Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stewarthastings902
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

Wifi does not work in room 1, very very very slow in living areas, quicker to use mobile data, double room very nice and short walk to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.4

Very comfortable and spacious room. Great location too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.9

We had a one night stop in Wanaka before heading to Franz Josef and the hostel was quite crowded due to peak season. The kitchen and lounge area were spacious, but bunk bed could be more sturdy (it squeaks a lot when someone in upper compartment shift position).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.9

Perfect location (amazing views of the lake), fantastic kitchen, friendly staff. Would stay again fo sho

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome, clean, secure and an amzing atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Great location, big kitchen, bathrooms inside the room! Very nice stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.3

Very warm room... Only had a skylight for air

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
8.6

NO QUIET HOURS With it not having quiet hours the hostel seemed a little loud due to kids "18-22 year olds" running around. The room at first was very warm because of lack of a/c but than quickly went cold at night. It was a nice room because of the attached bathroom. The hostel is a 15 min walk from the Wanaka tree and 5 min walk to downtown. The staff was friendly and explained everything clearly. I gave this hostel a 8.5 and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.6

Perfect scenic location, clean, well stocked kitchen and space to cook, good parking availability and easy access to shops and good bathroom facility made this a really enjoyable short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • j10brooks1578
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Clean place with very kind staff members. Helped me out with whatever I needed. The hostel also has a great view of the lake and location in the town. Could never connect to the wifi with my iPhone but luckily it's near a spark wifi zone. I know this is kinda common all around NZ but my only complaint was they provided absolutely no extras in terms of towels, soap, etc. For example none of the bathrooms had any hand soap, even the communal ones for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.