Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Oxford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1009 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1009 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
9.4

It's super near to train station and all attractions just within walk distance. It is clean but maybe because my room towards to the road so it is a bit noisy. The staffs are really nice and helpful! Anyway, it worth the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2017
8.3

We, two moms, accaccompanied ou teenage sons. The staff was very friendly, the facilities were good. The only minus was the impossibility to air the room; no windows could be opended. The room didn't smell very fresh.. Beds were perfect, clean sheets, good matrasses. The bathroom had mold (couldn't be aired either). The neighbourhood isn't too good, but it's adjacent to the nice neighbourhood / city center. Conclusion: I wouldn't mind booking again if I come back to Birmingham.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review the hostel after your stay. We're glad to read that you had a good time in Oxford and that you found the staff friendly. Sorry that you couldn't open the window wide - we have to have restrictors installed to comply with safety regulations. We will investigate the bathroom that you mentioned and ensure that we fix this. Not sure about your comment about the neighbourhood - central Oxford is all reasonably nice, and above all else, safe. Maybe getting us mixed up with Birmingham?! I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back on another occasion to Oxford.

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.0

Nice hostel with a proper kitchen and common room. The female dorm was comfortable, with a clean toilet and shower. Bit of a funny smell in some places but I would recommend it overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments and rating after your stay. We are pleased to see that you liked the guest kitchen and social spaces and found the room to be clean - I'll pass this feedback on to the hard-working housekeepers. We hope that you had a great time in Oxford and good onward travels.

7th Aug 2017
9.7

We stayed one night but everything was on place, we had everything and I'm satisified, I choose really good hostel. Maybe they can put cheaper price for breakfast (they put 6.25 pounds).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review of the hostel - we're really pleased to read that you liked the hostel and we hope that you had a brilliant time in Oxford. We really do believe our breakfast is good value for money. Whilst you can find places offering a plate of full English breakfast for less, please remember that they don't include drinks, croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereal, cheese and ham and return visits to get some more! We do also have croissants and lovely coffees at the reception if you have a smaller appetite. We hope that you'll be back to stay with us another time in the future and we hope that your onward travels on this trip are lots of fun! Cheers for the feedback.

  • ravikchikka5114
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent location.. food available all around he place.. Didn't try the in house restaurant though... Will try next time. If you have to park the car... walk down the main street towards Waitrose .. if you are lucky you may find free parking 10 mins walk .. but upto 8AM.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel. My only problem was that the internet didn't work in the rooms, we had to go down to the lounge area to connect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Rachel, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are looking into the possibility of extending our signal to the accommodation floors at some point but for the moment only our communal areas on the ground floor are covered. We'll be pleased to have you back in the near future. Best wishes, YHA Oxford

10th Jul 2017
7.4

Does what it says on the tin! Slightly warm in the evenings but overall a sweet place to crash in for the night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. Good to read that you found us a good spot for an overnight stay. We're trying to keep the rooms as cool as possible, airing them during the day and using fans, but we have had a bit of a heat wave recently where everyone struggled to stay cool everywhere. Now we're back to more typical UK summer weather, the hostel is a lot fresher again, but we'll always look for ways to improve this. I hope that you'll be back to stay with us again another time. Thanks for the feedback.

29th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location, less than 5 minutes from the train station. Not much of an atmosphere to meet and hangout with fellow travelers. Wifi only in common area and it wasn't the best. Beds did have individual power socket and light. However, the room did have a strange odor. Room was really hot which made it hard to sleep. Decent price and decent accommodations, nothing to rave about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Yes we are lucky to be situated in such a convenient location, within a short walk a train station that takes you right to the heart of London in one hour. Our bar area can be vibrant some nights with people from all around the world together sharing moment. We did experience a heat wave for quite some days but everything's back to normal now :) We hope to have you back in the near future. Kind regards, YHA Oxford

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.0

My best stay so far ... i haven’t stayed it that many hostels tbh . All around very good !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We're really happy to read that you had a good stay in the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your trip and thanks again for the good comment.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2017
10.0

Wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the 10-out-of-10 rating. We're really pleased to see that you had a good stay and enjoyed your time at the hostel. I hope that you had a great visit to the city of Oxford.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×