Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow Located at 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
New Zealand
Wanaka 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka
90% 511
-44.6981283 169.1341996
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.9

Good place to stay, dorms where great, comfy beds. Great location....lacking some atmosphere but they are trying to put together things to do at night apprantly...probably pretty hard since everyone is wiped by the evening after hiking all day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.7

Smooth check in, friendly staff. Had a double bedroom with shared bathroom out the back of the property. Given it was peak time in Wanaka I think we paid a fair price for a decent, clean, comfy room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

We stayed at 10 different hostels during our trip around the South Island, and this was by far the best one. Very clean, kind staff, and we got upgraded to a three person room (there were only 3 in our group). We were exhausted from our day hiking Roy's Peak, so it was so nice to come into a very clean, friendly, quiet place. The only con about this place was that the fire alarm went off at 6 am, but that obviously couldn't be helped, and we definitely laughed about it later. Highly reccommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Good hostel, nice staff. Only stayed for a night so maybe it was a one off, but seems to suffer the same issue as most YHAs: no atmosphere. Not really the hostels fault dvd was put on and pool table at reception, yet people would rather stare at their phones. Great if you're in a group- probably not if you're a lone traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Great place to stay. Good central location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Great location in the heart of Wanaka (a beautiful setting no less) within walking distance to whatever you might need. It has a fabulous view of the lake from the lounge, dining area, & reading room where you can exchange books. The staff is helpful & friendly. This hostel has a HUGE, well-stocked kitchen with the utensils/dishes. Internet connection is fabulous & fast! The beds are comfortable & the bedding is just right with extra blankets if you need. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.1

Best hostel I ever stayed. Location in city center. Beautiful view over lake Wanaka while sitting by the fireplace. Staff very welcoming and helpfull. I stayed at a 6p dorm with own kitchennette and bathroom. Very comfortable and clean. Laundry facilities were good as well. Perfect stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Can't beat the view!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved my time at YHA Wanaka! The location was so convenient and the view out the main window paired with the wood burning fireplace was so spectacular I just sat and watched it that I didn't feel so bad that I had doctor's orders to rest for a day. I was pleasantly surprised to find a kitchenette in the 6 bed shared room! The facility was clean and kitchen well stocked. They played the Olympics in the nicely appointed TV lounge, which was cool too. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.6

Great location close to town, amazing view! Room 27 6bed dorm was average at best. No shelf near bed to charge devices. Bathroom-poor standard with not a single hook or shelf for items to stay dry. What the hell!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.