Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Oxford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
YHA Oxford Located at 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB, Oxford.
YHA Oxford
England
Oxford 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB
81% 948
51.7526261 -1.2716674
YHA Oxford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

One of the most well run and tidy hostels I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Overall very good! Lots of space in the room. The shelfs in the room are big, and lots of space of hanging clothes and towel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your reply. We are happy you have enjoyed the stay with us and hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.0

Wifi just on the ground floor. Ensuite is very nice. Good location near railway station, a bit noisy at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate the hostel after your stay. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you had a fantastic trip to Oxford.

  • piergiacomo9957
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
25th Aug 2016
4.0

first the hostel is literally behind the railway station, so you can imagine how noisy it can be... second the room was very, very dirty and smelly. They changed bed linen that's it nothing more. third the wifi is only in the reception area.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

a ten-minute walk from the historical centre, and near the station. Very kind staff. The doors in the corridor are push to open and that can get annoying to hear at night, but with a good set of earplugs you're good to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
7.4

The room I stayed in was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities generallly clean and useful. The only downside for my stay was that as the yha caters for large school groups and the internet only works in the lobby area it was impossible to find somewhere to sit that wasn't being crowded with teenagers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla, All Male Group, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Aug 2016
2.9

Bold guy at front desk should find a job that he enjoys doing instead of treating PAYING guests as nuisances, management should tell him where his place is Night shift guys really nice Place stinks throughout due to old rotten carpets everywhere, location is too far off the centre and prices are too high for what you get NOT RECOMENDED

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience of the hostel on this occasion. I will pass on your comments to the relevant staff teams - we're always striving to improve and eliminate reviews such as this. It has been tough over the past couple of hot weeks to keep all the corridors smelling fresh, but the housekeeper team do put a lot of work into ensuring that everything is clean and trying to air the building as much as possible.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.7

Great big hostel, right next door to the train station. Great facilities. Breakfast available for a small fee and was really good! As a young solo traveler, the main reason I didn't like it was there were not many young people to meet and socialize with. From what I saw, this hostel mostly accommodated older people (50+) or groups of young school aged children.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of your stay in the hostel. We're happy to hear that our facilities met your needs and that you found breakfast good. Sorry that the mix of guests was not ideal for you at the time that you visited. At YHA we strive to welcome everyone from groups to families to backpackers of all ages. It can vary dramatically from day-to-day and on another visit you may find a completely different set of room-mates. I can appreciate your frustrations of not having the ideal group to socialize with on this occasion. I hope that you the rest of your trip is good and that you'll be able to stay with us again another time.

10th Jul 2016
8.3

Very clean Hostel, good location. Friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your ratings for the hostel. Your feedback is much appreciated and we're happy to see you had a good stay. I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back at the hostel again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay here. It's a clean, well-run YHA hostel located two steps from the train and bus stations in Oxford and within walking distance of the city centre and all of Oxford's sights. The showers and toilets are en-suite - very convenient. Beds are solid wood-frame ones and the mattresses are comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed yet orderly. I will come again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great review. We're really glad to see that you had a good stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.