Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YHA York

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
YHA York Located at Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire, York.
YHA York
England
York Yorkshire, England, UK. YO30 6LP Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire
84% 768
53.9684569 -1.1018514
YHA York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel. Great location too. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Just what I needed for my one night stay. Bed was comfy and shower was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.4

In general everything was okay for me. Thanks. Kind regards, Virginija

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.7

The walk from the station to the hostel was much longer than expected. There wet many school groups, and the breakfast was terrible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jun 2016
7.1

The hostel is 20m walk to the city center, there are many little beautiful houses along the way to the city center so you can enjoy it. Spacious and friendly lounge but it is also used as a dining room for breakfast. My 8-bed female dorm with its own bathroom and toilet is spacious but still lack of air, stuffy and not clean as expected. Not so good smell at the kitchen. Breakfast is served but seems expensive compared to other hostels at the same range. Directions to the hostel are not updated

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
8.9

In an expensive city like York this was good value. The 2 bed private were bunk beds for me and my partner. But no biggy. Good breakfast (which is extra). Set in nice surroundings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.1

Great place, nice clean and queit. Very friendly staff. The place is huge with plenty of space and good facilities. Night staff are fun considering they are doing the grave yard shift. They only downside is the 15 min walk in to town, however it is a pleasant walk along the river so dont let that put you off

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Really friendly staff that were helpful. So clean for a hostel! I was very impressed. Really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.9

I have stayed here several times I can't really fault the hostel. , good value helpful staff no problems

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
6.0

Somewhat disappointing: plug socket broken, light broken, shower blocked, WiFi poor in rooms, unhelpful staff member upon check-in (rest were lovely), and kids running around shouting and banging doors all night. stayed in many better around the world for pittance

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

Really nice and clean, one of the best rooms I've stopped in for a while. You would think this is a 4 star hotel. Shower was amazing, staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and if stopping in York again I will definitely chose YHA again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.