Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
9.4

Exactly what we wanted!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
10.0

An awesome place to stay. Friendly staff and good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

A very good base for Tongariro and Ruapehu

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jun 2017
9.7

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, loved the private bedroom with ensuite as it meant that we could do our own thing at our own time. With the heater consistently on in the winter, the room heats up quickly at night... so the windows need to be open. My only concern is that there is no security bar on the window that limits how far the window can open. Which makes it possible for people to open from the outside and climb in. Id like to see that changed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Clean, Friendly Hostel. We came in winter and the heating was left on low all night which was such a nice touch. It made waking up at 6.30 for the hike that little bit easier. Lovely cosey pub just 20m away with a beautiful solid fuel stove and comfortable couches. One thing to note, do your research on the best way for you to do the hike, we asked about the shuttle when we arrived at the hostel and they just sold us their tour, when this was not the best option for us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Shuttle to the Tongariro Crossing was convenient. Note that wifi is not free, $5 for 1GB

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • selucas
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
7.1

The hostel is fine. Kitchen is big. Showers are hot. The staff are incredibly rude! Except for megan who was lovely. But the others are grumpy and if you ask any questions they make you feel like a massive chore. No free WiFi either which is super annoying

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.4

It was fun to have the climbing wall and the beds were comfortable. We only stayed for a night so I couldn't really explore the whole thing. Unfortunately we were in a full room with loud and messy people but i can imagine but for that the hostel would have been clean and tidy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
9.1

Only having 1 key between 3 people was a bit of a pain at times, but not unmanageable as the door was left unlocked most of the time anyway. Otherwise, good clean facilities, great transport services and after hour check in times - good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.7

Stayed there before we did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Very clean. Excellent showers. Staff was helpful. Large and well stocked kitchen. The only reason it didn't get 10/10 was we had to pay for wifi. $5 for 1GB per day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.