Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
9.1

Only having 1 key between 3 people was a bit of a pain at times, but not unmanageable as the door was left unlocked most of the time anyway. Otherwise, good clean facilities, great transport services and after hour check in times - good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.7

Stayed there before we did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Very clean. Excellent showers. Staff was helpful. Large and well stocked kitchen. The only reason it didn't get 10/10 was we had to pay for wifi. $5 for 1GB per day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.9

Cool hostel with great staff and rooms, close to the mountains and mountain bike trails. Kitchen was ok but could do with some new pots pans and knives... they were all pretty wrecked

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay in National Park. Pos: clean, nice staff, bunk beds that don't squeak, climbing wall for rainy days. Neg: weird 3rd level bunk in 10 bed dorms, not enough outlets in the rooms, no free wifi. Location is fine for national Park, everything is close by, but if doing the Tongariro crossing i think it's better to stay in Turangi as it has a supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
8.9

Good hostel. Located very close to a bar/restaurant, a supermarket, and the Naked Bus stop. Has shuttle services to Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Great atmosphere and easy to meet people. Wifi is not free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Place was exactly what i expected, no frills. Great place to stay to go hiking as they provide a shuttle. The Hostel also has a rock climbing wall which is nice if the park is raining.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Basic hostel, but ideally situated in National Park village. Good laundry and kitchen facilities, although I think the drier diddled me out of a couple of dollars on the second spin. Next to a petrol station and a pub, and there's also a climbing wall and mini golf on site if you want an alternative to walking in Tongariro National Park. Staff very helpful with change for the laundry and booking the Tongariro Crossing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.6

A friend and I had a wonderful stay at the hostel and hiked the crossing together using the shuttle provided. I thought the shuttle was an amazing bonus to staying there. I met lovely people and had a great weekend. ☺️

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Fine hostel, but no free wifi. Also, the room was intensely hot. Good facilities though, comfy beds, great atmosphere, and good access to Tongariro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
10.0

This a very convenient hostel for accessing the Tongariro Crossing and Circuit - about a 20-30 minute bus ride away. Best to come here if you have a car. The bus to go onward to Taupo only comes 2-3 times a week, so you will have to stay for more than one night if that's your plan. Nice large kitchen and dining area. 8 bed dorm was a bit strange - the 7th and 8th beds were up on a 3rd bunk level, and you step on the the 2nd level bunk mattresses to access them. Good storage for 8 people + packs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.