Hostelworld.com

YHA York

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
YHA York Located at Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire, York.
YHA York
England
York Yorkshire, England, UK. YO30 6LP Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire
84% 749
53.9684569 -1.1018514
YHA York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

Really nice and clean, one of the best rooms I've stopped in for a while. You would think this is a 4 star hotel. Shower was amazing, staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and if stopping in York again I will definitely chose YHA again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
9.7

My favorite UK hostel on this trip. Was in a dorm of 4 girls. Apparently almost all the rooms are ensuite. Bunks have an outlet AND a reading light! The hostel is a walk away from City Center. Not bad during the day when you can walk the river path, but at night that path is poorly lit so you have to go a much longer route. Had dinner there one night and the food was mediocre, but I don't really expect much from hostel food. At least they had food service at all (not included in price).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.1

This hostel provides real value for money. It was the most comfortable hostel bed I have slept in and it was quiet and warm in the room with the radiator on. We enjoyed the walk along the river into the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.4

Lovely staff. Really clean & a nice atmosphere. Food could have been better, but apart from that...great! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
6.9

The hostel itself is really cool! I loved how the common room was set up. There weren't many young people around. Lots of older women and families. It's a far walk from the center

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Mar 2016
6.3

Accommodation in York is just generally more expensive. Facilities wise did not have a good experience as firstly, the individual reading light and power socket in my bed were not working - YHA could have improved on this by ensuring that it was working before assigning. Secondly, the toilets and showers were separate which was good but they used spotlights so it gets quite warm after a while. Lastly, the design of toilets were extremely awkward and not suitable for washing face - will hit head

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
8.3

The accommodations were all around really nice, and I never felt uncomfortable or worried about anything. Large common sitting area, clean rooms, food available if you need/want it via restaurant and bar. A good walk into town but it is beautiful. There is a good self-catering facility to use and laundry room on sight. Everything I needed and really enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
6.6

The staff were nice, but our room smelt very badly of gym shoes and we were not given any hand soap for the ensuite. To be fair, we did not ask to move rooms, but we had booked the last 4 bed dorm and did not want to be split up. I don't think the room should have been available to let without a proper airing first. There was also a big dirty/mouldy patch on the wall. The common areas and main building were really nice, but our room was a bit of a let down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Feb 2016
6.3

Bathrooms were disgusting & had one shower to share between lots of people. Constant lines for the bathroom. No wifi in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2016
10.0

I thought it would be good if the lamp on each bed and plug socket are functioning. I had to switch on the light at night to do things because of no light at all in the room except for the main light. I felt guilty towards other occupants in the room. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.