Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel! One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in my whole life! Clean rooms, great location, great staff, great price! Just make sure to bring a lock. There are personal storage drawers under the beds, but you need your own lock for them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel with very nice staff and very good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the fab review :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! Cheers, Finlay Jacks!

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2017
10.0

2 min walking to a supermarket, close to town, great facilities, helpful staff and to top it off a fantastic kitchen and probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in during my travels in New Zealand! If you are in Taupo, definitely stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for taking the time to review your stay :) We really appreciate the great feedback! Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ and come back to Taupo soon! All the best, Finlay Jacks

24th Jun 2017
7.7

The room I had opened up onto a varanda which overlooked a central patio area, which meant a walk outside to the kitchen. Not a problem in good weather. Location was good, a short walk into the centre of town for a meal, drink and the lakeside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stated in yet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
9.1

The best backpackers accommodation I've ever been. I will choose it again when I visit the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the great review! Hopefully see you again if youre in the area :) Happy travelling, Finlay jacks :)

19th Jun 2017
8.9

Clean, funky bedding, Netflix, good wifi, decent kitchen and friendly staff. Overall, a good place for exploring Taupo and would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.1

Nice hostel, clean and warm. 4 bed female dorm had bathroom which was really handy. Nice kitchen facilities, though we didn't cook. Walking distance to town, very close to Pak n Save, really helpful and friendly staff. Free parking and WiFi were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dimitristratakis8899
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.4

Friendly staff, fast wifi & the comfiest bed I had in 4 months 🙌🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

It was such a good place to stay! I slept so well too and the showers are so clean! It's a very good place to stay and they have a bus for tangariro park which is great! And not expensive though !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review, glad you managed to get to do the tongariro crossing :) Enjoy your travels, Finlay Jacks

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.