X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

YMCA Hostel Reviews

Corner Pitt street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
74 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very friendly staff and clean hostel in a very good area connected to CBD.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you found our wonderful staff to be friendly and the Hostel to be clean, glad you enjoyed our location as well. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

Great little hostel. A short walk from queen street. Up by the hostel is a small shopping area. Subway and some nice cafés. I had a private single very nice room. Clean. Had a bed, chair, mirror, table and a wardrobe. Wish it had a tv though. Kitchens, showers, toilets, laundry and dinning rooms located on most floors. All I can say us this is the hostel to stay at in auckland .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you really enjoyed staying with us, happier you think we are "The Hostel" to stay in Auckland. Unfortunately TV's are not in our plans due to the substantial investment in infrastructure and a very limited budget. Once again thank you for your detailed feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

94%

Clean, close to the center, very nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto

83%

Room was good, bathrooms were super clean. The kitchen was pretty lacking though.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for your feedback Appreciate you find our rooms to be good and bathrooms very clean, kitchens are due to renovation, however I'm sorry for any incovenience. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

Rooms are cold, no heaters. Not really a hostel, poor kitchen. Basic accomodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We provide Heaters to be hired from reception and extra blankets in all the rooms. Kitchen is due to renovation, however is well maintained with a diverse range of kitchen utensils available. We aim to be a basic accommodation and being a Hostel or Hotel is relative, however the service and cleanliness and team is 5 star. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Overall decent hotel, not really a hostel. Parking is at night only and expensive considering your not even downtown. Rooms and washroom clean. Staff was friendly, sadly no atmosphere here though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoy your stay, our Cleanliness and Friendly service. Our Car Parking rates are about 15% cheaper than others in the same block. In regards the atmosphere we provide weekly and monthly events, I'm sorry if you didn't have the chance to enjoy one of them. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

91%

Enjoyed the stay!! The lady on reception was very helpful and cheerful.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and happier you found one of our receptionists to be helpful and cheerful. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

I stayed YMCA hostel about 10 days. I am satisfied my choice. It has very clean room. Staffs are very kind. Location also good. Some people told me It's too expensive but I didn't care because It was my choice. If I go to Auckland later, I am confident that I'll stay YMCA again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy with your comments, glad you found our staff to be kind and location good. Our rates follow the market and facilities we offer, we would never charge an amount that does not reflect our value. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

74%

The main advantage of this hostel is its central location. Disadvantages are its enormous size and inadequate kitchen/dining facilities. It's fine if all you're after is a cheap bed, not so much if you want to meet fellow travelers. It has no character whatsoever, but that was to be expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you find our Location to be good. In regards the kitchen, we do have a project to renovate and the near future. In terms of fellow traveler just tonight we have about 38 different nationalities staying with us, we do have a more family environment as we are not a party Hostel, I'm sorry if we have not fulfilled your expectations. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

80%

Clean, safe hostel. Bit off queen st, but within 10 mins you are in the heart of th city. Not exactly the place to meet other travellers as clearly there are a lot of long termers. Staff were helpful. Good hostel, but slightly pricey.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We delighted you pointed out our good location, cleanliness and safety. Currently we have about 60% of our beds taken by travelers exactly like you, sorry if you didn't have a chance to meet other guests, our rates are about 5% to 15% cheaper than competitors, please have a shop around and compare. Once again thank you for your feedback Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager.

83%

This is my second stay at the YMCA Hostel in Auckland and I would recommend it to anyone. I book a private single room and is much cheaper than getting a hotel room. The rooms are very clean and neat. If you're looking for a basic place to sleep this is ideal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed staying with us, happy you understand our concept, we aim to provide an affordable, comfortable and clean accommodation. We are looking forward to meeting you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

86%

Nice location. Took the Citylink bus from Queen street for 50 cents. Very nice single rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Happy you enjoyed our location and Single rooms, we all look forward to meeting you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

100%

I just like a basic no-frills place, and here the cheap private rooms are a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Very happy you enjoyed our rates and facilities, hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

83%

Nice ajd clean bathrooms and toilets. Kitchen was not really good though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Happy you enjoyed our Bathroom and Toilet Facilities, our Kitchens is due to renovation this year, however, our 2 kitchens have Hot Plates, Microwaves, Ovens, Fryers and all Kitchen Utensils, additionally we do have a dining room and spacious Lounge where you can interact with guests from all over the world. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager

91%

This hostel was extremely clean, quiet, and had very comfortable beds. The staff were excellent and the hostel was conveniently located to downtown Auckland. This hostel is huge and has more of a hotel feel than a smaller hostel. I would recommend it to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your fantastic Feedback. We're glad that you had a very pleasant stay with us. Our rooms are cleaned by very capable Housekeeping Staff and the Reception staff are always willing to help in any way they can with their vast knowledge of the Auckland Area with a friendly smile. I hope to see you coming back and staying with us again. Thank you. Kind Regards Eung Yeon Jon Front Office Manager

83%

Clean, nice, tidy,friendly staff, quiet for the night. What else you want?


89%

Had such a good stay here. The staff were so kind and friendly and knew a lot about the city. The location is great, there's a food court near by and a 7 minute walk to the centre. Would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your feedback. We're very happy to hear that staff was helpful and the location very convenient. We have a very dedicated group of staff with a great knowledge of the area and a warm personality to help our customers with any enquiries. We feel that our location is quite conveniently away from the main street but close enough to be a short walk. I look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you Kind Regard Eung Yeon Jon Front Office Manager

91%

Great staff, very helpful. I arrived a couple of hours before check in but got a room anyway as the lady at the reception desk asked housekeeping to clean my room first. Good location, yet quiet at night. Super clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your great feedback. We're glad that you had such a fantastic stay at the YMCA. We have an excellent group of staff, always working hard and greeting guests with a warm smile and positive attitude. We make sure to do our best for any guest arriving early to check them in as soon as possible by getting the housekeeper to clean first or moving reservattions to free up a room. Once again Thank you very much. Kind Regards Eung Yeon Jon Front Office Manager

94%

Rooms, bedding, and bathrooms were all very clean. Facilities were nice. Doors are a little loud but not bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your awesome feedback. We're glad to hear that you found the rooms very clean and facilities were nice. We are always reviewing our products and suppliers to have the best products for our customers. And we are always finding new ways to improve our facilities and trying to add new facilities for the enjoyment of the guests. Once again thank you very much. Kind Regards Eung Yeon Jon Front Office Manager

77%

Typical of any really large hostel in a city. Does the job, wouldn't go if you were wanting to meet new people though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Our guests come from all over the world, just in a quick research, at the moment we have 20 different nationalities staying with us, therefore, we are indeed a great place to meet people, however, we are sorry it was not your experience, please let us know next time and we will be able to engage you to the group of travellers you are after. Kind regards, Andre Vidoto. Centre Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback