the breakfast on the price would be a grate idea! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! The location is really great! The hostel is quite an old building, so it happens sometimes that some facilities are not working properly. But we always try to fix them as soon as we notice. YHA London St Paul's

63%

Comfortable beds and blanket but too much noise from the hallway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we are thankful for every comment. If it should get too noisy, you can tell this the reception and we will look after it. YHA London St Paul's

80%

perfect location, which adds greatly tot the value for money!


100%

It was a great pleasure to have been in Yha St Paul. The people are fantastic, fellow respectful room and the location is perfect! I will return for sure! 5 stars!

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy to know you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon! YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

86%

Great place to stay. There was a large group of us so it was very economical for one night. Only drawback was that the room was boiling due to a large radiator which was on all night but that that wouldn't stop me staying again

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hostel. In the future, please do not hesitate to come to reception at any time if you need us to help sort anything out, like in this case the radiators temperature, and we'll do our best to help you have a more comfortable stay. We are glad to know you had a nice stay apart from that and we hope to see you again. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

74%

breakfast is separate and expensive, although good choice. there are no lifts. The building is old and some repairs are needed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We leave breakfast as a separate option for those guests who wish to purchase it, which allows us to keep our bed prices to a minimum. It is good to point out that being located in a historical listed building, we are not allowed to have a lift, but repairs take place as needed. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

80%

During the first several days of our stay, the shower drains were constantly backed up. Additionally, other showers were impossible to use without getting the door/clothes/towel wet. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We try our best to keep our facilities in top condition and we take the necessary measures as soon as a problem comes to our attention, that's why customers' feedback is so important to us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay apart from that and we hope to see you again. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

86%

No free wifi is a massive disappointment on this place. But anyway, I really like it.


91%

There is no free internet access, but it is so central and so clean! The rooms are fine. It's excellent as for a London hostel. I'll be definitely coming back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and we hope to see you again. Remember for next time that HI members always pay less for their overnights and they get free wifi access! YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

We were 2 nights at the YHA Hostel and is was ok. When you are not a member, then you have to pay for Wifi. Breakfast and Dinner at the Hostel is good and cheap! The cleanness at WC and Showers was not the best, but ok. And it is really central and you can get bus- and metro tickets in the Hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and we hope to see you again in the future. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

100%

Excellent hostel ! As soon as you get in, you can feel it's a friendly hostel ! The staff is very nice and you can check out after 1 pm! The shower is fantastic, really hot and it's high pressure ! I would definitely recommend that hostel to everybody !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased to know you had such a nice experience at our hostel and we hope to see you again soon. YHA London St. Paul's Duty Manager

100%

A lovely hostel in a fantastic location

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoy staying at St Pauls hostel ever again :-) It´s just that the doors close a little loud..

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I used hostel at first. I stayed comfortly in here and satisfied about it. It is in good area. it is nearby St.Paul Cathedral so we can hear ringing every 15min. ^^ The breakfast is good too.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

free Internet access would have been nice.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Stayed in a private 2 bed room and the room was fine. Good sized bed, comfortable, warm and with an en suite. The staff at reception were fine but found the people working behind the breakfast area really rude and intimidating. At least 2 people were almost shouted at within seconds of sitting down with a coffee about whether they'd paid or not - not a great experience.


63%

a bit noisy because of the ringbell of the st paul, the bed is not comfortable and there's no stears for the upper beds

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Like in Soviet Union gostinica (hotel))


83%

Very nice, quiet room. No noisy latecomers or snorers.


(1053 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback