Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YMCA Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.9
YMCA Hostel Located at Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, , Auckland.
YMCA Hostel
New Zealand
Auckland Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue
75% 208
-36.8555271 174.7590923
YMCA Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
2.0

My flight was delayed by 15 hours so I had to cancel my booking. After being stuck at an airport for 25 hours i was told i cancelled too late and had to pay the full price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • claireeyy88
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Oct 2016
8.9

Good clean hostel. 10min walk to Queen Street. Also has a gym. Rooms are a good size with lockers and cupboards in them. Staff are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We appreciate your comments very much. Kind Regards, Aline Iantorno Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.0

Location is great, close to everyting we needed in the CBD. We got a private room, which was very clean. Staff was great: we had to change the check-in dates in the last minute and they were very supportive. Kitchen and male bathroom were not so clean, but they were usable. The parking lot could be free for guests - even paying to park you can't park there from 8am-5pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you couldn't find the facilities clean as it is one of our biggest concerns and one of our best feedback as well. We are very sorry for that. Thank you for your comments! Kind Regards, Aline

  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
5.4

Really Expensive around 40$ and it didn't include WIFI, 500mb for 3 $ and it just could surf for 1 hour internet. Also it was a weird smell in the rooms, really disappointing the worst hostel in my holidays in New Zealand.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.3

Noisy, people showering/using the toilet all night. Which you could hear through the walls. But very clean and great/friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry for the noise and the issue that it may have caused. Kind Regards, Aline Iantorno Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Sep 2016
7.7

Everything you need in a hostel is here, shame you have to pay for all the WiFi you use and the kitchen is tiny and basic. But location is good and staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Aline Iantorno Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
8.9

The Auckland YMCA Hostel is a great place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in the city. It's well managed, clean, friendly and has all the necessary facilities. I really liked the reception and adjoining lounge area because it has a pool table, table tennis and other games.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your words and we're very happy that you had a good time with us. I will pass your kind words to our team. Kind Regards, Aline iantorno Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2016
7.7

Good location, friendly staff. Really lacking in atmosphere though. Kind of reminded me of school camp or something.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We promote activities to create a good atmosphere and bring people together. However we do understand your opinion and we are looking into options to make our environment more pleasant to the guests. Kind Regards, Aline Iantorno Duty Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.