X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA London St Pauls Reviews

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1439 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The stuff here are really nice.


66%

Great location and very clean facilities, but the atmosphere was a bit on the cold side... not a particularly "social" hostel. Also, I would advise going elsewhere for breakfast. While its only 5 pounds there are much better options in the area for the same amount.


69%

A good location if you are interested in the Globe Theatre. Just be aware that you have to pay for the wifi. Also, the beds are a bit odd to climb up into.


100%

perfect location; friendly helpful staff; couldn't have been better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy to know you had a nice stay in our hostel and we hope to see you again in the future. Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

69%

The price was too expensive for what was available. Internet prices were steep, as well as towel rentals and breakfast in comparison to other hostels in London. The "courtyard" was gloomy and uninviting.


74%

I think the hostel could do with an update. It is looking quite tired and grubby, especially the carpets. The coat hooks in our room fell off the wall, and the bin was dirty and difficult to use. The staff in the canteen could also be a bit friendlier!

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

St Pauls is my favourite hostel it has a wonderful atmosphere and is a lovely old building.


77%

We ordered/paid for a 6 bed, but we got an 8 bed in the furthest corner of the hostel (up 3 flights of stairs). Luckily for us, our fellow roommates were nice and quiet. Some of the receptionists were confused.


97%

My son and I had a great stay. Nice people at the front office, good food, nice room en super clean shower with a lot of water pressure and hot water!!! Loved having been here again and will cetainly come back.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all the positive feedback, we are happy to know you liked our facilities and service and we hope to see you again soon! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

63%

The hostel was comfortable to stay in but definitely had its negatives. There was not a lot of atmosphere as a lot of the other people were school groups or middle aged. The internet was expendive and I had to walk to another floor each morning as there were not very many. Excellent location though and close to a tube station


100%

Great hostel with a fantastic location, right next to loads of shops and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, it is very valuable to us. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

74%

Very good hostel and I would stay here again. It's great if you want a hostel which isn't grotty and at the low end of low end! My main criticism would be that, given to all extents and purposes, you are just paying for the bed (no wifi or breakfast included) it is quite expensive. And the beds are very creaky. But I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive comments, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. The best way to get the lowest price is to book in advance, since we are in our peak season now. We hope to see you again very soon. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

I stayed in Room 2 on Sunday night, 21st April - it was far too hot and difficult to sleep in, please turn off the heating!

  • 21st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Unfortunately, Spring is that time of the year when half our guests feel cold and the rest feel it's too hot, so it's hard to please everyone, although we do try our best, so next time do not hesitate to report the problem at reception straight away. The heating is now off, hopefully until next Autumn! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

74%

The 24h reception was really useful as we had to check-in in the middle of the night due to delays in our flights. It was a bit annoying to have bunk beds with 3 "layers" - I felt a bit cramped. Unfortunately there was only one plug socket for a whole room of five people which is not enough. Other than that we really liked the hostel and thought it was good value for money.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. The triple bunk beds are something we would like to change in the future, although many guests actually love them! We are aware that the distribution of sockets is not ideal, that's why guests are welcome now to leave their devices charging at reception. It makes us happy to know you liked our hostel apart from that. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

69%

The members of staff were very helpful. I have stayed at the hostel numerous times and its location is ideal for my requirements.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad you enjoyed our hostel and service, we do try our best to help! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

86%

I liked it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank your positive rating, it is very valuable to us. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

77%

NO kitchen Breakfast not worh the money.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your opinion, it is very valuable to us. We don't have a kitchen for guests to use but we serve all-you-can-eat English and continental breakfast for £4.99, a value you will not find anywhere else in the city, it's a shame you didn't like it. Thank you again for your feedback. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

Two showers weren't working, soI have given a lower mark for 'facilities'. The staff were v. helpful It was quite a warren - more 'signposts' e.g. to luggage room, would have been a good idea. There were not enough accessible lockers. Because the luggage room was full of luggage,to get to locker I would have had to climb over a huge pile of other people's stuff. It was a shame that they have nowhere sI could stow my folding bike. Room was too hot. What would happen in a fire? It wasn't clear.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your opinion. We have many lockers in the luggage room, but many people choose not to use them and leave their luggage on the floor instead, which ends up blocking the access to the lockers. There are fire action sings behind all the room doors with location maps and directions to the nearest exit and the meeting point. This is explained as well on the welcome sheet we give guests at check-in. We are very thorough about fire safety! YHA St. Paul\'s Duty Manager

77%

The Hostel is really old. The facilities are not the best. But it was clean and for a weekend away on the good location it is a good place. The staff was very friendly.

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Thumbs up for YHA St. Paul's, in spite of a few minuses - bathroom and shower facilities are inadequate, electrical outlets in rooms are definitely inadequate, and the argument that it's an old building is not acceptable. Dining room and other areas do have additional external wall outlets installed, so why not the rooms? The most serious criticism: Gross overcharging of the Wi-Fi use by the hostel, or rather by the 3rd party used by the hostel, Global... The hostel should use their own Wi-Fi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your useful feedback. We cannot install more electrical outlets in the rooms at the moment, that's why we offer to charge any devices at reception at any time. We try to keep the price of beds to a minimum by leaving all extras such as internet and breakfast as an option for guests to purchase, We are glad you liked our hostel apart from that and we will try to keep improving day by day! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

(1017 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback