Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Thameside

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
YHA London Thameside Located at 20 Salter Road, Rotherhithe, London.
YHA London Thameside
England
London London SE16 5PR 20 Salter Road, Rotherhithe,
79% 362
51.5043817 -0.0460267
YHA London Thameside
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Aug 2016
6.3

Big hostel. The shower was weird and difficult to turn on/off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jul 2016
8.0

Good breakfast (buffet). Very secure 24/7. Probably not the closest place to all the attractions but bus service regular to help get you into town. More a place for schools and large groups etc so as a solo traveller i relied on socialising in my dorm with other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Very clean, good wifi connection in the communal lobby areas but none in the room. The hostel is in walking distance from an overground station so is super easy to get around. Only negative thing was the room was a bit stuffy as you could not open the windows a great deal. Would definitely recommend this hostel, great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
8.6

This YH was very friendly and helpful, whilst it is out of the center the overground is close. There is a supermarket close by but otherwise the area is residential. My only negative feedback is the lack of policy that allows , in this case mid teen, students to hangout in the corridors , bang on all the doors , play ball against them and generally do their teenage thing until 1.30 am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.4

I liked that you had to ring in to get into the building. Made me feel secure knowing that whomever was at the desk knew the comings and flings if the hostel. The beds were a bit weird: triple bunk beds? I have never seen those before. Lots of storage locker space. I also liked the ensuite shower and bathroom. Breakfast left a lot to be desired for the price you paid. Other than that, a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to rate us and share your experience at YHA London Thameside. We actually have to gates as we are on a corner property Salter Road is the most commonly used. I am glad you it made you feel secure when we check who is coming into the building. The other gate on Rotherhithe Street gives gives entry or exit to the Thameside which is what we are named after. You can see the front door from both gates through the courtyard. All the beds are being replaced in the summer with new metal bunkbeds. You must have had some very special breakfasts in your time as we think ours has a really good range and only 5.25. Sorry it did not match up. All the rooms are ensuite, which is handy. This will also get an upgrade this year. Overall you have had a great stay with us and I hope the trip home was good. Many Thanks Beverley Robinson Manager

22nd Apr 2016
7.1

Felt more like a hotel. The beds were set up in an interesting way and there is no wifi in the rooms but it was nice to just have a place to crash.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for reviewing us. The `interesting` beds are going. We are changing them to a bunk top and bottom later in July. They have served us well and time for an upgrade. The new beds will have a usb point and a plug . We are working on the Wifi, your comments do make a difference . Hope the trip home was a good one. Regards Beverley Robinson Manager

  • Pixietravels
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2016
8.6

The hostel is in a quiet location not far from an underground and an overground. There are no chargers next to the beds which was an inconvenience, there were only 2 on the floor for a 10 bed room. The hostel itself is quiet and offers breakfast for a price. The staff were very friendly and offered me help with finding somewhere to get food nearby,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks you so much for staying at YHA London Thameside. Your review means a lot to us and give us valuable information from our users on what really counts. I am pleased you found us convenient for transport. I am happy to say that this summer we are changing all our beds . They will have a light and socket per bed. The breakfast is a great start to any day in London. Great value at £5.25 . it was great to read that the staff were helpful and friendly. One again many thanks and I hope we will be able to look after you on your next visit. Beverley Robinson Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.6

Very cozy and nice hostel - I just needed a cheap place to stay, which I got here. But you will also experience a very help group of staff, who are very kind, welcoming, helpful and forthcoming, which I was very positively surprised by. - They helped me out with several thing regarding my stay in London, and gave me very useful tips, which ensured that I got around on Public transport in the right manner as well as got to the airport in due time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.