Hostelworld.com

YMCA Christchurch

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.2
YMCA Christchurch Located at 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140, Christchurch.
YMCA Christchurch
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8140 12 Hereford Street Christchurch 8011, P O Box 2004 Christchurch 8140
77% 572
-43.5322160 172.6282530
YMCA Christchurch
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd May 2016
8.6

It is situated just opposite the Christchurch Botanic Gardens and the Canterbury Museum. Short walk from the city center, but the cleanliness was good, and there were plenty of shared toilets. The in-house restaurant is prohibitively expensive though, with NZ$21 for a bowl of Dan Dan Chinese Noodles. I would recommend to eat elsewhere. Overall experience was good and the heater is comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
7.1

3rd best in chch for me. The YHA next door is a better bet, but there's good chill out areas in this one and a cafe downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
6.6

Booked the cheapest room for 1 night and I was alone in 4 bed room. Very cold. Good the bathroom. Close to nakedbus bus stop but far frpm everything else. No free wifi it wasn't full when I stayed there so I can't tell you about the atmosphere. Good hostel, pretty big but out of the budget of a backpacker.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st May 2016
8.6

Good place with lots of people always around. Very clean and next to the park which is nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2016
5.7

One kitchen for too many people. Beds are alright. Facilities were clean though. I wouldn't go back there though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.3

Good location nr Hegley Park & Museum; Bike hire available at nearby Boatshed. My room was clean & warm, but I had issues with the hot water system & had cold shower on 3rd morning at 3.30 am before my flight. Tried 3 bathrooms on 1st day to find a hot shower. Lounges in TV rooms a bit stained & worn. Wifi out of action for 24+ hours over weekend. No nearby shops so reception should stock basic needs for guests to purchase like YHA does.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay in YMCA, everything here is convenient - being close to Botanical garden, Museum and Newmans Coach bus stop pick up to Queenstown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
7.4

Very very basic. But it does the job.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
8.6

Great location next to the botanical gardens and only a short walk to the downtown area. The staff were really helpful and the rooms are nice and clean. It's pretty chill here. The restaurant downstairs had arguably the best yellow curry of my life. I would stay here again just for that....but it's a great hostel, simple and easy :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Pretty nice hostel although the atmosphere wasn't great. The rooms are nice and each floor has a tv room. Right by museums and botanical gardens. A cafe is downstairs which is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.