X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA London St Pauls Reviews

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1454 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Two showers weren't working, soI have given a lower mark for 'facilities'. The staff were v. helpful It was quite a warren - more 'signposts' e.g. to luggage room, would have been a good idea. There were not enough accessible lockers. Because the luggage room was full of luggage,to get to locker I would have had to climb over a huge pile of other people's stuff. It was a shame that they have nowhere sI could stow my folding bike. Room was too hot. What would happen in a fire? It wasn't clear.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your opinion. We have many lockers in the luggage room, but many people choose not to use them and leave their luggage on the floor instead, which ends up blocking the access to the lockers. There are fire action sings behind all the room doors with location maps and directions to the nearest exit and the meeting point. This is explained as well on the welcome sheet we give guests at check-in. We are very thorough about fire safety! YHA St. Paul\'s Duty Manager

77%

The Hostel is really old. The facilities are not the best. But it was clean and for a weekend away on the good location it is a good place. The staff was very friendly.

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Thumbs up for YHA St. Paul's, in spite of a few minuses - bathroom and shower facilities are inadequate, electrical outlets in rooms are definitely inadequate, and the argument that it's an old building is not acceptable. Dining room and other areas do have additional external wall outlets installed, so why not the rooms? The most serious criticism: Gross overcharging of the Wi-Fi use by the hostel, or rather by the 3rd party used by the hostel, Global... The hostel should use their own Wi-Fi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your useful feedback. We cannot install more electrical outlets in the rooms at the moment, that's why we offer to charge any devices at reception at any time. We try to keep the price of beds to a minimum by leaving all extras such as internet and breakfast as an option for guests to purchase, We are glad you liked our hostel apart from that and we will try to keep improving day by day! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

71%

Stuff is very nice and helpfull. Location is awesome! All in all a nice hostel for a city-trip in London :)

  • 10th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback, We are happy to know you liked our hostel and the location and we hope to see you again! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel immensely! The staff were very helpful! My friend who had just flown into the country, needed a SIM card and the hostel gave her one. When it didn't work, the gentleman at the desk called up the help centre to get it to work! The rooms were clean. The beds and sheets were clean! Hot showers were actually hot and not lukewarm trickles! Wi-fi and breakfast were expensive though. Also not enough plug points. Those were the downsides for me. But all in all a big A+!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, it's great to know you had such a nice experience at our hostel. Come visit us soon! YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

Good hostel in a great location. Could have done with a kitchen as I had my 3 children with me.


97%

Fantastic location and good choice of lockers available. Wifi was a bit slow but that really was the only downside. Great to meet other young folk too.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to rate us. It is rewarding to know you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again soon. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

It is a very nice place to stay. Well located, with the underground very close and lots of buses -also night buses- 5 and 7 minutes from the hostel. People at reception are friendly and helpful and it was clean. If something could be improved, I could mention Wifi and breakfast, which are not included in the price... However, these are minor things. I would definitely repeat again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, it is very rewarding to know you had a nice stay and found our service up to your expectations. We try to keep our bed prices as low as possible by splitting the extra services such as internet and breakfast and leaving them as an option for guests' to purchase. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Soledad Duty Manager

89%

I have stayed at the hostel several times, both in dormitories and in single rooms and just love it. Miss a kitchen!


66%

The staff couldn't recommend anywhere nearby to drink... Sunday morning's not great for a lie-in due to the cathedral - I hadn't thought of that haha! Lovely to hear though really. Diner was a good facility. Wifi too expensive

  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, it is very valuable to us. The hostel is located in the business area of the city of London, so during the weekends it might not be the best area to go for a drink, since most establishments open only during the week, although there are some pubs nearby. This can be a positive feature meaning you can get a quiet nights sleep in the weekend, something not so easy in London! (unless like you said, the sound of the cathedral's bells disturbs you). Thank you for your feedback, Soledad Duty Manager

80%

The floor i was on[the top one]has got plumbing problems and the toilets/showers were out of action so you needed to queue up with everyone from the Dorms on the lower floor which defeated the purpose of having your own private room and facilities.

  • 19th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We did have a problem with some of the toilets and showers last week (it was the same one problem involving a few of them unfortunately). We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused, and just so that you know, the problem is now solved. Best regards, Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

83%

Its a nice hostel with a lot of character in a wonderful location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

Great hostel. Perfectly located near the Thames and the tube. Bathrooms could be bigger, but nothing too terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. I'm afraid there is not much we can do about the size of the bathrooms, but all feedback is welcome anyway! Thank you. Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

Breakfast should be complimentary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We try to keep our beds cost to the minimum by leaving all extras such as breakfast and internet as an option for people to purchase if they need them. Our breakfast is quite popular, you can't get all-you-can-eat breakfast for £4.99 anywhere in the centre!

60%

Nickel and dimed to death! Charged for 5GBP for internet. Charged 5GBP for breakfast. Charged for towels. etc. Stay somewhere else that has better value. The bed layout is awkward if you are on the top 2 bunks and don't know the other people staying as there is no ladder to get up and down on. Definitely print out a map and address because the signs to find the hostel are not obvious. It's an average, clean, relatively quiet hostel, but there are better options in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We try to keep our bed prices to a minimum by leaving all extras as an option for guests to purchase if they need to. Charging for breakfast allows us to offer an all-you-can-eat full English and continental breakfast, an option you won't be able to find anywhere else in central London at that price. Free wifi is not available yet, but it is a future objective the network is looking into, so feedback like yours is always valuable to us. Thank you. Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

89%

overall excellent except for the squeeky bed above and not much room to have a shave,sinks tiny but lovely hot showers and excellent staff making a warm welcome.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, it is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again soon. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

cute surroundings!! pubs, bars and restaurants very close, would definitely stay with YHA again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback, it makes us glad to know you liked our hostel. We hope to see you again in the future. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

80%

Great location for St. Pauls, the City of London and the Barbican where I wanted to go. However the hostel needs to put up more signs to ensure that you do not have to drag your bags around trying to find your doorm or the exit to the reception area. When I followed the EXITS signs I would have set off the fire alarms if I had not stopped. It was a pity that they would not let me renew my YHA membership and get a discount on the booking. You have to pay for Internet access.


69%

the rooms could be a bit better sound proof otherwise I really good Hostel

  • 7th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We apologise about the possible noise, but since the hostel is located in a historically listed building, it is not allowed to modify the windows or walls. The best tip if the cathedral bells for example bother you is to get earplugs from reception. We are glad to know you liked our hostel apart from that. Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

I had a great stay. Great location and beautiful evensong services at St Paul's cathedral. Happy happy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

(1020 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback