Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Te Anau

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4
YHA Te Anau Located at 29 Mokonui Street, , Te Anau.
YHA Te Anau
New Zealand
Te Anau 29 Mokonui Street
92% 392
-45.4151116 167.7110195
YHA Te Anau
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in Te Anau! Close to the town centre (Te Anau is very small anyhow); showers are awesome - strong water flow and hot!; rooms get very warm during the night; beds are comfortable; spacious lockers in the room; kitchen is big and has lots of utilities - free oil, salt, tea, coffee, wrapping foil; there is an information wall with details about the Kepler Track; start of the track is a 50 min walk from the hostel, in summer there are water taxis for 25$ one way; would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review. It great to hear you had such a positive experience and you liked the extras we provide. It just makes travelling life that little bit easier! I hope the you continue to have a great trip around New Zealand. Carly - YHA Te Anau

24th Jul 2016
9.4

great hostel!! nice people and warm beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.0

Staff were wonderful. Close to Milford sounds. The rooms did get cold at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel in a lovely little town. Staff were really friendly and helpful, letting me store my luggage before checkin as I arrived early. Daily cleaning was thorough and made the place feel well cared for. Laundry facilities were cheap, showers and bathrooms well looked after and comfortable. Also really appreciated the emphasis on eco-friendliness and reminders to recycle and conserve energy! A great hostel, would loved to have stayed longer and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

I've been in the YHA for 4 nights and it was really nice! The staff is available all the time and the hostel il really clean and tidy! It's the perfect place to stay im Te Anau.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.9

arrived late at night and only stayed one night so didn't really meet the staff or use the facilities much. stayed in a large female dorm. the bed was comfortable enough. not many plug points when sharing with lots of people. kitchen was clean and well stocked. bathroom was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
9.1

Nice hostel. The kitchen is fully equiped, clean and functional. However, there was not enough tables in the dinning room to eat. Cinema room is nice and they have a large selection of DVDs. Clean dorms and warm showers. Heating system works really well in the bedroom. Overall, nice experience. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2016
9.4

Great stay, close to everything

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Mar 2016
9.4

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room. The location is good close to the lake and shops and convenient for all activities. The communal areas were cosy and the atmosphere friendly. The kitchen facilities were very good although busy in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.9

The YHA had a good big communal area where it made it easy to sit and enjoy a drink or your meal and meet others from the hostel. The kitchen was large and had plenty of room for food storage. The bedrooms were small but we didn't expect too much. The location was great, staff were friendly. Overall, if you're looking for a hostel or a place you can cook your own food, in Te Anau, the YHA is a good option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.