X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Queenstown Lakefront Reviews

88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
273 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Good place.


26%

Old hostel which surely needs an update. Only one power point for 6 bed dorm in one corner of the room. Had to stay because no other hostels had beds available and they managed to mess up our reservation so I actually didn't have the bed that I had booked in via hostelworld.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback about our hostel. We are currently awaiting refurbishment of our bedrooms in the near future and will bear your helpful comments in mind. It's unfortunate to hear about the mess up with your booking. You are more than welcome to contact the hostel and provide me with further details. Very rarely, these kind of mistakes happen and we try our best to deal with them but it's sad to hear that you were not satisified. I would like to send my sincere apologies.

80%

Very nice. Its a bit out of the city, which is the only thing i can complain about


77%

Great location and great kitchen facilities and lounge area. A well run hostel in a fabulous location and nice quiet part of town. Walls between rooms however are very, very thin meaning you can hear every movement, cough or sniff from your neighbour. Toilet and showering facilities were functional and clean. Room (double) was very small and very basic - more so than many other hostels we have stayed in .

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Well run hostel with pleasant staff. Great location.


71%

Dirty sheats in our twin room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Brenton, I am very unhappy to hear that you had dirty sheets on your bed as this is no way reflects the high standards that we usually have at the YHA. I do hope that your complaint was dealt with appropriately and that you were compensated whilst you were here. I would like to send my sincere apologies in this instance. Please feel free to call the hostel to discuss this anytime. YHA Management

80%

Dear Hostelworld Please note that this hostel was already full when I booked the room through you. On your homepage the room was available which was not the case anymore. I had to find an alternative accomodation and my credit card got charged. I contacted your office in India directly and explained them my situation. After this happening I kindly ask you to refund me the amount which you charged on my credit card. Thank you and best regards.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I really liked the communal areas of this hostel. Really easy to get chatting to other travellers and it was so comfy. Kitchen is also big and very clean. Nice location on the lakefront but it is a 10/15 min walk to town.


77%

It's about a 10 minutes walk to the main city centre area but this hostel makes up for it with great views of Laka Wakatipu. Excellent kitchen area with good, clean facilities.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Was booked into lakeside but was transferred to central as a laughable 'upgrade' there were loud pipe noises throughout night beds creek really loudly and a bit like a prison




View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback