Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.4

My one complaint is that it's about a 20-30 minute walk from the city centre, and the 20 minute route is through a park so inconvenient if you want to stay out late. The hostel itself was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and my room was spacious and very clean. I had the best showering experience I have ever had in a hostel at YHA York: a walk-in style shower with strong water pressure that actually gets to the temperature you want it-unreal! A+

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Mighty10
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jan 2017
6.3

Not for a travelling couple but highly recommended to Christians and the elderly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel, very clean, spacious and great shower! Nice food in the restaurant area. Overall a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

2nd Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel is a bit far from the very centre of the city (it's 15 mins walking from the medieval city wall). Apart from that I cannot complain :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.3

The hostel was very clean - it's more like a hotel as it's so big. It's about a 20 min walk into town. We had 2 four-bed rooms for a group of eight with no problems at all. Easy check in and out. There's also a nice communal area for relaxing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Dec 2016
5.4

Nice hostel, but not what I've expected looked more to a hotel with hostels rooms and some facillities. Not felt like in a hostel but a hotel. It's 20min from downtown. Wouldn't recommend it for solo travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
6.9

I was sharing my room with some senior citizens, was awkward one out of that threw my stuff my my bed to his stuff in!! Wtf??He was not sorry for that aswell! Other one was making noice all night! Bed was very uncomfortable, had back ache after first night. Bathroom was okay. Location was great. Staff was helpful. Overall okay okay..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback Jessica Smedley, Reception manager

1st Dec 2016
8.3

I saw the location as an advantage. It's a nice 15 mins walk to the centre and the hostel is surrounded by green. The common room downstairs is quite nice and everything is generally clean. One major inconvenient. The lavatory in the bathroom is so tinny that it made brushing teath a challenging experince. I was wondering how everyone else solved that problem until I was awaken at 1 am by a guy brushing his teeth in a lavatory INSIDE the dorm! Impossible not to wake up with that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

That's the problem with basically new buildings - they are usually nearly perfect. Only downsizes are professional approach (no, that's not bad in the most cases!) and a bit far from city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Jessica Smedley, Reception manager

8th Nov 2016
8.9

The hostel is quite large, but kept very clean. Not a party hostel. Felt safe the entire time. It is about a mile walk from the city center like others have mentioned, but walking along the river a great way to start and end your day. Staff was friendly overall but difficult to find when I wanted to ask a question or order food/drinks from the bar. I had a pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone visiting York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback regarding bar service, we appreciate your patience, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hostel and had a pleasant stay! Jessica Smedley, Reception manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.