Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Oxford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 957 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 957 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
YHA Oxford Located at 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB, Oxford.
YHA Oxford
England
Oxford 2a Botley Road, Oxfordshire, OX2 0AB
79% 957
51.7526261 -1.2716674
YHA Oxford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • khushleenk
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
2.0

I stayed here only for one night, there was no hot water, the heater wasn't working... No one informed about it, my time was wasted trying to figure all these out... The staff was ok. The place could have been cleaner. THE WIFI WASNT WORKING.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.3

Would definitely stay here again. This was the cleanest hostel I have stayed in. Had lots of great facilities. The atmosphere was not that of a social hostel. The staff were okay. It was a decent walk- 15 mins- to any of the sights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of the hostel. We're over-the-moon that you rated the hostel so cleanliness - I'll pass this comment on to the housekeeping team who do work really hard, sometimes with lots of challenges, to achieve this. Sorry to hear that the staff only achieved an 'okay'. We're constantly trying to improve and I apologise if we didn't meet your expectations for staff friendliness and helpfulness during this stay. I hope that you had a wonderful time in Oxford and that you enjoy the rest of your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostel. Surprisingly spacious rooms, secure places for luggage in rooms in the girls 6dorms, loved the ensuite in room, self catering facilities excellent. Great common areas. Would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we will be happy to welcome you again.

  • shea60574501
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Oct 2016
7.4

This place is huge. It has 200 beds. They take a lot of groups so the atmosphere is a bit off compared to other hostels. It is right be the train station. You will feel the train go by and depending on where your room is, you might feel the vibration. The staff generally seems a bit clueless. The kitchen is nice and big and my bed was comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are in high group season and yes, if you find yourself staying at the same time as most of the groups, the atmosphere is a bit different than if hostel was full of individual guests, however this is not always for the worse! Unfortunately we cannot help being located near the train station and there is a bit noise coming from the passing trains. I am concerned regarding your opinion about our staff. It is a pity that you did not find us helpful enough and we were not given a chance to prove ourselves enough, as we aim for providing the best customer service possible.

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Oct 2016
10.0

I am living in hostels very often can say YHA Oxford is high standard hostel, is very safe, having homely atmosphere, comfortable wooden beds, clean. Alright people in. If go to Oxford will book them again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
6.9

Just by train station and a few mins from bus station and about 10 from centre. No WiFi in the rooms which nowadays is a must so that was a let down. Backpacker/budget places should have a small breakfast included in the price not one for £6. The breakfast was good but a lot of hostels give a small free breakfast. Which helps a lot when you're on a budget but that's yha.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hostel - it's always good to read guest comments. We decided to make breakfast optional to give everyone freedom - some folks like to use the guest kitchen to cook for themselves, some want to try out cafes in town and some miss the most important meal of the day altogether! Years ago we used to include a breakfast in the price and people asked for the choice and a rate without breakfast. (Nothing is ever free! Everything, down to the bars of soap in your room and taken into consideration when hotels set their rates!) We do pride ourselves in offering a good value breakfast with hot and cold drinks, full-English breakfast hot items, cereals, fruit, croissants and more in the £5.75 price. Thanks for the comments on w-fi - it's something that we'll take into consideration for the future. I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back at YHA next time you're in Oxford.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

One of the most well run and tidy hostels I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Overall very good! Lots of space in the room. The shelfs in the room are big, and lots of space of hanging clothes and towel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your reply. We are happy you have enjoyed the stay with us and hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.0

Wifi just on the ground floor. Ensuite is very nice. Good location near railway station, a bit noisy at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate the hostel after your stay. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you had a fantastic trip to Oxford.

  • piergiacomo9957
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
25th Aug 2016
4.0

first the hostel is literally behind the railway station, so you can imagine how noisy it can be... second the room was very, very dirty and smelly. They changed bed linen that's it nothing more. third the wifi is only in the reception area.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.