Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Mar 2017
9.4

Only stayed there one night but was very impressed. Good staff, great kitchen and really close to the main cheap supermarket. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.7

Loved staying at this hostel! Very chill atmosphere and easy going friendly staff! Rooms were great and very clean! Only thing I didn't like was that anyone from the street could access the common outside area! Overall great experience and would 100% stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Loved Finlay Jacks, stil! Staff were rad, beds were super comfy and everybody got along with everyone. Definitely recommending to anyone that passes through Taupō!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

Favourite hostel in NZ, came back to Taupo for a second time specifically to come back to Finlay Jacks for a few days rest. Atmosphere chilling in the courtyard green couldn't be better, easy to meet people and good music drinking some beers. Bathrooms are spotless and great showers, beds are comfy and homely. Friendly staff, free wifi which is really fast. Couldn't recommend high enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your awesome review, were happy you enjoyed your stay! Come back anytime, we would be glad to see you. Enjoy the rest of your travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in New Zealand by far. Great atmosphere and lovely staff. Bruno was especially helpful with recommending fun places to explore in the general area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the awesome review! We're glad Bruno was able to show you a few things to do here in Taupo! Come back soon :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.3

There was very little atmosphere. Everything else was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurahhh5448
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, really chilled and clean with good facilities! Nice staff and great atmosphere, Would 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is a really nice place, one of the best I stayed at during my entire trip! The rooms are nice and clean and the staff is very friendly! I enjoyed my stay there! Thanks to everyone again especially Bruno!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.7

Good place. Security in the rooms not good as doors out to the back were unlocked. Apart from that, would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aljones10013526
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Chaos in kitchen and dining hall. Too many people stuffing too many things into kitchen shelves and coolers. Plenty of stove burners and sinks but still crowded. No freezer. Rooms crowded, stuffy and very hot. No air flow. Smokers outside; smoke drifted into dorms. Mattresses better than many hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.