Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay here! My room was clean, the beds were comfortable (pillows were amazing!), the ensuite bathroom was cleaned daily, kitchen was spotless and well supplied, and the hostel is not too far from the lake or the hot springs. Staff were also very friendly, helpful and courteous. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Taupo :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.1

Wifi is very good, facilities are awesome, staff is very good. Great thing about this place is that the communal area is a different building so you can have drink or not be bothered when others are loud and you are trying to get some rest. Wish it was slighly cheaper, I would definately consider staying longer if that was the case.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.7

Fantastic hostel. Friendly, helpful staff. Very good sized communal area with well stocked kitchen. Clean throughout. Good bathroom facilities. A very short walk to the main shops and restaurants so nice and quiet. Would definitely stay here again! 5 stars. Only let down (not at all the hostel's fault) is that people sometimes didn't lock the dorm room after leaving. But it felt very safe none the less.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
10.0

This place was excellent. Great location, the staff were really helpful and gave us amazing tips for things to do, and the facilities were perfect. Our beds were super comfy, everything was clean. Only thing that was a bit frustrating was the wifi. It didn't work at night as I assume that is when the majority of the guests were using it- perhaps the router was overwhelmed? Either way, we loved this spot and would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
10.0

Loved my stay there, clean, good wifi, parkingspace, comfy bed!, big kitchen, nice staff, chillt atmosphere! Huge locker. Would stay there definitely again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel, friendly and helpful staff, super clean, super comfortable, excellent facilities. Can't recommend highly enough! Best YHA out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Not a bad place. Set up is more like a motel. Common area with netflix. Plenty of parking. Big kitchen thats always busy but clean. $7 for laundry. Not a bad spot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.7

Literally the comfiest hostel bed ever. And two pillows. Only thing was the lack of a good social area outside but overall i would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel, comfortable beds and good sized lockers for big rucksacks. Nice big kitchen and comfy living room lots of dvds. Staff were helpful and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.4

Only stayed there one night but was very impressed. Good staff, great kitchen and really close to the main cheap supermarket. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.