Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Te Anau

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
8.9

Good YHA hostel, with awesome bathroom facilities !! Clean as well, maybe not the beste atmosphere, but definitely a good hostel to stay if you are in Te Anau!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for recommending us. We believe not enough people spend time in Te Anau on their way to Milford Sound! Each of our hostels has a different vibe. A small one, like Te Anau, will have an atmosphere that largely differs from the big city YHAs. There's nothing wrong with either, it's all down to personal taste! Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

  • stewarthastings902
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.4

Wifi very very slow, much quicker to use mobile data, double room very small. But nice place and very short walk to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Very nice, dorm-like hostel. Very clean and well stocked. Beds and comforters are very comfortable. The staff is friendly, which is sometimes hard to find in New Zealand. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Our staff all love living in the Fiordland and thankfully this comes across in their friendly attitude! We'd love to have you stay with us again - there's a good number of our guests who come back every summer to make the most of the activities on offer. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

25th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel, typical of YHA. Very good facilities, clean kitchen, big common room, lovely terrace and garden, lots of helpful info! Staff were very friendly and helpful in suggesting day hikes in the area. 6 person dorm room was comfortable and bunk beds were solid (no creaky metal anytime anyone moves). Location is good, in centre of town near shops and restaurants. No view of lake, though only 5 mins walk away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
8.6

Comfy, clean, nice location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2017
8.0

Like most YHA hostels you can't go wrong with this place. Decent bed, decent shower, decent kitchen, nice people and great social areas especially the garden / deck. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.7

The beds were the comfiest I've been in since I left home 4 months ago, the kitchen was spotless and there was plenty of room to sit and relax outside of your own room. The only downfall is that there aren't many toilets or showers downstairs, but other than that everything was perfect. I wish I could have stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're absolutely delighted to hear your feedback! We know a good nights sleep goes a long way when you're travelling so we do our best to provide the best experiences we can. We understand the bathroom facilities are limited downstairs but we do have more upstairs and in other areas of the hostel too. We hope you find many more exceptional sleeps around our other YHAs. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

20th Feb 2017
9.4

Great kitchen and massive patio and outdoor grill. Volleyball court. Friendly people staying there, quite talkative and eager to share plans and stories. This was a great jumping off point for Milford Sound kayaking, the glow work caves, and doing the Keppler Track. Broad range of travellers (age, nationality, etc.) Only gave it a lower ranking for security because the luggage storage room is basically accessible to anyone who comes by the reception area, which is often unstaffed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Pretty good place, would stay again. Nothing extraordinary, but everything was very clean, staff was on-point, and people were pretty friendly. Center of town isn't far away at all, and it's a two-minute walk to the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for leaving your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and it would be great to see you again. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

  • travelingwithkevin
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.3

If you are looking for a place to spend a couple nights while visiting Milford Sound, this place is for you. While there is no atmosphere to speak of, the place is clean and well maintained. Good amount of parking as well. Close to supermarkets and walking trail along the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.