Hostelworld.com

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow Located at 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
New Zealand
Wanaka 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka
90% 456
-44.6981283 169.1341996
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
24th May 2016
7.4

Great hostel bit run down but clean and staff are nice. Location is good bathrooms are too small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

Stayed in the deluxe double room, was really surprised by the size of the place, felt like I had my own apartment, ensuite bathroom was nice, clean and modern with towels provided, heater kept the place very warm and comfortable bed. Communal kitchen is big, with plenty of space for storing food, plenty of pots/pans etc, can get a bit crowded in the evenings. The location is great, not far from the lake and shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
8.9

Shower was bit rubbish. Wifi was good. Kitchen was massive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2016
7.1

Okay hostel, better than base. Room was nice and nightly cinema showings are nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Very clean and friendly staff. Had a nice relaxing time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
9.4

This was our favorite hostel that we stayed in throughout our New Zealand travels--the kitchen was very large and fully stocked with appliances and cooking utensils (and the hostel is just a few short blocks from a great supermarket). The cabins are very cozy and clean. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but they seemed friendly enough. There was a nice sitting area inside as well as outside on the patio. Highly recommend for anybody spending time in Wanaka!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
6.9

We enjoyed our stay at the YHA Wanaka the only let downs were the water pressure in the shower and that the room could have had lockers to securely store our belongings

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

The view from YHA is really nice. You can just see the mountain form the windows.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
9.7

Really good hostel. Not the most "homey" and a bit lacking in atmosphere but really nice facilities and location. A lot of the rooms have a kitchenette and bathroom ensuite which is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! Very clean and helpful staff. Good location overlooking the lake!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.