Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers Located at 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, Taupo.
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
New Zealand
Taupo 3330 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo
88% 236
-38.6840022 176.0744905
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.4

V.clean hostel but zero atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.9

Comfortable, tidy stay overall, but wifi did not reach us in our room (4B).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Really nice hostel ! The beds are actually comfortable , the showers are great, and I most important the staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad you had such a good stay here and thanks for the awesome review :) Kim @ Finlay Jacks

16th Jun 2016
9.7

Best hostel I stayed at in NZ. Great town, the people who work there are really helpful and friendly too. Would definitely come back next time I'm in NZ

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really loved having you here so definitely pop back next time you're in Taupo! Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kim "@ Finlay Jacks

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.7

The only issue I had was that my phone wouldn't connect to the internet, although that could've been more the fault of my phone than the internet service. Otherwise it was a great place, no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you had issues with the internet but glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully see you back here again soon! Thanks, Kim @ Finlay Jacks

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
9.4

I found this hostel one of the most comfortable hostels I have stayed in since being in New Zealand. All of the staff are friendly and enthusiastic about their jobs and are always happy to help. The beds were great and the communal areas were clean. It was also nice to have free tea and coffee for people who are staying at the hostel and free wifi is always a bonus. The atmosphere was very friendly especially with the lounge area being used frequently for Netflix and film nights. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the great review! we are happy you had such a good stay here :) The TV room is being used a lot due to the colder weather so we're glad you were able to join us for a film night! Come back soon. Kim @ Finlay Jacks.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
10.0

Finlay Jacks is a great hostel. They have great facilities and it is very clean. The cleaners have great banter and are very friendly and obviously enjoy working there. The staff are brilliant and nothing is ever too much for the. Netflix and the Xbox are great for the rainy days. They are always great to give you ideas of what to do with your time whilst in Taupo. Would definitely recommend staying here when in Taupo. Very well located for all shops and restaurants. Great job guys!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

I had a great time at Finlay Jacks, would definitely recommend. The staff were brilliant; super knowledgable on the local area and enthusiastic about the activities you can do. All the rooms face a courtyard in the middle, plus there's a good sized kitchen with multiple fridges, so lots of space to socialise. All areas were kept clean and the constant background music created a relaxed atmosphere. Thanks guys for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

The crew here is nothing short of spectacular! Friendly vibe and clean facilities is a plus. The hostel staff is particularly helpful with providing the most pragmatic options for your day adventures given the weather (was there in May). Killer work guys, yew!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed your stay here at Finlay Jacks. The staff here love Taupo so we like to make sure our guests get to know about all the cool things there is to do. Thanks for the kind words! Hopefully see you back here again!

18th Apr 2016
8.9

The room was very spacious. Everything you need in a hostel. My only critique is that the were almost no plug in the room so recharging my tablette was complicated. Wifi is good, but not in all the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.