Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
YHA Wellington City Located at 292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington.
YHA Wellington City
New Zealand
Wellington 292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce)
88% 1550
-41.2931564 174.7838759
YHA Wellington City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Was a very nice staying. Loved the location. Windows are all sealed so it was very quiet in the room. Beds are comfortable and staff are helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.1

It was nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jul 2016
10.0

Really good hostel they have free Unicorn hire so you explore Wellington and the staff tuck you into bed and read you a story at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here. The location was good, and despite being a GIANT hostel it was easy to meet people in the kitchen/dining area. I stayed in a four-person dorm that had it's OWN bathroom and shower (unheard of elsewhere with that setup)!!!! The staff was extremely helpful in trying to plan future trips and deciding what to do nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
8.9

Huge but well run

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
9.1

Very good hostel. Kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could need, strong wifi throughout all floors, large dining/lounge area, staff were always very helpful. Location is perfect, short walk from everything in Wellington. Security was perfect - swipe cards HAD to be used to get into rooms, and rooms had very large security lockers which also had power sockets inside!! Only downside would be that the atmosphere wasn't brilliant however it is a very large hostel so this is expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Fantastic location. Staff were very helpful and kitchen facilities were very clean and well organised. We couldn't fault it. Thanks YHA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
8.0

Hostel was in a great location, beds in the rooms were well spaced out. Two large kitchens with pleanty of room which is nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not the most social hostel though as it is very large.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.6

YHA has come a long way. Despite my prejudice, I must say this is a good hostel with excellent and clean facilities - at least in the scope of what they offer, this is as good as it gets. Rooms are basic but some of their defects are being rennovated throughout the summer; if done well this should be one of the better hostels in Wellington. The location is favourable, as is the generosity of the staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bigbadrobbo
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.1

Nice place, extremely clean. A bit clinical. And the walls between the shared rooms were a bit thin so talking in other rooms could be heard. I had a noisey air conditioning unit from the building next door blaring away all night, which masked the noises from the room next door, so it wasn't all bad!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.