Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th May 2017
9.7

One of the cleanest hostels I had stayed in. The beds were comfy and the en suite was nice. The shower was lovely and hot but the pressure was too strong so it hurt at times! The log fire was so nice to sit in front of and just look out at the view. Really hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.1

One of the best YHAs I've stayed at - can't go wrong with this place! Would recommend to anyone staying in Wanaka and Kiwi bus drops off very close by

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, one of the best i've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Best place to stay in Wanaka. Lovely lounge area with fire, friendly staff, good kitchen and great showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.4

Good hostel, very good view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.4

YHA is always good, this one is no exception. Clean, big kitchen, comfy beds, big lockers, cosy dining area and TV room. Great staff too! (Saved my left-behind towel, thank you!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

Overall a good stay, but we've seen much better YHAs. For what you pay, we thought they could include breakfast (or at least coffee/tea) and improve their Wifi to a functional level. Yes it's free but so slow that half the time it's not worth trying. Nevertheless, it's a solid place. Comfy beds, nice rooms with lockers, lovely common areas with fireplace and free games/movies. We've simply been to better (and more reasonably-priced) hostels in NZ, so we expected more from this one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Simply THE best hostel in Wanaka. Close to all accommodation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
5.7

Upon arriving, we were given only one key, promised another which we never received. This caused multiple problems. Reception was unable to give us recommendations as they told us there wasn't much to do on a rainy day. The sink was broken in our room. This was never fixed despite multiple complaints by other guests. One staff member was very condescending and rude to us when we tried to dry our shoes, leading us to hike in wet boots. Wifi was unusable--didn't extend past a spot in the lobby

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stewarthastings902
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

Wifi does not work in room 1, very very very slow in living areas, quicker to use mobile data, double room very nice and short walk to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.