Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow Located at 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
New Zealand
Wanaka 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka
91% 579
-44.6981283 169.1341996
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jan 2017
9.4

One of my favourite hostels so far, equally as good as the YHA in Wellington when I stayed their too - I highly recommend it! Lockers with powered sockets in them, plus a lockable dorm door, leads to it being a very secure location. Fantastic facilities, such as free internet, as well as a great kitchen which is exceptionally clean. There are few negative points I can think of; perhaps it's a bit pricey, however it is the best hostel in Wanaka I've stayed in too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Good room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel. I stayed in a dorm with an en suite and kitchenette which was great. Our toilet was broken when we arrived and the staff had it fixed by the following day. Would highly recommend this hostel. In a great location in beautiful Wanaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Dec 2016
10.0

Each hut had their own toilet and kitchen, whats better than that 😁😁 The room we were at was quite far from the laundry and pantry, so a little inconvenient to walk when it is raining. Other than that, place is really comfortable and big!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

Clean, hot showers, good lockers, good location. Only problem is no breakfast included. Overall, good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

Great big clean kitchen, friendly help staff, great location. What I didn't like was my room had no windows so it had sky lights on the roof which let in a lot of light in the mornings which woke me up coz I need darkness to sleep! Apart from that it was fab!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Awesome location, awesome vibe, awesome hostel....!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
9.4

Good hostel, my only issue was that there were some windows on the ceiling with no curtains, so there was light coming in from 6am on...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
6.6

A nice enough hostel with all the usual trimmings; laundry, kitchen, wifi. However the room was very hot and stuffy, no windows, only a skylight which barely let in a breath of fresh air. All facilities were clean and well tended, storage and lockers provided in the dorm as well as luggage storage for post check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
10.0

I love this hostel. It's in a great location (easy 2 minute walk to town), with views out over the lake and mountains. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and all include an ensuite bathroom. Bathrooms in the main building are all brand new and really nice. The kitchen is fully stocked and cleaned periodically throughout the day, with sufficient supplies so you always can find dishes/cook ware to use. And the staff are extremely friendly and fun to chat with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.