Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Manchester

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,004 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,004 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
YHA Manchester Located at Potato Wharf, Castlefield, Manchester.
YHA Manchester
England
Manchester Potato Wharf, Castlefield
87% 1004
53.4756851 -2.2580337
YHA Manchester
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.7

This hostel is pretty good except horrible wifi connection.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.7

A decent place to crash for a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.9

So this hostel's Hostelworld listing isn't great. What it doesn't say is that they have a communal kitchen and laundry facilities, important to most budgeting backpackers. It says they have reading lights however they don't. Apart from that it's a decent hostel, however the wifi is dismally slow and only in some of the common area. The location is OK, not great but not bad. Security and staff are excellent. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
8.0

poor wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.9

Only stayed here for one night and it was sound. Really clean and the bar does good coffee. Pretty chilled area by the bar too which is cool for some down time. The cloakroom on the canal is beautiful. Amazing on a nice day! The only flaw to this awesome hostel was the lady behind the desk with glasses (shaggy hair) she was the most miserable and rude person I encountered during my whole time in Manchester. Other than her, it was a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
9.1

Had a great stay, would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Really friendly staff and modern facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

I've stayed in a lot of hostels, and this is by far one of the best ones! It looks lovely, it's clean and has plenty of social space, as well as fairly sized rooms and plenty of toilet and shower facilities. The staff where extremely helpful and friendly and the location was perfect- easy to get to transport links and the city centre was only a short walk away. Will definitely look out for more YHA hostels when going away in future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words, we hope you had a great time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon :)

14th Aug 2016
9.7

We arrived to Manchester after a long day of travel and was quite impressed with the hostel. Very friendly welcome from the staff!! We would've stayed longer then two nights but they work like hotel and the rates increase due to occupancy;-( so requesting to stay a third night, the rate was double which was out of our budget. I'm pretty sure this place stays full most of the time as for it is a beautiful, perfectly located and secured hostel in Manchester city! Recommend to anyone!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
2.0

Waited twice after 2pm because the rooms were not ready its bad enough having to wait until 2pm , its extremely expensive here withno breckfast included , staff including the Manager are unhelpful and unwilling to facilitate customers sufficiently , over priced is a few words that come to mind and you could be put in the room with old people who snore , some YOUTH hostel .

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.