Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
YHA York Located at Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire, York.
YHA York
England
York Yorkshire, England, UK. YO30 6LP Water End, Clifton, North Yorkshire
83% 790
53.9684569 -1.1018514
YHA York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Sep 2016
7.7

The showers were hot - and powerful. The place was spotless. The staff was friendly and professional. Still, I would not recommended it - for 2 reasons. First is location - about a mile walk from town - unless you've rented a car, for some reason. You still have to walk, because there's not a lot of places to park any closer to town. The second is the decided unfriendliness of the fellow hostel goers. No one spoke to me, not even my roommates, until the third day I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
7.7

Further than I expected from the CC but walking along the river is a nice start and end to the day. I didnt really work out how to return from the CC to the hostel by road so walked along the riverbank in pitch darkness. thankfully I was safe but I wouldnt recommend doing that if you can help it. Staff are good, and price of drinks is great. I didnt eat here. Public areas are spotless, nice kitchen, inconsiderate guests with screaming brats in the hallways woke me on both nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Aug 2016
7.7

This hostel is great but a little overpriced. Breakfast was an extra 5 on top of an already expensive room (which was empty the night I stayed). It is only a short walk to the town which is great and has plenty of facilities. There were only 2 lockers in the bedroom for 8 beds which if there had been more people, would have been a problem. Everything else was great and has a good sized kitchen for cooking yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Brilliant hostel, spacious, clean & modern - friendly staff & well priced food. I enjoyed the walk into central York - wifi only available in common area downstairs, disliked having a basin in the dorm room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel, great setting, helpful staff, no complaints here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Clean and tidy. Comfortable beds and fantastic staff. Good self catering facilities. Walking distance from town center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.6

Great staff and facilities at this tidy and cheerful YHA. It's about a 20 minute walk to the city walls or you can catch a bus. Our private twin room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean, however be mindful that there is no shower curtain. Free WiFi worked very well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
7.7

Overall it was one of the better hostels I've stayed at, the only downside was that there was no wifi in the rooms. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jul 2016
10.0

This hostel is better than any other hostels I stayed during my trip. Although it's not very near to the city centre, but is only takes 20mins walk and there's bus station nearby. I feel like it also suitable for family. But the wifi won't reach my room and I need to stay near the central area to connect it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kateypie
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.9

Really nice hostel but beware solo travellers, this is definitely a family hostel! Not at all set up for singles wanting to meet other people, I think I was the only backpacker, the rest were all families and school groups. The rooms are really nice with 2 mirrors and each bed gets a charging station and light which is really useful. The bathrooms are pretty good, clean showers. About a 20 minute walk into town but I really enjoyed that, it's a nice walk. Food is overpriced, go to supermarket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.