Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

YMCA Hostel Basel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
YMCA Hostel Basel Located at Gempenstrasse 64, , Basel.
YMCA Hostel Basel
Switzerland
Basel 4053 Gempenstrasse 64
89% 1380
47.5433085 7.5856089
YMCA Hostel Basel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Love this place! Very convenient. Extremely close to the train station. 20 mins bus away from the airport. Few tram stops away from city centre. Kitchen is well equipped with bbq area. Very nice and helpful staff. Highly recommend family to get a family room. It's big and comfortable. Also, people enjoy floating along the Rhine river. If you are a swimmer, remember to bring swim suit and try floating there, or simply put ur feet and feel the coolness. Amazing stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.4

YMCA hostel in Basel was very clean and nice! We stayed in the 8 person mixed dorm and the roommates were all pleasant and respectful as well. Also there was a beautiful lounge and kitchen area available for all guests free of charge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.1

Very pleasant hostel, excellent staff. Good location, in the sense that close to railway station and easy to find - although the wrong side of the station for the main centre of town, but not a big deal. Overall would happily stay there again, good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

YMCA hostel was great for an overnight layover on the way to Italy from France. The hostel is within sight of the train station. Only complaint was the lack of air conditioning in a private room as it was 80 Fahrenheit that night. Fairly far from the beautiful town center, but public transportation is included with the booking. Facilities were pretty clean and they had a very nice kitchen and common area. Very quiet. Overall a good stay if you don't mind a bit of heat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
10.0

A really, really good hostel: all hostels in Switzerland tend to be just excellent value for money, so I didn't worry very much, but YMCA in Basel exceeded expectations in terms of facilities, and staff friendliness. The people who work there were just lovely to all of us, friendly and helpful and professional. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.7

Great location. Very near train station. However, I was shocked to see my bed was just next to another guy's bed - it's like a double bed!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel was exceptionally clean and the people were very friendly. The breakfast is nothing fancy, just some croissants and bread, so be sure to bring your own spreads. Ths kitchen is fully equipt for cooking and the beds are very comfortable. Would of been nice if there were more outlets in the room. Would come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.4

On the Internet writes this hostel does not provide free breakfast.However,I was pleasantly surprised because hostel provides every morning meal.It is not sumptuous,but it is nutritious and I enjoyed it.There was open buffet: croissants, scones, juice and tea.Everything was super fresh and tasty.Hostel is very clean, practical,has a great location.One recep-tionist was so friendly and kind.He works by heart.Hostel has only one drawback: it is expensive as everything in CH. I'll come back soon.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2016
8.0

City tax was annoying and unfortunately I ended up in a room with some weird people,- I think they try to force too many beds into small rooms. However it was very clean and the staff were friendly and the sofa area was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
7.1

The hostel's Location is good but there was no age Limit in the room is i ended up sleeping with some 80 years old peope who were snoring all night! The Lady in the reception in the morning shift was really sweet and helpful and showed me everything. However the Lady at the night shift was so unhelpful and with a bad attitude! she didnt tell me anything, she just gave me the keys and thats it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.