Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
YHA Wellington City Located at 292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington.
YHA Wellington City
New Zealand
Wellington 292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce)
91% 1630
-41.2931564 174.7838759
YHA Wellington City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Dec 2016
10.0

We just stayed one night, but we had good time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
8.9

Had a good experience here. Clean, friendly, convenient. Couldn't ask for too much more from a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.9

One of the comfiest beds I've slept in in New Zealand! Stay here just for that! The rooms were also very spacious The wifi was really quick and free to all Great location 5-10 minutes walk to the centre inc. all bars and nightlife and opposite a supermarket Very clean and plenty of facilities The only (very minor) downside was the staff. They were pleasant but were not overly helpful, not the norm for hostel staff all over NZ who usually can't help or tell you enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Great location and amenities. Only issue with YHA in general is that they don't let you store luggage for a few hours after you check out. Paying for a locker is a bit frustrating for a budget traveler, especially after spending more than the average price on a hostel room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Besides the douche on the 5th floor who pulled the firearm at 10pm it was a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
8.9

Good kitchen and common areas. Really close to waterfront and museum. Big hostel but much nicer and friendlier than some of the big party hostels. And has free WiFi!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Nov 2016
9.4

Best hostel in Wellington - it's clean and spacious with great amenities. You can take your own booze in there unlike other hostels but it doesn't have a rowdy atmosphere due to the nice mix of people there - old & young, holidaymakers and backpackers. The hostel has plenty of space to chill and different rooms for different chilling needs. It's well located next to a supermarket and cinema. There are restaurants and bars nearby too. I will definitely be returning to this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your great feedback, it is much appreciated and I shall pass your comments on to our dedicated housekeeping team who love to receive the positive praise. And thanks for drinking responsibly! Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
10.0

This place achieves what very few hostels can manage - hosting both school/youth groups and backpackers in harmony. It's a great social clean hostel and has all the facilities you need. Bunks are foam mattresses but good quality ones.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for recognising how we manage our school groups program and integrate this with the wants and needs of all the people that we host in Wellington on daily basis. Really glad you like the new thicker density foam mattresses which come with an additional bug shield to keep away any nasties. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • jess_ricketts8767
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Excellent kitchen & communal facilities. Booked a private twin plus a dorm bed & got allocated a 4 bed dorm for our exclusive use. Great view out over harbour if your room is facing the right way. Parking is the only thing that's a pain as you have to park about 15 minute walk away if you want it to be free. Other than that an excellent hostel & wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback and pleased that you enjoyed the room upgrade. Its a good tip you provide about parking a vehicle as like any capital city, car parking is at a premium and can really hit you in the pocket.

5th Nov 2016
9.7

YHA standard - clean and organised kitchen, spacious

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.