Hostelworld.com

YHA York

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
YHA York Located at Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire, York.
YHA York
England
York Yorkshire, England, UK. YO30 6LP Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire
84% 760
53.9684569 -1.1018514
YHA York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.7

The walk from the station to the hostel was much longer than expected. There wet many school groups, and the breakfast was terrible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
8.9

In an expensive city like York this was good value. The 2 bed private were bunk beds for me and my partner. But no biggy. Good breakfast (which is extra). Set in nice surroundings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.1

Great place, nice clean and queit. Very friendly staff. The place is huge with plenty of space and good facilities. Night staff are fun considering they are doing the grave yard shift. They only downside is the 15 min walk in to town, however it is a pleasant walk along the river so dont let that put you off

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Really friendly staff that were helpful. So clean for a hostel! I was very impressed. Really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.9

I have stayed here several times I can't really fault the hostel. , good value helpful staff no problems

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
6.0

Somewhat disappointing: plug socket broken, light broken, shower blocked, WiFi poor in rooms, unhelpful staff member upon check-in (rest were lovely), and kids running around shouting and banging doors all night. stayed in many better around the world for pittance

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

Really nice and clean, one of the best rooms I've stopped in for a while. You would think this is a 4 star hotel. Shower was amazing, staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and if stopping in York again I will definitely chose YHA again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
9.7

My favorite UK hostel on this trip. Was in a dorm of 4 girls. Apparently almost all the rooms are ensuite. Bunks have an outlet AND a reading light! The hostel is a walk away from City Center. Not bad during the day when you can walk the river path, but at night that path is poorly lit so you have to go a much longer route. Had dinner there one night and the food was mediocre, but I don't really expect much from hostel food. At least they had food service at all (not included in price).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.1

This hostel provides real value for money. It was the most comfortable hostel bed I have slept in and it was quiet and warm in the room with the radiator on. We enjoyed the walk along the river into the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.4

Lovely staff. Really clean & a nice atmosphere. Food could have been better, but apart from that...great! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.