Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers Located at 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, Taupo.
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
New Zealand
Taupo 3330 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo
88% 340
-38.6840022 176.0744905
YHA Taupo - Finlay Jacks Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Awesome Hostel! We had a 12-bed dorm but the room was so big you didnt even notice there were 12 people! It was even seperated into 2 rooms - kitchen was a bit dirty but yeah - great place!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed in, also have walking boots and other hiking gear available to rent. Clean and cheap and a real ski chalet feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.9

Very good atmosphere in hostel, staff were very helpful with comfy beds and great kitchen facilities. Would come back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the review :-) so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Finlay Jacks - hope to see you back again whilst on your travels!

8th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice place, bed a bit thin but ok to sleep, nice to hang out outside with other guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the review :) great to hear you enjoyed hanging out with the guests - it's what we are here for! Safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Best beds I slept in so far. Staff was helpful. Very good wifi. Close to the supermarket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, really liked the big private bathroom in our room, big kitchen and good wi-fi connection. And also nice garden with the possibility to sit outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Nice hostel. Very helpful staff, lovely garden, big kitchen, Netflix for the rainy days. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.7

Overall a fine place to rest your head, however the noise at night can be a bit unsettling, the bathroom was ok could do with hand towels or hair dryer. The single beds are beds which is nice but the mattress is so soft, I was glad to see the back of it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.7

I stay in a double private room and here''s the pros and cons in my opinion: pros: 1) room and especially toilets are super clean 2) friendly staff 3) location is next to supermarket which is great but a bit far to the lake. Overall, OK cons: 1) uncomfortable double bed, the mattress is way too soft and once I sleep on it, it could not support my back (I am only 62kg, not heavy at all), could not sleep well at night 2) kitchen is slightly small compare to other YHA, but is OK

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
6.9

Nice place but not in par with yha standards. That is probably because they are not directly a yha place. Kitchen is small and gets super crowded and is a slightly long walk from town centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.