Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • quyendominh
  • Vietnam, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2017
10.0

Nice location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Sep 2017
9.1

The kitchen is the highlight of this hostel. It's well equipped and huge making it easy to make your own meals and keep backpacking costs down. The beds are also very comfortable. The Rooms are clean, although in ensuite bathrooms have a little mould from the shower. We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Aug 2017
9.1

Great hostel with nice beds, big kitchen and dining area. Also very close to supermarket and a 15 min walk to the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
9.1

I stayed in a single room which was quite small but for a few more dollars than a dorm was worth it to get a quiet nights sleep. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean and location was good. Easy to walk around town and only about an hour to the falls. Even provided a towel for free. One slight problem was you have to walk outside to get to the kitchen/ common area which can be annoying in the winter cold and rain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, we are glad you found the location ideal and that the kichen and bathrooms were up to standards :-) happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.9

Room cleaning needs to be a bit more thorough, moving furniture & cleaning behind. Otherwise really good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review - we are glad you had a good stay with us :-) happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.7

Great place, everything is very close to the hostel and the facilities are in a great shape. The beds were amazing and it's a great advantage that rooms are equipped with their own bathrooms, as it gets kind of cold during the winter. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review! Glad you enjoyed your stay at Finlay Jacks :-) great to hear you would stay again - happy travels!

3rd Aug 2017
9.1

Buen hostel bien ubicado en el centro de Auckland. Wifi bueno y gratis. Buenos lockers con cargadores usb dentro. Buena atención de su personal. Muy atento

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review :-) happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel! One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in my whole life! Clean rooms, great location, great staff, great price! Just make sure to bring a lock. There are personal storage drawers under the beds, but you need your own lock for them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel with very nice staff and very good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the fab review :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! Cheers, Finlay Jacks!

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2017
10.0

2 min walking to a supermarket, close to town, great facilities, helpful staff and to top it off a fantastic kitchen and probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in during my travels in New Zealand! If you are in Taupo, definitely stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for taking the time to review your stay :) We really appreciate the great feedback! Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ and come back to Taupo soon! All the best, Finlay Jacks

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×