Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Manchester

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
YHA Manchester Located at Potato Wharf, Castlefield, Manchester.
YHA Manchester
England
Manchester Potato Wharf, Castlefield
86% 953
53.4756851 -2.2580337
YHA Manchester
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
24th Jul 2016
6.9

dont come if youre a solo traveller. not the kind of place you make friends

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Very helpful staff and very nice hostel. Food was excellent! Only complaint was that the wifi didn't work in my room. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Stayed for 2 nights with a mate in a 4-bed all male dorm for a gig in Castlefield Bowl. One of the nicer hostels i've been to, very spacious, and the en suite room was unexpected! Quite expensive by standards of other hostels i have visited, but the location was excellent, staff great and the rooms were very nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
10.0

an awesome hostel which could only be improved by offering lighter weight duvets or blankets for summer months (sleeping under a six inch thick duvet in June is nearly impossible without sweating to death)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.6

The lady was not friendly, didn't feel any warm welcome..felt like I was disturbing her to do her work 😡 no smile at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
7.4

This hostel has a great value for money. Its location is lovely and nice sorroundings. Unfortunately, The wifi can't reach through the bedroom, so we can't use internet in the bedroom. Overall, we had a nice stay here :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.3

Amazing staff really helped me out

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
9.1

Great location, great price, staff very helpful. Overall, would definitely recommend this hostel, and will come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
6.9

Very disappointed with the stay! First, we were not informed with the price changed after request to change the date. The cost from £60 jumped to £85 for 4 beds private as that day is a bank holiday. Despite how we argue over the counter, nothing can be done and we have to just accept the higher cost. The room structure also bad as I had hit my hand when open the toilet room. Immediate hand swollen! The hostel should have a contingency plan to when facing issue!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

After having stayed at other hostels in Manchester I realised what a great deal this hostel was! It is the cheapest in the city, comfortable and in a nice setting with a great atmosphere. I would honestly rather share a room and stay at the YHA than have a private with other hostels in the city centre. Free wifi could do with being in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.