Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YMCA Hostel Basel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
YMCA Hostel Basel Located at Gempenstrasse 64, , Basel.
YMCA Hostel Basel
Switzerland
Basel 4053 Gempenstrasse 64
90% 1405
47.5433085 7.5856089
YMCA Hostel Basel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

I only stayed for one night, but it was lovely. The room was clean and the lockers are massive! My boyfriend (who was not staying) was allowed to leave his luggage there for the day and was also given a free travel pass :) great service!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
7.7

It will be good if the wall can protect the sound of next door. Because I can hear everything from both rooms beside me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
10.0

VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS HOSTEL.EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT.HAD TO WAIT A LIITLE TIME TO CHECK IN BUT NOT A PROBLEM.FREE TRANSPOR AROUND BASEL A BONUS.WOULD STAY AGAIN IF IN BASEL.,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.6

Clean! Easy. Like it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

Good hostel. Room was basic. Floor shared bathrooms. Not shared with the room. Other than that good hostel. Very close to the train station. We got And a free public transport card from the hostel. If you want to swim in the Rhine, buy your wikkelfish at the hostel. 5 krone cheaper then when you buy it in town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Great location, right near the train station and a short walk into the old town. Kitchen facilities were fantastic, nice lounge and what would have been a lovely courtyard had it not been raining while I was there. The only real negative was that there were only two power points in the dorm room and they were very high on the wall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.6

This hostel was ruined by how close the beds in the room were.. Me and my girlfriend were not put in beds next to each other and we're both sleeping essentially in a double bed with a stranger. There was a 60+ old man sleeping naked in one bed too which I thought was a bit out of the ordinary. Everything BUT the beds and the rooms were okay, and you get a transport pass.. But wouldn't stay there again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel, location is good! 4 minute walk to the main train station. Staff were really friendly and helpful, the hostel is really nice - very clean and a welcoming atmosphere. The only thing I would have to mention is the lack of plugs in the room, In an 8 bed room we only had 2 plugs which was a bit of a nightmare. Other than that a great hostel, would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Love this place! Very convenient. Extremely close to the train station. 20 mins bus away from the airport. Few tram stops away from city centre. Kitchen is well equipped with bbq area. Very nice and helpful staff. Highly recommend family to get a family room. It's big and comfortable. Also, people enjoy floating along the Rhine river. If you are a swimmer, remember to bring swim suit and try floating there, or simply put ur feet and feel the coolness. Amazing stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.4

YMCA hostel in Basel was very clean and nice! We stayed in the 8 person mixed dorm and the roommates were all pleasant and respectful as well. Also there was a beautiful lounge and kitchen area available for all guests free of charge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.