Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
YHA Rotorua Located at 1278 Haupapa Street, , Rotorua.
YHA Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 3010 1278 Haupapa Street
87% 455
-38.1361093 176.2479114
YHA Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.4

Overall great however room very small and cramped. Not bunk beds 4 single bed on floor and no storage for bags so little room to move around in room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of upgrading and improving our dorm rooms to have new bunk beds and storage lockers to overcome the issue of space in the room. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Rotorua. Kind regards Emma Lake - Assistant Manager

9th Sep 2016
10.0

I was very happy with my stay here!! I arrived late, around 11pm and there was someone there to check me in and make me feel comfortable. Bed was super nice and rooms stayed quiet even tho people were being loud down the hall. Lovely staff, huge kitchen to use with fridges and storage, also a great hang out area. Very nice place. Will come again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am glad you had a comfortable stay here with us and found our facilities to be useful for your stay. I will pass your comments onto the rest of our staff. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. Kind regards Emma Lake - Assistant Manager

31st Aug 2016
10.0

The staff was excellent!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Thank you for your positive review towards our staff, I will be sure to let them know! I hope you enjoyed your stay here in Rotorua and the rest of your travels through our beautiful country. Kind regards Emma Lake - Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Visited here with my 16 year old son. 😃Had twin room + own bathroom+lockable sliding door.Ro basic but clean.😃 Only used as base between trips out anyway. Beds comfortable. Rooms nice + warm. Staff really helpful in all aspects.😃 Asked for guidance on which trips to do + the ones they suggested were amazing fun!😃😃😃(Did Maori evening, geothermal pools, jet boat ride + Bungy jumping) 😃😃😃😃 Definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Rotorua 😃 Loved it! 😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.6

Lovely hostel, i have stayed in a lot of YHAs and have never been disappointed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
5.7

Very sad to say our stay (in private room) was ruined by paper thin walls. The first night was sleepless due to snoring all night in the next room, the next night was again sleepless due to stomping down the stairs and doors slamming. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but naturally there isn't much they can do about a poorly constructed building. I cannot recommend the private rooms due to this, you may as well stay in a dorm for less money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to place a review. It's unfortunate you had two restless sleeps due to noise. We are aware that the building's sound proofing isn't the best when there is a lot people in-house but let me assure you we a aware of the issue and are currently in discussion on how to fix this problem. I am happy you found the staff helpful and friendly :) Regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th May 2016
9.7

absolutely great!! Not only the cheapest hostel I've had here yet, but also one of the cleanest and modern ones. Kitchen and lounge are big and in a very new building, rooms aren't really big but very nice anyway. Would definitely recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thanks for the review. It's fantastic that you had a good hostel experience staying with us. Great to hear you found us affordable and clean. Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
10.0

Definitely one of the best and cleanest YHA hostels around New Zealand! Super spacious, quiet and clean in a very good location! It was my third visit and whenever I come back to Rotorua, I would know where I would stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Wow what a great review. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. It's great that this is you're 3rd time with us and still find the hostel great! Look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future :) Kind regards, Teresa Stout Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Apr 2016
5.7

Not much atmosphere in this hostel. Lots of young teens running through the halls at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.