X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA Wellington City Reviews

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1192 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Good hostel for a short stay, but wouldn't recomand for a longer stay, as it was a bit boring. The facilities are good though and the staff is friendly


83%

Free Wifi would make your customer a bit happier even if you charge a bit more.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely welcoming staff, great position within easy reach of the waterfront, attractions and food and wine establishments.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Almost no security; anyone can get right up into the room levels, except later at night when you need your key card to get in. Staff surly + uninterested. No soap in the level 2 female bathroom for 2 days. Water literally gurgled/fell out of one shower head. Rooms had no lockers. You can't leave your bags with the hostel after checkout, have to use paid lockers. Have to pay for internet - computers slow and not on latest browsers. $31/night for a mixed 6-bed dorm, not the best option in Welly.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Try to improve the atmosphere in the hostel


89%

I was really happy with the dorm room I was in. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved it!


86%

Reception staff very helpful. Single room Spartan. Noisy if windows open - A.C. next door. Only one hair drier and straightener per level, barely adequate.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean and modern. Comfortable bed and fresh towels provided. Friendly staff welcomes you on arrival. Incredibly noisy outside and inside. Delivery trucks to a big supermarket across the street, drunks and boyracers right outside your windows. The noise inside could be improved with rubber liners to stop the doors from banging. I was unfortunate to have a party of some inconsiderate people right in the corridor outside my room at 5am.


74%

Had a nice stay here but it was quite pricey for what we got. Kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms were clean.


100%

I could not rate this place more highly. The staff are fantastic and completely made my stay. Great TV room with loads of movies, comfy beds in spacious room. Two enormous kitchen with plenty of equipment. Fantastic location right next to new world and a short walk from museums, bars and cafés. If you see Kieran the operations manager, buy him a beer from me


69%

Costing nearly $90 with no TV in room and a tiny sized room, had to pay an extra $5 for internet, its really bordering on a rip off, had a similar room in Picton the previous night for $29, also no bathroom in room, Not Good John F

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We really liked this hostel and came back again on our way home. The location is awesome, close to shops, restaurants, Te Papa museum, waterfront, cinemas and the New World supermarket is right across the street. It has two big clean really well-equipped kitchens (that always has good food on the free-food shelf!) a nice TV room and a tiny café next to reception. It's well-run and clean all over, but as most YHAs it's not a party hostel and people tend to stick to themselves.


86%

They were really accommodating since I was a little sick and let me change from a dorm to a private room. The room was pretty cold but they provided really heavy and warm blankets so I had a pretty comfortable sleep. Overall it was a good hostel.


83%

Incredibly clean, very friendly staff. The hostel was generally pretty quiet.


86%

Thank you again for your friendly helpful service.


94%

This was a great hostel! They even have GHD straighteners in the women's toilets! I was highly impressed :).

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's just cozy to stay as always and clean as well. It was great that could use hair dryer. The staff were friendly and nice.


100%

Very good facilities, excellent kitchen. A bit worrying that the hostel could be on fire and yet have a delayed alarm, however.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Apart from the black out and the fire situation (pjs

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback