X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Wellington City Reviews

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1208 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I had a very pleasant stay and was impressed with the attention to the little things that made my stay more enjoyable.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. There is a supermarket just in front of it which is very convenient. It is close to the museums and the waterfront.


83%

Only one night here but it was a good place to stay to explore Queen street, the waterfront, and the sky tower. Easy to meet people in the dining area. Early morning flight was easy bc staff was available 24hours to call taxi. Only 25min ride to airport at 430am. Very cold in the room due to no heat and bathrooms are often crowded due to few facilities compared to number of rooms. Wifi barely worked in my room so I used it in dining area. Overall, fine place to stay.


91%

Very comfortable bed and great location , just is not too convenience for car parking however... Is really a nice place to stay ... :)

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent hostel, onwe of the best of the 218 YHAs I've stayed at (since 1959).. Helpful staff. Quieter than some other hostels.


74%

No atmosphere. It's like a big hotel but cheaper. Very clean and nice bedrooms, but too dear for what it is.


63%

Good: Awesome location. It has everything you need and the kitchen was a good size. Bathrooms and showers were amazingly clean. Staff were very nice and helpful. Nice to have hair dryer and straighteners in bathrooms. Bad: Beds and pillows were so flat and felt like sleeping on rock, very hard to get a good nights sleep when you can't get comfortable and they squeaked constantly. Decor etc very tired and it needs a serious redecoration. Loud at night from ppl drinking in common areas.


86%

A perfectly located and very well run hostel that was perfect for my 3 night stay in Wellington

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

There is very friendly hostel in capital,have a large and clean kitchen ,hot shower available all day important is near the te papa museum and Cuba street It's located in good estate!


97%

One of my favourite hostels. Not too noisy and super clean. Best facilities in the kitchen.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Big YHA, with a not so good location. But the facilities were great (two kitchens, big bathrooms, nice common room). But overall just like any other YHA. Stay in a local, small hostel if you wanna feel at home


66%

Good hostel for a short stay, but wouldn't recomand for a longer stay, as it was a bit boring. The facilities are good though and the staff is friendly


83%

Free Wifi would make your customer a bit happier even if you charge a bit more.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely welcoming staff, great position within easy reach of the waterfront, attractions and food and wine establishments.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Almost no security; anyone can get right up into the room levels, except later at night when you need your key card to get in. Staff surly + uninterested. No soap in the level 2 female bathroom for 2 days. Water literally gurgled/fell out of one shower head. Rooms had no lockers. You can't leave your bags with the hostel after checkout, have to use paid lockers. Have to pay for internet - computers slow and not on latest browsers. $31/night for a mixed 6-bed dorm, not the best option in Welly.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Try to improve the atmosphere in the hostel


89%

I was really happy with the dorm room I was in. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved it!


86%

Reception staff very helpful. Single room Spartan. Noisy if windows open - A.C. next door. Only one hair drier and straightener per level, barely adequate.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean and modern. Comfortable bed and fresh towels provided. Friendly staff welcomes you on arrival. Incredibly noisy outside and inside. Delivery trucks to a big supermarket across the street, drunks and boyracers right outside your windows. The noise inside could be improved with rubber liners to stop the doors from banging. I was unfortunate to have a party of some inconsiderate people right in the corridor outside my room at 5am.


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback