Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
YHA Rotorua Located at 1278 Haupapa Street, , Rotorua.
YHA Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1278 Haupapa Street
90% 484
-38.1361093 176.2479114
YHA Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Nov 2016
6.9

Experience here was very meh. Was disappointed that they didn't have any kind of personal locker area, and the Wi-Fi, normally a positive for YHAs, was out during our stay. It's fine, but doesn't live up to the standards of some of the other hostels we've been to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
8.3

I planned to stay for one night only, but i ended up staying for 2 nights. The reception guys were really cheerful and helpful. I was placed in another building, next to the reception building. The room was clean and nice, toilet was clean, kitchen & common room were good. But the downside was poor internet connection in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.4

We stayed in a 4 bed room, which was tiny! The 6 bed rooms seemed to be more spacious (I'd recommend those.) We stayed in the seperate building which has a nice living area and kitchen upstairs. The bathroom was clean and had everything you needed. No complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Free upgrade, friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.3

Lovely staff especially the wonderful Maori guys who are fun and deliver great customer service. Lovely clean place, feels like a hotel. Loved it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Oct 2016
9.4

Standard YHA experience. Everything was clean, well set up, beds comfy, big kitchen blah blah blah. Not a big party hostel, but WiFi good enough to Netflix

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
9.7

Had a great stay. Nice location, relatively close to everything. Very relaxed atmosphere, and nice facilities. Staff were really friendly. Room layout was nice - kind of cramped and no lockers, but also no bunk beds which was a nice change. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
8.0

Good location, clean kitchen, friendly reception staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2016
9.1

We stayed ina private room. There were no plugs in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.4

Overall great however room very small and cramped. Not bunk beds 4 single bed on floor and no storage for bags so little room to move around in room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of upgrading and improving our dorm rooms to have new bunk beds and storage lockers to overcome the issue of space in the room. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Rotorua. Kind regards Emma Lake - Assistant Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.