Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2017
10.0

This is a very large YHA - and top of the line. Staff are friendly. Everything was modern and clean. I stayed in a shared bedroom (4 beds) and we had a toilet and a shower ensuite (in addition to those in the hallway). Recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Mar 2017
7.1

Not the hostel I would recommend for solo backpackers wanting to meet people. The atmosphere is like a school camp and the majority of guests were 10-13 years old.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.9

Bit out of town but a nice walk so dosent really matter. Not what i would describe as a youth hostel i had 4 other people in my room all above 50... dont bother with the breakfast was extremely bad and £6.95 so a complete waste of money. However everything was very clean and quiet. I didn't use the kitchen but looked decent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.4

Cool place! First hostel I stayed at that wasn't just for young adults- there were older couples, families, and school groups too. Rooms are great with lockers and personal space. There's a bar, restaurant, and buffet breakfast (about 5 pounds).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • macdonaldheather3515
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 72 reviews
21st Jan 2017
7.1

Good hostel, but very far from city centre and directions were not very good, so got quite lost late at night trying to find it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.4

My one complaint is that it's about a 20-30 minute walk from the city centre, and the 20 minute route is through a park so inconvenient if you want to stay out late. The hostel itself was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and my room was spacious and very clean. I had the best showering experience I have ever had in a hostel at YHA York: a walk-in style shower with strong water pressure that actually gets to the temperature you want it-unreal! A+

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Mighty10
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jan 2017
6.3

Not for a travelling couple but highly recommended to Christians and the elderly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel, very clean, spacious and great shower! Nice food in the restaurant area. Overall a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

2nd Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel is a bit far from the very centre of the city (it's 15 mins walking from the medieval city wall). Apart from that I cannot complain :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.3

The hostel was very clean - it's more like a hotel as it's so big. It's about a 20 min walk into town. We had 2 four-bed rooms for a group of eight with no problems at all. Easy check in and out. There's also a nice communal area for relaxing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.