X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YMCA Hostel Reviews

Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
176 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Clean, affordable and very friendly stuff!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

94%

I thought this place was great. We checked in and got a free upgrade to a private room which was a great way to start off our trip! The bathrooms were very clean and the location was within walking distant to a lot of the bars and restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your free upgrade, even happier your room and facilities were extremely clean. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

77%

Great to have my own room and necessities.

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

The staff were great and even though i arrived a few hours later than stated, it was no issue. The hallway and the room however had quite a "prison" atmosphere and it was very noisy. For the one short night I had it was fine, especially in a private room, but I wouldn't stay longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

86%

Bathroom is very clean, but there are few women bathroom. We stayed at the 3rd floor and the only shower was at the 5th floor, if I remember well. When I arrived, I parked the car behind the hostel, in a non allowed car park. Indications were not clear about that. Clearer indications are needed to show were is the correct car park located. I marked the breakfast option in the sheet and nothing was payed for that. At morning no one knew about it. But the staff provided it anyway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you think our staff is awesome, great news, we are going to turn one more floor into female floor in order to enhance the quality of their stay. I'm sorry about the breakfast option, clearly we need to pay more attention on it. In regards the Car Parking, unfortunately, we cannot take responsibility for Auckland City Council signs, as we do have signs all over our car parking. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto

77%

Good reasonable hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback Kind Regards Jay Jon Front Office Manager

94%

I had a fantastic stay at the YMCA hostel. It's well located between K'rd and the main Queen st drag. Two really fun streets to walk down in Auckland. My room was VERY CLEAN and she bed was nicely made and towel all hung up for me. The kitchen had a hot water kettle for my cup o noodles. The staff at the UMCA hostel were very friendly and helpful. They even let me check my bag as i checked out so I could roam about my last day without it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you had a fantastic stay in YMCA Hostel, happy your room was cleaned and bed nicely made. Awesome you find us to be Friendly and Helpful, Thank you! Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

63%

Very nice clean and quiet private room with good shared bathroom. A little out of the way


74%

I have two things to say, first the hostel should think about to provide free wifi. It's time to do tthis any hostel have this facilities. Second, do some interesting activities like show some native spot near there or something else. By the way, I didn't feel comfortable to walk alone around, too much homeless and strange people.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to see that you gave us high scores for cleanliness and staff. I am sorry we dont provide free wifi, instead we provide a reliable and fast internet. The cost of this is absorbed into the cost of wifi to the customer. I hope you understand. Auckland City is quite well-lit and populated so its actually very safe. We also have the advantage of having a police station close to us. Thank you Kind Regards Jay Jon Front Office Manager

83%

Good facilitiea only there for one night. A fair walk into the heart of Auckland.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

86%

This hostel was nice. The guy t eh exemption desk was very very ice nd helpfu. The beds were the most comfortable beds of 7 of the hostels we stayed in on our trip. Also the rooms felt clean. We stayed in a 3 person private room and the room had mini fridge, 2 large armoires, plenty of hooks and a desk. It as decent size.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

94%

My only comment concerns WIFI... it would be great to get free WIFI. However, I know how difficult it is to get this in NZ.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We have had a problem in our internet connection, earlier September, everything seems to be running well now, I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

86%

This a a clean, secure, comfortable, good location accommodation. Airport bus drop off and pick up is a 7 min walk. Cafes and shops close. Twenty min walk to ferry. Highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for the valuable comments and great feedback Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

83%

It was a good experience to stay at YMCA Auckland. We like the room and the view through the window. My only concern is the kitchen is quite small and have to handle guests from 2 floors. then I found that it full especially in the morning and evening.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

94%

The Manager and other staff are very accommodating and polite to us. I truly enjoyed my stay in this place. Definitely will be coming back here if I stay in Auckland again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed our services, staff and facilities, we will be more than happy to host your stay. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

63%

Strange vibe. A lot of long stayers. Clean and central but wouldn't stay longer than a night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry, you could not find the vibe you were after, as advertised we are not a party Hostel. Currently 78% of our guests are staying in the short term basis. We are proud to host travelers from all over the world, I understand, sometimes, the cultural difference from country to country can be hard to understand. Glad you find our property to be clean and in a central location. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

WILL NEVER USE HOSTELWORLD AGAIN. WILL BAD MOUTH HOSTELWORLD TO THE MAX!!! WILL NOT SUPPORT HOSTELWORLD IN ANY SHAPE OR FORM.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was good, the facilities are good however the WiFi isn't free and neither is the parking. My vehicle got towed on my checkout and I was not happy about this seeing as there should be free parking and exemption for backpackers staying at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay, we provide one the cheapest internet rates in Auckland, however, we are investigating other solutions. In regards parking I personally checked all the vehicles of towed last month and could not find your registration, please next time advise us and we can provide a resolution. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regard, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

77%

Good location. Very functional. No male bathroom on our floor, so one person in our group had to go downstairs. Other than that decent hostel. Staff very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We have bathrooms in all floors, however, they are separated by gender and unfortunately that day we could not attend your request as we were sold out, I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

It's been an enjoyable stay and I'm glad for something comfortable and convenient for my first time in New Zealand.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had something comfortable and convenient upon arriving in New Zealand, cool you had an enjoyable stay, we work hard to provide the best experience within a small budget. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback