Hostelworld.com

YMCA Christchurch

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 75 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

It's a massive hostel, so it's not a very sociable place. But it's a good place to get some rest. And they've got good laundry facilities too. I found it a bit expensive for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.0

Good place for 1 nights stay. Lots of facilities but you have to pay etc for the gym etc which is annoying since it's not a cheap hostel!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Great customer service at front desk who couldn't do more to help you. Parking was easily accessible. Room was clean (with ensuite) and beds were very comfortable!! The location is directly opposite the botanical gardens which are the highlight of Christchurch. Would throughly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Wish there were lockers in the room but otherwise it was a very pleasant place! Love that it was so close to the Botanic Gardens.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jan 2017
10.0

I made a reservation for a twin room. Luckily without any additilnal cost my room has been upgraded. I enjoyed a lot while travelling ChristChurch.The room was spacious, clean, and tidy. The staff was so nice to everyone from all around countries. If you look for a place to stay in CHCH, why not you choose YMCA over ofhers? Definately I will revist the place if I have a chance to travel to NewZealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely big double room with nice view of the city. Nice bar connected to hostel and walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
7.7

Pretty low key. Not much socializing. No secure storage in room, but I felt safe leaving my stuff with the door locked as my roommates seemed pleasant. Gym being attached was nice so I don't get to work out much on the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
8.3

I was only here from 1am checking in to 7am when I stared my kiwi experience - very good from what I saw!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jan 2017
8.6

Good hostel in great location. They helped us out by getting our room ready asap so we could check in a little earlier as we had flown in early that morning and we're exhausted. Nice staff. Good price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 71 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Great rooms, great location but free wifi would have been nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.