Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 842 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 842 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • goodcommonscents
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

Nice facility located close to the river and town. My only 'complaint' is it would be nice to have wifi in the rooms and better posting of restaurant hours would be great. We tried to get something to eat on a friday night but were told the kitchen had closed at 9pm. When we tried again on Saturday, the kitchen had closed at 830p. :-( Lots of advertising for grat food from the kitchen but nothing to indicate hours of operation. On Saturday, there were a lot of folks coming back from town...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
9.1

Staff allowed a large group (2 groups?) of school children (12 - 13 year-olds?) to run rampant throughout the building until 10 or so at night. They apparently felt helpless to do anything to modify the wild behavior of the children, including not speaking to the chaperones of the children. When I finally spoke to the teachers, they seemed completely unaware of the fact that the children's behavior was inappropriate and disturbing to others staying at the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
10.0

A calm and slick set up, as I booked whilst on the train but made an error for check in time. This was no problem as they had a bed for me which was the most important thing to me. Check in took seconds and was asleep in minutes. However, I did loose a pair of socks to a careless roommate who must have taken them in what can only be described as error!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
10.0

This is a very large YHA - and top of the line. Staff are friendly. Everything was modern and clean. I stayed in a shared bedroom (4 beds) and we had a toilet and a shower ensuite (in addition to those in the hallway). Recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.4

The place is good and well maintained. Some options for entertainment, though the internet is very weak in the rooms. It's a bit far from the city center, but not a problem if you like to walk. The staff is attentions and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Mar 2017
7.1

Not the hostel I would recommend for solo backpackers wanting to meet people. The atmosphere is like a school camp and the majority of guests were 10-13 years old.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.9

Bit out of town but a nice walk so dosent really matter. Not what i would describe as a youth hostel i had 4 other people in my room all above 50... dont bother with the breakfast was extremely bad and £6.95 so a complete waste of money. However everything was very clean and quiet. I didn't use the kitchen but looked decent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.4

Cool place! First hostel I stayed at that wasn't just for young adults- there were older couples, families, and school groups too. Rooms are great with lockers and personal space. There's a bar, restaurant, and buffet breakfast (about 5 pounds).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • macdonaldheather3515
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 72 reviews
21st Jan 2017
7.1

Good hostel, but very far from city centre and directions were not very good, so got quite lost late at night trying to find it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.4

My one complaint is that it's about a 20-30 minute walk from the city centre, and the 20 minute route is through a park so inconvenient if you want to stay out late. The hostel itself was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and my room was spacious and very clean. I had the best showering experience I have ever had in a hostel at YHA York: a walk-in style shower with strong water pressure that actually gets to the temperature you want it-unreal! A+

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of YHA York, all feedback is shared with the team for recognition and to seek improvements for the stays of our future guests. Kind Regards Richard Robinson General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.