Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Oxford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
YHA Oxford Located at 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB, Oxford.
YHA Oxford
England
Oxford 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB
80% 939
51.7526261 -1.2716674
YHA Oxford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

a ten-minute walk from the historical centre, and near the station. Very kind staff. The doors in the corridor are push to open and that can get annoying to hear at night, but with a good set of earplugs you're good to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Aug 2016
2.9

Bold guy at front desk should find a job that he enjoys doing instead of treating PAYING guests as nuisances, management should tell him where his place is Night shift guys really nice Place stinks throughout due to old rotten carpets everywhere, location is too far off the centre and prices are too high for what you get NOT RECOMENDED

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience of the hostel on this occasion. I will pass on your comments to the relevant staff teams - we're always striving to improve and eliminate reviews such as this. It has been tough over the past couple of hot weeks to keep all the corridors smelling fresh, but the housekeeper team do put a lot of work into ensuring that everything is clean and trying to air the building as much as possible.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.7

Great big hostel, right next door to the train station. Great facilities. Breakfast available for a small fee and was really good! As a young solo traveler, the main reason I didn't like it was there were not many young people to meet and socialize with. From what I saw, this hostel mostly accommodated older people (50+) or groups of young school aged children.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of your stay in the hostel. We're happy to hear that our facilities met your needs and that you found breakfast good. Sorry that the mix of guests was not ideal for you at the time that you visited. At YHA we strive to welcome everyone from groups to families to backpackers of all ages. It can vary dramatically from day-to-day and on another visit you may find a completely different set of room-mates. I can appreciate your frustrations of not having the ideal group to socialize with on this occasion. I hope that you the rest of your trip is good and that you'll be able to stay with us again another time.

10th Jul 2016
8.3

Very clean Hostel, good location. Friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your ratings for the hostel. Your feedback is much appreciated and we're happy to see you had a good stay. I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back at the hostel again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay here. It's a clean, well-run YHA hostel located two steps from the train and bus stations in Oxford and within walking distance of the city centre and all of Oxford's sights. The showers and toilets are en-suite - very convenient. Beds are solid wood-frame ones and the mattresses are comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed yet orderly. I will come again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great review. We're really glad to see that you had a good stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
7.7

Loo had been used in our room and cistern wouldn't work to flush it 😕

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Cindy, Thanks for taking the time to post your comments and scores for the hostel after your visit. Many apologies that there was a fault with the loo in your room. I trust that we got this fixed and in good working order whilst you were with us. We'd never intentionally send anyone to a room with facilities that were not working - it's just a shame that we hadn't got this repairing prior to your check-in. I'm glad to see that all else was okay and hope that we'll be able to welcome you at Oxford YHA on another occasion.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Keep in mind that the wifi only works on the groundfloor, not in the rooms, which is sometimes annoying. On the other hand, the cafe has a great atmosphere. The breakfast was good and the staff were nice. It is a bit of a hike, about 10-15 mins from the touristy stuff. Unfortunately, my experience of Oxford was marred because I didn't realise it was graduation day and it was impossible to walk around the colleges, and there was a march on so it was hard to move around the castle area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hostel and your visit to Oxford. Great to see that YHA Oxford met most of your expectations and that the staff, breakfast and café/bar atmosphere all got the thumbs-up. I'll share this with the team. We'll be upgrading the Wi-Fi in a few months time when we get a new provider, so hopefully it will offer a better guest experience. We're kinda reluctant to put Wi-Fi in all rooms, particularly dormitories where people may be disturbed by fellow guests working away on laptops and tablets whilst they're trying to sleep. We also like that it gets people to come out of their rooms to the social areas and hopefully get talking to fellow travellers. Shame about the colleges being closed at the time of your visit - as they're working institutions, there are lots of dates when they shut for quiet revision time and functions. Hopefully that will give you a reason to visit Oxford again at another time and check out some of the sights that you missed! Enjoy the rest of your trip, Nick, Oxford YHA

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th May 2016
8.6

Great location and lovely building. The bunks were a little hard to climb into, but on the whole it was a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.4

YHA Oxford was in a great location, but the staff weren't really helpful — when we checked in, they didn't provide us with any information on where our rooms were, what the deal with breakfast was and what time check-out was. The lobby was also constantly teeming with tens of people as there wasn't a common room, and this lent to a stressful atmosphere. What's more, the wifi didn't work beyond the first floor so we constantly had to come down to the lobby to connect to the internet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
6.6

Please provide elevator. And there should be wifi in all bedrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for posting your review of the hostel. When we redesign Oxford YHA in a few years time we will definitely have an elevator - sadly the current building we have was built without one, and it's not something we can call the builders in to install. Fortunately we just have the 2 floors and the staff are always willing to help with bags, if needed. We have the free Wi-Fi in our communal areas to encourage guests to come out of their rooms, socialise and meet fellow travellers - one of the best things about staying in a hostel. This is something that we'll monitor for the future. Thanks for your feedback - hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.