Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YWCA Banff Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
4.3

This place should definitely not be able to brand themselves a “hostel” service. There is no atmosphere, no activities and really nothing happening at all at this place. It feels like an old hospital (not sure the history of this place) and I would not recommend staying here if you are a young person travelling, trying to meet people in a new place. All pretty average, really.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
7.7

Overall, it was okay. The room only had a small window and being on a lower level it almost felt like a basement. For the price, I don't mind that, but the wifi in the evenings is almost impossible to get on, and one on, is very slow and keeps kicking you off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
17th Jul 2017
7.4

Decent hotel with friendly staff, though the bathrooms are quite horrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
5.4

Our stay at hostel in general wasn't too bad but the staff weren't as professional as we would of liked. Martin the manager was very rude and made us feel belittled but then on day of our check out had a completely different attitude. The rooms weren't as clean as we would of liked, dusty dirty floors. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • shadowdancer
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
9.4

Friendly staff, met some nice and interesting people. Location top, good value for your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location, on the downside was in a dorm and I enjoyed of the bunks was very squeaky so every time it's occupant moved it made a noise. Did tell staff so hopefully they fixed it but boys said the same thing happened in their dorm to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel staff were super nice and accommodating! The hostel itself is just a short walk over the bridge from downtown and bus stops which made getting around Banff a breeze. There were lots of opportunities to socialize with other hostel guests. Overall the stay was a good one and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
3.1

Need to be upfront about rules not allowing alcohol. Rooms are extremely drab and in the basement, the bathrooms and kitchens were not very clean and inconvenient because the kitchen and showers were locked after 11pm and don't open again till 5am. There was no alcohol allowed and security came by the bother us by flashing lights in our eyes and asking if our mugs had alcohol in them. Overall worst hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
8.6

I had an excellent stay at YWCA Banff Hotel. The customer service was great and the rooms were as advertised. I stayed in a private room and a 10 person dorm. The dorm bunk beds were extremely squeaky. The private room was a much better nights sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
9.7

Had a Good Time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.