X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA London St Pauls Reviews

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1427 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We ordered/paid for a 6 bed, but we got an 8 bed in the furthest corner of the hostel (up 3 flights of stairs). Luckily for us, our fellow roommates were nice and quiet. Some of the receptionists were confused.


97%

My son and I had a great stay. Nice people at the front office, good food, nice room en super clean shower with a lot of water pressure and hot water!!! Loved having been here again and will cetainly come back.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all the positive feedback, we are happy to know you liked our facilities and service and we hope to see you again soon! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

63%

The hostel was comfortable to stay in but definitely had its negatives. There was not a lot of atmosphere as a lot of the other people were school groups or middle aged. The internet was expendive and I had to walk to another floor each morning as there were not very many. Excellent location though and close to a tube station


100%

Great hostel with a fantastic location, right next to loads of shops and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, it is very valuable to us. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

74%

Very good hostel and I would stay here again. It's great if you want a hostel which isn't grotty and at the low end of low end! My main criticism would be that, given to all extents and purposes, you are just paying for the bed (no wifi or breakfast included) it is quite expensive. And the beds are very creaky. But I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive comments, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The best way to get the lowest price is to book in advance, since we are in our peak season now. We hope to see you again very soon. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

I stayed in Room 2 on Sunday night, 21st April - it was far too hot and difficult to sleep in, please turn off the heating!

  • 21st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Unfortunately, Spring is that time of the year when half our guests feel cold and the rest feel it's too hot, so it's hard to please everyone, although we do try our best, so next time do not hesitate to report the problem at reception straight away. The heating is now off, hopefully until next Autumn! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

74%

The 24h reception was really useful as we had to check-in in the middle of the night due to delays in our flights. It was a bit annoying to have bunk beds with 3 "layers" - I felt a bit cramped. Unfortunately there was only one plug socket for a whole room of five people which is not enough. Other than that we really liked the hostel and thought it was good value for money.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. The triple bunk beds are something we would like to change in the future, although many guests actually love them! We are aware that the distribution of sockets is not ideal, that's why guests are welcome now to leave their devices charging at reception. It makes us happy to know you liked our hostel apart from that. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

69%

The members of staff were very helpful. I have stayed at the hostel numerous times and its location is ideal for my requirements.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad you enjoyed our hostel and service, we do try our best to help! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

86%

I liked it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank your positive rating, it is very valuable to us. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

77%

NO kitchen Breakfast not worh the money.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your opinion, it is very valuable to us. We don't have a kitchen for guests to use but we serve all-you-can-eat English and continental breakfast for £4.99, a value you will not find anywhere else in the city, it's a shame you didn't like it. Thank you again for your feedback. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

Two showers weren't working, soI have given a lower mark for 'facilities'. The staff were v. helpful It was quite a warren - more 'signposts' e.g. to luggage room, would have been a good idea. There were not enough accessible lockers. Because the luggage room was full of luggage,to get to locker I would have had to climb over a huge pile of other people's stuff. It was a shame that they have nowhere sI could stow my folding bike. Room was too hot. What would happen in a fire? It wasn't clear.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your opinion. We have many lockers in the luggage room, but many people choose not to use them and leave their luggage on the floor instead, which ends up blocking the access to the lockers. There are fire action sings behind all the room doors with location maps and directions to the nearest exit and the meeting point. This is explained as well on the welcome sheet we give guests at check-in. We are very thorough about fire safety! YHA St. Paul\'s Duty Manager

77%

The Hostel is really old. The facilities are not the best. But it was clean and for a weekend away on the good location it is a good place. The staff was very friendly.

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Thumbs up for YHA St. Paul's, in spite of a few minuses - bathroom and shower facilities are inadequate, electrical outlets in rooms are definitely inadequate, and the argument that it's an old building is not acceptable. Dining room and other areas do have additional external wall outlets installed, so why not the rooms? The most serious criticism: Gross overcharging of the Wi-Fi use by the hostel, or rather by the 3rd party used by the hostel, Global... The hostel should use their own Wi-Fi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your useful feedback. We cannot install more electrical outlets in the rooms at the moment, that's why we offer to charge any devices at reception at any time. We try to keep the price of beds to a minimum by leaving all extras such as internet and breakfast as an option for guests to purchase, We are glad you liked our hostel apart from that and we will try to keep improving day by day! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

Stuff is very nice and helpfull. Location is awesome! All in all a nice hostel for a city-trip in London :)

  • 10th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback, We are happy to know you liked our hostel and the location and we hope to see you again! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel immensely! The staff were very helpful! My friend who had just flown into the country, needed a SIM card and the hostel gave her one. When it didn't work, the gentleman at the desk called up the help centre to get it to work! The rooms were clean. The beds and sheets were clean! Hot showers were actually hot and not lukewarm trickles! Wi-fi and breakfast were expensive though. Also not enough plug points. Those were the downsides for me. But all in all a big A+!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, it's great to know you had such a nice experience at our hostel. Come visit us soon! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

Good hostel in a great location. Could have done with a kitchen as I had my 3 children with me.


97%

Fantastic location and good choice of lockers available. Wifi was a bit slow but that really was the only downside. Great to meet other young folk too.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to rate us. It is rewarding to know you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again soon. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

It is a very nice place to stay. Well located, with the underground very close and lots of buses -also night buses- 5 and 7 minutes from the hostel. People at reception are friendly and helpful and it was clean. If something could be improved, I could mention Wifi and breakfast, which are not included in the price... However, these are minor things. I would definitely repeat again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, it is very rewarding to know you had a nice stay and found our service up to your expectations. We try to keep our bed prices as low as possible by splitting the extra services such as internet and breakfast and leaving them as an option for guests' to purchase. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Soledad Duty Manager

89%

I have stayed at the hostel several times, both in dormitories and in single rooms and just love it. Miss a kitchen!


66%

The staff couldn't recommend anywhere nearby to drink... Sunday morning's not great for a lie-in due to the cathedral - I hadn't thought of that haha! Lovely to hear though really. Diner was a good facility. Wifi too expensive

  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, it is very valuable to us. The hostel is located in the business area of the city of London, so during the weekends it might not be the best area to go for a drink, since most establishments open only during the week, although there are some pubs nearby. This can be a positive feature meaning you can get a quiet nights sleep in the weekend, something not so easy in London! (unless like you said, the sound of the cathedral's bells disturbs you). Thank you for your feedback, Soledad Duty Manager

(1010 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback