Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
9.4

Went in winter so was way quieter than normal but had a great stay. Rooms have massive lockers and can leave items in them charging. Big kitchen and prep area and can relax in tv room has pool table too. Great wifi and keycard on room security which is good. Few mins walk to central rotorua and next to geothermal parkland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.4

An awesome hostel that clearly has backpackers in mind. Has lamps at the beds which is nice for those going to bed at different times. Had a big open kitchen which was vey nice. Generally a very nice and clean hostel. Only downside is that the kitchen and bathrooms were a bit cold (in the winter) and that the wifi only works in the lounge area and not your rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stealthbeast3221
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.9

Brilliant location! Easy walk to everything in town and next to the steaming geothermal park! Very clean and well organised. Good booking facilities too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SachinMehta
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Good hostel overall. Excellent unlimited wifi. The staff are really friendly and help to suggest / arrange trips. The kitchen is huge and well equipped. Dorms are good with lockers. Showers were decent but sometimes smelt a bit funky. Laundry onsite if required

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
9.1

Great place. Can't beat the location! A great park directly behind it, and only a few feet from Ponsonby Rd. I only stayed for 2 nights, but it had a very cozy feel and would be good for a longer stay. It's very big though, so I didn't meet people the way I did when I stayed at smaller hostels. I probably would have if I had stayed longer though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
5.4

The Hostel felt very old and rundown and the private room was very small with only 1 pillow per person. Fair enough it is a hostel but I have stayed in other hostels around NZ and they have been similar price, far more modern and with updated facilities. Just didn't feel like it was value for money. The staff were amazing and very helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
10.0

Great locations, super chill staff, and great housing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
9.4

Nice hostel. Location is good as everything is within short walking distance. Staff are very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about what to do in the area. Very big kitchen and common area. Free wifi available in almost the entire hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
6.9

Everything was pretty fine except for the space in the 6 person dorm. It was very difficult to move around if one person was standing and trying to get to their stuff. Lockers, kitchen, and lounge area were nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.1

Great place to stay in Rotorua. They even have many offers for interesting activities you can do in the area. Kitchen and lounge are spacious and clean. We stayed in 6 bed dorm but had trouble with our doorlock as it really hard to open (other people in the room experience the same thing too), but other than that we enjoyed our stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback and recommendation of being a great place to stay here in Rotorua! In regards to the door being hard to open, I will check all our 6 bed dorm room doors today and rectify any issues to make it easier to open, thank you for making us aware of this, please let us know at the time, so we can solve this immediately to make your stay much more comfortable :-) Enjoy your travels. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.