X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YMCA Hostel Reviews

Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
135 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hostel was good, the facilities are good however the WiFi isn't free and neither is the parking. My vehicle got towed on my checkout and I was not happy about this seeing as there should be free parking and exemption for backpackers staying at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay, we provide one the cheapest internet rates in Auckland, however, we are investigating other solutions. In regards parking I personally checked all the vehicles of towed last month and could not find your registration, please next time advise us and we can provide a resolution. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regard, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

77%

Good location. Very functional. No male bathroom on our floor, so one person in our group had to go downstairs. Other than that decent hostel. Staff very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We have bathrooms in all floors, however, they are separated by gender and unfortunately that day we could not attend your request as we were sold out, I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

It's been an enjoyable stay and I'm glad for something comfortable and convenient for my first time in New Zealand.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had something comfortable and convenient upon arriving in New Zealand, cool you had an enjoyable stay, we work hard to provide the best experience within a small budget. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

77%

Good location, clean and decent rooms. Not much of an atmosphere though, felt like more of a hotel and was not very welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we could not provide a service that you expect, for sure we are happy that you find the rooms to be clean and I will definitely investigate why we weren't welcoming to you. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

I have to say this was my first time staying at a YMCA and the staff were great and very helpful for the price it was very good.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed your stay and staff were great. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

91%

Extremely clean hostel! I was thoroughly impressed with my stay here. It felt very much like a university dorm room but with more to do. Nearby gym was a nice bonus!


91%

This hostel was great! The showers were clean and hot, and the Internet, although not free, was cheap and fast! We had a great stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you think we did a great with you, even happier to know you got a nice, hot and clean showers. We investigating ways to provide an even cheaper internet, however, providing the same or better speed. Hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

97%

Very good hostel. Friendly atmosphere, no alcohol allowed , so no annoying loud backpackers Competent staff Location is good. Easy to reach from the airport, only 10 min walk into the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your amazing feedback. Lovely to host your stay in New Zealand. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

77%

The wifi is pretty expensive compared to the many other hostels we have stayed in NZ. The staff are lovely! Quiet hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you find our Staff lovey and quiet Hostel, we will certainly investigate options to better delivery our WiFi service. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto

100%

Bit cold, could invest in double glazing when they have some cash to spare.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry for having a cold stay, we do provide heaters in all the rooms and extra blanket, we have moved the heater from the Wardrobe so everyone can see them. In regards Double Glazing yes it is a fantastic idea, the spare cash is the challenge. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

83%

practically, we had a good stay. facilities like the kitchen is not well mentained. the location was fairly good since you need a few walks only to reach a convenience stores. reasonably priced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feeedback. Glad you have a good stay, we have renovated our kitchens and look amazing, we have a great location and fabulous staff, thank you. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

The staffs are friendly and the room, the toilet and the shower room are clean! If it has more cooking utensils will be better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed the stay with us, we were going through renovations in our Kitchens, new kitchens utensils are now in place, sorry about the inconvenient. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

77%

Good stay in massive hostel which effects atmosphere. Good facilities; bathrooms and kitchens on each floor. Dorms have own fridge and enough store space. Little noise at night from traffic and quiet warm, but ok.


83%

Very secure, a bit of walk -15 minutes- from city centre. Staff very helpful for hints to sell my van, how to get around the area and for the gym of the neighboring YMCA. There is a lack of atmosphere since the place is huge. I think the place is a bit pricey since it's not close to everywhere, no breakfast and no wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

86%

Nice "hotel". Very clean and quiet. If you're not there to meet people, it is a perfect place to stay in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback, Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

The kitchens were really small, and you have to pay for wi-fi. Otherwise pretty good hostel. Atmosphere was a bit boring, nothing partylike arranged by the hostel even on St. Paddy's day


86%

Good overall but really lacks atmosphere and character. Most guests were nerdy Asian types. Liked the gym free trial.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback, We offer several activities in the daily basis, such as; Sunday Movies, Pizza Nights, Friday Competitions, Tuesday Treat, Wednesday Yoga plus a fully equipped gym with a schedule of over 20 Group Fitness Classes, additionally we provide a multi sport indoor court and nice garden. In regards our guests, we do not judge or sterotype, colour, race, gender or country birth, I'm sorry if you do. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

91%

Friendly reception, was upgraded from a dorm room to a private double room.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

Stayed in a single room - nice , clean room with a bad and refrigerator. Bright and sunny room, clean bathrooms and shower, great location - only a 5 minute walk to queens street

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

97%

Clean and nice, the lobby is awesome and atmopshere is comfortable. also it is right in between K road, Queen st and Ponsonby so you are walking distance between all of them.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback