Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
YHA Wellington City Located at 292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington.
YHA Wellington City
New Zealand
Wellington 292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce)
90% 1584
-41.2931564 174.7838759
YHA Wellington City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel - would highly recommend. It would be nice to have lockers in the dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

Perfect place to stay in Wellington. Close to bus, supermarket, Te Papa, waterfront and walking distance to everything else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location, very clean and quite, would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Aug 2016
7.1

The staff were helpful knowledgeable about the area and were helpful in arranging a taxi to the airport for me. The room was pretty clean but the bathrooms were a little dirty - not hugely so but some hair on the shower floor etc. I used this as a place to rest my head and was good value. My only real problem was at times, finding my way around the building got a bit confusing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

It was awesome experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

If you're looking for a very central and convenient place, YHA is perfect! You will find everything you may need there, except maybe good heating in winter. It is a very impersonal backpackers where you will feel relatively comfortable but where the point is not to meet people or have fun. If you just want a clean, well serviced, spacious and well located place to stay, great choice. However, if you hope to experience Wellington bars and nightlife, don't rely on the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.4

Really helpful staff, basic but functional rooms. Plenty of plug sockets and free working wifi!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved my stay. Great location and really good facilities I would happily stay there again, one of the best if not the best hostels I have stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.1

A really really nice hostel! it was in a perfect location, right by many main attractions and a main bus stop. It had lots of great facilities, including a games room and kitchen that was filled with everything you would need. Not the most social atmosphere because of its huge size, but was good to relax in. It was super clean, the only slightly bad thing was that the private room we hired was very basic, especially for its price. Other than that it was a great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.0

Pretty nice location, only a five minute walk from the Te Papa museum and close to a good deal of eating options and bars as well. The place is HUGE and there's not a lot of chances to meet other people, but the facilities are clean. Unlike some other YHA's the wifi and luggage storage are included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.