Hostelworld.com

YHA Wanaka Purple Cow

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Clean hostel with lots of space and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.7

Everything top only shower was too hot and too hard

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.7

The YHA is reslly great; free unlimited wifi that actually works, bathroom in every room (i think), lockers, oven in the kitchen (which is rare from my experience). The front porch is lovely. I totally recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.1

Consistent with all YHA hostels across NZ. Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and nice facilities, good location. Would definitely stay again in Wanaka

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Really good location. They have big kitchen and living room which allows people to rest well even during rainy days. You can directly see the lake view from the hostel and new world supermarket is just 3 mins by walk. I highly recommend people who need a budget hostel with nice quality to come here ;-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel. Perfect location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, large kitchen and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

This place is awesome! Luigi on the front desk was super nice and helpful! The rooms were clean and lockers provided. The common area is great with a pool table and cinema room with the best couches! It's a short walk to everything! I would highly recommend this place and would definitely go back if I am ever in Wanaka again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.4

One of my favourite hostels so far, equally as good as the YHA in Wellington when I stayed their too - I highly recommend it! Lockers with powered sockets in them, plus a lockable dorm door, leads to it being a very secure location. Fantastic facilities, such as free internet, as well as a great kitchen which is exceptionally clean. There are few negative points I can think of; perhaps it's a bit pricey, however it is the best hostel in Wanaka I've stayed in too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. YHAs tend to have really nice, clean facilities (only downside would be subdued atmosphere). Had a good kitchen, nice common areas, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Good room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.