Hostelworld.com

YHA Mei Ho House

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Mei Ho House Located at Block 41 Shek Kip Mei Estate, Sham Shui Po, Hong Kong.
YHA Mei Ho House
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Kowloon Block 41 Shek Kip Mei Estate, Sham Shui Po
87% 173
22.3342975 114.1637742
YHA Mei Ho House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Apr 2016
9.7

I was flying out of Hong Kong the next morning, so I only stayed at the hostel for one night. My experience made me wish I was staying in Hong Kong the whole weekend, though! The beds weren't the softest in the world, but they're better than the kind found on the mainland. The location was close to a metro stop. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hostel had everything I needed. The free breakfast in the morning was good and filling, and that really makes the hostel a good value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.7

Excellent location in a local community away from the busy tourist areas.close to MTR and bus access to Nathan road and ferries.local shopping and dining experiences 10 minutes from hostel which is located in a relatively quiet area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
8.0

A cosy, clean and conveniently located place. The fact it is built on a former social housing site, as expanded by the excellent museum, gives it extra kudos too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
8.9

Very good value for the money. In the international market of hostels, competitive to highly competitive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
9.1

Wow, YHA Mei Ho House sets the bar high for a hostel. Everything a traveler is looking for, great security for your belongings and for your room (the entire facility requires key-card access to get in and out with cameras everywhere); the is a kitchen onsite serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner (breakfast is included); great wifi; washer and dryer on-site as well, and a full kitchen for cooking. The staff was great as well, very helpful and friendly. Probably the best hostel I have stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2016
6.3

First time I've ever used a lock to secure my belongings at a hostel. Did not feel that I could trust my fellow occupants. Located in Sham Shui Po - not a friendly neighborhood, rich in seedy activity and on the dirty side. Staff is negligent at worst and not very friendly. One girl was too busy flirting with a coworker to provide needed assistance. Atmosphere is sterile and not very warm. Rooms are clean, if not populated by very old travellers (not youth). You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2016
8.9

We had a very nice stay at Mei Ho House. Since the hostel is not on Hong Kong Island, it seems to offer bigger rooms for less money than most hostels and the neighbourhood was typical and less crowded than on the island: a really good point! Everything was perfectly clean and well orgnaized, breakfast offer was very good. Maybe the staff was not as warm as we expected but in the end, we really enjoyed our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
9.7

Probably the Best Hostel in HK!? Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2016
9.4

Great hostel, approachable and friendly staff, would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2016
7.1

When I stayed there, the hot water sometime does not function well. When I'm in the shower, suddenly it turns cold. Yet, it was in the winter. Surrounding area is not very good. If you stayed there, you will know what I mean. Other than that, YHA is very recommended. The staffs is very helpful and the room is spacious, clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.