X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA Wellington City Reviews

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1203 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Costing nearly $90 with no TV in room and a tiny sized room, had to pay an extra $5 for internet, its really bordering on a rip off, had a similar room in Picton the previous night for $29, also no bathroom in room, Not Good John F

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We really liked this hostel and came back again on our way home. The location is awesome, close to shops, restaurants, Te Papa museum, waterfront, cinemas and the New World supermarket is right across the street. It has two big clean really well-equipped kitchens (that always has good food on the free-food shelf!) a nice TV room and a tiny café next to reception. It's well-run and clean all over, but as most YHAs it's not a party hostel and people tend to stick to themselves.


86%

They were really accommodating since I was a little sick and let me change from a dorm to a private room. The room was pretty cold but they provided really heavy and warm blankets so I had a pretty comfortable sleep. Overall it was a good hostel.


83%

Incredibly clean, very friendly staff. The hostel was generally pretty quiet.


86%

Thank you again for your friendly helpful service.


94%

This was a great hostel! They even have GHD straighteners in the women's toilets! I was highly impressed :).

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's just cozy to stay as always and clean as well. It was great that could use hair dryer. The staff were friendly and nice.


100%

Very good facilities, excellent kitchen. A bit worrying that the hostel could be on fire and yet have a delayed alarm, however.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Apart from the black out and the fire situation (pjs

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great spot, what you need when you travel!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

How good all round YHA Well is. I have been there 3 times now. Nearly all customers respect each other. For the first time ever last Fri/Sat even some very noisy partygoers awaoke me in the early hours. They were NOT in the women's 6 berth bunk room where I always stay where we respect each other. It is enjoyable to meet so many different TYPE of people ether travellers or locals here for some Wellington festival or venue. Staff as always FANTASTIC everywhere. Linda Wi

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Typical YHA, clean and secure with friendly staff. However I do find these larger hostels to be a little soul-less and so only spent a night, prefer smaller hostels with a more homely atmosphere. A little noisy at night, but on the whole a comfortable stay.


89%

Wonderful clean and well-appointed facilities (kitchens, bathrooms), shame there are no lockers as, even though the rooms are keycard accessed, you have to trust your roomies... I would definitely stay here again!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

as member of yah nz, i got the free wifi that work very stable everywhere in the hostel, easy walk to the cdb, very close to the supermarket, very clean and cozy. Near bus stop.


97%

Very professional.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent services, and I love the location.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I don't normally go for big hostels but I was pleasantly surprised by this one. The 2 kitchen areas meant it wasn't over crowded in the evenings. The staff at reception were super friendly and more than happy to help out with any queries.


89%

Great place right downtown. It was quiet and the facilities were great! Loved the cafe right in the building for morning coffee :)

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Noise comes thru windows when on inside rooms..kitchen/dining, requested outside room by street was much better 2nd nite..also noisy students in when we visited..boys on 4th

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly, helpful staff that were extremely accommodating for a late check in. Nice, central location close to many useful facilities. Tidy room and relaxing atmosphere :)

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(42 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback