Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Mt Cook

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
YHA Mt Cook Located at Cnr Bowen & Kitchener Drives, , Mt Cook.
YHA Mt Cook
New Zealand
Mt Cook South Canterbur Cnr Bowen & Kitchener Drives
90% 245
-43.7375692 170.1007819
YHA Mt Cook
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Amazing. So cozy. Great staff and comfortable beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
6.6

I wasn't too impressed with this hostel, to be honest. While it had everything we needed, it just didn't seem right. I felt more like I was at a youth camp or something. The exterior doors were locked, but most people didn't lock any room doors, which made me anxious about my stuff and I literally slept with my roadcase on my bed with me because I didn't know how secure the place was. Great location in Mt. Cook, not much around, but that's kinda the point. Great communal areas, large kit

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Perfect in every way. Staff were great. Hostel was superb. Rooms were warm, clean and beds were comfortable. Mt Cook was stunning. Absolutely recommend. Amazing walks to do in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

AWESOME!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th May 2016
9.4

Perfect location if you plan to do lots of hiking and see Mt.Cook. The hostel is spacious with 2 seating areas separate from the dining area which was nice. The facilities were very clean especially the kitchen, which was very big and had multiple different stations and various cooking utensils. I would definitely recommend Yha Mt.Cook to anyone looking for value for money and a great stay in this area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
6.9

Booked a 8-mixed dormitory for two persons for two nights. The room had a strong unpleasant smell. A few tourists ended up sleeping in the lounge to avoid sleeping in the weird-smelling room. Also, it was strange to segregate the dormitories according to ethnicity. It was obvious that Asians and Westerners were allocated to different dormitories. In my opinion, this should not be the way as young travellers who choose YHA are generally open to meeting new and different people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.7

Wonderful Facilities, nice and clean, very very warm and lovely staff. Over all I really enjoyed my stay there, thank you. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
9.1

One of the best hostel locations in the world. Every room has a view of the valley. Bed was clean and facilities were brilliant considering the location. A short walk to the hermitage offers a great view of Mount cook. Walks a plenty which offer stunning scenery. Flights of the area and alpine centre are a must. Definitely would stay here again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel was a dream! It has a lodge feel too it and is very cozy and comfortable. The atmosphere is great along with the staff. The facilities are also very clean and they go above and beyond to keep the hostel clean. The location is the most amazing part as it is right in the Mount Cook Valley. You are surrounded my the mountains and glaciers and there are many easily accessible hikes to take advantage of. We loved our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.0

The location is away from the main part of the village although just 10 minutes walking to anywhere really, the staff wasn't overly friendly but still not bad. I always seem to have Asian guys snoring beside me in the YHA hostels, that was the worst part. Other than that great faculties and great view from the kitchen/dining room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.