Hostelworld.com

YMCA Christchurch

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
YMCA Christchurch Located at 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch.
YMCA Christchurch
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8140 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140
77% 560
-43.5322160 172.6282530
YMCA Christchurch
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.3

Good location nr Hegley Park & Museum; Bike hire available at nearby Boatshed. My room was clean & warm, but I had issues with the hot water system & had cold shower on 3rd morning at 3.30 am before my flight. Tried 3 bathrooms on 1st day to find a hot shower. Lounges in TV rooms a bit stained & worn. Wifi out of action for 24+ hours over weekend. No nearby shops so reception should stock basic needs for guests to purchase like YHA does.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay in YMCA, everything here is convenient - being close to Botanical garden, Museum and Newmans Coach bus stop pick up to Queenstown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
7.4

Very very basic. But it does the job.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Pretty nice hostel although the atmosphere wasn't great. The rooms are nice and each floor has a tv room. Right by museums and botanical gardens. A cafe is downstairs which is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
8.0

I stayed a few nights in this hostel, and globally it was ok, good place close to the bus interchange or the pickup for Naked bus and Intercity, close to Botanic Gardens The staff was really nice as well but I think the kitchen s really small and not very convenient when you want to cook in rush hours and I have been very disappointed with wifi as wellm 5dollars a day, and mine didnt work for all day long and I think that the price of 39dollars for a ten beds is a little too much as well

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
9.1

I only stayed for one night and was clean, comfy bed and helpful staff. A bit hard to meet other travelers. My only complain is the wifi that I paid $5,00 and was so slow that barely worked. I had to do some bookings and wasn't even able to do it. I don't mind paying if it works but wifi is so slow that shouldn't charge for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
7.4

Nice place, quite spacious with a lot of diversity. Security is standard electronic keyed entry for elevators and rooms. No lockers in rooms. Rooms were comfortable but lacked electrical outlets. Located right next to Christchurch Botanical Gardens and Museum. Approximately 8-10 minute walk from downtown bus exchange. Staff was warm and helpful. YMCA Gym is located in building and available for

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2016
4.3

Pricy hostel with total lack of charm. Probably one of the most boring places. ONE kitchen in the whole building which is crazy. Internet is extra so go to the mall instead. Decently clean and the location is good. The common spaces consist of a small tv, no dvd's and a few armchairs, thats it, not even a poster on the wall.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2016
6.9

Location is great right next to botanical gardens.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • tjcop3116
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
31st Jan 2016
8.3

Decent size twin room. In fact very big. Bit of a soulless place concerning atmosphere. Kitchen is tiny for the amount of people staying/ living there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.