Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Rotorua Located at 1278 Haupapa Street, , Rotorua.
YHA Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1278 Haupapa Street
89% 505
-38.1361093 176.2479114
YHA Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • victorialvernon452
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Really clean and secure and the facilities are great it's just the staff were a little grumpy but maybe I caught them on a bad day. 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Would definitely recommend this hostel. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was clean and comfortable. Showers were hot. Lacked atmosphere in the social areas. Great kitchen facilities and free parking!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel and a great team on reception, always made to feel welcome. Rooms small but have everything you need and very clean. The only thing that lets the hostel down are the guests who think it's ok to leave dishes and not clean up after themselves !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Dec 2016
7.1

Typical for what you'd expect from a YHA. Good location and facilities but lacking in social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
9.4

Nothing to complain about this Hostel. I'm travelling with Kiwi Experience and they stay next door in another Hostel ( Base ) as I really didn't like Base in Australia I decided not to stay with the group and book YHA, the smartest decision I could ever make. FREE WIFI was fast, big Kitchen/lounge, friendly staff. I highly recommend staying at YHA anywhere in New Zealand. Im writing this review from YHA Taupo sing the free wifi ( in NZ/Australia they normally charge ). Thanks for the lovely stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am glad you chose to stay with YHA in NZ and it has met all your expectations so far! I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ :-) Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Dec 2016
6.9

We were staying in a separate building from the main building of the hostel, so it was quite a fair bit of walk from the counter. There were separate Kitchens and our kitchen ran out of salt, we had to walk back and forth to take them. The pantry and tv area wasn't that comfortable compared to the main one, basically our building felt a bit neglected.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
10.0

We occupied the only room on the upstairs floor where the kitchen and lounge area are situated. People did not have the courtesy to be quiet late at night, or early in the morning. Other guests need to be reminded that there is a bedroom there. Mattress needs to be a bit thick too please.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that other guests were a bit noisy during your stay, we will make sure we continue to remind guests to be quiet in that area to reduce this happening. We are currently upgrading our mattresses throughout the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager

3rd Dec 2016
9.7

Great stay here, we stayed in an annex with our own kitchen, laundry facilities and tv away from main building! Lockers in the room which charging ports in them as well was a bonus! Good location for everything in Rotorua and was very clean! Typical yha!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the location to be central to everything! Enjoy your travels in NZ. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager

26th Nov 2016
6.9

Experience here was very meh. Was disappointed that they didn't have any kind of personal locker area, and the Wi-Fi, normally a positive for YHAs, was out during our stay. It's fine, but doesn't live up to the standards of some of the other hostels we've been to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Nov 2016
9.1

Stayed there for two nights, there was an issue with my booking which the manager spent time to resolve which was appreciated. Comfortable beds, facilities were good with small common areas in each block along with a larger common area in the main block. I'd stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.