X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YMCA Hostel Reviews

Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
91 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel was nice. Got a private room for three which I really liked. The staff member was sweet and patient with us and talked to us in our native laguage (Spanish) which was great. The place i sgood, though the internet isn't very good.


97%

A couple of suggestions: a bigger room to allow for people to eat, cook, and socialize together would be great. As well, recycling could be supported by having each floor with facilities. Thanks for a great experience

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great service from staff. Allowed me to stay an extra night at the discounted price I originally payed for. Security staff were very chatty and tried to help me out with a screwdriver. Thank you staff of YMCA.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel with plenty of space. Fridge in the room which was a nice touch. Needs aircon or some other way of keeping the sun out. Had some hot nights. Could also do with a fence around the outdoor area/garden plus an enforced noise policy for same. Loud kids yelling a good part of the night and in the morning the local alkies took over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your helpul feedback. Glad you enjoyed our facilities, sorry about the inconvenience caused, we will take a special note about your suggestions and make some improvements to your next stay, Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

The ceiling of the showers is reflective, which means the person in e next cuibcle can watch you shower, and vice versa. Also, the shower cubicles bad no dry area for towels and clothers. The whole cubicle got wet.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm not sure about the reflection you have seen, I personally investigated and could not find a problem there, however we may change the lights from cool white to just white and it will cut the reflection down. We are investigating a curtain to be installed in each cubicle which would mitigate this problem, however, we do have extra hooks outside and inside of the cubicle. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

89%

Very stressing communication with reception re: the parking, was given a chit for 1st night all good, 2nd day went to pay again and given another chit and told it was valid until I left, which was Thurs 1st January. On vacating on the 1st my car had been towed away and I was fined $250, when I enquired from reception was told the chit was only valid until Wednesday? could not see the sense in this as I was booked in as stated until Thurs morning. Would love a refund from the tow truck company

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Our Staff have been communicated with you in the past few weeks, hopefully the whole problem was sorted. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto

100%

Everyone I saw there, all the guests, were treated with great respect and kindness. I felt like a true guest. The last day of my stay, the sun shown through the window and the walls sparkled, reminding me of cleanliness and happiness. I am glad I chose to stay there as part of my special trip to New Zealand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed our services and facilities, hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

69%

Ok hostel if you a quiet nights sleep or don't want to do anything. Bathrooms are excellent I have to say but kitchen's are very small. Location is as its in the City but not close for the traffic to to noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you find our Bathrooms to be excellent, kitchens are due to renovation in 2015, happy to have you back to see it again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

97%

Very friendly staff and clean hostel in a very good area connected to CBD.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you found our wonderful staff to be friendly and the Hostel to be clean, glad you enjoyed our location as well. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

Great little hostel. A short walk from queen street. Up by the hostel is a small shopping area. Subway and some nice cafés. I had a private single very nice room. Clean. Had a bed, chair, mirror, table and a wardrobe. Wish it had a tv though. Kitchens, showers, toilets, laundry and dinning rooms located on most floors. All I can say us this is the hostel to stay at in auckland .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you really enjoyed staying with us, happier you think we are "The Hostel" to stay in Auckland. Unfortunately TV's are not in our plans due to the substantial investment in infrastructure and a very limited budget. Once again thank you for your detailed feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

94%

Clean, close to the center, very nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Room was good, bathrooms were super clean. The kitchen was pretty lacking though.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for your feedback Appreciate you find our rooms to be good and bathrooms very clean, kitchens are due to renovation, however I'm sorry for any incovenience. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

Rooms are cold, no heaters. Not really a hostel, poor kitchen. Basic accomodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We provide Heaters to be hired from reception and extra blankets in all the rooms. Kitchen is due to renovation, however is well maintained with a diverse range of kitchen utensils available. We aim to be a basic accommodation and being a Hostel or Hotel is relative, however the service and cleanliness and team is 5 star. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

74%

Overall decent hotel, not really a hostel. Parking is at night only and expensive considering your not even downtown. Rooms and washroom clean. Staff was friendly, sadly no atmosphere here though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoy your stay, our Cleanliness and Friendly service. Our Car Parking rates are about 15% cheaper than others in the same block. In regards the atmosphere we provide weekly and monthly events, I'm sorry if you didn't have the chance to enjoy one of them. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

91%

Enjoyed the stay!! The lady on reception was very helpful and cheerful.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and happier you found one of our receptionists to be helpful and cheerful. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

I stayed YMCA hostel about 10 days. I am satisfied my choice. It has very clean room. Staffs are very kind. Location also good. Some people told me It's too expensive but I didn't care because It was my choice. If I go to Auckland later, I am confident that I'll stay YMCA again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy with your comments, glad you found our staff to be kind and location good. Our rates follow the market and facilities we offer, we would never charge an amount that does not reflect our value. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

74%

The main advantage of this hostel is its central location. Disadvantages are its enormous size and inadequate kitchen/dining facilities. It's fine if all you're after is a cheap bed, not so much if you want to meet fellow travelers. It has no character whatsoever, but that was to be expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you find our Location to be good. In regards the kitchen, we do have a project to renovate and the near future. In terms of fellow traveler just tonight we have about 38 different nationalities staying with us, we do have a more family environment as we are not a party Hostel, I'm sorry if we have not fulfilled your expectations. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

Clean, safe hostel. Bit off queen st, but within 10 mins you are in the heart of th city. Not exactly the place to meet other travellers as clearly there are a lot of long termers. Staff were helpful. Good hostel, but slightly pricey.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We delighted you pointed out our good location, cleanliness and safety. Currently we have about 60% of our beds taken by travelers exactly like you, sorry if you didn't have a chance to meet other guests, our rates are about 5% to 15% cheaper than competitors, please have a shop around and compare. Once again thank you for your feedback Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager.

83%

This is my second stay at the YMCA Hostel in Auckland and I would recommend it to anyone. I book a private single room and is much cheaper than getting a hotel room. The rooms are very clean and neat. If you're looking for a basic place to sleep this is ideal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed staying with us, happy you understand our concept, we aim to provide an affordable, comfortable and clean accommodation. We are looking forward to meeting you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

86%

Nice location. Took the Citylink bus from Queen street for 50 cents. Very nice single rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Happy you enjoyed our location and Single rooms, we all look forward to meeting you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback