Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Mar 2017
8.3

A nice very big clean hostel where it's easy to park your car. It's a bit sterile in terms of atmosphere, however the facilities are impressive. It's about 15 mins walk from Queenstown, but this isn't too difficult! I'd say about 8/10 guests at the hostel were Chinese tourists, this isn't a problem, I just mention this with regards to meeting other backpackers which I found a bit difficult in this hostel. Overall a very good hostel with friendly helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.1

Great kitchen and bathroom facilities here. Bedrooms a little compact! Lovely location overlooking lake, but a longer walk to the right life.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay at YHA Lakefront. The facilities are really good, its clean, comfy, and the staff are nice. Hairdryers in the bathrooms which was great. The kitchen is large and well equipped so many people can easily cook at once. It is a little walk from the main shops and bars in Queenstown centre, but still very close to the lake. Only discomfort was the rooms got a little stuffy. Good place if you are looking for a peaceful nights sleep - social but definitely not a party hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Great facilities, great staff, a short walk to town. Not a party hostel and not the cheapest but it's really well done out and great for an independent traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Clean room and common facilities. They have lockers for hire if you need to store your stuff before you get room access.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
8.0

Good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
7.1

Decent, a bit out of the way though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Located on Lakefront, beautiful view, super clean and nice facilities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
6.6

Wifi was quite good and there is good kitchen facilities. The staff seemed uncaring though and i was told i wasnt allowed to have a small parcel delivered by one and then told i was by another two days later. Hostel is well maintained and clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
8.9

The location is great overlooking the lake and walking distance to the town. The facilities are great. They provided sufficient toilet and shower for the guests. The kitchen is huge and very spacious. However it was a bit messy during my stay there. Something need to be done to remind guests to keep the kitchen clean and tidy. The reception hour is great for early or late comer and they are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.