Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YWCA Banff Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
7.1

Great staff and location, but unfortunately the shared dorms in the basement are dingey and unwelcoming, and the shared kitchen is pretty rubbish. I'm happy to stay somewhere with basic facilities but the price is just too high for what they offer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Sep 2017
8.9

Great stay in banff. Staff super friendly. Rooms spacious and clean. Kitchen setup was great, although the cutlery seemed to go walkabouts each day. Overall great stay. Parking available onsite and didn't have any troubles finding a spot. My only con would be the super squeaky bunk beds. You could hear every little movement someone made.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
6.3

Quiets hours don't guarantee rowdy dorm mates won't come in at 1AM. The available showers on my floor had poor water pressure. I stayed in a different hostel the next night that had a better location, similar accommodations, and a significant better rate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
9.7

Simple, clean, and incredible location for a great price. I'll be coming back to Banff, and will stay at the YWCA again without hesitation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2017
6.0

It was about a 20 min walk to the city centre, although they did give complimentary bus pass. Bathroom/shower were slightly dirty, not sure if it was just the time that I used it. Staff weren't as friendly. But overall, just for staying the night it was fine.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
3.4

Someone tried to break into the mens dorm room via the windows at around midnight. Some dodgy characters around the hostel. The beds are very creaky and the kitchen and lounge area has a slight 'bunker'atmosphere with now windows. Overall - terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
4.0

- No lockers - No plugs to charge phones close to beds - Terrible lights

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
9.7

Great hostel... just a bit too expensive!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
4.3

This hotel messed up my reservation, and downgraded my room. When I complain, they threatened I may end up in the street. The reason I did not argue with them too much is, I don't want my vacation get ruined. I will never stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
8.9

This hostel was good value for money and allowed me and my girlfriend to keep the cost of our trip down so that we could spend more money on exploring. Most beds had lockable boxes under the bed for security but the hostel would benefit from lockers. There is a lockable day store on site which is helpful. The only real gripe either of us had was that the beds were incredibly squeaky! But apart from that we very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend for backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×