Hostelworld.com

YHA Oxford

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 920 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 920 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
YHA Oxford Located at 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB, Oxford.
YHA Oxford
England
Oxford 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB
80% 920
51.7526261 -1.2716674
YHA Oxford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay here. It's a clean, well-run YHA hostel located two steps from the train and bus stations in Oxford and within walking distance of the city centre and all of Oxford's sights. The showers and toilets are en-suite - very convenient. Beds are solid wood-frame ones and the mattresses are comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed yet orderly. I will come again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great review. We're really glad to see that you had a good stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
7.7

Loo had been used in our room and cistern wouldn't work to flush it 😕

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Cindy, Thanks for taking the time to post your comments and scores for the hostel after your visit. Many apologies that there was a fault with the loo in your room. I trust that we got this fixed and in good working order whilst you were with us. We'd never intentionally send anyone to a room with facilities that were not working - it's just a shame that we hadn't got this repairing prior to your check-in. I'm glad to see that all else was okay and hope that we'll be able to welcome you at Oxford YHA on another occasion.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Keep in mind that the wifi only works on the groundfloor, not in the rooms, which is sometimes annoying. On the other hand, the cafe has a great atmosphere. The breakfast was good and the staff were nice. It is a bit of a hike, about 10-15 mins from the touristy stuff. Unfortunately, my experience of Oxford was marred because I didn't realise it was graduation day and it was impossible to walk around the colleges, and there was a march on so it was hard to move around the castle area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hostel and your visit to Oxford. Great to see that YHA Oxford met most of your expectations and that the staff, breakfast and café/bar atmosphere all got the thumbs-up. I'll share this with the team. We'll be upgrading the Wi-Fi in a few months time when we get a new provider, so hopefully it will offer a better guest experience. We're kinda reluctant to put Wi-Fi in all rooms, particularly dormitories where people may be disturbed by fellow guests working away on laptops and tablets whilst they're trying to sleep. We also like that it gets people to come out of their rooms to the social areas and hopefully get talking to fellow travellers. Shame about the colleges being closed at the time of your visit - as they're working institutions, there are lots of dates when they shut for quiet revision time and functions. Hopefully that will give you a reason to visit Oxford again at another time and check out some of the sights that you missed! Enjoy the rest of your trip, Nick, Oxford YHA

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th May 2016
8.6

Great location and lovely building. The bunks were a little hard to climb into, but on the whole it was a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.4

YHA Oxford was in a great location, but the staff weren't really helpful — when we checked in, they didn't provide us with any information on where our rooms were, what the deal with breakfast was and what time check-out was. The lobby was also constantly teeming with tens of people as there wasn't a common room, and this lent to a stressful atmosphere. What's more, the wifi didn't work beyond the first floor so we constantly had to come down to the lobby to connect to the internet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
6.6

Please provide elevator. And there should be wifi in all bedrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for posting your review of the hostel. When we redesign Oxford YHA in a few years time we will definitely have an elevator - sadly the current building we have was built without one, and it's not something we can call the builders in to install. Fortunately we just have the 2 floors and the staff are always willing to help with bags, if needed. We have the free Wi-Fi in our communal areas to encourage guests to come out of their rooms, socialise and meet fellow travellers - one of the best things about staying in a hostel. This is something that we'll monitor for the future. Thanks for your feedback - hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
9.7

I felt good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for posting your review. We're glad you felt good!!! It's always good to get feedback on what we're doing right and where we could improve, so please don't hesitate to pass on your comments. I hope that we'll be able to welcome you at YHA Oxford again on another occasion.

  • mjp121
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
7.7

Overall it was pretty good. Staff member who checked me in and out as it happens the same person, was difficult to engage with. A little too much emphasis on the checkout time for my liking. Everything else was pretty reasonable. Bunk bed was uncomfortable. Food service in restaurant was really good. Computer system went down in the afternoon, unable to get a VAT receipt even the following morning, no effort to provide handwritten 1 I would have thought that would not have been too much trouble

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hostel - glad to hear that you were happy with most aspects of the hostel. I'll pass your comments on to the reception team as generally they get good scores for being freindly & helpful, so I'm sorry we let you down on this occasion. We've had all new mattresses throughout the building in January, so I'm disapointed you found the bed uncomfortable. I'd be more than happy to e-mail a receipt to you - we had computer issues all week last week sadly. As we don't have a stamp or receipt book with our VAT number on it I'm afraid that a hand-written receipt would not have been worth giving to you at the time. Happy to send one now computers are back to normal.

  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2016
10.0

far more comfortable than in many other hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for a great view. All staff do work really hard to try to get things right, so it's great when we hear that someone has had such a good experience of the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2016
8.6

Spacious dining room and nice, casual lounge & meeting area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for talking time to score your stay with us. We're very glad to see that you had a good visit to Oxford YHA. We've been updating and improving furniture in the lounge and lobby, so it's good to hear that you liked it. Next in line is new furniture for the bedrooms over the course of this year, as we continue to try to keep on improving. I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back in Oxford soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.