Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall Located at Finlay Street, P.O.Box 89, , Tongariro National Park.
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall
New Zealand
Tongariro National Park Central North Island 3948 Finlay Street, P.O.Box 89
82% 276
-39.1747879 175.4013204
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jessicaarmitage981
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
17th Jan 2017
7.4

Place was ok, staff a little grumpy on check in. Beds comfortable but a little squeezed in, ended up playing footsie with my bunk mate in the middle of the night! Not a great deal of space in the room and no lockers. Wall between the kitchen and rooms VERY thin which was annoying at 5am when people were leaving for the crossing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
5.1

Good location for tongariro crossing, otherwise a very basic hostel. No free wifi access, kitchen very dirty and only one cooker which is not enough for amount of people using the space. Rooms cold-need heater on full time. Bathrooms basic but functional (brig your own soap as there wasn't any when we stayed). Layout unusual. Only recommend staying enough time to do the crossing (beautiful) as there is nothing else in the area to do. Also bring food for cooking as no shops.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
6.0

No lockers in rooms and not very clean. Good location and nice staff however there is a lack of atmosphere because there isnt a good comunal place to relax at the end of the day. Also having to pay for wifi is a pain!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.3

Good Hostel close to the National Park. Perfect location to start the Tongariro Crossing. Spacious kitchen. No lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel. The kitchen was amazing and super clean.the rooms were clean and comfortable and the people there were all fantastic. Wish we could have stayed there more than one night. Would absolutely go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

The YHA is a great base for exploring the Tongariro National Park and they can organise transfers to the National Park each day. There's a good sized kitchen and eating area which was generally pretty clean. The living room area was a bit small and they charged to rent DVDs. The climbing wall is a useful activity for a rainy day, otherwise there's not a lot to do in town. The bedrooms were spacious, but having to go downstairs for the toilet and showers wasn't ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Nov 2016
8.0

Kitchen is a bit small for everyone to cook at the same time but comfy. We paid for the wifi and it was really good. Missed some more power sockets in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Sep 2016
8.9

Loved my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

Clean hostel, excellent bathroom and toilet facilities. Could do with a bit of noise proofing but other than that, it was an excellent stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

I booked a shuttle on Saturday night and was told that it was easier to take the money then, rather than in the morning. So I paid for my partner and I, $40. Then on Sunday morning my brother called saying he was driving down and could pick us up. I politely asked for the $40 back to which the owner said "no refund, the shuttle is already organised". However, the shuttle wasn't organised specifically for us and we were never advised that the payment was non-refundable. Very disappointing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.