Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
YHA Rotorua Located at 1278 Haupapa Street, , Rotorua.
YHA Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1278 Haupapa Street
86% 448
-38.1361093 176.2479114
YHA Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.6

Lovely hostel, i have stayed in a lot of YHAs and have never been disappointed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
5.7

Very sad to say our stay (in private room) was ruined by paper thin walls. The first night was sleepless due to snoring all night in the next room, the next night was again sleepless due to stomping down the stairs and doors slamming. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but naturally there isn't much they can do about a poorly constructed building. I cannot recommend the private rooms due to this, you may as well stay in a dorm for less money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to place a review. It's unfortunate you had two restless sleeps due to noise. We are aware that the building's sound proofing isn't the best when there is a lot people in-house but let me assure you we a aware of the issue and are currently in discussion on how to fix this problem. I am happy you found the staff helpful and friendly :) Regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th May 2016
9.7

absolutely great!! Not only the cheapest hostel I've had here yet, but also one of the cleanest and modern ones. Kitchen and lounge are big and in a very new building, rooms aren't really big but very nice anyway. Would definitely recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thanks for the review. It's fantastic that you had a good hostel experience staying with us. Great to hear you found us affordable and clean. Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
10.0

Definitely one of the best and cleanest YHA hostels around New Zealand! Super spacious, quiet and clean in a very good location! It was my third visit and whenever I come back to Rotorua, I would know where I would stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Wow what a great review. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. It's great that this is you're 3rd time with us and still find the hostel great! Look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future :) Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Apr 2016
5.7

Not much atmosphere in this hostel. Lots of young teens running through the halls at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, great location, and super friendly staff! Had a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Feb 2016
6.9

Rooms were decent however there were no lockers. There was wifi in the main hostel however it didn't reach out to the rooms which we were in a bit away from the main building. Bathrooms were clean and had hair dryers which was nice. Kitchen was large and had lots of equipment so was good for cooking. Staff helped us organise activities for the day time. One fault, checkin was meant to be 2 but we didn't get in to 3 or after as they were running behind. However overall we'd a good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ssurry879
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2016
8.9

Nice big 6 bed room, not far from the town centre. Each section of the hostel has its own kitchen so it doesn't get too crowded. Wifi was free but not very strong in all parts of the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and location of the hostel. We are very lucky to have multiple kitchens so its not a race to get in first. Thanks for letting us know about the WIFI. We have just had this fixed so we may need to re-look at this. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.3

Nice clean basic hostel with good comunal facilities and well located. Lockers only one use which I think is a shame and my stay was ruined unfortunately by a large group of really noisy teenagers but that's not the hostels fault. Would Def recommend and I'm a fussy girl travelling solo!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. Our current locker system unfortunately can be a bit of a pain, we are in discussions of a new in room locker system which will be a lot more practical for our guests use. Thanks for recommendation, it's great to know we're good enough even for fussy girl travellers! :) Safe travels to you. Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2016
10.0

Girls on reception were amazing. They couldn't do enough for me. I cannot rate this hostel high enough. It was lovely. Xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.