X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YMCA Hostel Reviews

Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
66 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Clean, close to the center, very nice!


83%

Room was good, bathrooms were super clean. The kitchen was pretty lacking though.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for your feedback Appreciate you find our rooms to be good and bathrooms very clean, kitchens are due to renovation, however I'm sorry for any incovenience. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

Rooms are cold, no heaters. Not really a hostel, poor kitchen. Basic accomodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We provide Heaters to be hired from reception and extra blankets in all the rooms. Kitchen is due to renovation, however is well maintained with a diverse range of kitchen utensils available. We aim to be a basic accommodation and being a Hostel or Hotel is relative, however the service and cleanliness and team is 5 star. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

74%

Overall decent hotel, not really a hostel. Parking is at night only and expensive considering your not even downtown. Rooms and washroom clean. Staff was friendly, sadly no atmosphere here though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoy your stay, our Cleanliness and Friendly service. Our Car Parking rates are about 15% cheaper than others in the same block. In regards the atmosphere we provide weekly and monthly events, I'm sorry if you didn't have the chance to enjoy one of them. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

91%

Enjoyed the stay!! The lady on reception was very helpful and cheerful.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and happier you found one of our receptionists to be helpful and cheerful. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

I stayed YMCA hostel about 10 days. I am satisfied my choice. It has very clean room. Staffs are very kind. Location also good. Some people told me It's too expensive but I didn't care because It was my choice. If I go to Auckland later, I am confident that I'll stay YMCA again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy with your comments, glad you found our staff to be kind and location good. Our rates follow the market and facilities we offer, we would never charge an amount that does not reflect our value. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager



View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback