Hostelworld.com

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers Located at 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, Taupo.
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
New Zealand
Taupo 3330 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo
87% 221
-38.6840022 176.0744905
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

I had a great time at Finlay Jacks, would definitely recommend. The staff were brilliant; super knowledgable on the local area and enthusiastic about the activities you can do. All the rooms face a courtyard in the middle, plus there's a good sized kitchen with multiple fridges, so lots of space to socialise. All areas were kept clean and the constant background music created a relaxed atmosphere. Thanks guys for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

The crew here is nothing short of spectacular! Friendly vibe and clean facilities is a plus. The hostel staff is particularly helpful with providing the most pragmatic options for your day adventures given the weather (was there in May). Killer work guys, yew!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
8.9

The room was very spacious. Everything you need in a hostel. My only critique is that the were almost no plug in the room so recharging my tablette was complicated. Wifi is good, but not in all the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel, awesome people. Clean, Comfy, Cozy and Funkyl!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.4

Fab hostel, would definitely go back! Comfiest beds around, highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Best hostel in New Zealand, amazing atmosphere, great facilities and made even better by the hot staff in the office.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Great nights stay. Well set up and sociable. Comfiest bed i've slept in at a hostel. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Were glad you enjoyed our single beds. Good luck with your adventures in Auckland.

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.0

Nice hostel with great common areas, specially the garden. Free wifi but, at some times, it was not working so well. The staff is very friendly and the location quiet convenient, in the city center and pretty close to the supermarket. There are lockers outside the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 50 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
6.9

Alright hostel, but lacked atmosphere. We were in a dorm with joint bathroom that had two doors - so you ended up always going through another dorm to get to the bathroom. Only stayed two nights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.0

I just stayed alone for one night. It was a really fun place. When I came the reception staff was very nice, though it threw me off a little that he just unlocked the door of my room and walked right into the girl's room. The room had windows on the courtyard anyway so they have needed to close them if they were going to change in there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.