Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Queenstown Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.3

Great hostel. Good central location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel which is well located and has nice commons areas and a well maintained kitchen. Good place to be if you are in queenstown. Only complaint is that the rooms are outdated and would enjoy new furniture, carpets and bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Location is really nice, and staff is also very kind! I'm satirfied with this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Perfectly fine accomodation. It's clean and staff is friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
9.4

Everything about yha is in par with the standard. Except the location. It's bang opposite Base (a noisy backpacker place with a pub attached) both times I stayed here i got the first room, closer to the road and closer to Base. Lot of noise from across the street until late night. But other wise, a great place with beautiful kitchen with a nice lake view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
8.0

I had an enjoyable stay at yha. The hostel was clean, the people was nice and the kitchen was amazing. As my guest And i was regular users of the kitchen with was very much happy with the cleanliness and the wide range of appliances. I would say that the age of the guests range was much older than myself (22) with the majority being around 40-60. Meaning there was a more chilled out atmosphere. Good hostel. Would recommend to a friend x

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2016
10.0

Amazing stay, would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Queenstown.. Fab views from the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thanks a lot for your kind comment and ratings! Its so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love our views too - hope to see you again next time you visit beautiful Queenstown.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
6.3

Alot of street noise from the room, and the walls are super thin, can hear people in room either side of us talking, no good if you want a good nights sleep or some privacy with your partner

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thanks a lot for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you had a hard time with noise while you stayed with us. Unfortunately the centrality of our location does mean that this can happen, however we like to think that the convenience and beauty of our spot does make up for it! In the future please feel free to ask at the front desk for a free pair of ear plugs - the staff will be happy to help.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
6.9

I paid extra for an ensuite private room. However when I pulled back the blanket to get into bed, it was clear the sheets hadn't been changed and there was a huge clump of someone else's hair in the bed. Disgusting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for your comments. Customer service and cleanliness are number one priorities for us here at YHA Central. I am shocked to hear that your bed was not cleaned. I will be sure to mention this to our cleaning staff. For the future, please don't hesitate to come down and see our reception staff if you have a problem, they will be only happy to help.

  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.4

It is located at the city center. The room was really spacious. I shared a five male dorm room. The toilet was clean, but it was three fixtures residential toilet/ bathroom, which is not suitable for a shared accommodation. Gang shower/toilet would be better. But luckily my room was not full. The kitchen area has a nice view of the lake and mountains. It was awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.