X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YHA York Reviews

Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire, York, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
727 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The sitting lounge in the front of the hostel was really nice. Though, the twin bed private room was a bit small, if compared to other hostels. The hostel was really near the center, 15 min walk.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is one of the best places I've ever been. Thank you YHA York. I definitely will come back next time.


80%

Great place to stay and hang out with friends! However, they really need to clean their sofa at the common area!

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Solid meh. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and facility was secure, but nothing special. The WiFi was atrocious, it doesn't work at all in the rooms, and even in the common rooms where it's supposed to work, it sucks. The staff wasn't terribly friendly and they didn't even provide handsoap in the private bathrooms. Also, if you do get a private room, it's not for just one bed, it's 4 bunk beds in one room, which is a little funky. Honestly, if you want a private room, go to a hotel.


89%

I enjoyed my stay and would like to say a special thank you to all those staff who worked on Christmas Day to provide us with a fabulous Christmas lunch. And also to Ben who managed to find me another room to get away from some snorers. All in all a great hostel which I can thoroughly recommend.


83%

Had a very nice stay here. Hostel was clean and quiet. Big place though- bit of a journey from reception to our room (had to go up stairs, down a hall, down more stairs...). Also a twenty minute walk into town (which I didn't mind but some might). Staff super helpful and friendly. Good price for a two-person suite (though I don't know why there was no handsoap in our bathroom. Please put handsoap in the private bathrooms!).


71%

Pretty much okay. The breakfast is kind of robbery, apart from the a bit missuderstandable one-plate-only warm breakfast only cheapest stuff, not even apples or croissants for the money.


97%

Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Just a little too far from york city centre too walk but it was by far the nicest hostel i've been in

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice and warm. Brisk walk into town - by road not river as latter flooded. Good breakfast. York is a beautiful place to visit - much biiger than expected with loads to do, especially this time of year with the Christmas markets on.

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

There is no wifi in the rooms, heating did not work, staff weren't the friendliness. Only one shower working for two rooms, which made it difficult for everyone to shower


86%

Great hostel. The staff were really nice and the kitchen was a good size and mostly well equipped. It was a bit cold in our room but one of the staff gave us a heater! We really enjoyed our stay.


80%

This place really could do with a good deep clean and lick of paint. Some areas are immaculate, yet others were in desperate need of fixing or needing a deep clean. But far too many of the shabby areas, to ignore and spoilt the stay. Very helpful staff

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The friendly staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. The food at breakfast and in the café was tasty and excellent value. Everyone in my party had a great time!

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice and clean hostel with a very large site. They serve delicious and reasonably priced food. There was also a self-catering kitchen with everything one might need for cooking. The location isn't ideal for travellers without a car as it is a 20-minute walk to and from the centre of York. The shortest route would be along River Ouse, which was very poorly lit in night time. There was a bus stop for journeys in the direction of central York just outside the hostel but it was not in use.


80%

It would be nice if 6 bed dorms had more than 3 lockers. Motion detector lights in toilet were a bit alarming-it would be nice if they stayed on longer.

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is friendly, efficient and very accomodating of our needs. A pleasure.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Recommend

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Although location is further for a person who doesn't has a car, the bus stop is at close proximity. Bus no. 2 is frequent at every 10mins. Overall hostel is quite good, kitchen is small to accommodate the capacity of guests if fully occupied. Individual power socket and bedside lamp.


83%

It was a very good stay but I would have preferred something with more wifi access ability and closer to the city.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all York Hostels

Please give us your feedback