Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • arbaugham8156
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.9

The rooms were very tidy, the bathrooms clean, the kitchen large, and everything seemed updated. One negative is that the hostel is not in the middle of the town, but still an easy walk along the lakefront.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
9.4

Very clean bathrooms and bedrooms! They provide hairdryers in the girls bathroom which is really nice! Massive kitchen! And great location! And they sell some groceries at reception which is nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.0

A little further out so makes it's bit more quiet. But absolutely amazing facilities !! Where I'd stay from now on!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

We would definitely return to YHA Lakeside. Security was top notch, with locks on all dorm doors and lockers in each room. Our bunks had lights and sockets which made each space feel a little more private (though all of our roomies were great). Wifi was always strong. Rooms were kept tidy and toilets/showers were never overcrowded. The kitchen was really well stocked with herbs and lots of lockers were available for food. Location was great and staff (particularly Andre) were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
8.3

A nice very big clean hostel where it's easy to park your car. It's a bit sterile in terms of atmosphere, however the facilities are impressive. It's about 15 mins walk from Queenstown, but this isn't too difficult! I'd say about 8/10 guests at the hostel were Chinese tourists, this isn't a problem, I just mention this with regards to meeting other backpackers which I found a bit difficult in this hostel. Overall a very good hostel with friendly helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.1

A little out of the centre but only a 5/10 min walk- nice to be out of town and by the lake. Not very sociable but lovely and quiet. Has a Tv room and wifi. Big kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.1

Great kitchen and bathroom facilities here. Bedrooms a little compact! Lovely location overlooking lake, but a longer walk to the right life.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay at YHA Lakefront. The facilities are really good, its clean, comfy, and the staff are nice. Hairdryers in the bathrooms which was great. The kitchen is large and well equipped so many people can easily cook at once. It is a little walk from the main shops and bars in Queenstown centre, but still very close to the lake. Only discomfort was the rooms got a little stuffy. Good place if you are looking for a peaceful nights sleep - social but definitely not a party hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Great facilities, great staff, a short walk to town. Not a party hostel and not the cheapest but it's really well done out and great for an independent traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Clean room and common facilities. They have lockers for hire if you need to store your stuff before you get room access.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.