Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Mt Cook

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2017
9.4

This is definitely my favorite hostel I've stayed at so far. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the facilities were very clean. The fireplace and sauna were very nice in the cold, snowy weather.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Hostelworld.com User from USA, Many thanks for your kind words .. I'm glad we were able to help you enjoy the winter wonderland in Aoraki Mt Cook National Park .. Happy Travels, Jason Neave, Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

Nice big kitchen and multiple eating/seating areas. Sauna was a great perk after hiking in the snow. Staff were very helpful during snowy conditions. The atmosphere is pretty quiet but overall very good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Hostelworld.com User from Canada .. Thanks for your positive review .. Yep, our free Sauna is definitely one of the perks of staying at YHA Aoraki Mt Cook .. Safe Journey Jason Neave, Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th May 2017
8.9

Not a lot is available in this part of the world but the Mt Cook YHA gives you good value for money and I had a very pleasant experience at this cosy and friendly hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel. Warm, comfortable, clean and friendly. I would happily stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Loved it here! Had an awesome view of the mountains from the dorm window, large common areas, good cooking areas and dining areas. These guys have a sauna and a drying room (the national park was pretty wet in my experience). One staff member in particular (shout out to Bryn) was incredibly friendly, helpful and kind, but had good experiences with all of them! Good location in the park. The only thing I would warn about is that there aren't any grocery stores so buy your food before arriving!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Had a fantastic time at this hostel! The staff were very helpful and I can honestly say it was one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to. Beds were super comfy and the layout of the hostel made it pretty easy to make new friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Your typical, plaisant YHA experience. I particularly appreciated the advices of the staff, the lockers (equiped with an electric plug inside of them 🔌), the well equipped kitchen and the SAUNA.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.0

Good hostel and very clean. It is a little bit of a further walk to the rest of the village but there are only two places that offer dormitory style accommodation and they are both next to each other. The lounge area has a fireplace and there are full kitchen facilities available. I would definitely stay here again. It's a great base for exploring the Mt Cook area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.1

The perfect place to stay in such a beautiful location. You should not miss Mt. Cook during your visit to NZ, and YHA is a very good cost / benefit option. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.