Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Sep 2017
8.6

A hot shower after a snow hike in Mount Tangariro is just about the best thing one could ask for and YHA offered that. The hostel was pretty empty when I got there but each day the climbing walls still got pretty busy which made the stay more fun. Another great aspect of this hostel is the only petrol station is a 3-minute walk away which made grocery shopping infinitely easier. My only minor complaint about the hostel is that it was kept drafty in the mornings and at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
8.6

Excellent value for money. I stayed in the girls dorm and it was spacious, warm and comfortable. I really loved our little veranda off the bedroom. The kitchen was well kitted out and the main hub. Fridges were big with plenty of room to put your food. A hop and a skip to schnapps bar. The only negative was there was no lock on the drying room which was right where the climbing wall area is, which meant anyone could go in there. Thankyou for a very comfy place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
9.7

A great place for families and keen skiers and hikers, not a big festive/drinking atmosphere making it a very relaxed place, with outstanding views.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
6.0

Not great. Other places in the town seem to offer more amenities. Paying for wifi is an obsolete notion, as is the complete lack of tea, coffe, and shopping area ls nearby. Value for money is not great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
15th Aug 2017
8.0

have indoor climbing wall. sufficient kitchen space. room was clean and tidy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.6

It would be great if there were some lockers available to stoor valuables, (laptop, camera etc.) and a lounge area or some couches in the kitchen/dining area. Also, one of the staff members was very grumpy all three days I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.4

Good location, great staff. Convenient,if you want to do the alpine passing. Rooms are basic, nothing fancy but good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
9.4

Exactly what we wanted!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
10.0

An awesome place to stay. Friendly staff and good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

A very good base for Tongariro and Ruapehu

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×