Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Mar 2017
6.9

Everything was pretty fine except for the space in the 6 person dorm. It was very difficult to move around if one person was standing and trying to get to their stuff. Lockers, kitchen, and lounge area were nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.1

Great place to stay in Rotorua. They even have many offers for interesting activities you can do in the area. Kitchen and lounge are spacious and clean. We stayed in 6 bed dorm but had trouble with our doorlock as it really hard to open (other people in the room experience the same thing too), but other than that we enjoyed our stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback and recommendation of being a great place to stay here in Rotorua! In regards to the door being hard to open, I will check all our 6 bed dorm room doors today and rectify any issues to make it easier to open, thank you for making us aware of this, please let us know at the time, so we can solve this immediately to make your stay much more comfortable :-) Enjoy your travels. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, free wifi, all clean!! Just the location could be better since the supermarket is a 15 minute walk away :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you found the hostel to very good and clean! We do have a few stores closer to the hostel for very basic needs, but if you do want to do a full shop then yes it is approximately 15 minutes walk, but if required there is a bus stop right at the corner of the hostel :-) Enjoy your travels. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.9

Like every YHA great! The room a bit too tiny but all in one it wasn't bad!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
8.0

right opposite park - recommend to see the free steam pools in there. Short walk from eat street and shopping area. Supermarket a bit of a walk but ok - 10 mins. Plug sockets in lockers. Lockers not big enough for big ruck sack. Kitchen big and clean with large seating area. 10 min walk to hobbit shop for trip to hobbiton. Get YHA card if you can as YHA is one of best in lot of areas - wellington, tangarino crossing, auckland etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Good location. Road leads right down the centre. Staff are really friendly and rooms were clean as were the bathrooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • victorialvernon452
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Really clean and secure and the facilities are great it's just the staff were a little grumpy but maybe I caught them on a bad day. 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Would definitely recommend this hostel. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was clean and comfortable. Showers were hot. Lacked atmosphere in the social areas. Great kitchen facilities and free parking!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel and a great team on reception, always made to feel welcome. Rooms small but have everything you need and very clean. The only thing that lets the hostel down are the guests who think it's ok to leave dishes and not clean up after themselves !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Dec 2016
7.1

Typical for what you'd expect from a YHA. Good location and facilities but lacking in social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.