Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Wellington City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1884 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1884 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
10.0

Huge improvement since my last visit about 8 years ago. What a pleasure. Will surely use it again for future school trips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
10.0

Thank you. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • AmeenAAJ
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Aug 2017
9.4

Perfect hostel with everything included. But, for wifi, it's not good that the hostel only provides 2GB of data per day, which means after consuming or exceeding the 2GB limit, you won't be able to use the wifi until after midnight. That's the only thing I didn't like about yha hostels when I was staying in YHA Auckland & Wellington hostels. Other than the limit data of wifi, yha hostel is a good place to stay. Big, clean, & comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
7.4

I always use to stay in YHA, because are the best hostel but I had a bad experience in it. Heather wasn't working and I had the worst cold night since a while. Reception was closed and I didn't know what to do. Shower was broken and I repaired it. Really sad for that... it was better to sleep in my van.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Fantastic location, really couldn't ask for better. Huge facilities; seems to be an old hotel converted to a hostel. Lockers in the room, plus a desk and mirror. The only downside might be the bathrooms. I visited during the off season/winter so it wasn't a problem, but there is only one per floor (2 toilets, 2 showers). Might have to wait if you're getting ready at peak times, but can't confirm. Really great place, though. Absolutely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
9.1

Great hostel. The youth groups that stayed as well were very courteous and respectful too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.0

The hostel is located in the heart of the town and provide parking coupons for $7 a day. Large communal areas with decent facilities. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the heater turned off after 30 minutes so got pretty cold overnight. The bathroom looked like a prison cell and was surprised the hostel do not provide soap. Overall decent hostel to stay and explore Wellington.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.6

Decent hostel. Free wifi (which is rare in NZ). Massive kitchen. The bunks are solid and there's plugs in the lockers. Great location as the airport bus stops close by and there's a supermarket across the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your great review, it is much appreciated. Wellington in general is very compact meaning its an easy stroll to get to most services and attractions. Its also economical getting to us from the airport. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • victorz8523
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel has good facilities, but the 6 mixed dorms are quite small and tight, not ventilated. If nobody check out, you don´t have room cleaning. So you can have a mess depending on the parteners you have in the room. No problems about other items.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feedback, you make a good point with regards cleanliness of our six bedded rooms and how we all rely on all guests to show consideration for others by keeping their gear contained in the lockers provided. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2017
8.3

Need to make clearer the late check in requirements. I had filled out my arrival time of 1am and got there and the place locked up. I went back to look at booking and it is in small writing down the bottom to send email for late check in. It was freezing I had already entered my arrival time in at the top and thought that it would be read. Lucky another girl arrived to let me in. I understand it is written in the booking but needs to be made clear cause had no phone to call either

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that you were inconvenienced with your late checkin. We are in the process of getting a better solution for all guests to gain access to the property after hours via an external intercom. Chris ~ Area Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×