Hostelworld.com

YMCA Hostel Basel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
YMCA Hostel Basel Located at Gempenstrasse 64, , Basel.
YMCA Hostel Basel
Switzerland
Basel 4053 Gempenstrasse 64
87% 1369
47.5433085 7.5856089
YMCA Hostel Basel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

YMCA hostel was great for an overnight layover on the way to Italy from France. The hostel is within sight of the train station. Only complaint was the lack of air conditioning in a private room as it was 80 Fahrenheit that night. Fairly far from the beautiful town center, but public transportation is included with the booking. Facilities were pretty clean and they had a very nice kitchen and common area. Very quiet. Overall a good stay if you don't mind a bit of heat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.7

Great location. Very near train station. However, I was shocked to see my bed was just next to another guy's bed - it's like a double bed!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.4

On the Internet writes this hostel does not provide free breakfast.However,I was pleasantly surprised because hostel provides every morning meal.It is not sumptuous,but it is nutritious and I enjoyed it.There was open buffet: croissants, scones, juice and tea.Everything was super fresh and tasty.Hostel is very clean, practical,has a great location.One recep-tionist was so friendly and kind.He works by heart.Hostel has only one drawback: it is expensive as everything in CH. I'll come back soon.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2016
8.0

City tax was annoying and unfortunately I ended up in a room with some weird people,- I think they try to force too many beds into small rooms. However it was very clean and the staff were friendly and the sofa area was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
7.1

The hostel's Location is good but there was no age Limit in the room is i ended up sleeping with some 80 years old peope who were snoring all night! The Lady in the reception in the morning shift was really sweet and helpful and showed me everything. However the Lady at the night shift was so unhelpful and with a bad attitude! she didnt tell me anything, she just gave me the keys and thats it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
9.4

The staff were extremely helpful. I was cycling from Frankfurt and they allowed me to put my bicycle in their security rooms in the basement. I would go there again in a heartbeat! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
7.4

Stayed here hoping to meet people as I was travelling on my own but only families and Asian people stay at this hostel. I guess that makes sense why there's no bar in the hostel. If you're travelling solo and want to meet people do not stay here. Apart from that the hostel is very clean, beds are good and staff is excellent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

Nice staff, great kitchen. Clean and cosy room. Close to railway station. Very comfortable stay except that the reception girl with glasses on duty 16th May morning was extremely rude, impolite. If you see such a girl when checking in, be careful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th May 2016
9.1

Great stop on the way to my early morning flight at the Basel airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
9.1

Just the TVroom could be more valued or have more "games" in the hall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.