X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Wellington City Reviews

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1154 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent services, and I love the location.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I don't normally go for big hostels but I was pleasantly surprised by this one. The 2 kitchen areas meant it wasn't over crowded in the evenings. The staff at reception were super friendly and more than happy to help out with any queries.


89%

Great place right downtown. It was quiet and the facilities were great! Loved the cafe right in the building for morning coffee :)

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Noise comes thru windows when on inside rooms..kitchen/dining, requested outside room by street was much better 2nd nite..also noisy students in when we visited..boys on 4th

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly, helpful staff that were extremely accommodating for a late check in. Nice, central location close to many useful facilities. Tidy room and relaxing atmosphere :)

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

see above


71%

Uncomfortable diningrooms, ok for a couple of days, but after some time it just doesnt feel cozy. Great location, disappointing terrace lounge ( just a small balcony, smoking not even allowed). Super central!!


89%

Very central. Big kitchens. No lockers in room.


100%

Good, very large hostel with friendly staff in convenient location. Wifi is extra and no lockers in rooms (as is typical for YHA), but overall would recommend.


94%

A highly recommended place where other than lack of free wifi, all other usual expectations are definitely met. Very helpful staff!


80%

A nice place to stay. We had a private room which was very clean and modern for a hostel. They had a great little coffee maker and some of their coffee which made my morning :) It is a little loud because it's on a busy street, but not too bad. If you are like me and a super light sleeper, they give you ear plugs so not to worry! The parking is the worst part, we had to park 20 mins walk away, but it was nice weather so don't want to complain too much!


89%

I enjoyed my stay more than I expected (it's much more than a basic budget backpackers). Very comfortable, clean, tidy and quiet. Pleasant, helpful staff and a good coffee after walking to so many of the city attractions and shows, so convenient. Good guests too!

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

More like a hotel than a hostel :)


66%

Was ok. Pretty good central location. Very big hostel though. Hard to meet people and socialize.


89%

Great location and excellent amenities. Would totally stay here again.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a pleasure to stay at YHA-Wellington.The Staff was very friendly and helped with everything.The Free Walking Tour was awesome!All in all I recommend staying at the YHA in Wellington :)

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

YHA Wellington City has great facilities and offers an entertaining free walking tour. I was very happy with the hostel except for the error of one staff who allocated five people to a four bed dormitory and another staff's insistence that there were only four people in the dormitory. It would have been appreciated if the staff had done a more thorough check, especially since we asked about the matter twice.


83%

very good hostal. well positioned in the city. Would definitley stay there again


100%

Had a great time, best hostel I have stayed at in NZ

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The best hostel we stayed at in NZ! Amount of cooking space/facilities and dining space was fantastic and lots of natural light in the rooms. Can't fault it.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback