Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers Located at 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, Taupo.
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
New Zealand
Taupo 3330 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo
89% 290
-38.6840022 176.0744905
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
9.4

Amazing hostel! Wonderful staff super helpful. Most comfortable hostel bed I have stayed in. Kitchen a little small other than that I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Taupo .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

We liked Taupo alot, met interesting people and made friends. The location is great, near supermarkets, restaurants and I site

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Nov 2016
7.4

Awesome, helpful and welcoming staff on the Saturday we arrived. Single beds in room was a nice refreshing change from the expected bunk bed experience in most hostels. Excellent location, just a short walk to town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

Perfect for a backpacker stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

From the moment I was checked my Kim and Antonia, I felt like this was the hostel for me. The staff were excellent, the beds were oh so comfy, the communal areas were new with everything you could need to cook. There was a lovely BBQ area and there was upbeat music in the garden all day. There was also the cutest hostel dog I have ever seen. The only downside to my stay was that I could not extend it for longer due to my plans. Best hostel I have stated in so far. Highly would recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Stayed in private en suite room. Room was clean and beds were pretty comfortable. Overall good value for money. Biggie was the highlight of the stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
10.0

One of my favourite hostels ever. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the facilities are great (one of the best hostel kitchens I've ever seen), and the rooms are really nice. I'd definitely recommend this one for anyone in Taupo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Nov 2016
10.0

No little spoons for me to make coffee with ... On a serious note this place is a great place too visit; get lost for a few days (weeks) and re charge the battery's plenty and as little do as you like ... 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.4

The best thing was having the common area be a outdoor court yard, very nice gathering space.The beds were WONDERFUL, two pillows and comfortable. Very clean place and all newly remodeled. The only down fall was the lack of fridge space and food storage, there was literally no space for or groceries. Thankfully your only a block away from a store and can just shop everyday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
10.0

Best place I've stayed at in New Zealand so far. Comfiest beds. 2 comfy pillows. A hostel puppy. What more could you ask for?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.