Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1836 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1836 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd May 2017
8.6

Typical modern YHA :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2017
9.4

Very quiet when I was there which was quite nice actually. Great kitchen, very central location, big laundry room, very clean. Would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
9.1

Cool hostel but very big and hard to get to be social

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2017
10.0

Absolutely grande

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Thanks for your absolutely grande comment and your generous ratings, It's much appreciated! See you next time! Regards Rik Assistant Manager YHA Wellington City

30th Apr 2017
8.6

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. I enjoyed the large kitchens and the free wifi. The staff was friendly and willing to help. All in all a good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Many thanks for your review. It's kind of you to mention our staff, I'll pass on your comments to motivate them to keep up their good work! I'm really pleased you utilized our facilities and free Wi-Fi and most importantly you found the beds were comfortable and our bathrooms up to standards. All in all I'm glad you had a good experience and hope you come back again in the future. Kind Regards Rik Assistant Manager YHA Wellington City

28th Apr 2017
9.7

Very good hostel. Many restaurants and bars nearby. A supermarket right across the street. Most sights are within 15-20 min walking distance. Huge common areas and two kitchens. They have free wifi which is not that common in NZ hostels. Although they could arrange more activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are currently working hard on revamping our activity schemes so check back in with us next time to review our progress. It's our pleasure to provide free Wi-Fi to guests which I agree is uncommon but should be a given these days. I'm glad our location was convenient for you to explore our wonderful city from and we look forward to seeing you next time. Kind Regards Rik Assistant Manager YHA Wellington City

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
4.3

The bed sheets were very dirty and they don't even change the duvet cover after every guest. They only supplied other sheets that you we're suppose to cover the dirty bed with. It was truly disgusting and totally not worth the money to stay there as I even had blood all over my sheets! I can't understand why the hostel is rated so highly!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feedback. I apologise that on this occasion it seems that we have not provided services that we absolutely pride ourselves on. Blood stained sheets is unacceptable and I have passed on to our Housekeeping Manager. I would encourage you to seek out our reception team if you have an experience such as this in the future, so that we can rectify whilst you are staying with us. Kindest Regards, Chris Area Hostel Manager

  • jwillis50
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel for the price, with everything you'd expect done efficiently and well. Admittedly, as a big YHA hostel, it doesn't have the same atmosphere or vibe as some of the smaller hotels, but is still more than good enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our property and glad that you found us good value. Regards, Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • burseyelizabeth8373
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.7

Very basic rooms and bunk beds. Steel counters in the bathrooms aren't overly attractive, but means that they're easily cleaned and not dirty. Nothing fancy, but it does the job! Beds are pretty comfortable, you get a bottom and top sheet (bonus) and big lockers with power points. Great wifi all over. Even though it was a 4 bed mixed dorm, it was all women for the three nights I was there which was nice, too. Not overly social, though. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are constantly updating our room furniture and have only recently finished the new locker instal with power points. We have all new mattresses ear marked shortly, to make your sleep even more pleasurable. Cheers Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

1st Apr 2017
8.9

Solid hostel. They run it like a hotel, efficient and without personality. Huge lockers to fit your whole bag with plugs for charging which is super convenient. Bathrooms had a small hairdryer which is quite a luxury. Big kitchen as well. Great location by all the fun bars and restaurants and a great viewpoint over the city. $6 Uber to ferry. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.