X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Manchester Reviews

Potato Wharf, Castlefield, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
774 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It was fine for a night to stay on a budget. It wasn't quiet though due to some work on the canal and a generator going all night which was annoying. It was clean and friendly though and in a nice part of town.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Cheap and good hostel. Definitely recommend.


91%

I like all things except the WiFi and the reading lamp next to bed. WiFi connection was very good, but it's only accessible in the lobby not in the room. Reading lamp next to my bed wasn't working.


80%

Beautiful hostel by the canal. The rooms were fairly clean, and the little café downstairs is nice to have. The location is okay...definitely a bit of a walk from the city center.


91%

Friendly staff, proper english breakfast, clean rooms. Bathroom fan is loud if you arrive late you are guaranteed to wake up the others, and bring your own lock for the lockers.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

perfect place


97%

Very good beds Coffee at the bar


94%

everything was wonderful - 100% recommend that yha!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I was very happy with my stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and understanding. The place was super clean and a lovely short walk to the city centre. I would most certainly recommend this place to anyone!! Amazing value for money!!!! Thumbs up from me


74%

Helpful staff, small kitchen but facilities as expected for the price. Good location, close to a main tram station. would recommend to others. Also, ignore reviews referring to pay to use WiFi, it is now free.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really clean hostel. Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is not included however I was happy to pay for a cooked breakfast. The hostel is a little bit out of the city centre. Overall, I really enjoyed my visit. Would stay again.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30


71%

Pros: Nice breakfast if you want to pay for it. Cons: Tiny, poorly-designed bathrooms. Almost too small to function in. Water from the shower gets over the whole room. No wi-fi in the rooms.


86%

I liked the hostel. They have great structure, nice people and its in a great place. But they try to rip money off of you in every way possible. For exemple, they don't borrow an adaptor plug to you. They only sell. FOR 4 POUNDS! If you have to check out and leave your bags in the hostel, they let you, but will charge 3 pounds for something that is almost a favor, right? I hated in that way, but in everything else is quite good.


57%

This is by far the most expensive hostel I have ever stayed at (I have tried +40 all over the world).You get very little value for your money and how can it cost £20 for a night, when breakfast isn't included?


86%

Very good hostel except for the bathroom facilities (small and clogged sink, no drinking water, hair in the shower, no shared bathrooms on the floor to use when you don't want to wake up everyone in the room)

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Too few wall plugs. Be careful, internet only works in the main lobby! The bathroom was not very clean (during three days). Coffee was cold (not warm, but cold) in the breakfast buffet. The staff was very friendly, I could check in very late at night and I could borrow an iron at no cost. Overall, it's ok, just not perfect. The location is excellent.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

nothing really wrong with this hostel, just simply wasn't the type of atmosphere I was looking for. was hoping for more of a younger, backpacker scene; however they seem to cater to a very family friendly crowd. nothing wrong with that, just weren't many people to meet and instead, a lot of soccer teams and family's on vacay.


77%

A part from being a bit far from the city centre, every thing is very nice there.


100%

Very nice place

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel with amazing staff :) I highly recommend ;)

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback