Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Queenstown Lakefront Located at 88-90 Lake Esplanade, , Queenstown.
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
New Zealand
Queenstown Southern Lakes 9300 88-90 Lake Esplanade
85% 391
-45.0348664 168.6534404
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hikexplorepeat
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.1

Beds were comfortable, View Was Amazing, Wifi wasn't the greatest but all together it was a good stay. I would recommend this to someone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

Love this place! Great friendly staff, spanking clean - FABULOUS kitchen! We really enjoyed our stay and would go again in a heartbeat. Love the YHA properties and this is the best of them all!!! Don't hesitate!! The BEST!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
8.0

It was really great! Awesome staff, great room, and good bathroom!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

Not bad at all; Refurbished, modern, and spacious places. Large rooms with massive lockers, personal charging point and light for each bed. But the rooms have a poor ventilation system. When you get in, you can realize a bad odour from a lack of ventilation that got me sick. A bit far from the center, not good for people who enjoy the convenience but suitable for who prefers relaxing places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel, very clean and the staff were top notch. The location is superb - as soon as you leave the front door you are staring at the lake surrounded by the mountains. The only complaint I'd have is that the people in my room weren't the friendliest but that's what you get with hostels sometimes - they can be hit and miss! I would definitely stay there again though and if you're looking for a non-party hostel I would definitely recommend it. Short walk into town too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, The staff will be really pleased with the compliment, they like to know what guests think of the service. It's a shame your room mates weren't as great as the staff! We get a variety of people staying here and not everyone is as keen to engage with fellow guests as others, which is a shame because that's what we're all about. Any time a guest isn't happy with their room, we'd like to know so we can do what we can to move them to a different one. Thanks for staying with us at YHA Queenstown Lakefront and we hope you find other great hostels around the YHA network. Kind Regards, Sue Fairclough Operations Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
5.4

Very disappointed that the room didn't match the advertised pictures. Room was very small, barely fit the bed. The room was a much lover standard than the rest. The floors and walls are exceptionally thin, so conversations from the other rooms can be heard clearly and every step the people above took were loud and clear long into the early hours of the morning. Room not very clean, hair clips from previous guests still on the bed as if the sheets had only been straightened and not changed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We're disappointed to hear that our facilities didn't match your expectations. We certainly don't use our pictures to mislead our guests. We do have a variety of rooms and we're unable to upload photos for all of them and so the room type you stayed in may have differed from the other rooms of the same type. We're refurbishing our hostel in a number of stages to address the issues of noise insulation and improve the overall facilities on offer so we hope that if you come back to Queenstown next year, you'll pop in to see the upgrade. Cleanliness is something our staff pride themselves on so we're sorry that you feel the sheets may not have been clean. We conduct room checks every day after the cleaners have finished to ensure sheets and rooms are clean and we would expect to pick up on things such as items on beds but this is something we'll address with our staff. We hope these issues didn't spoil your overall stay with us too much or tarnish your visit to Queenstown. If you come back again, we'd love the chance to offer you a different experience. Kind Regards, Sue Fairclough Operations Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
8.6

It's great and the stuff will make the place clean always. However, some of the people doesn't care about the tidy, like the won't clean up their dishes after they had their meal. Some people made noise even in the night. But, overall, it's great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.1

I had a great experience at YHA, the place was super clean and extremely secure. Facilities are new, the kitchen was huge and lots of space in the bathroom. The staff wasn't too friendly but it's not a big deal. 5-10 minute walk to city centre. Overall I had a wonderful stay, would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th May 2016
9.7

Slight walk from town centre but not too far. The rooms on the second floor are no good for this season. You can feel the temperature drop as soon as you walk up stairs towards the rooms, the hall way is freezing and also the room. The small blow heater on the wall isn't sufficient enough to heat full room. However we booked extra night and were put on 1st floor which seem new. Room was great also had a heater, lockers in room power plugs and lights at each bed it was much better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th May 2016
8.9

Great view of Lake Wanaka and mountains in the communal area. Loved the cosy warm fine and as always with YHA really good kitchen and bathroom facilities. Room was a bit cold though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.