Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YMCA Hostel Basel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
YMCA Hostel Basel Located at Gempenstrasse 64, , Basel.
YMCA Hostel Basel
Switzerland
Basel 4053 Gempenstrasse 64
90% 1444
47.5433085 7.5856089
YMCA Hostel Basel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2016
8.9

My stay was fine specially that I got free upgrade to a room as the dorm i booked was already full. On the constructive side: the heating didnt work at first so i was freezing in the room when i arrived-now heating is quite important wintertime people, so make sure the rooms wait for the guest heated! 2 hours later when I got back it was fixed thank god. Also the receptionists should be ready with recommendations where to eat nearby for reasonable prices!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
10.0

The staff was kind and helpful and the dining area was a great place to sit and hang out in the evenings. Wonderful hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Had a private room and it was clean and worked well, sink in the room was a huge plus! Also, the complimentary metro pass was awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Very close to Basel station. Good location. Spacious hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Oct 2016
8.0

2층 침대끼리 붙어있는게 불편... 콘센트도 불편... 위치나 시설은 깨끗해요

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
9.7

I accidently entered the wrong day when I booked our beds in the dorm, which means we showed up after a long, exhausting night on the train one day late with no reservation and all dorm beds filled. Kevin came to our rescue, finding a private room within our budget. He and Martin bent over backward to be helpful and kind; I am deeply grateful to both of them. The rooms are clean, the beds comfy, the showers powerful, and the hostel is an easy walk from the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Oct 2016
10.0

Best hostel! Great location, everything is super clean and new, satisfying breakfast. Martin was very helpful. Transport card makes it very easy to ride around the city. When visiting in basel- definately go there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.9

The beds are literally next to each other, so I recommend if you are a female to get the female room. Because I had a guy on the bed next to me, if I spread myself on the bed. I could touch him. A little too awkward

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oranjelusilz962
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

Really loved this hostel. The staff really went above and beyond to make me feel welcome after a very late arrival. Amazing kitchen and dining facilities which help a lot since restaurants in Switzerland are quite expensive. Not extremely close to all the sights but they give you a free public transport pass --> amazing! They just really made me feel like a valued guest and even helped to return my watch, which I stupidly forgot, safely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.