Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Oxford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 985 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 985 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.0

My best stay so far ... i haven’t stayed it that many hostels tbh . All around very good !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We're really happy to read that you had a good stay in the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your trip and thanks again for the good comment.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2017
10.0

Wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the 10-out-of-10 rating. We're really pleased to see that you had a good stay and enjoyed your time at the hostel. I hope that you had a great visit to the city of Oxford.

16th Apr 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel, and only slightly further out of town than the other main hostel - but hey, everything is closeby in Oxford. Honestly one of the nicest hostels I've seen in a while.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for posting your comments and rating of the hostel after your visit. We're really pleased to see that you had a good stay and rated us so highly. This is much appreciated. Enjoy the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again sometime at Oxford YHA.

14th Apr 2017
6.9

The hostel was fine it just wasn't as clean as I would have liked. And just little things here and there that effect your experience. My room carried a foul smell the whole time. The Wi-Fi didn't work. And it doesn't feel like a hostel so much as it does a hotel. Which could be good for some people. The location was pretty good. Overall, my stay was just okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on the hostel. We're disappointed to read that you found us just okay as we always aim to provide the best experience possible for all our guests. Please do let us know during your stay if there is anything we can do to improve things, as we'll always double-check the Wi-Fi and move your room if appropriate. It can be tough keeping a shared dormitory fresh and odourless. We do try our best to air rooms whenever we can and when they are fully vacated we deep-clean and carpet shampoo if needed. I'll certainly check the room that you stayed in. I hope that you still had a wonderful time in Oxford that you enjoy the rest of your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.4

Good location next to the train station. Simple room but clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your ratings of the hostel. We really appreciate the feedback and are very pleased to see that you found the room clean. We hope that you had a brilliant time in the city of Oxford and enjoy the rest of your trip.

24th Mar 2017
8.6

The location was easy (close to bus station and literally next to the train station) and the facilities where new and nice. In my opinion the one downside was that it wasn't a terribly social hostel, not the place to go to meet people to go out with etc

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts about the hostel after your visit. We're happy to see that you rated us so highly and the facilities suited your needs, but it's a pity that the atmosphere wasn't as you'd have liked this time. We get a wide range of guests staying in the hostel for all sorts of reasons and it can vary a lot from night-to-night. We do see a lot of travellers make new friends here, but I also appreciate that some nights guests are already in groups or want to keep to themselves. Sorry that it was the latter at the time you stayed. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip. Thanks for the feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
9.7

Big, clean, efficient, accessible and comfortable. Right by the station and close to the centre of the city. The best place to stay in Oxford.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for rating us so highly and posting your great comments about the hostel. This is much appreciated and we'll feed back to all the team. I hope that you had a great time in the city of Oxford and that you'll be back to stay with us another time.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
5.7

I stayed in an en-suite 6 bed dorm and it was right on the train tracks, across from the station, so it was very noisy. There was a bad smell in the room. It felt damp in the room as well, probably because there's no ventilation in the shower room and the heating wasn't on. The staff wasn't very friendly. However it's close to the city center and the kitchen is nice and big. There are big lockers in the rooms. Bring your own padlock.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hostel. We are very disappointed to read that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. Please do let us know during your stay if you are unhappy with the room for any reason - we'll always try to fix any problems or move you to a different room if at all possible. We did have an issue with the ventilation fan serving the shower rooms last week - this fan has now been replaced so should improve some of the issues you mentioned. The heating is controlled by guests in the room - again, any problems working this please let us know. I do hope that you still had a great time in Oxford and that you'll consider coming back and giving us another chance to prove how great the hostel and our staff can be! Thanks again for the feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
10.0

So accessible to the train and city! Tis hostel is so well structured as to make travelling easy, I am particularly grateful for the free cloak room. Having the choice of cooking or buying food, drinks and soup, make for a very hospitable environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback! We hope you will visit us again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Great! I'll be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.