Hostelworld.com

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow Located at 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
New Zealand
Wanaka 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka
91% 441
-44.6981283 169.1341996
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Very clean and friendly staff. Had a nice relaxing time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
6.9

We enjoyed our stay at the YHA Wanaka the only let downs were the water pressure in the shower and that the room could have had lockers to securely store our belongings

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

The view from YHA is really nice. You can just see the mountain form the windows.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! Very clean and helpful staff. Good location overlooking the lake!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.3

This is a really cozy hostel. I stayed in an ensuite 6 bed dorm which includes a kitchen. The location is great, just 2 blocks from the lake shore and the restaurants area. Also, there is a supermarket just crossing the street. Wifi is free and works all over the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2016
10.0

One of the better hostels I've stayed in NZ. It's not a party hostel so travellers will get the peace they so sought after. The Wifi is not bad considering the overall standard in NZ. Knifes in the kitchen are constantly sharpened by the staff which is one of the rarities highly appreciated by us travellers. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.3

Nice hostel. My room felt very hot and crowded though with everyone's stuff. It's in a good location and has a nice view of the the lake/mountains.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
9.4

GREAT location with great view. Couldn't give a perfect score because bathroom was a bit gross when we arrived (although I think this had more to do with the people already in the room at the time). Staff friendly, nice kitchen, good little niches to read in. Wish we had more time in Wanaka! Would definitely stay here again without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Everything perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.