Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Te Anau

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.7

The beds were the comfiest I've been in since I left home 4 months ago, the kitchen was spotless and there was plenty of room to sit and relax outside of your own room. The only downfall is that there aren't many toilets or showers downstairs, but other than that everything was perfect. I wish I could have stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Pretty good place, would stay again. Nothing extraordinary, but everything was very clean, staff was on-point, and people were pretty friendly. Center of town isn't far away at all, and it's a two-minute walk to the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
9.7

Clean hostel with a great carbon footprint ethic. The place was clean and well maintained and it was very peaceful - reminded me of staying on a country farm. The only slight issue was there were not many toilets and showers available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, we're certainly a little different from the city hostels! Thanks also for noticing our environmental efforts. We put a lot of work in to minimizing our carbon footprint and have been recognized by Qualmark with an Enviro Gold Star rating and, more recently, we became the first backpacker network in the world to receive the CarboNZero certificate. We hope you continue to enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

5th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location. Ideal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

I was in an 8 bed female dorm and found it very clean and comfortable. I really appreciated that the cupboards where you can store your things each have two power plugs and two USB plugs. Fantastic for getting all of my electronics charged! The kitchen is also extremely well equipped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel for both individual travelers and families. This YHA had the cleanest kitchen facilities during our stay in NZ. Staff were friendly and helped out with some good sightseeing tips outside of Milford Sound. Only critique would be that the front door is always left open during the day time, meaning anyone could just walk into the common rooms and kitchen. But other than that, we had a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kimberleyhade7158
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Good location and very clean facilities. Excellent kitchen too. Perfect place to stay before starting the Kepler Track. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Staff was very nice. Wifi was great. Great location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Dec 2016
9.7

Clean, place to store lugage for free, good wifi. I enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
8.9

If you're staying in the town center, this hostel is perfectly located just a couple minutes walk away. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with nice seating areas and the staff friendly. My only complaint is that there wasn't any hot water in the evening when I went to take a shower. It's the ONE thing I want after a day trekking in the cold, but alas an icy shower it was. I waited until morning hoping it'd be better, but sadly the water temp was luke warm at best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.