X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YMCA Hostel Reviews

Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
87 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice hostel with plenty of space. Fridge in the room which was a nice touch. Needs aircon or some other way of keeping the sun out. Had some hot nights. Could also do with a fence around the outdoor area/garden plus an enforced noise policy for same. Loud kids yelling a good part of the night and in the morning the local alkies took over.


80%

The ceiling of the showers is reflective, which means the person in e next cuibcle can watch you shower, and vice versa. Also, the shower cubicles bad no dry area for towels and clothers. The whole cubicle got wet.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very stressing communication with reception re: the parking, was given a chit for 1st night all good, 2nd day went to pay again and given another chit and told it was valid until I left, which was Thurs 1st January. On vacating on the 1st my car had been towed away and I was fined $250, when I enquired from reception was told the chit was only valid until Wednesday? could not see the sense in this as I was booked in as stated until Thurs morning. Would love a refund from the tow truck company

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everyone I saw there, all the guests, were treated with great respect and kindness. I felt like a true guest. The last day of my stay, the sun shown through the window and the walls sparkled, reminding me of cleanliness and happiness. I am glad I chose to stay there as part of my special trip to New Zealand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed our services and facilities, hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

69%

Ok hostel if you a quiet nights sleep or don't want to do anything. Bathrooms are excellent I have to say but kitchen's are very small. Location is as its in the City but not close for the traffic to to noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you find our Bathrooms to be excellent, kitchens are due to renovation in 2015, happy to have you back to see it again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

97%

Very friendly staff and clean hostel in a very good area connected to CBD.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you found our wonderful staff to be friendly and the Hostel to be clean, glad you enjoyed our location as well. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

Great little hostel. A short walk from queen street. Up by the hostel is a small shopping area. Subway and some nice cafés. I had a private single very nice room. Clean. Had a bed, chair, mirror, table and a wardrobe. Wish it had a tv though. Kitchens, showers, toilets, laundry and dinning rooms located on most floors. All I can say us this is the hostel to stay at in auckland .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you really enjoyed staying with us, happier you think we are "The Hostel" to stay in Auckland. Unfortunately TV's are not in our plans due to the substantial investment in infrastructure and a very limited budget. Once again thank you for your detailed feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

94%

Clean, close to the center, very nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto

83%

Room was good, bathrooms were super clean. The kitchen was pretty lacking though.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for your feedback Appreciate you find our rooms to be good and bathrooms very clean, kitchens are due to renovation, however I'm sorry for any incovenience. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager



View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback