Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Stratford upon Avon

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 359 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 359 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Sep 2017
9.7

No internet on upper floors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for the fantastic rating. We hope that you will consider YHA again for your next trip.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Aug 2017
8.6

Beautiful building. Bit cold as doors were left wide despite chill. Strange atmosphere. Great kitchen and garden. When I went to my room all beds seemed occupied so I asked in reception. They immediately came in and changed four beds although there were some possessions on all, and told me to take any! Then in night some girl came looking for her bed! They had to relocate her then. I asked if another dorm was vacant as mine was very dark but was told no, yet they relocted the other girl...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.6

It's far from the center, I don't have a car, so I have to walk an hour from The center. And no bus can arrive after I enjoyed the play in theatre of course. So walk in the dark wasn't really funny. By so far, other things are good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed your stay! You can always jump in a cab if you are coming back late!

24th Jul 2017
7.4

I had a good experience at the hostel -- when I arrived I was able to upgrade to a private room, so I had no security problems. But I would have appreciated lockers if I'd been sharing a room. It's convenient to have a bar and restaurant on the premises, but the eggs at the breakfast buffet are inedible--maybe made from powder. The hostel is located a ways from the town centre. After seeing a play at the Swan, I couldn't get a cab, and the buses had quit running, so had to walk 1/2 hour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.9

The place was very picturesque, i was especially pleased with the young lass who checked us in, without needing to ask she had highlighted a map for us and explained where things were in the city centre, how far driving/walking was, good food and shopping etc, also was very knowledgable about the hostel (food prices, breakfast, surrounding area) she was efficient and made booking in a breeze! The room was fine, the light above my bed didn't work but that's the only criticism i can give.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.4

A great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're pleased that you had a great stay- thanks for sharing your thoughts with the hostelling community! Come again soon!

4th Jun 2017
8.9

Beds were a little uncomfortable, but the facilities were great. I also really enjoyed the building and grounds and the history they held. Also, the orange juice was just orange water. But the apple juice was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and comments, it's really appreciated! Mattresses are one of those things that people have personal preferences on and many people comment that they had a great night's sleep. We're glad you liked our grand old building and its beautiful grounds. Our OJ is 100% orange juice as used in most of YHAs 150+ hostels.

  • goodcommonscents
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Jun 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel, a bit off the beaten path - 2 miles outside town, around 7.70 for a taxi, 2 lb for bus that stops just outside hostel. Pretty quiet, nice period house, comfortable lounging, great game room. Nigel rocks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, so glad you enjoyed your stay! We agree - Nigel does rock! I'm sure he'll be happy to hear your comments! Thanks for your review and ratings, we hope to see you again next time you are in England.

28th May 2017
9.1

Clean building and lovely stuff. I suppose this hostel is one of the best choices for staying in Stratford-upon-Avon. However, quite far from town center so I recommend checking bus' timetable carefully. The timetable can get at the reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Very nice property, super clean and great environment. Be ready for kids, kids, kids! Students everywhere, were stacked along all hallways, stairwells and outside. Were a little loud in tyre hallways but nothing too bad. Maybe there was a group in town or maybe it's just like that all the time. Location is kinda rough bc it's pretty far from town but it's very pretty and scenic. Had to take a cab from the train station and into town.Room is awesome!!Super clean, huge and modern. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review! We welcome people of all ages at YHA - this includes a lot of school groups who visit for the many educational activities that Stratford has to offer. We know we are a little bit out of town, but many people enjoy the peace and tranquillity that is afforded by our location. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×