Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd May 2017
8.0

Two pillows!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st May 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed this Hostel. The kitchen is really big and open. The staff are great and super easy going. Great location. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
8.3

Nice hostel! Facilities were nice, especially the kitchen and the lounge area. Only a 10 minute walk from the main centre and super close to a grocery store, which was handy. All in all pretty clean. One of the employees brings his dog Biggie to work everyday!! :) I don't know if it was because of my roommates or how the rooms were set up (opened to a courtyard outside) but no one seemed to lock the doors which I wasn't keen on. Staff were pleasant but not overly friendly or helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2017
8.6

Wifi was pretty poor which for some folks is a bit of deal breaker, on the whole was pretty good for a couple of nights! Met some nice people and beds were very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
9.4

By far my favourite hostel in the north island. The whole hostel is pretty open, creating a nice social environment, but in turn lacks in security. The grocery store is literally right behind the hostel which was a huge convenience and has a flawless location, with short walks to the lake and a hot spring. The kitchen was perfect. The staff were all by far the best I've experienced. I didn't want to leave! There's also a really cute dog! Would not recommend for someone who sleeps early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
8.9

Great value hostel, with extremely comfy beds and very well maintained/run overall. Ensuite bathrooms to dorms cleaned every morning and hostel has a nice relaxed and chilled atmosphere which was great - would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
7.4

The mold in the bathroom was not welcome

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.9

Really lovely hostel. Good wifi. Nice big kitchen with lots of utensils! Lots of fridge space also. Nice bathrooms with good showers. Dorms were a bit cramped but were fine - beds super comfy with nice bedding! Really cute dog as well. Nice garden area. Brill

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review :-) really pleased you felt comfortable and that the kitchen had enough utensils for you! Biggie always enjoys the company of our guests too! Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
6.3

Location is perfect, very central to everything. Staff were very friendly upon arrival, warm welcome. Every room has lockers to throw your bag into, but you need to bring your own lock. Our room had one toilet and a shower to share between 8, which wasn't too bad, was kept in good condition. Hostel was extremely noisy, and I know hostels are noisy, but this was a lot worse than I'm used to. Room next door had music blaring and were shouting and screaming until about 4am. Must not have a curfew

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay here! My room was clean, the beds were comfortable (pillows were amazing!), the ensuite bathroom was cleaned daily, kitchen was spotless and well supplied, and the hostel is not too far from the lake or the hot springs. Staff were also very friendly, helpful and courteous. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Taupo :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great review - thanks so much :-) super happy the pillows were up to standards! Glad to hear that the kitchen was clean and well-equipped for you. Will be good to have you back when you're back in Taupo - see you soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.