X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA London St Pauls Reviews

36 Carter Lane, EC4V 5AB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1427 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The floor i was on[the top one]has got plumbing problems and the toilets/showers were out of action so you needed to queue up with everyone from the Dorms on the lower floor which defeated the purpose of having your own private room and facilities.

  • 19th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We did have a problem with some of the toilets and showers last week (it was the same one problem involving a few of them unfortunately). We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused, and just so that you know, the problem is now solved. Best regards, Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

83%

Its a nice hostel with a lot of character in a wonderful location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

Great hostel. Perfectly located near the Thames and the tube. Bathrooms could be bigger, but nothing too terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. I'm afraid there is not much we can do about the size of the bathrooms, but all feedback is welcome anyway! Thank you. Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

Breakfast should be complimentary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We try to keep our beds cost to the minimum by leaving all extras such as breakfast and internet as an option for people to purchase if they need them. Our breakfast is quite popular, you can't get all-you-can-eat breakfast for £4.99 anywhere in the centre!

60%

Nickel and dimed to death! Charged for 5GBP for internet. Charged 5GBP for breakfast. Charged for towels. etc. Stay somewhere else that has better value. The bed layout is awkward if you are on the top 2 bunks and don't know the other people staying as there is no ladder to get up and down on. Definitely print out a map and address because the signs to find the hostel are not obvious. It's an average, clean, relatively quiet hostel, but there are better options in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We try to keep our bed prices to a minimum by leaving all extras as an option for guests to purchase if they need to. Charging for breakfast allows us to offer an all-you-can-eat full English and continental breakfast, an option you won't be able to find anywhere else in central London at that price. Free wifi is not available yet, but it is a future objective the network is looking into, so feedback like yours is always valuable to us. Thank you. Soledad YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

89%

overall excellent except for the squeeky bed above and not much room to have a shave,sinks tiny but lovely hot showers and excellent staff making a warm welcome.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion, it is very valuable to us. We hope to see you again soon. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

cute surroundings!! pubs, bars and restaurants very close, would definitely stay with YHA again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback, it makes us glad to know you liked our hostel. We hope to see you again in the future. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

80%

Great location for St. Pauls, the City of London and the Barbican where I wanted to go. However the hostel needs to put up more signs to ensure that you do not have to drag your bags around trying to find your doorm or the exit to the reception area. When I followed the EXITS signs I would have set off the fire alarms if I had not stopped. It was a pity that they would not let me renew my YHA membership and get a discount on the booking. You have to pay for Internet access.


69%

the rooms could be a bit better sound proof otherwise I really good Hostel

  • 7th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We apologise about the possible noise, but since the hostel is located in a historically listed building, it is not allowed to modify the windows or walls. The best tip if the cathedral bells for example bother you is to get earplugs from reception. We are glad to know you liked our hostel apart from that. Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

I had a great stay. Great location and beautiful evensong services at St Paul's cathedral. Happy happy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

94%

This hostel was probably one of the best I've stayed in and I've stayed in a few. The rooms were clean and there was plenty of room to move around. It was very quite. showers were clean and plenty of hot water. location was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all your positive feedback. We are glad to hear you had such a nice stay in our hostel and we hope to have you staying with us again in the future! Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

97%

Great location and value in London. Just a short walk from St Paul's cathedral.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to rate us. Best regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

91%

The worn out mattress in my bed ned to be replaced.


94%

Nice but spartan accommodations.


91%

Will come back again to stay here when I return to London

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your rating and we are glad you liked our hostel. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

86%

free wifi !! would be appreciated

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, it is valuable to us. Free wifi is something we are looking into implementing in the future. YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

80%

We enjoyed our stay at St Pauls, it was really easy to walk everywhere from there- it only takes a maximum of 20 minutes to Buckingham Palace! The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful, although they seemed a bit rude. We were disappointed by the lack of any cooking facilities, we didn't think it was particularly fair to assume that everyone would be able to spend 5 pounds on breakfast (our budget was about 1 pound). Shower screens/curtains would be nice too, the water went everywhere.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all your feedback, it is very useful to us. We will duly note all your suggestions for future improvement. Our breakfast is quite sucessful among our guests, you can't get all-you-can-eat full English breakfast for that price anywhere in London! Regards, YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager

89%

I've already sent you my opinion so I'm surprised you sent a letter again. I was there with my daughter and two friends and we were very satisfied. I had a good experiance twice before and it is a good reason to come back. What I suggest is to put a little ladder into your rooms for older people to come up to the upper beds. Breakfast was exellent and we had it every morning.

  • 14th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate all your positive feedback. We will take note of your suggestion and see if it's possible to apply it in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, YHA St, Paul's Duty Manager

89%

Excellent location, very clean room and facilities, many showers available. The three-bunk beds are comfortable even if you have literally to climb to reach the third one. We couldn't find a wi-fi connection, but we didn't asked the staff about it, neither. The wooden structure of the building makes the floors squeaky, you can hear every step of people in the corridor. If your room-neighbours are noisy, you won't sleep at all. Bring ear plugs with you and you will definitely like this place!

  • 8th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Location is great near Saint Pauls! Beds were confortable, heating was on to a good level but toilets were quite dirty.. Overall, it was very good to stay a few days.

  • 2nd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1010 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback