Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.4

Had a great time at this hostel. Everything was great. Lonely younger travellers looking for a good time should be aware, because this hostel is so good, it attracts people of all ages and it may not be the most social on some nights. However, it is not difficult to find friends at all, despite this.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
6.9

The location was great right at the edge of the CBD. Easy walk to get to most things. Decent cleanliness. Atmosphere was really odd. So quiet. No one talking to each other. Reminded me of a library.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • davidwicks185117
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Only stayed 1 night cos gettin ferry next day . Couldn't fault it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
9.7

Probably the best hostel in Wellington :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • everthine22
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.1

Really impressive hostel. Large but well catered for with multiple spaces, 2 kitchens, spare bathrooms, security top-notch. I loved the little extras: hair-dryer and straighteners in communal bathroom, the huge locker cupboards with plug sockets, general cleanliness. Location is awesome. Random tip; don't sleep on the blue fitted bed sheet as this is left on (isn't changed daily), remember to put down the white sheet. It wasn't just me in my dorm who made this mistake, likely happens a lot!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review and great tip! Yes very important to use the flat white sheets that are provided on the bed. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • derekrdean
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel located in the center of things downtown. Has a big grocery store across the street. Staff was amazing. Rooms clean and good size (6 bed dorm), would have liked more wall plugs. 2 big kitchens/eating areas, and a lot of common areas. Close off site parking if you hire a car ($13/day on average; after 6 is free till 8am on the street).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for posting a great review of our hostel. There are lots of car parking options in close proximity to the YHA to suit most budgets. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.7

Hostel is very central to everything ! Rooms are clean with ensuite bathroom The hostel has no atmosphere what's so ever however was fine to stay for two nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for posting a review of our hostel and apologies that you felt it had no atmosphere. We provide a range of comfortable common areas including 2 x kitchen and dining areas for guests to relax and enjoy our facilities. This does result in a calm, chilled vibe to allow all of our guests the opportunity to enjoy in their own way. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel, has everything you need and more. Lockers in the bedrooms with extra sockets in the Lockers. Individual lights on beds. TV room, reading room, games rooms, dvds and board games for hire. Location is fantastic right in the CBD and opposite a new world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location: next to courtney place (restaurants) and near the waterfront. Personnel at reception was friendly. Two kitchens available so they is always room to cook. They are cleaned everyday between 2:30-3:30. Nice lockers in the room (i was in a 6 beds dorm) - you can put all your stuff in it and there is a usb charger in it. The sheets did not seem that clean but maybe they just look old. It was hot in the room - the little fan helped but it was not enough. a nice place for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hostel. I will pass the positive comments back to our front desk team. I agree that we have some white sheets that re starting to grey with the amount of frequent washing they experience. These are upgraded on a bi monthly basis. Kind Regards, Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice hostel! Would recommend! In a great location staff were really helpful and gave me advice on things to do!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.