Hostelworld.com

YHA Rotorua

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Rotorua Located at 1278 Haupapa Street, , Rotorua.
YHA Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1278 Haupapa Street
86% 439
-38.1361093 176.2479114
YHA Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Apr 2016
5.7

Not much atmosphere in this hostel. Lots of young teens running through the halls at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, great location, and super friendly staff! Had a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Feb 2016
6.9

Rooms were decent however there were no lockers. There was wifi in the main hostel however it didn't reach out to the rooms which we were in a bit away from the main building. Bathrooms were clean and had hair dryers which was nice. Kitchen was large and had lots of equipment so was good for cooking. Staff helped us organise activities for the day time. One fault, checkin was meant to be 2 but we didn't get in to 3 or after as they were running behind. However overall we'd a good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ssurry879
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2016
8.9

Nice big 6 bed room, not far from the town centre. Each section of the hostel has its own kitchen so it doesn't get too crowded. Wifi was free but not very strong in all parts of the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and location of the hostel. We are very lucky to have multiple kitchens so its not a race to get in first. Thanks for letting us know about the WIFI. We have just had this fixed so we may need to re-look at this. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.3

Nice clean basic hostel with good comunal facilities and well located. Lockers only one use which I think is a shame and my stay was ruined unfortunately by a large group of really noisy teenagers but that's not the hostels fault. Would Def recommend and I'm a fussy girl travelling solo!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. Our current locker system unfortunately can be a bit of a pain, we are in discussions of a new in room locker system which will be a lot more practical for our guests use. Thanks for recommendation, it's great to know we're good enough even for fussy girl travellers! :) Safe travels to you. Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2016
10.0

Girls on reception were amazing. They couldn't do enough for me. I cannot rate this hostel high enough. It was lovely. Xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
9.7

Clean, comfortable, nice kitchen and bathroom. Excellent location and friendly staff. Will definitely recommend this place to friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your wonderful feedback, I am glad you had a great stay and thank you for your recommendation to others. We hope to see you again in the future! Take care Kind regards Haylee Bloor

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
6.3

There should be lockers available in the rooms or at least have them available and each brings its own lock. There should not be a cost to keep your stuff safe. Its called budget accommodation for a reason.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora and thank you for your feedback. Lockers are important and we have a network wide investment plan to include lockers in all of our hostels. YHA Rotorua's turn for implementation is later this year. Sorry this was not implemented in time for your stay and your feedback is a good point, well made. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards Haylee Bloor

31st Jan 2016
10.0

Excellent accommodations with a friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay with YHA Rotorua again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again in the future! Enjoy your travels. Kind regards Haylee Bloor

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2016
9.1

Great hostel, the staff were very welcoming! Would definitely return!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, thank you for taking the time to review us, such lovely feedback and we hope to see you again in the future! Take care and enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ. Kind regards Haylee Bloor

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.