Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2017
9.7

We stayed for just a night but enjoyed our stay thoroughly. They have great facilities. Ensuite bathroom and kitchen was an added benefit. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The vibe of this place is great. Just wish the kitchen was better stocked with the basics like tea, coffee, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Sep 2017
9.1

Nice hostel, free parking available, clean rooms and bathroom, nice chill out area with fire, limited wifi, helpful staff to assist with bookings, large kitchen, excellent location with nice views

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
9.7

Great people, really helpful in finding hikes. Close to town and has a good kitchen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
9.7

Decent hostel but lacked a bit of atmosphere. Really good for tips on walks though and probably has the best kitchen I've seen in a hostel !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
9.7

We booked a private room with shared facilities. One thing they don't make clear (but they totally should!) is that you're only sharing the ensuite, kitchenette, and a little lounge area with one other double room, which is perfect and easy. The room was warm and clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value for Wanaka and fantastic location - close to the main strip of restaurants and bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
8.3

Good location. Very helpful staff. Heaters in rooms were nice. Unfortunately my room smelt like pee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
8.6

nice and handy to town. friendly staff, clean kitchen etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
9.4

Great place to stay with clean spacious rooms and comfy beds. Super clean facilities with ample parking. Friendly staff and generally a winner if you're looking for a great place to stay in Wanaka. It's not as social in terms of meeting people as a lot of other hostels I've stayed at though. The WiFi doesn't work as well in the rooms as it does on the reception area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lindakelly19839139
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Lovely hostel, very friendly staff and good atmosphere. I ended up staying more nights than originally planned. Would thoroughly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
8.9

Looks out onto the lake and located opposite the supermarket. Ample parking onsite and the building has large communal rooms. The staff were super friendly and helpful making the most of our time in Wanaka. Would highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×