Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Thameside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.3

Quite a nice place. Nice security arrangements like separate keys for the rooms plus cards which worked only for designated areas (you could not access the floor where you did not live), comfortable beds with lockers, bed lights and sockets. I slept in a female dorm with an en-suite bathroom, which was very convenient. If I was to change anything, I would improve kitchen facilities, like add more cups for example.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

As a youth ministry, we took some of our leaders and youth to london for Hillsong Conference 2017. The hostel was easy to find, easily accessible to public transport and was close (enough) to shops. The rooms were top notch and the staff was patient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jul 2017
4.6

Booked a 6 bed room - given a 10 bed room. First two keys they gave me didn't work for the room. Was told to room swap after the first night. After checking out and paying for my own locker found out that was false and the room swap was now after night three. Again had to pay for my own locker awaiting to re-check in. Wifi only works in reception. Not enough lockers in the rooms for the number of beds. Have to ring reception to enter regardless of the time of day which is poor for a hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Alexander, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry for the confusion caused at your check in as the date of the room change that was given was wrong and thank you for letting us know, we'll be acting accordingly. WiFi works on the ground floor which covers our bar, restaurant and mezzanine and also on the basement level which covers our self-catering kitchen, TV lounge and launderette two whole floors with high speed WiFi but at some point we'll be looking into extending the signal to the accommodation floors so thank you for the suggestion. Lockers have been replaced recently so some of the rooms have two sizes lockers which can be locked for free if you use your own padlock. We have a 24h reception with staff present in the building at all times, our two gates with the intercom allows us to control who's coming in which it's very important these days for the safety and security of our guests. We hope you enjoyed your time over this wonderful city. Best wishes, Wilson Henriques Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.9

Location was maybe a little less central but definitely still able to walk to the city centre or catch the underground and area seemed pretty safe for walking round even after dark. Hostel was clean and comfortable, kitchen was great, pretty small but that was not an issue. Felt really secure as you had to give your name and room upon entry. Decent price, for a decent stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • EthanLeduc
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.9

Very clean, very secure. A big step up in terms of cleanliness, clientele, and security from the cheapest hostels in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2017
7.4

Noisy!!! Their rooms are by the road and it's difficult to sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
9.1

Thanks for a great stay. The staff were great! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
5.4

Staff were nice but the place was difficult to get to, couldn't find the entrance as it looks like a regular house id recommend painting one of the gates green maybe or putting a sign on them to tell you entrance, there was no atmosphere here at all its mainly for groups of kids etc so pretty boring and lame if you want to meet anyone,can get pretty noisy when the kids are slamming doors and running around at all hours

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Great Hostel - very close to the Millennium Dome and also near Canary Wharf - convenient, safe, secure and friendly. I will be using this YHA again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.