Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall Located at Finlay Street, P.O.Box 89, , Tongariro National Park.
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall
New Zealand
Tongariro National Park Central North Island 3948 Finlay Street, P.O.Box 89
85% 262
-39.1747879 175.4013204
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

The YHA is a great base for exploring the Tongariro National Park and they can organise transfers to the National Park each day. There's a good sized kitchen and eating area which was generally pretty clean. The living room area was a bit small and they charged to rent DVDs. The climbing wall is a useful activity for a rainy day, otherwise there's not a lot to do in town. The bedrooms were spacious, but having to go downstairs for the toilet and showers wasn't ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Nov 2016
8.0

Kitchen is a bit small for everyone to cook at the same time but comfy. We paid for the wifi and it was really good. Missed some more power sockets in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Sep 2016
8.9

Loved my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

Clean hostel, excellent bathroom and toilet facilities. Could do with a bit of noise proofing but other than that, it was an excellent stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

I booked a shuttle on Saturday night and was told that it was easier to take the money then, rather than in the morning. So I paid for my partner and I, $40. Then on Sunday morning my brother called saying he was driving down and could pick us up. I politely asked for the $40 back to which the owner said "no refund, the shuttle is already organised". However, the shuttle wasn't organised specifically for us and we were never advised that the payment was non-refundable. Very disappointing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nachobkcc
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Good hostel! Ideal for backpackers who go to Tongariro for adventures.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed staying at YHA National Park Backpackers. It was very friendly - a very big kitchen where we could chat, cook and share. I met some lovely people. The hostel was very warm (heatwise), as was the bedding - all very important.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
7.7

warm bed, clean! not too much atmosphere but it's because people are out all day doing the crossing. nice place though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
6.9

Fairly standard hostel. Kitchen was well equipped and had plenty of open space for food prep etc. Having the Tongariro crossing info centre on site was very useful. Rooms were OK, trying to cram a lot of beds into 1 room meant 2 beds required you to climb over someones face which is terrible. No free wifi is a big issue as 90% of backpackers plan online. Toilets were minimal, showers were OK. Staff were generally helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
10.0

Everything was excellent, especially the staff. Could not have been friendlier, more helpful, or welcoming. Wonderful experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.