Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
YHA York Located at Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire, York.
YHA York
England
York Yorkshire, England, UK. YO30 6LP Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire
84% 803
53.9684569 -1.1018514
YHA York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Dec 2016
8.3

I saw the location as an advantage. It's a nice 15 mins walk to the centre and the hostel is surrounded by green. The common room downstairs is quite nice and everything is generally clean. One major inconvenient. The lavatory in the bathroom is so tinny that it made brushing teath a challenging experince. I was wondering how everyone else solved that problem until I was awaken at 1 am by a guy brushing his teeth in a lavatory INSIDE the dorm! Impossible not to wake up with that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

That's the problem with basically new buildings - they are usually nearly perfect. Only downsizes are professional approach (no, that's not bad in the most cases!) and a bit far from city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
8.9

The hostel is quite large, but kept very clean. Not a party hostel. Felt safe the entire time. It is about a mile walk from the city center like others have mentioned, but walking along the river a great way to start and end your day. Staff was friendly overall but difficult to find when I wanted to ask a question or order food/drinks from the bar. I had a pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone visiting York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Great staff and comfy atmosphere! A good walk from town and the train station. If you are arriving after dark definitely take the bus because walking past the park at night feels super creepy. But the bus will drop you off within a block of the place and is easy to use. Great value for money, would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
7.7

The showers were hot - and powerful. The place was spotless. The staff was friendly and professional. Still, I would not recommended it - for 2 reasons. First is location - about a mile walk from town - unless you've rented a car, for some reason. You still have to walk, because there's not a lot of places to park any closer to town. The second is the decided unfriendliness of the fellow hostel goers. No one spoke to me, not even my roommates, until the third day I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team here to greater benefit future visitors and hopefully a return visit from yourself. Richard Robinson General Manager

25th Aug 2016
7.7

Further than I expected from the CC but walking along the river is a nice start and end to the day. I didnt really work out how to return from the CC to the hostel by road so walked along the riverbank in pitch darkness. thankfully I was safe but I wouldnt recommend doing that if you can help it. Staff are good, and price of drinks is great. I didnt eat here. Public areas are spotless, nice kitchen, inconsiderate guests with screaming brats in the hallways woke me on both nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team here to greater benefit future visitors and hopefully a return visit from yourself. Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Aug 2016
7.7

This hostel is great but a little overpriced. Breakfast was an extra 5 on top of an already expensive room (which was empty the night I stayed). It is only a short walk to the town which is great and has plenty of facilities. There were only 2 lockers in the bedroom for 8 beds which if there had been more people, would have been a problem. Everything else was great and has a good sized kitchen for cooking yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team here to greater benefit future visitors and hopefully a return visit from yourself. Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 52 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Brilliant hostel, spacious, clean & modern - friendly staff & well priced food. I enjoyed the walk into central York - wifi only available in common area downstairs, disliked having a basin in the dorm room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team here to greater benefit future visitors and hopefully a return visit from yourself. Richard Robinson General Manager

10th Aug 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel, great setting, helpful staff, no complaints here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team here to greater benefit future visitors and hopefully a return visit from yourself. Richard Robinson General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Clean and tidy. Comfortable beds and fantastic staff. Good self catering facilities. Walking distance from town center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team here to greater benefit future visitors and hopefully a return visit from yourself. Richard Robinson General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.