Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Basic hostel, but ideally situated in National Park village. Good laundry and kitchen facilities, although I think the drier diddled me out of a couple of dollars on the second spin. Next to a petrol station and a pub, and there's also a climbing wall and mini golf on site if you want an alternative to walking in Tongariro National Park. Staff very helpful with change for the laundry and booking the Tongariro Crossing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.6

A friend and I had a wonderful stay at the hostel and hiked the crossing together using the shuttle provided. I thought the shuttle was an amazing bonus to staying there. I met lovely people and had a great weekend. ☺️

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Fine hostel, but no free wifi. Also, the room was intensely hot. Good facilities though, comfy beds, great atmosphere, and good access to Tongariro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
10.0

This a very convenient hostel for accessing the Tongariro Crossing and Circuit - about a 20-30 minute bus ride away. Best to come here if you have a car. The bus to go onward to Taupo only comes 2-3 times a week, so you will have to stay for more than one night if that's your plan. Nice large kitchen and dining area. 8 bed dorm was a bit strange - the 7th and 8th beds were up on a 3rd bunk level, and you step on the the 2nd level bunk mattresses to access them. Good storage for 8 people + packs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
7.4

Nice hostel in small, small town next to National Park. Perfect place to base yourself for hiking. Staff great and helpful. Stayed in 8 person dorm. A bit small but nice. Good kitchen. Rest is climbing wall no one was using. Small tv room. Bathrooms nice and clean. Security not really in place - easy to walk in/out, even in dorm room but our fault since people left ground floor balcony door open. Wifi not great. They provide transportation to/from hike for $35. You can find others for $30.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
9.7

YHA did not disappoint at all! Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, always willing to help with a booking or suggest a good outdoor activity. I would recommend this place as a great place to stay both for value and location, it was well worth it! I'll definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Great spot for exploring the Tongariro National Park with shuttles to the crossing and whakapapa village. Helpful staff regarding track information and accessing trail heads.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.1

Really cool place. Super nice staff, extremely knowledgeable about the are and even the rest of NZ. Stayed two nights and wish I could've stayed more!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Nice hostel close to the tongariro crossing. Kitchen was big enough and always clean. So were the bathroom facilities. We stayed in a double bed room and it was big.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
7.1

note you need to pay for wifi here - $5 for 1GB. However it is right near national park. Round the corner from where the naked mana buses drop you off. Hostel was nice but I moved rooms because of the strong foot smell from its occupants. Not YHA's fault. They moved my room so no issue. Plug sockets were all grouped together at end of the room. Was cold at night so stole another duvet. No bag storage but clean kitchen and bathroom fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.