Hostelworld.com

YHA Manchester

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
YHA Manchester Located at Potato Wharf, Castlefield, Manchester.
YHA Manchester
England
Manchester Potato Wharf, Castlefield
88% 925
53.4756851 -2.2580337
YHA Manchester
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • fesposito51781
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th May 2016
9.1

Good location near Castlefield and Deansgate station, 15 min walking distance from main attractions. Very nice staff. Mattress not too comfortable, but each bed has its own lights/plugs. Additional breakfast for 5.75 pounds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.3

I'm glad there was someone to receive me in the reception in the middle of the night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2016
10.0

Great value, would stay again. You'll hear geese through the night and the river flowing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to read you'd stay with us again and thanks for the amazing scores & review :) The geese are still here and now have lots of cute goslings with them too!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
6.6

All in all was a clean quiet hostel. Wouldn't call it a youth hostel as the average age of guests staying at the time of our stay was 65 yo. The only complaint I have is the fact that I was staying in a female dorm to find on my last night a male had been checked in and staying in our dorm. When mentioned to the staff in the morning he was apologetic and said that I would have been contacted by the hostel manager - still yet to hear from the manager! I will be waiting....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Many thanks for your feedback. We accommodate guests of all ages ranging from school groups to international backpackers to people travelling in their retirement. We've just recently recruited a person who will be introducing a range of activities and events at the hostel which we hope will appeal to independent travellers looking to meet like minded people. As for the incident you describe I've emailed you earlier today to explain and offer my apologies. The customer concerned booked online as the wrong gender by mistake. Following this, I've put in place a procedure to cross check each booking against gender at the point of check in. Again, my sincere apologies that this happened.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
8.9

Clean, great value for money and friendly staff. What more do you need. Currently planning my next stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

So this hostel has really nice facilities - drinks/food available for purchase, nice kitchen and lounge areas, spacious and warm rooms. What it suffers from is that many families, old people, and children stay here because it's a reliable brand hostel. So not a fun hostel for young people in their 20s/30s to meet other similar travelers they can hang out with or party. Internet was also down during my entire 3 night stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

We are from Sri Lanka. We stayed couple of days. The place was wonderful , staff and facilities were awesome. This the best place for friends and family. I would recommend anyone looking for any place.please go to YHM.thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • martoj3265
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.7

Overall it was a pretty nice hostel. However the wi-fi is only available on the ground level and did not work most of the time because it cannot cope with many people logging on simultaneously.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.1

Great stay at a thoroughly professional establishment. Staff were well-trained and friendly, only gripe was that our room on the 2nd floor did not receive wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2016
9.4

We had an amazing stay in Manchester. Checkin was a bit slow but the guy was very friendly throughout. Rooms were rather small but very clean. The common areas were also very clean and had a nice atmosphere. Staff was extremely friendly and pointed us to some nice bars and restaurants. Location of the hostel is superb, really nice surroundings around the hostel as well. If I ever visit Manchester again, would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.