Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Good spot in a great location in Wellington. Parking is a little dicey but close by for the most part. I didn't use the facilities because there's too many good places to eat in Wellington. People were extremely loud but that isn't the hostels fault and they dealt with the issue swiftly. The people working were fantastic. I would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.6

One of the cleanest hostels I've been to with a clean, well stocked and big kitchen. Also, lockers in the rooms with USB and electric sockets inside! Great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place, best one I stayed at while in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you back in Wellington some day. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

6th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic stay! Comfy beds, clean bathrooms, lockers in the rooms, personal lights by the beds, helpful and friendly staff and the place is big with a kitchen and amenities. Loved our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

3rd Feb 2017
8.9

YHA is usually guaranteed safe, very functional hostel. The location of this hostel was ideal - walking distance to almost anything. The staff was helpful, especially with parking which can be difficult in Wellington. They have offers for day activities and movie nights, etc. There were two kitchens, very helpful. Could definitely do with an upgrade to the cooking pots&pans, sponges, cutlery, but I'm sure with the amount it's used they're hard to keep nice. Would stay again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

I had a great stay here. It was located perfectly for all the main attractions, shops and Waterfront. Beds were clean but not overly comfortable, might as well not have had a pillow! Kitchen and bathrooms busy at peak times but that didnt really affect me. Staff helpful in some aspects. Not a great atmosphere. The majority of the people keep themselves to themselves which wasnt ideal for a lone traveller

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback and apologies for the lack of comfort in your pillow. These are in the process of being changed. Kindest Regards, Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

Location can't be beaten, opposite a supermarket, round the corner from a long street of bars and restaurants, 5 mins walk from te papa museum and less than 30 mins from mount Victoria lookout to name a few. It is a very large hostel but I didn't find this took too much away from the atmosphere, plenty of common areas and kitchen space, friendly reception staff and very clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review, we are very fortunate to be located so centrally and next to all the good stuff Wellington has to offer. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Awesome place.... great location. Comfy n cosy. Only downside was some drunk was able to swipe his card and let himself into our room at 5am. Woke up to him fumbling through our personal items. Dont know how this could've happened as we all had our cards and door was closed. Other than that, great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Please accept my apologies for the unwanted guest that you found in your room. This absolutely should not have happened and I will be discussing this with our night team to make sure that this isn't repeated in the future. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind Regards, Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

31st Jan 2017
9.4

The girl who checked me was not too friendly maybe because of how large the hostel is and there are maybe a few hundreds guests in the hostel at anytime. four floors of four bed dorms and there is no nice homely hostel feel like others in NZ. Facilities are good but considering how many people there, best to be avoided during peak breakfast and dinner times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback. Apologies for the lack of friendliness on check in, we pride ourselves on our service levels, so its good to get these reminders from time to time. I'll share with our reception team. Kindest regards, Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.4

Everything top

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.