Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Te Anau

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Te Anau Located at 29 Mokonui Street, , Te Anau.
YHA Te Anau
New Zealand
Te Anau 29 Mokonui Street
89% 425
-45.4151116 167.7110195
YHA Te Anau
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jan 2017
9.7

Clean hostel with a great carbon footprint ethic. The place was clean and well maintained and it was very peaceful - reminded me of staying on a country farm. The only slight issue was there were not many toilets and showers available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

I was in an 8 bed female dorm and found it very clean and comfortable. I really appreciated that the cupboards where you can store your things each have two power plugs and two USB plugs. Fantastic for getting all of my electronics charged! The kitchen is also extremely well equipped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel for both individual travelers and families. This YHA had the cleanest kitchen facilities during our stay in NZ. Staff were friendly and helped out with some good sightseeing tips outside of Milford Sound. Only critique would be that the front door is always left open during the day time, meaning anyone could just walk into the common rooms and kitchen. But other than that, we had a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kimberleyhade7158
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Good location and very clean facilities. Excellent kitchen too. Perfect place to stay before starting the Kepler Track. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Staff was very nice. Wifi was great. Great location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Dec 2016
9.7

Clean, place to store lugage for free, good wifi. I enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
8.9

If you're staying in the town center, this hostel is perfectly located just a couple minutes walk away. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with nice seating areas and the staff friendly. My only complaint is that there wasn't any hot water in the evening when I went to take a shower. It's the ONE thing I want after a day trekking in the cold, but alas an icy shower it was. I waited until morning hoping it'd be better, but sadly the water temp was luke warm at best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Stayed in a female only dorm for 2 nights at YHA Te Anau. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Located a short walk from the supermarkets and lakefront. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for the positive feedback, we're always pleased to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay with us. Thanks for choosing YHA Te Anau as part of your Fiordland experience. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Dec 2016
9.1

We had such a lovely stay here! Our twin room was bunks, which was unexpected but we spent so much time out of the room it hardly mattered anyway. The bathrooms and showers were plentiful and well kept. Shower pressure was strong, which is nice for a hostel! The kitchen was enormous and clean, perfect for cooking in with ample fridge and food storage facilities. Staff were super helpful. There was ample parking in around the hostel. It was walking distance to everything as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
6.0

Was in an eight person room with many tour group people. Roommates were very noisy and inconsiderate. Atmosphere of the hostel was more of a hotel - many people of all ages and purposes for travel and very little interaction. Unpleasant stay overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We do occasionally host large groups at the hostel but we don't allow independent guests to stay in the same rooms as them. We do get groups of friends or families that may book multiple individual beds in larger dorms and that may be what happened in your case. If we have space, we are happy to relocate bookings if you are uncomfortable. Our YHA hostels are here to provide accommodation to guests of all ages, nationalities and travel purposes and we love hosting an eclectic mix of personalities. Not all guests like to interact as much as others and while we much prefer a lively atmosphere, we also respect peoples desire to privacy. Kind Regards, Joshua Keeble, Assistant Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.