Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Te Anau

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Te Anau Located at 29 Mokonui Street, , Te Anau.
YHA Te Anau
New Zealand
Te Anau 29 Mokonui Street
87% 407
-45.4151116 167.7110195
YHA Te Anau
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in. The beds weren't great in the dorms but with how clean everything was and how nice the showers were made up for it. The kitchen was great plenty of room for the dinner rush of everyone cooking. Easy walk from the bus stop, near the lake too. It was a great place to stay. Loved that everyone spent time in the living area too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Wow, thanks for the great review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and loved the hostel. We're honoured to be the best hostel you've stayed in. We are working on replacing bunks and mattresses but it's a on-going project. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

12th Nov 2016
9.4

We had a really great stay here in Te Anau. There was plenty of parking out front both nights we stayed, and the kitchen was kept very clean. Our only complaint was that the wifi was pretty slow in the rooms, and when we tried watching a movie in the lounge, a lot of people went in just for the better wifi signal and talked loudly throughout our movie. Nothing the staff could have done at that hour, I just wish the atmosphere was better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're disappointed that fellow guests were not more considerate in the movie room as there are other communal areas around the hostel with strong WiFi signal. However, we're glad this didn't ruin your stay in our hostel. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

11th Nov 2016
6.9

Helpful staff, convenient location. But they had no security lockers for valuables other than pay-per-use lockers, which was quite disappointing. The wifi was also pretty average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We're sorry to hear we couldn't meet your needs in this case. We are in the process of adding security lockers to the dorm rooms as and when we can with a number already done. There is the larger store room and, as you mentioned, lockers that cost $2 per use (with no strict time restraints). The free WiFi we offer is available in almost all areas of the hostel but you may find a reduced performance during times of peak use. It's good to see these issues didn't affect your overall stay with us and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
9.7

I especially loved the outdoor space to hang out in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
8.6

Decent place to stay located right in the middle of Te Anau (albeit a small town). Actually quite a few beds in this hostel; it was larger than i expected. Bed comfort was OK. Shower was somewhat disappointing in that it ran out of hot water even though I was showering at night at around 9 pm (which I suspect is not when most people shower).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.9

This is a great hostel in a good location in Te Anau. The rooms were really comfortable and warm, and the facilities in the kitchen and communal areas were fantastic. The staff were helpful when checking in and out and had answers to all the questions we had about our trip to Milford Sound. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who was looking for somewhere to stay in Te Anau.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
9.4

While our stay was short and fast the cleanliness and efficiency was much appreciated. Loved the building set up. Great place to stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Great stay, and I would definitely stay again. Great layout and good facilities. Great kitchen and bathrooms. Stay were friendly on the front desk, but didn't see much of them once you left reception. Plenty of places to sit and relax so always felt comfortable. Rooms are quite nice with secure lockers, which is handy should you want to use them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in Te Anau! Close to the town centre (Te Anau is very small anyhow); showers are awesome - strong water flow and hot!; rooms get very warm during the night; beds are comfortable; spacious lockers in the room; kitchen is big and has lots of utilities - free oil, salt, tea, coffee, wrapping foil; there is an information wall with details about the Kepler Track; start of the track is a 50 min walk from the hostel, in summer there are water taxis for 25$ one way; would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review. It great to hear you had such a positive experience and you liked the extras we provide. It just makes travelling life that little bit easier! I hope the you continue to have a great trip around New Zealand. Carly - YHA Te Anau

24th Jul 2016
9.4

great hostel!! nice people and warm beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.